Infomercial Envy

January 28, 2009 at 7:05 pm 24 comments

What is an infomerical?

Well… I aint Wikipedia but my definition goes something like this:

A sponsored program that runs from 10-60 minutes that brainwashes you to think that you can’t live without [insert product here] for only 3 easy payments of $19.99 but if you call RIGHT NOW you can get it for only 2 easy payments of $19.99! They’ll even upgrade you to priority shipping!

Oh yes. I’ve watched my fair share of infomercials. I think I’ve mentioned a few times that I am kinda addicted to them. Most ppl (like my husband) will just channel surf right past the infomercials but forget Grey’s Anatomy or American Idol, I’ll watch an hour long program on the Magic Bullet any day! (And I have!)

I figure I can’t be the only infomercial freak out there, right?

RIGHT??

I know I’m not. I am just not afraid to admit it. (Why are you walking towards me with a strait jacket?) So I decided to have some fun and post the good, the bad and the ugly of the infomercial world on my blog. Should be fun, huh?

Let’s get started.

Right now me and the hubs are obsessed with the Snuggie. We crack up every time we see it on TV. Its so bad that it loops around to AWESOME. LOL

Tell me it doesn’t remind you of a backwards robe or a cult cloak? I don’t know about you but I hate knitting without my entire body under a blanket too. And its one size fits all. Heck yeah!

I am totally getting T one for his birthday.

Nothing says “Happy 30th… You’re 1/2 way to death!” like a Snuggie.

Entry filed under: Infomercial Envy.

TWD #48: Berry berry late surprise cake Its a POM Wonderful Life! **GIVEAWAY** (Time’s up!)

24 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Rebecca  |  January 28, 2009 at 7:12 pm

    Oh, I looooove this one. My other favorites are the one that makes it look like opening a jar is The Hardest Thing on Earth and the one for the laptop stand. One of the stand’s alternate uses is to prop a book, so they show a chubby kid eating a sandwich while he reads. The horror!

    Reply
  • 2. Nikki  |  January 28, 2009 at 8:10 pm

    Step away from the damn infomercials. You seriously need help my love :P

    My mom got me a snugglie for xmas … I don’t like it … it makes me feel like my arms should be a foot lower on my body and a foot longer in length

    Reply
  • 3. Kristina  |  January 28, 2009 at 8:47 pm

    LOL Ben and I want snuggies really bad! I like watching infomercials in the morning when nothing else is on. I actually got a set of Bumpits off ebay and they really do work! Now, I just have to get the Malibu Pilates Chair :D

    Reply
  • 4. Tanya  |  January 28, 2009 at 11:41 pm

    I stay up super late, so I see all the infomercials. Have you ever seen Vince from ShamWow? He also does some infomercial for a chopping gadget. That guy is hilarious!

    Reply
  • 5. Kristi  |  January 29, 2009 at 5:39 am

    Save yourself some S&H, they have them at Walgreens!!

    Reply
  • 6. Julie  |  January 29, 2009 at 6:33 am

    The have the snuggies at Bed, Bath & Beyond too.

    The original is actually the “slanket” which my husband got one of for Christmas. He loves it.

    I can’t STAND the sham-wow guy… he creeps me out.

    Reply
  • 7. CB  |  January 29, 2009 at 6:44 am

    REBECCA, LOL @ hardest thing on earth! I totally know which one you’re talking about but I can’t remember the name. Omg that is gonna kill me all day…

    NIKKI, I can’t step away! I am addicted!! Its a serious problem. I can totally picture you in your snuggie with your snuggie sleeves dangling to your knees. Hilarious mental picture.

    KRISTINA, Omg you *want* a snuggie?? HAHA. I have never seen the bumpits one. I just youtubed it. Hilarious!

    TANYA, Vince. You know the dude’s name? He’s a little too into the shamwow for me but I think I bought the shamwow at a fair a couple years ago. I assume since I don’t use it regularly now that it didn’t work quite as well as it did on tv. haha.

    KRISTI, Seriously? Looks like I am making a trip to Walgreens this weekend! LOL

    JULIE, Slanket? Seriously?? LOL. Oohhh BBB! Even better. I have to go exchange something anyways… Ditto on the creepy shamwow guy.

    Reply
  • 8. Maria  |  January 29, 2009 at 7:25 am

    I have seen the Suggies, too funny!

    Reply
  • 9. stephchows  |  January 29, 2009 at 7:47 am

    I just read a news article about how that company is making serious coin from all the people ordering them :) Like CRAZY profits hahahaha. We were just talking about it at work and how it’s totally just a bathrobe put on backwards :D

    Reply
  • 10. Kat Graz  |  January 29, 2009 at 7:52 am

    My favorite informercial ever is the Flowbee! Does anyone remember it? You can give your self a haircut at home using your vaccuum! http://www.flowbee.com/

    Reply
  • 11. CB  |  January 29, 2009 at 7:58 am

    MARIA, Too funny. What will they thinkn of next?

    STEPH, I don’t doubt it. Heck I plan to buy one as a gag gift!

    KAT, OH-MY-GOD! Flowbee!! I was gonna do this one in the next infomercial envy b/c I was telling my hubs about it the other day and he had no idea!! Its a vacuum hair cutter! Now who wouldn’t want that? LOLOL.

    Reply
  • 12. Mary  |  January 30, 2009 at 6:58 pm

    Doesn’t it make you wonder when they say that the snugglie is great for staying warm while holding an infant? If it’s cold enough to be under the blanket, shouldn’t the infant be under the blanket too? Or if you’re under the blanket because you’re sick shouldn’t you step away from the baby? I’ve seen the infomercial enough times to be seriously worried about the baby. :)

    Reply
  • 13. Girl Japan  |  January 31, 2009 at 1:26 am

    “wink” infomercials were a fav of mine, stopped being a fav until I learned Japanese .. cause all I was watching was pictures on a tube.. now that i understand Japanese.. I really enjoy them too!!!

    Reply
  • 14. CB  |  January 31, 2009 at 7:42 am

    MARY, Now you’ve got me worried about the baby too! HAHAHA

    GIRLJAPAN, That is so cool that you understand Japanese. What are “wink” infomercials?

    Reply
  • 15. CarlyB  |  January 31, 2009 at 12:14 pm

    Oh man, we were just talking about “sleeved blankets” at work… Haha I should so tell my supervisor about the snuggie…

    Reply
  • 16. CB  |  January 31, 2009 at 3:11 pm

    CARLYB, Well I guess if ppl were/are talking about it, there was bound to be someone that “invented” it right? Supply and demand. I bet your supervisor will get a kick out of it. I crack up every time I see the infomercial (and I’ve seen it a million times!)

    Reply
  • 17. Steph  |  January 31, 2009 at 3:23 pm

    Clara, you’re too funny.. the first thing Snuggie reminded me of was one of those cult cloaks. It’s crazy how infomercials are so addicting. I once got lost from my family when I was little (those advertisers get you a such a young age!) at a Food exhibition place. The guy was doing a live infomercial where they were trying to sell nonstick pans. It was so embarassing when I realized I was the only one left. The annoucer actually used his mic to help me find my family.

    Reply
  • 18. mrsabybaby  |  January 31, 2009 at 3:55 pm

    OMG. A coworker actually started talking about the Snuggie and I made fun of her but then I decided that I really wanted one! I mean my arms freeze when I’m curled up on the couch trying to read. So in my stocking at Christmas was a picture of a Snuggie printed out and T had bought them for us!! However, they were on such backorder that we just received them like 2 weeks ago. They are blue – with pockets and the reading lights. HA! I ADORE THEM!!!! I’ll send you a pic sometime of me all SNUGGIED up!

    Reply
  • 19. zebe912  |  February 1, 2009 at 6:21 am

    I don’t have a name brand snuggie, but I did get one (bought at a store) for Christmas and I seriously love it. I’ve been watching back episodes of TV shows on my computer lately, and it is great to zip myself up in my human cocoon!

    Reply
  • 20. CB  |  February 1, 2009 at 7:51 am

    STEPH, OMG. Hilarious! The same thing happened to me at the fair. I think my guy was selling knives or something like that. I was entranced. It cut through metal! Could you blame me? But I confess I wasn’t a kid. I think this happened last year… haha

    MRSABYBABY, You have snuggie?? LOLOL. I didn’t realize it came with reading lights. That just makes them even better now! Please take a picture for me. I have to see that!

    ZEBE, Another rave for the Snuggie. Looks like I need to get myself a Snuggie if all my fav peeps have one huh?

    Reply
  • 21. Michelle  |  February 2, 2009 at 10:35 am

    I have been wanting one too. But I know my hub would look at me like I had 3 heads. LOL

    Reply
  • 22. CB  |  February 2, 2009 at 5:57 pm

    MICHELLE, Me and hubs make fun of it but I could totally see the appeal esp on those cold winter nights…

    Reply
  • 23. macduff  |  February 3, 2009 at 2:43 pm

    OMG OMG OMG OMG OMG
    http://snuggiesightings.com/snuggie/

    Reply
  • 24. CB  |  February 3, 2009 at 5:33 pm

    MACDUFF, Now I’ve seen everything! LOLOLOL

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Thank You Sponsors!

Copyright

MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

Creative Commons License
Photos, Original Recipes & Text ©iheartfood4thought 2007-2009 unless otherwise indicated. All rights reserved. If you repost any material from this blog, please give credit by including a link back to me. Thank you!

Hits since Dec 2007

  • 230,875 dirty dishes

Tweet Tweet

Badge designed by SiahDesigns

Click the banners

Current reading


The Best Casserole Cookbook Ever by Beatrice Ojakangas

website counter


