Slow Cooker Sunday

March 8, 2009 at 8:18 pm 19 comments

I bet you all thought I forgot to post today huh?

You were probably sitting there tapping your fingers ala Mr. Burns, thinking, “…3 more hours before I can write Clara an email telling her that she’s a NaBloPoMo slacker… Excellent.” (evil laugh)

Don’t give me that innocent look. I know you were. Well… guess what? I didn’t forget. I blame my crock pot. Crock pots by definition are slow cookers. Which means I didn’t figure that into writing about it until 8 hours later. Me smart, no?

Ever since I started working again, I get the feeling that my day is actually shorter than 24 hours so trying to cook dinner every night is a struggle. Hubs and I are so tired by the time we get home that it’s just easier to call up delivery (because we’re also too lazy to go pick it up too) than spend an hour cooking and another hour washing dishes when all we really wanna do is park our bums on the couch and stare at our TV like zombies. But this month I promised myself I would forego the fast food and meal plan better by taking some foodie friends’ advice about using my crock pot more often.

What better way to wash down the coughing, sniffling, sneezing, runny nose so you can rest medicine than with some soup. Warm french onion soup with ooozy melted cheese. Mmmm… cheese.


Recipe from Not Your Mother’s Slow Cooker Cookbook, Beth Hensperger

INGREDIENTS

6 large yellow onions
3 tablespoons olive oil + plus extra for brushing
1 (14oz) can chicken broth
1 (10.5oz) can beef broth
2 tablespoons Marsala or red wine (optional)
Four to six 1-inch thick slices of french bread
8 oz Gruyere cheese, cut in thin slices (I used swiss cheese)

INSTRUCTIONS

Peel and thinly slice the onions. Put in the slow cooker and toss with olive oil. Cover and cook on low for 3-4 hours, stirring occasionally. Continue to cook for total of 8-10 hours until the onions are well cooked and caramelized. When the onions are done, add broths and Marsala wine. Cover and cook on high until hot, about 15-30 minutes.

Preheat oven to 400F. Put french bread slices on a baking sheet and brush with olive oil. Bake until golden brown, about 10 minutes. Set aside.

Ladle soup into individual oven proof bowls and place on a baking sheet. Top each bowl with a slice of toasted bread and cover with a slice of Gruyere. Make sure that oven rack allows bowls to fit comfortably under the broiler. Turn on the broiler and broil until cheese melts, about 1-2 minutes. Serve immediately.

ENJOY!

Husband rating: B
A soup of onions isn’t exactly his favorite soup (he’s a minestrone man!) and adding the wine kinda killed it for him. He’s not into alcohol either. I guess just the smell brings up bad high school hangover days… haha

Wifey rating: B+
I love french onion soup and this recipe was good but I’ll probably keep looking for my go-to recipe since this one wasn’t exactly perfect yet. If anyone has a recipe they recommend, I am all ears.

Entry filed under: crockpot. Tags: .

I’m a crier. Bunday Monday

19 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Tracey  |  March 8, 2009 at 8:30 pm

    That looks delicious! I’ve never had french onion soup but I love onions so I really should give it a shot.

    Reply
    • 2. CB  |  March 9, 2009 at 6:44 am

      You’ve never had french onion soup? Oh its SO good esp if you like onions. Definitely get a bowl of soup on the side next time you go out.

      Reply
  • 3. Wandering Chopsticks  |  March 8, 2009 at 9:45 pm

    No short cuts for this one. You have to slowly caramelize the onions for maximum flavor. Takes at least 45 for that step alone.

    Are you feeling better? I’ve been dousing myself with Theraflu and Airborne.

    Reply
    • 4. CB  |  March 9, 2009 at 6:46 am

      I slowly caramelized for like 8 hours in my crockpot. Took all freaking day! If there’s a recipe that takes only 45 minutes, I’ll take that over 8 hours. Bummer you’re still sick. I still have all the wonderful symptoms – coughing, sneezing, sore throat. I am sucking down dayquil like jelly beans.

      Reply
      • 5. Wandering Chopsticks  |  March 9, 2009 at 3:48 pm

        Stovetop caramelization, slowly sauteing until onions are browned and softened. Can’t achieve that in a crockpot no matter how long it simmers.

        Once the onions are golden brown, that’s when you add the beef stock and let the soup simmer.

        Both my noses are plugged and I’m breathing through my mouth. Oh, and the coughing, sneezing too.

        Ate bamboo-kneaded noodle soup twice in a row. Am thinking of day 3. When you feel better, come up! Can’t beat seeing a Chinese man bouncing on a big bamboo pole. ;)

        Reply
  • 6. Cristine  |  March 9, 2009 at 12:50 am

    Your soup looks delicious! And you can’t go wrong with bread and melted cheese!

    Reply
    • 7. CB  |  March 9, 2009 at 6:47 am

      Anything with bread and melted cheese is good in my book. haha

      Reply
  • 8. Amanda  |  March 9, 2009 at 4:59 am

    That looks so good! Sucks that it didn’t live up to your expectations though. :(

    Reply
    • 9. CB  |  March 9, 2009 at 6:47 am

      It wasn’t bad, I just know I’ve had better. The onions were fine but the broth could have been better. It just felt like something was missing…

      Reply
  • 10. Melissa  |  March 9, 2009 at 9:11 am

    Well, it looks excellent! I bet that was perfect for your cold. I love soup when I’m sick. Love your daily posting! :-)

    Reply
  • 11. Linda  |  March 9, 2009 at 9:40 am

    Yum! Melted cheese anything is a plus. Ooh..fondue.

    Reply
    • 12. CB  |  March 10, 2009 at 8:53 pm

      Oh snap. You just said the magic word. Fondue. I NEED to get a fondue pot.

      Reply
    • 13. CB  |  March 10, 2009 at 8:53 pm

      Oh snap. You just said the magic word. Fondue. I NEED to get a fondue pot. Stat.

      Reply
  • 14. pinkstripes  |  March 9, 2009 at 11:31 am

    Your soup looks warm and gooey. Perfect for the chilly weather.

    Reply
    • 15. CB  |  March 10, 2009 at 9:18 pm

      I am not a huge soup fan but I love soup in the winter (or when I am sick). Must be the weather affect.

      Reply
  • 16. fergojisan  |  March 9, 2009 at 11:58 am

    I found your blog through Nablopomo, I am enjoying it very much! The soup looks really good, I love French Onion soup. The only recipe I’ve ever tried myself is Alton Brown’s, which you can probably find on the Food Network site. I think it calls for apple juice, but I used 1/2 water and 1/2 cider vinegar. I love cider vinegar too. :)

    Reply
    • 17. CB  |  March 10, 2009 at 9:21 pm

      Nice to meet you! Thanks for Alton Brown soup rec. I’ll have to give that one a try!

      Reply
  • 18. Girl  |  March 9, 2009 at 10:01 pm

    I really like French Onion soup… but the fact you went the extra mile and expense to toss with some fabulous cheese.. YUM.

    Reply
    • 19. CB  |  March 10, 2009 at 9:21 pm

      Cheese makes everything… better! ;)

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Thank You Sponsors!

Copyright

MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

Creative Commons License
Photos, Original Recipes & Text ©iheartfood4thought 2007-2009 unless otherwise indicated. All rights reserved. If you repost any material from this blog, please give credit by including a link back to me. Thank you!

Hits since Dec 2007

  • 231,309 dirty dishes

Tweet Tweet

Badge designed by SiahDesigns

Click the banners

Current reading


The Best Casserole Cookbook Ever by Beatrice Ojakangas

website counter


