TWD #56: Freedom Yogurt Cake

March 18, 2009 at 6:43 am 17 comments

(Is it still Tuesday? Let’s pretend it’s still Tuesday and I didn’t fall asleep before my pictures were done uploading last night and that’s why I didn’t post, k? Would you do that for me? Thanks.)

Remember when we tried to rename our french fries to freedom fries?

I tried to remember to call my french fries –> freedom fries to be a good little patriot but I am such a creature of habit that I quickly returned to good ol french fries. Don’t get me wrong. I love America. But it’s like calling a muffin a cupcake. It just doesn’t do it for me. It’s not the same.

This week our host, Liliana of My CookBook Addiction chose French Yogurt Cake for all the TWD bakers to whip up. You can find the recipe on her blog.

What I learned this week:
There’s nothing like homemade whipped cream.


French Yogurt [Strawberry Short] Cake
Recipe from Baking: From My Home To Yours, Dorie Greenspan


Mmmm… I love the smell of lemon sugar. *deep breathe* Dorie says you can replace the ground almonds with more flour but I splurged on the almonds.


I used two 4-1/2″ springform pans and 2 mini loaf pans and baked for about 30 minutes.


I used my serrated knife to cut the tops and then slice each cake in half.


I used strawberry preserves, homemade whipped cream and fresh strawberries for each layer. Holy yum!


Then just stack one layer on top of another to create the cake. My french yogurt strawberry short cake was about 6 inches high. I admit it’s a little rustic but so freaking cute (if I do say so myself).

ENJOY!

Husband rating: A+
My husband had one slice and said “where’s your mini cake? This one is all mine!”

Wifey rating: A/A+
I loved the almond bits in the cake coupled with the strawberry preserves and whipped cream. Even the mini loaves by themselves were yummy. Definitely will make this again.

Next week: Blueberry Crumb Cake pages 192-193

Entry filed under: Tuesdays With Dorie. Tags: .

TWD #56: [French Yogurt Cake] Foodie Question of the Day

17 Comments Add your own

  • 1. chocolatechic  |  March 18, 2009 at 6:47 am

    Looks fabulous.

    I used orange in mine.

    Reply
  • 2. Natalie  |  March 18, 2009 at 6:51 am

    I love those little springforms, don’t you? they’re so perfect for making tiny Dorie treats.

    PS – if you still want Keith’s info for your blog header, let me know!

    Reply
  • 3. Whineaux  |  March 18, 2009 at 7:34 am

    Wow — that looks fantastic! You know how to make it look fantastic. I bet lemon curd would be good here too mmmm

    Reply
  • 4. Leanne  |  March 18, 2009 at 8:10 am

    Beautiful mini cake. There is nothing like homemade whipped cream.

    Reply
  • 5. Marthe  |  March 18, 2009 at 8:30 am

    The stacked cake looks absolutely perfect, it must have tasted great!! I loved this recipe!

    P.S. Check out my giveaway!! (I know: another giveaway…. well, lets just say I’m a ‘giving person’ ;) )

    Reply
  • 6. Tracey  |  March 18, 2009 at 9:19 am

    Beautiful! I used homemade whipped cream on mine too and loved it!

    Reply
  • 7. macduff  |  March 18, 2009 at 9:50 am

    I love this idea! Strawberry shortcake was my favorite desert when I was growing up…

    Reply
  • 8. food librarian  |  March 18, 2009 at 10:25 am

    Looks soooo cute! Love that tall, tall stack!

    Reply
  • 9. Sweetcharity  |  March 18, 2009 at 10:32 am

    I thought the whole Freedom fries thing was so silly, I mean renaming foods in order to get back at a country that doesn’t share your country’s political views? Way to stick it to ’em! Ha, only in America! I really appreciated how someone at the French embassy said “We are at a very serious moment dealing with very serious issues and we are not focusing on the name you give to potatoes.” Like they were talking to a small child who was being difficult.
    Your cake looks amazing- I love how tall it is!! I would be so tempted to just serve the layers, rather than slicing it. And I’d bury it in whipped cream!

    Reply
  • 10. pinkstripes  |  March 18, 2009 at 11:12 am

    Gorgeous! I love your layered shortcake. YUM.

    Reply
  • 11. carolina  |  March 18, 2009 at 11:15 am

    This looks like a work of pastry art! I just think it is so whimsical and charming! How fun.

    Reply
  • 12. Holly  |  March 18, 2009 at 12:14 pm

    Yay! Another strawberry version! Your cake looks great!

    Reply
  • 13. Jill B  |  March 18, 2009 at 12:56 pm

    Love this idea! Looks delish.

    Reply
  • 14. Di  |  March 18, 2009 at 4:58 pm

    Wow. That looks really good. I can’t wait for strawberries to be in season here–soon… Oh, and did I mention that I’m quite envious of your mini pans? =)

    Reply
  • 15. Karen  |  March 18, 2009 at 6:19 pm

    mmmmm! My husband loved this but would have loved it even more the way you made it!!

    Reply
  • 16. Caitlin  |  March 22, 2009 at 11:44 am

    I’ll pretend it’s Tuesday if you pretend you’ll ship me that beautiful little cake. Deal?

    Reply
  • 17. Annette  |  March 22, 2009 at 3:06 pm

    Your cake is charming! I’m with you. I’ll definitely be making this one again. :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Thank You Sponsors!

Copyright

MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

Creative Commons License
Photos, Original Recipes & Text ©iheartfood4thought 2007-2009 unless otherwise indicated. All rights reserved. If you repost any material from this blog, please give credit by including a link back to me. Thank you!

Hits since Dec 2007

  • 229,698 dirty dishes

Tweet Tweet

Badge designed by SiahDesigns

Click the banners

Current reading


The Best Casserole Cookbook Ever by Beatrice Ojakangas

website counter


