TWD #51: No man is an island…

February 10, 2009 at 7:39 am 28 comments

“No man is an island, entire of itself; every man is a piece of the continent.” ~John Donne

Amen John Donne. Amen.

(Is it just me or would that name make an awesome rock star name or action star name?)

I know I am usually pretty silly with my TWD posts but the above quote really hits me esp in these economic times. I have friends that have lost their job, lost their home, in foreclosure, struggling with their debt etc. Its enough to make a person give up and wonder why they work so hard. I guess I just want to remind everyone with the above quote that we are part of a bigger picture. Don’t isolate yourself. This is not the time for “me, myself and I” anymore. Help each other.

Can we do that?

YES WE CAN!

This week’s recipe was chosen by one of my favorite TWD bakers, Shari of Whisk: A Food Blog. You can find the recipe on her blog. Don’t forget to see how the other TWD bakers did with their islands too!

What I learned this week:
I didn’t use to like the multiple step recipes that required wait time, chill time and/or down time. But as my life gets busier, I can appreciate taking it one step at a time, one day at a time. Just makes the end product that much sweeter.


Floating Islands
Recipe adapted from Baking: From My Home To Yours, Dorie Greenspan


I only have 2% milk in my house so I substituted the whole milk for 1-1/2 cups 2% + 1/2 cup half-and-half.


Dorie says the creme anglaise takes about 10 minutes to thicken but mine took about 15 minutes. Not sure if the 2% milk affected the time. *shrugs Take time to strain. I was surprised at the amount of egg chunks at the bottom. Can you say scrambled eggs??


Attack of the vanilla amoeba!


Props to anyone that could make these “islands” look pretty. Mine didn’t.

ENJOY!

Husband rating: B+/B
He liked the creme anglaise. Reminded him of a silky pudding but said the poached meringue tasted like a soggy marshmallow. Sheesh tell me how you really feel huh?

Wifey rating: A-
I wasn’t really sure what to expect from this one. I knew the creme anglaise would be yummy but I wasn’t sure on the whole poaching-the-meringue concept. This recipe surprised me though. I liked it. Not my favorite Dorie recipe but it was very tasty.

Just curious? Which picture do you like better? white or black? Hubs preferred the black and I liked the white. I think he just likes to contradict me.

Next week: Devils Food White Out Cake (cover cake!!) pages 247-249

Entry filed under: Tuesdays With Dorie. Tags: , , .

Bunday Monday Foodie Question of the Day

28 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Leanne  |  February 10, 2009 at 8:20 am

    I thought this was a surprisingly delicious dessert. Love your picture with the umbrellas on the islands.

    Reply
  • 2. chocolatechic  |  February 10, 2009 at 8:26 am

    Great job.

    I had no milk.

    Reply
  • 3. rainbowbrown  |  February 10, 2009 at 8:26 am

    Those poached meringues were pretty haphazard looking all across the board I think. I think I like the white background a little better – that’s a perfect serving dish for these.

    Reply
  • 4. Teanna  |  February 10, 2009 at 8:51 am

    I think your islands look great! And I LOVE the mini umbrellas! That is getting into the spirit! I think I like the white background better as well… but it is a toss up!

    Reply
  • 5. Joelen  |  February 10, 2009 at 9:14 am

    I think you did a great job!!

    Reply
  • 6. Karen  |  February 10, 2009 at 9:27 am

    i like the white picture, maybe if the black was a little darker i’d like it a little better?? love the mini umbrellas. you’re so right, it isn’t the time anymore to only look out for number one. i’m starting to become really surprised and scared by how fast things are changing for so many people i know.

    Reply
  • 7. Sugar B  |  February 10, 2009 at 9:38 am

    The hubs and I did not care for this dessert.

    I love your island umbrella touch! Too cute! :)

    Reply
  • 8. Tracey  |  February 10, 2009 at 9:40 am

    Great pictures. I love the umbrellas!

    Reply
  • 9. food librarian  |  February 10, 2009 at 11:49 am

    These look fantastic! I skipped this week (things didn’t align right) and hope to make them soon. Hope your new job is going well.

    Reply
  • 10. kamaile  |  February 10, 2009 at 12:13 pm

    These sound interesting. I kinda like the contrast the black background provides.

    Reply
  • 11. Lisa magicsprinkles  |  February 10, 2009 at 12:20 pm

    Nice photos showing your process!

    Reply
  • 12. Vibi  |  February 10, 2009 at 12:41 pm

    LOL LOL LOL I love the paper umbrella… such a funny touch, from I’m sure a… just as quirky gal! LOL
    Very nicely done!

    Reply
  • 13. Marthe  |  February 10, 2009 at 2:00 pm

    Your floating islands look very tasty!! I can’t wait to make mine!! I accidentally swapped recipes and made the World Peace Cookies for today!

    Reply
  • 14. Tammy  |  February 10, 2009 at 2:05 pm

    pleased you liked them, I would give them more of a C. I wasnt a fan

    Reply
  • 15. pinkstripes  |  February 10, 2009 at 2:11 pm

    I’m glad you liked them. I love the way you assembled the floating islands with the umbrellas. Very tropical.

    Reply
  • 16. carolina  |  February 10, 2009 at 2:39 pm

    How Cute! I used water, instead of milk. Yours look great.

    Reply
  • 17. Carol Peterman  |  February 10, 2009 at 5:01 pm

    Poaching meringue was new to me as well, and I like it. Your islands look like an exotic escape with the fancy umbrellas. I would pick the black background, but maybe that’s because I always use a white background and the black is new and exciting to me.

    Reply
  • 18. Shari  |  February 10, 2009 at 5:12 pm

    I love that quote too. We must be thinking along the same lines this week! Love your little umbrella too! I like your black barckround this week! I think the meringue looks great that way. I’m glad you liked them!

    Reply
  • 19. Lisa  |  February 10, 2009 at 6:21 pm

    the umbrellas are a great touch! And the ‘vanilla amoeba’ had me laughing–great post!

    Reply
  • 20. Nancy/n.o.e  |  February 10, 2009 at 8:13 pm

    I like the black a lot, but not for this recipe. The various whites all look so good together in the white background picture, all set off by the adorable umbrella. Great job. I thought my husband was going to laugh when he saw dessert, but instead he loved it.
    Nancy

    Reply
  • 21. Amy Ruth  |  February 10, 2009 at 8:23 pm

    Seriously? Love your cute little ‘brellas. That makes me think of spring break. yippee I like the white background. I guess it depends on the subject. I could like the black too. I’m no help. But I did like the island and creme.
    AmyRuth

    Reply
  • 22. dorie  |  February 11, 2009 at 5:20 am

    The umbrellas are adorable on the islands — so tropical, so get-away, so perfect for a cold winter’s night.

    Reply
  • 23. laura  |  February 11, 2009 at 8:47 am

    black picture.

    Reply
  • 24. steph (whisk/spoon)  |  February 11, 2009 at 11:59 am

    cute brellies! i also didn’t used to like recipes with down time, and would always try to rush them…i must be getting more patient as i get older!

    Reply
  • 25. Elizabeth - Cake or Death?  |  February 11, 2009 at 6:26 pm

    Love the tropical islands! I skipped these but from reading other comments, it seems everyone had trouble with the anglaise chunking up, and with forming mutant meringues. No matter, I think your final product looks tasty! And I think I like the black one better.

    Reply
  • 26. Caitlin  |  February 15, 2009 at 9:42 am

    Oh so cute with the little umbrellas :) Beautiful job! I’m a fan of the black one though.

    Reply
  • 27. Jaime  |  February 16, 2009 at 8:49 am

    cute pics! love the umbrella. sorry but i am going to side w/your DH – i like the contrast of the black background!

    Reply
  • 28. Pedro Hoerter  |  June 22, 2017 at 8:19 am

    If by yourself have to have extravagant graphics yourself will in addition want an arty picture designer. Or you can do it yourself, using professional templates from http://www.CreativeArtMarket.com

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Thank You Sponsors!

Copyright

MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

Creative Commons License
Photos, Original Recipes & Text ©iheartfood4thought 2007-2009 unless otherwise indicated. All rights reserved. If you repost any material from this blog, please give credit by including a link back to me. Thank you!

Hits since Dec 2007

  • 230,332 dirty dishes

Tweet Tweet

Badge designed by SiahDesigns

Click the banners

Current reading


The Best Casserole Cookbook Ever by Beatrice Ojakangas

website counter


