TWD #55: When life hands you lemons…

March 10, 2009 at 6:02 am 27 comments


… make lemon cream tart.

Oh wait. Wrong Dorie dessert. I just really liked the Lemon Cream Tart on pages 331-333. If you haven’t made it yet, you must!

Sorry for the tangent.

I have the attention span of a goldfish.

This week Bridget of The Way the Cookie Crumbles (you can find the recipe on her blog) picked the Lemon Custard Cups for all the Tuesday with Dorie-nators to bake up! To say that there were opinions on this one would be an understatement. Half the bakers said “too eggy” and the other half weren’t sure they wanted to make it. A few mentioned it tasted like a flan.

Personally I like flan so I wasn’t afraid (ok maybe a little) but I was intrigued to try and just mentally got myself in the Dorie zone. Since it’s just me and the hubs I halved the recipe and figured if it didn’t come out well I only wasted 2 eggs. No biggie. Conserving eggs puts free range chickens out of work. Wouldn’t wanna be accused of that right? Time’s are tough for all of us. I do what I can.

What I learned this week:
I really like lemon. I think it’s my favorite citrus fruit. Unless we’re talking caipirinha, then it’s lime all the way!



Lemon Custard Cups
Recipe from Baking: From My Home To Yours, Dorie Greenspan


I substituted half-and-half for the whole milk.


Dorie says bake for 40-45 minutes but mine took about 30 minutes. *shrugs…

ENJOY!

Husband rating: A-
He likes flan so he thought this was yummy and refreshing esp with the strawberry coulis but its not his favorite Dorie recipe.

Wifey rating: A-/B+
I like flan but I think my favorite part of flan is the caramel. Just the “flan” part was good but when you add some strawberry coulis it bumps it up a notch. I love strawberry and lemon combination.

Next week: French Yogurt Cake with Marmalade Glaze pages 224-225

Strawberry coulis recipe after cut.

Strawberry Coulis

INGREDIENTS

10 fresh strawberries, sliced smaller
1 tsp lemon juice
2 tablespoons sugar

INSTRUCTIONS

Combine all ingredients in a blender. Puree until smooth and strain strawberry liquid through a strainer. Discard the pulp and seeds.

Entry filed under: Tuesdays With Dorie. Tags: .

Bunday Monday I dub thee bagelwich

27 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Maria  |  March 10, 2009 at 6:26 am

    I love the strawberry on top. A very pretty dessert!

    Reply
  • 2. J  |  March 10, 2009 at 6:30 am

    Those look delicious!! Want to come over to my house and make me some? Lol.

    Reply
  • 3. Natalie  |  March 10, 2009 at 6:34 am

    genius plan with the strawberries!

    Reply
  • 4. Amy (Sing for your supper)  |  March 10, 2009 at 8:07 am

    Oooh, I bet the strawberry coulis was delicious on top!! They really look fantastic!!

    Reply
  • 5. Tracey  |  March 10, 2009 at 8:27 am

    Oh yum, the strawberry coulis look amazing! Great job!

    Reply
  • 6. Kelly D  |  March 10, 2009 at 9:42 am

    I thought it was “flan like” as well so I just went ahead and added the caramel. Always good to try something new.

    Reply
  • 7. Joelen  |  March 10, 2009 at 9:42 am

    I’m glad I’m not the only one who paired it with a coulis! Love your presentation!!

    Reply
  • 8. Karen  |  March 10, 2009 at 9:47 am

    Yours looks like it turned out delicious! The Strawberry Coulis looks like it would have made it.

    Reply
  • 9. Di  |  March 10, 2009 at 10:39 am

    I love lemons, too, but not custard. =( Your strawberry sauce looks fabulous. I can’t wait for strawberries to be in season around here (should be soon).

    Reply
  • 10. Melissa  |  March 10, 2009 at 10:40 am

    The strawberry sounds great. I’m glad you enjoyed it!

    Reply
  • 11. Cristine  |  March 10, 2009 at 10:57 am

    Yours looks great! Love the addition of the coulis!

    Reply
  • 12. foodlibrarian  |  March 10, 2009 at 11:33 am

    This looks great! Love the strawberry coulis (just love that name, sounds so fancy).

    Reply
  • 13. kim  |  March 10, 2009 at 11:50 am

    mmm, the strawberry coulis looks fab-licious! glad you were on the positive side for this one. i haven’t made the flan or the lemon cream tart, aargh! i have to get working on that backlog from before i joined :)

    Reply
  • 14. chocolatechic  |  March 10, 2009 at 12:01 pm

    Brilliant with the strawberry coulis.

    Reply
  • 15. steph (whisk/spoon)  |  March 10, 2009 at 12:16 pm

    what a great idea–a little sauce was just what this needed!

    Reply
  • 16. Leslie  |  March 10, 2009 at 12:47 pm

    I wish I’d thought of a strawberry coulis! That would have taken this custard to the next level. I love your photos!

    Reply
  • 17. Vibi  |  March 10, 2009 at 1:02 pm

    Oh! MY! Oh! MY!

    What class… what elegance, Clara! It truly looks like some dessert I would myself, choose in a restauarant!!! WOW!

    I’m glad it hit such high marks with you guys, for I was starting to despair… reading that no one but me, enjoyed it so much!

    Okay,,, it wasen’t your favorite, but at least… I’m not alone!

    BEE-YOU-TEE-FULL!

    Reply
  • 18. Teanna  |  March 10, 2009 at 1:05 pm

    Gorgeous! I love that you added strawberry coulis! I added blueberries to mine and I really think that the addition of the fruit really amped this up a bit!

    Reply
  • 19. Marthe  |  March 10, 2009 at 2:14 pm

    That strawberry coulis looks amazing paired with the custard!!

    Reply
  • 20. teaandscones  |  March 10, 2009 at 2:36 pm

    Strawberry coulis would definitely add to this custard. I like custard and I liked this one. Yours looks great.

    Reply
  • 21. Heather B  |  March 10, 2009 at 3:36 pm

    Your custard looks fabulous! I bet that strawberry coulis is what mine was missing!

    Reply
  • 22. pinkstripes  |  March 10, 2009 at 3:56 pm

    The starwberry coulis sounds like a wonderful addition. Your custards look great. I’m glad they were a success.

    Reply
  • 23. Carol Peterman  |  March 10, 2009 at 4:27 pm

    The strawberry coulis is so pretty with the custard, and what a good flavor combo.

    Reply
  • 24. pamela  |  March 10, 2009 at 6:46 pm

    I really need to make that lemon cream tart! I like the strawberry coulis on top, nice touch!

    Reply
  • 25. Amy Ruth  |  March 10, 2009 at 8:12 pm

    Wow, your lemon custard is really beautiful with the coulis. I’ll bet it was so yummy. So light and fresh. BTW whats with all the “eggy” stuff anyway? Custard is made with eggs. duh? I loved it but I like all that stuff made with eggs. ar ar ar. Strong work.
    Have you gotten a poopie dog yet?
    AmyRuth

    Reply
  • 26. Girl  |  March 11, 2009 at 2:30 pm

    Woo hoo.. how in the heck.. did I miss this post.. eh? BTW have you joined the Daring Bakers?

    Reply
  • 27. carolina  |  March 13, 2009 at 7:07 am

    Yes, I agree with everyone, the coulis was a fabulous touch. Also, I would so love to try that caipirhina drink!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Thank You Sponsors!

Copyright

MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

Creative Commons License
Photos, Original Recipes & Text ©iheartfood4thought 2007-2009 unless otherwise indicated. All rights reserved. If you repost any material from this blog, please give credit by including a link back to me. Thank you!

Hits since Dec 2007

  • 230,332 dirty dishes

Tweet Tweet

Badge designed by SiahDesigns

Click the banners

Current reading


The Best Casserole Cookbook Ever by Beatrice Ojakangas

website counter


