Cupcake Pop Challenge

March 27, 2009 at 9:13 pm 13 comments

I am 2 hours and 15 minutes from my NaBloPoMo Friday posting deadline. Eek!

… and then it hit me. Well I can’t take too much credit. Let me back up. After my foodie question of the day, I got some comments, a couple emails, multiple tweets and direct messages (DMs) from readers expressing their surprise at my cupcake pop aversion.

I guess it’s kinda silly being a self-proclaimed cupcake-ista to be afraid of making cupcake anything but what can I say? I am. But after some encouraging tweets from Bakerella (The Cupcake Pop Masta!) and some lyrical ♫♪words♫ from twitter partner in crime, Rebecca from Ezra Poundcake, I’m throwing down the cupcake pop challenge!


(image credit: Bakerella)

I’ll be doing my cupcake pop thang this Sunday, March 29th. If you wanna hold me accountable play along, feel free to put your big girl apron on and get your hands dirty! I don’t care which pop you wanna make. You wanna follow exactly what Bakerella did? Cool. You wanna adapt or do your own thing? Even better.

Me? I might adapt. Or not. Depends on my mood. I’m kinda moody lately. HAHA

Fine print: Post your pictures, experience, tips, suggestions etc on your blog by Sunday 1159pm PST. Feel free to use my banner. Linking me is optional. (Linking will alert me to check out your blog though.) I’d say that linking Bakerella would be a nice and appreciated gesture.

Sounds fun, Clara? What do I get for participating?

Uh… you get the satisfaction of biting off Hello Kitty’s head when you’re done. What more do you need? LOL

With that I leave you with some wise words from Rebecca:
“We can’t be intimidated by floating “Hello Kitty” heads. We’re way too gangsta!”

True dat.

Entry filed under: blog event.

Foodie Question of the Day Let’s the popping begin!

13 Comments Add your own

  • 1. saoirsediarmuid  |  March 27, 2009 at 9:15 pm

    Consider this me tossing my apron into the ring. Ready to make with the pops!

    Reply
  • 2. Lianne  |  March 27, 2009 at 10:38 pm

    Me too! (: I’m in!

    Reply
  • 3. Lianne  |  March 27, 2009 at 11:30 pm

    oh yes. but I’m probably going to do the bites instead cos i cant seem to find the sticks here in Melbourne =( is that alright?

    Reply
  • 4. Natalie  |  March 28, 2009 at 5:24 am

    I feel like I can’t possibly say no!

    Reply
  • 5. carrie  |  March 28, 2009 at 7:08 am

    i am making cake pops for the 1st time this weekend :) i’ll definitely post pictures!

    Reply
  • 6. Amanda  |  March 28, 2009 at 8:04 am

    Oh, cake bites and pops are such fun! I might have too much on my plate for the weekend, but maybe I’ll throw together a few anyway. :)

    Have fun!

    Reply
  • 7. Lauren  |  March 28, 2009 at 2:23 pm

    good luck gangsta! ;)

    i made these for halloween and although mine weren’t as uber purty as bakerella’s… they were YUMMO! i did some w/ the sticks and some w/o. my chocolate was so thick though which made it really hard to coat thinly.. not sure what brand the guru’s are using though…

    can’t wait to see pics!

    xo

    Reply
  • 8. coolcupcake  |  March 28, 2009 at 10:13 pm

    I’m in! As mentioned earlier on twitter though… no candy melts, gonna do my best with some chips. No mini cookie cutter either *pout* so I guess they will be (blue!) cake pops.

    Reply
  • 9. Sesame  |  March 29, 2009 at 5:24 pm

    I made the HK and cupcake pops for the first time to share with friends this past weekend (posted pics in my Tumblr). Bakerella’s How-To is pretty clear, but she does have good tips in the comment sections in where she replies to readers. Good Luck!

    Reply
  • 10. Baking Challenge! « Shimmies And Sprinkles  |  March 29, 2009 at 7:54 pm

    […] 30, 2009 · No Comments She did it. CB threw down the gauntlet and declared no mercy, we had no choice but to pick up our whisks and our […]

    Reply
  • 11. Just a Girl  |  April 8, 2009 at 4:22 pm

    Sorry I missed a few of your posts darling! I have never made a cupcake pop before, but they look fun and I bet they are delicious too.

    Reply
  • 12. tammigirl  |  April 10, 2009 at 12:31 pm

    I might or might not be way to late, considering it’s April 10th or something, but I have been making cupcake pops lately.

    Reply
  • 13. Megan  |  April 21, 2009 at 1:03 pm

    I made them and love them please my blog
    http://designstat.blogspot.com/

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Thank You Sponsors!

Copyright

MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

Creative Commons License
Photos, Original Recipes & Text ©iheartfood4thought 2007-2009 unless otherwise indicated. All rights reserved. If you repost any material from this blog, please give credit by including a link back to me. Thank you!

Hits since Dec 2007

  • 230,875 dirty dishes

Tweet Tweet

Badge designed by SiahDesigns

Click the banners

Current reading


The Best Casserole Cookbook Ever by Beatrice Ojakangas

website counter


