TWD #57: Have you seen the muffin man?

March 24, 2009 at 6:48 am 25 comments

To be honest I am not much of a muffin (wo)man.

I kinda feel like baking/eating a muffin is cheating on my cupcake addiction so I rarely make muffins. Besides what’s the point? Cupcakes are a vehicle for frosting and since muffins typically don’t have frosting, there is no point. HAHA

This week Sihan of Befuddlement chose the Blueberry Crumb Cake for all us TWD bakers. You can find the recipe on her blog.

Now I know you are probably all confused b/c there is no “muffin” in Blueberry Crumb Cake but since I was not in the mood to juggle all of my pyrex pans to find the 8×8 square pan (btw if anyone has a easy-to-access pyrex storage idea I am ALL ears!) I decided to go with my cupcake pan. Plus individual servings means portion control, travel-bility and sharing distribution. Score!

Oh yeah I didn’t do blueberries either… I just broke all the rules this time!

What I learned this week:
I really hate using my pyrex pans b/c the way I store them now they are all stacked on top of each other and of course the one I use the most is the 9X13 and the 8×8, both of which are on the bottom.


Blueberry Raspberry Crumb Cake Muffins
Recipe adapted from Baking: From My Home To Yours, Dorie Greenspan


I decided to switch out the walnuts for almonds.


… and the blueberries for raspberries.


I love raspberry-almond-lemon flavors!


I filled cupcake liners about 2/3-3/4 full.


I got 14 muffins and baked for about 30-35 minutes.

ENJOY!

Husband rating: A
He had a muffin (or 2) with his coffee and raved about this recipe. He especially loved the almond-crumb topping. It probably would have been an A+ if I had used blueberries though. He’s more of a blueberry than raspberry man.

Wifey rating: A/A+
I totally cheated on my cupcakes and I liked it! (I am currently listening to “I Kissed a Girl” by Katie Perry). Love the raspberry, almond and lemon flavors. Always a great combination for me. The crumb topping was delicious! Definitely will make again.

Next week: Coconut Butter Thins page 145

Entry filed under: Tuesdays With Dorie. Tags: .

Bunday Monday NFR: I am lucky to have a job

25 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Anne  |  March 24, 2009 at 7:19 am

    Those look awesome! I agree about the muffin/cupcake thing and usually side with the frosting, but I think this cake would make great muffins. And with all that butter it’s practically a dessert anyways, right?

    Reply
  • 2. chocolatechic  |  March 24, 2009 at 7:20 am

    Your muffins look fabulous!

    Reply
  • 3. Marthe  |  March 24, 2009 at 7:20 am

    Yum, looks delicious!! I love portionsized muffins/cupcakes/anything!!

    Reply
  • 4. rainbowbrown  |  March 24, 2009 at 7:38 am

    Ooh – muffins. So many good ideas with this recipe.

    Reply
  • 5. Holly  |  March 24, 2009 at 8:28 am

    You know, I think I totally would have liked this even better! Those muffins look awesome. As for the pyrex, if anyone comes up with a good idea, let me know ’cause I’m in the same boat!

    Reply
  • 6. Di  |  March 24, 2009 at 9:48 am

    I like the muffin idea a lot. Nothing wrong with breaking the rules. =) I have the Pyrex problem too. And I have 2 8″ squares and 2 13″x9″ pans. They don’t stack well at all. It’s pretty annoying.

    Reply
  • 7. Teanna  |  March 24, 2009 at 9:58 am

    Oh I just LOVE your changes! Raspberry and almond are two of my favorite combos! I often will drink a raspberry and almond milk smoothie in the morning for breakfast… but I think your cake would be better :)

    Reply
  • 8. carolina  |  March 24, 2009 at 10:26 am

    I like your changes! I love raspberry! They are so bright and beautiful! lovely.

    Reply
  • 9. Cristine  |  March 24, 2009 at 11:24 am

    Your muffins look fantastic!

    Reply
  • 10. pamela  |  March 24, 2009 at 12:20 pm

    I almost did the muffin thing, but then I got lazy. Looks great.

    Reply
  • 11. Carolyn  |  March 24, 2009 at 12:23 pm

    Ha ha… we think alike! I did muffins too, and with cranberries. Easier to give away at the office that way ;-) The look lovely, and I am sure they were great with raspberries.

    Reply
  • 12. Lesli  |  March 24, 2009 at 12:28 pm

    For your baking pans, try breaking them into two piles — what you use all the time, and what you use some of the time. Then, go buy some of those handy wire stackable shelves. Put the shelves in your cabinets and sort accordingly!

    I use those wire shelves for my dishes. I hate trying to get to a large dinner plate when I have a stack of small dessert plates on top. I also have my baking pans in three separate spots…all within reach of each other.

    Reply
  • 13. Leslie  |  March 24, 2009 at 12:29 pm

    Awesome! Amazing! Love the raspberry and love them as muffins!

    Reply
  • 14. Tracey  |  March 24, 2009 at 12:42 pm

    Your muffins look awesome – like they should be in a bakery or coffee shop somewhere! I used almonds too but I subbed cranberries for the blueberries.

    Reply
  • 15. Jill  |  March 24, 2009 at 5:43 pm

    I’m not big on muffins either, but I loved this recipe! I think the raspberry version sounds great.

    Reply
  • 16. Amanda  |  March 24, 2009 at 6:08 pm

    Yours looks so good! We loved this cake :)

    Reply
  • 17. stephchows  |  March 25, 2009 at 10:23 am

    Wait… you don’t like muffins? ;) I agree getting to pans is a pain sometimes. Sometimes storing things on their side is easier, and you can get little separating thingies (technical term)

    like this
    http://tail-of-the-lion-inc.amazonwebstore.com/Tray-Divider-12-Chrome/M/B0013A497Q.htm

    or this
    http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B001MS6PT4?ie=UTF8&redirect=true

    Reply
  • 18. Karen  |  March 25, 2009 at 11:51 am

    Glad these turned out so well as muffins. Don’t worry, think the cupcakes will be ok with you cheating on them for a muffin! :)

    Reply
  • 19. steph (whisk/spoon)  |  March 25, 2009 at 1:04 pm

    this kind of affair is ok, and no one will tell the cupcakes anyway! love the swap for raspberries–tasty! i stack all my pyrex and loaf pans, etc. such a pain to store, and i’m always worried i will break them while i’m fumbling around trying to find what i need.

    Reply
  • 20. Melissa  |  March 25, 2009 at 3:09 pm

    CB, Your muffins sound great! I’m glad you enjoyed cheating on your cupcakes this week!

    Reply
  • 21. shortbreadsouth  |  March 25, 2009 at 6:20 pm

    The crumb topping totally makes up for a lack of frosting!

    Reply
  • 22. foodlibrarian  |  March 25, 2009 at 8:05 pm

    Clara, these look delicious! Love the play by play, as always!

    Reply
  • 23. teaandscones  |  March 26, 2009 at 11:04 am

    Yeah, pyrex and cooking pans are hard to store. I store mine vertically – way easier to get to and they seem to fit inside each other nicely.

    Love the muffins. They look just right.

    Reply
  • 24. Carol Peterman  |  March 27, 2009 at 9:19 am

    Nested pans are difficult to deal with. If you ever do a kitchen remodel, put in deep drawers below the counters rather than cupboard shelves, it is so much easier to stack and unstack pans when you can roll out a drawer and work over it rather than climbing half way into a cupboard.

    Reply
  • 25. kim  |  March 30, 2009 at 1:13 pm

    they look so yummy! and you are right about the portion control. i really need help with that :-p as for the pan situation, mine is a huge mess but i like carol’s idea about the drawers!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Thank You Sponsors!

Copyright

MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

Creative Commons License
Photos, Original Recipes & Text ©iheartfood4thought 2007-2009 unless otherwise indicated. All rights reserved. If you repost any material from this blog, please give credit by including a link back to me. Thank you!

Hits since Dec 2007

  • 230,507 dirty dishes

Tweet Tweet

Badge designed by SiahDesigns

Click the banners

Current reading


The Best Casserole Cookbook Ever by Beatrice Ojakangas

website counter


