Foodie Question of the Day

February 20, 2009 at 6:58 am 15 comments

Do you eat off other people’s plates?

Warning: flameworthy.

I dumped a guy b/c he use to get uppity about my “eating off his plate” habit. Sorry, but boyfriend chastising me is dump worthy. I guess I didn’t see the issue if we’ve exchanged spit before to eat off his plate you know?

I suppose it really depends on the person I am eating out with. Husband? Of course! Family? Yes. Friends? Yes. Acquaintances? Probably not. Business/work related? No.

I have an indecisive personality so when I eat out there are so many choices available that I never really know what I want to order. Then I feel pressured when the waitress is staring at me and usually pick too fast and not think of all the options. Of course when I do make a choice and see what someone else ordered, it always looks better than what I ordered.

The whole sharing concept gives me the ability to try a little of everything so ppl eating off my plate and vice versa is no biggie for me. Unless… you eat more of my food than yours. That’s when I have issues. Also a little warning, “Clara, I am coming in for a onion ring, cool?” is always nice.

PS. There’s no Indian giving either b/c that french fry I just hijacked is loooooong gone by now…

Happy Friday readers!

Entry filed under: Foodie Question of the Day.

TWD #52: The Devil made me do it Dear Bunday Monday readers…

15 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Heather b  |  February 20, 2009 at 7:11 am

    Family- most of them. At least immediate and grandparents. Younger sisters? Possibly. They’re messy eaters so it would depend on the state of their plates! For friends, I would eat off/let them eat off mine if they were really good friends. Casual friends definitely not. I won’t though drink after anyone or let then drink from my glass. Of course if I do eat off somone’s plate or let them eat from mine, it’s small bites. Just a taste. Nothing more!

    Reply
  • 2. stephchows  |  February 20, 2009 at 7:27 am

    I’m ALL about sharing off each others plates. Hell we even do it at my office, go out for lunch, order dessert, all forks in! (I work for a small company though so we are all like friends) Food is love, what can I say. Oh and too funny, John the other day said “I think I’ve finally come to terms with the fact you don’t eat like a normal girl and have leftovers I get to eat…” Yeah that’s right sweetie I clean my plate! Better hurry if you want to try a bite :D

    Reply
  • 3. elly  |  February 20, 2009 at 7:43 am

    I’m Greek. All we do is eat other people’s food. LOL! When my mom stuck her fork in my then-FI’s food, I knew he was a member of the family. :) Sometimes if I am at a restaurant and someone orders what I was thinking of order, I’ll get something else just so I can try more things. But like you said, I wouldn’t do it with coworkers and people like that.

    Reply
  • 4. Steph  |  February 20, 2009 at 7:44 am

    I have the same problem with ordering food. Sometimes I just randomly pick something because everyone else is waiting for me and I end up with something I didn’t even want. I wonder why it’s so hard to make a decision about food or life..hahha (a common theme for me). Anyway… in our family, we actually don’t mind sharing b/c that way everyone gets a bit of everything. Although, no one every touches my Dad’s food b/c he’s the nonsharing type that gets irritated when people pick off his plate or even when I give him some of my stuff

    Reply
  • 5. CB  |  February 20, 2009 at 7:50 am

    HEATHERB, Yeah I gotta agree with the drinking out of my cup. Call me a hypocrite but I am not cool with that esp if that person wears lipstick or chapstick and I can see the outline of their lips on my cup. Eeewww!

    STEPHCHOWS, LOL @ “Better hurry if you want to try a bite”. So true! Right now I am in that “be on my best manners” type relationship with my CWs. But after my 6 month probation is over, the forks will be pilfering! HAHA

    ELLY, LOL @ “I’m Greek. All we do is eat other people’s food.” Love the story about your FI/DH and mom. Hmmm… I think I must be Greek then.

    STEPH, My dad is the same way! Must be a dad thing??

    Reply
  • 6. chocolatechic  |  February 20, 2009 at 8:08 am

    No, generally I don’t.

    Now, I’ll ask Superman for a bite of something, or on purpose we will share dessert, but no….I don’t eat off of other peoples plates.

    Reply
  • 7. Alanna  |  February 20, 2009 at 8:37 am

    Mike and I usually just “trade bites” (using each other’s forks). We don’t usually eat off the other’s plate, but I’d have no problem doing so. Family, probably not, just because I NEVER see them and am not all that close with them. Friends, sure, as long as they are good friends. :)

    Reply
  • 8. Chelle  |  February 20, 2009 at 8:57 am

    Well, I would grab a fry here or there if immediate family, but I used to get SO irritated when eating out with my STBX because he always ate off of my plate and I felt like my food was being stalked and I had to eat faster than I was comfortable because if I didn’t I might lose some of it!! The guy I’m seeing now – if we share food, we will put a little of our food on the other’s plate – no reaching across the table ;-)

    Reply
  • 9. Jen  |  February 20, 2009 at 9:08 am

    I have the same problem about being indecisive. I always go last to order and am always the one saying “can we have just 2 more minutes” then I pick something and sometimes wish I had gotten something else.

    Last weekend, we were out to dinner with my MIL and her BF and they were out of what I wanted to order! I freaked and in a panic had to order on the spot. It was a scary situation.

    But on to your question, I do eat off Hubby’s plate. We sometimes order meals with the plan to share and other times I just pick. He does the same though. Same with friends and family.

    Reply
  • 10. Michelle  |  February 20, 2009 at 1:18 pm

    I do with hubbs, my fam and friends. But it all depends on who it is and their health. I’m not going to take a lick of some ice cream from my cousin with a cold sore. Or share some Kool-aid with my coughing husband. I don’t want to be sick because of sharing.

    Reply
  • 11. Alyssa  |  February 20, 2009 at 2:00 pm

    I would DEFIANTLY take food off of one of my friend’s or family’s plate. What am i saying, would? Heck I DO!

    Reply
  • 12. Mary  |  February 20, 2009 at 2:38 pm

    I like sharing food. Especially when my food is super delicious! Like my MIL and FIL took my husband and me out for my birthday. I got this delicious vanilla spiced Elk sirloin (I have no idea even on how to start to reproduce it- bummer!) and I was handing out pieces to everyone so they knew just how good it was.

    Occasionally I’ll have a bite of what someone else is eating too!

    Reply
  • 13. Girl Japan  |  February 22, 2009 at 2:49 am

    Yes, he was dumping material, but after all I think if you are in a relationship you shared more than a bite.

    I don’t do it or have not done it recently only because I am a germ-a-phobe, but would not get high and mighty about it…

    Reply
  • 14. Wandering Chopsticks  |  February 22, 2009 at 10:44 am

    My college girlfriends and I ate off each other’s plates. In fact, we’d coordinate who orders what just so we can eat off the other’s plate and try all the dishes. :)

    Reply
  • 15. CB  |  February 24, 2009 at 8:42 pm

    CHOCOLATECHIC, Note to self. Don’t eat off chocolatechic’s plate.

    ALANNA, I think I stole a french fry from you before so that means we’re good friends right? ;)

    CHELLE, I eat off T’s plate all the time but I try to respect that its “his” food too. Although I do “reach across the table”. *looking sheepish*

    JEN, I totally freak too! I get restaurant eater remorse all the time.

    MICHELLE, Uh… yeah. I draw the line at cold sores. HAHA

    ALYSSA, LOL. Way to own up!

    MARY, Ooohh. Elk. I’ve never had elk before. What protein would you compare it too? Cow (steak)?

    GIRLJAPAN, Exactly! I understand germ-a-phobe but he doesn’t wasn’t. He just didn’t like to share. Sorry there’s no “me” in relationship!

    WANDERING, See? Now that’s how the experts do it! haha

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Thank You Sponsors!

Copyright

MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

Creative Commons License
Photos, Original Recipes & Text ©iheartfood4thought 2007-2009 unless otherwise indicated. All rights reserved. If you repost any material from this blog, please give credit by including a link back to me. Thank you!

Hits since Dec 2007

  • 230,191 dirty dishes

Tweet Tweet

Badge designed by SiahDesigns

Click the banners

Current reading


The Best Casserole Cookbook Ever by Beatrice Ojakangas

website counter


