Foodie Question of the Day

March 26, 2009 at 5:37 am 14 comments

What dish are you TERRIFIED to tackle? (baked good, bread, main dish etc)

(Thanks to Rachel for the question suggestion!)

I’d say I am more scurred than terrified of something that’s been on my must-bake list for a LONG time. Bakerella’s Cupcake Pops.

Clara, why scurred? You LOVE cupcakes!

I have no idea! Maybe because I think Bakerella has already set such a high standard (she was on Martha Stewart for goshsakes!) that I just want to stare at my computer in awe and not even try. But since admitting to her via twitter (@bakerella) my cupcake pop fears, I promised I’d put my big girl apron on and try soon. Very soon. (And I have to send her pictures. Eek!)

Maybe this weekend?

But no promises. I’m a wuss.

Entry filed under: Foodie Question of the Day.

NFR: I am lucky to have a job Cupcake Pop Challenge

14 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Steph  |  March 26, 2009 at 5:44 am

    I totally agree! I was thinking the exact thing today. If I ever made them, I think I would probably be too embarassed to post them.

    Reply
  • 2. Amanda @ Fake Ginger  |  March 26, 2009 at 5:54 am

    I agree! Every time she makes a new post I say that I’m definitely trying that one but then I get scared. Hers are so perfect and amazing. I don’t think I would post mine if I ever made them.

    Also, any bread that involves a starter. Tried it once, failed miserably, never again,.

    Reply
  • 3. chocolatechic  |  March 26, 2009 at 5:59 am

    I don’t think that there is anything that I am terrified to bake/cook, but there are things that I choose not to do because I’m a slacker and don’t want to put the time into it….ie. Bakerella’s cupcake pops.

    Reply
  • 4. Lorena  |  March 26, 2009 at 6:06 am

    I admit it … my fear is … the food processor. I am terrified of it and I’m not entirely sure why. I mean, there are so many things it can do, but I didn’t grow up with one, so I’m afraid of it, since I don’t (technically) know how to use it.

    Reply
  • 5. L W  |  March 26, 2009 at 7:28 am

    To be honest Im not afraid of anything anymore. Even if Im a tiny bit intimidated, I can plow ahead. I think this is because Im getting old. Fear is a waste of time. LOL

    I totally agree with what chocolatechic said as well. Im lazy and dont want to put time into things. Time is precious ’round these parts.

    Reply
  • 6. Leslie  |  March 26, 2009 at 8:01 am

    Yeast. I’ve made tons of otherpossibly harder stuff, but I can’t overcome my fear of yeast. I see yeast in a recipe, and I turn the page.

    Reply
  • 7. Linda  |  March 26, 2009 at 8:11 am

    I have faith in you. You already do an awesome job with ur cuppies.

    Peer pressure… Do it! Do it! Chug chug chug..oops wrong situation. :)

    Reply
  • 8. burpexcuzme  |  March 26, 2009 at 9:10 am

    I don’t really have a terriied thing to cook…I like challenges! though I think I would definitely be a bit intimidated by things like puff pastry or ice-cream cakes that need you to act fast!

    Reply
  • 9. Caitlin  |  March 26, 2009 at 9:45 am

    For serious, scared of cupcake pops? Okay, just for you, when I post my Easter-themed ones, I’ll include the failures. The gloppy ones, the ones with patches uncovered by chocolate coating, the funny shaped ones… Just for you, Clara, just for you.

    As for something I’m terrified to cook – I’ve gotten better, but most meats. I don’t eat it often, but the boyfriend loves it. I’m just always worried that it’ll be over or underdone.

    Reply
  • 10. zebe912  |  March 26, 2009 at 12:05 pm

    What chocolatechic said! I’ll make anything, but sometimes the time commitment is what turns me off. Other times its the ingredients. Like anything that is too egg based. If its a texture or flavor I don’t think I’ll like, then I won’t attempt it. After having to bake gluten free, anything “normal” is no biggie. Although I still haven’t managed a good loaf of gluten free bread. They all end up undercooked and/or bitter.

    Reply
  • 11. Amy  |  March 26, 2009 at 7:00 pm

    I would love to make a bread that included a starter. I don’t know if I am really “scared” but I am just a little timid.

    I also LOVE looking at Bakerella’s posts. Each time I think, “yeah, I can do that”…then I always find a way to chicken out.

    ;) amy

    Reply
  • 12. saoirsediarmuid  |  March 27, 2009 at 7:01 am

    Please woman, everything you touch in the kitchen turns out gold! Ok, unless it’s Jello… *cough* Come on, cowgirl up and make the pops allready. Everybody knows they’ll turn out as perfect as all the cupcakes that leave us writhing in envy!

    Reply
  • 13. kamaile  |  March 27, 2009 at 11:43 am

    I don’t get along with yeast. I can’t make bread to save my life.

    I’ll admit, I’m surprised at what you’re afraid to tackle. You’re a cupckae aficionado!

    Reply
  • 14. Rebecca  |  March 27, 2009 at 6:29 pm

    If you haven’t made them yet, you should kick off a cake pop challenge. Who DOESN’T have them bookmarked?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Thank You Sponsors!

Copyright

MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

Creative Commons License
Photos, Original Recipes & Text ©iheartfood4thought 2007-2009 unless otherwise indicated. All rights reserved. If you repost any material from this blog, please give credit by including a link back to me. Thank you!

Hits since Dec 2007

  • 229,665 dirty dishes

Tweet Tweet

Badge designed by SiahDesigns

Click the banners

Current reading


The Best Casserole Cookbook Ever by Beatrice Ojakangas

website counter


