Pomegranate Molasses Chicken

January 24, 2009 at 8:11 pm 12 comments

I haven’t been cooking dinners lately. I am so tired by the time I get home from work that all I wanna do is sit on my couch until the couch molds to my butt. Come to think of it. I think we have a take out menu from every local joint within 5 miles of our apt now. I know Spicy Thai’s number by heart. I have a feeling this isn’t something to be proud of though.

To be honest, I miss cooking. But I love eating out on the weekends with friends and family. See the dilemma. When’s a girl have time to cook? So I made a deal with my hubs. Friday night is date night (as usual) but Saturday night Wifey cooks dinner and Husband does the dishes. I’d say that’s win win for everyone, no?

Now you all know I have an obsessive personality. Right now its all about the pomegranate molasses. I used pomegranate molasses for some cupcakes back in December and ever since I’ve been wanting to make some more pom molasses to cook something savory. And tonight was a good a night as any.

BTW I am feeling kinda girly. I got my nails did this afternoon b/c T and I are chaperoning his school’s Winter Formal tonight. There’s just something about hormonal boys and girls bringing sexy back on the dance floor that makes me nostalgic for my high school days. Things don’t change much. They just seem to get “shorter” and “tighter”. LOL.

Maybe if you ask nicely I’ll post some pictures tomorrow. Maybe…

Until then you’ll just have to be happy with some breasts. teheee…


Recipe adapted from Gluten-Free Girl

INGREDIENTS

4 chicken thighs (I used 3 large chicken breasts)
4 tbsp of olive oil
2 tbsp of butter
1 large white onion, chopped (I used 1/2 an onion)
4 cloves of garlic
1/4 cup of cashews (I used 1/2 cup of cashews)
1/4 cup of pistachios, shelled and unsalted (I omitted)
zest of one lemon (I used about 1 tbsp)
juice of one lemon (I used about 2-1/2 tbsp)
4 tbsp of pomegranate molasses*
1 tbsp of sugar
1/2 tsp of salt (or to taste)
1-1/2 cups of chicken stock (I used fat free chicken broth)

* If you can’t find pom molasses, you can make yourself!

INSTRUCTIONS

Heat olive oil with butter in a heavy saucepan. After butter has melted, add the chicken thighs. Brown them, about 1-2 minutes on each side. Take off heat and put on plate. Cover with foil to keep warm. Set aside.

Add the onion to the olive oil and butter mixture and cook until soft, about 1-2 minutes. Add garlic. When garlic is golden, add the cashews and pistachios. Stir these continuously until they are golden and aromatic, about 3-5 minutes. Watch them closely. They can burn fast!

Add the chicken stock, pomegranate molasses, lemon juice, and lemon zest. Bring mixture to a boil. Add the sugar, salt and pepper to taste.

Place the chicken back in saucepan and let simmer, on medium-low heat, for about twenty minutes, or until they are tender.

(I served with Parmesan Garlic Mashed Potatoes and Roasted Asparagus.)

ENJOY!

Husband rating: A-
He loves chicken but this wasn’t his favorite chicken recipe. I think the pom molasses was a sweet and tangy flavor that he isn’t use to but he still ate it up!

Wifey rating: A/A+
The chicken was moist and full of flavor. I love the sweet and tangy flavor that the pom molasses added to the chicken, garlic and onion. The cashews were so good with the chicken too. Definitely will make this again.

Entry filed under: chicken. Tags: .

FF: [Flash] Bunday Monday

12 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Gretchen Noelle  |  January 25, 2009 at 3:27 am

    Sounds tasty! Can you believe that I still have never tried POM? I hope too soon!

    Reply
  • 2. amanda  |  January 25, 2009 at 5:55 am

    Yum! That looks and sounds delicious. I need to find some pomegranate molasses so I can try that!

    Reply
  • 3. Jen  |  January 25, 2009 at 6:23 am

    Sounds yummy. How was the dance? I’d love to see pics!

    Reply
  • 4. Julie  |  January 25, 2009 at 7:37 am

    Looks interesting. :)

    I see you’re reading Water for Elephants, you’ll have to let me know what you think!

    Reply
  • 5. Carla  |  January 25, 2009 at 8:11 am

    Hmm definitely an interesting concept! Maybe I’ll make some pom molasses to try. Also, I have Water For Elephants on my to-read list. Would you recommend it?

    Reply
  • 6. CB  |  January 25, 2009 at 8:24 am

    GRETCHEN, Never?? I wasn’t a huge pom juice drinker when I was younger but I like it as an adult. Its a sweet and tangy flavor. So good. Get yourself some soon!

    AMANDA, If you can’t find it you can make it yourself. Just buy the pom juice and reduce it down on the stove. I have the link to exactly how to do it in my post. Let me know what you think!

    JEN, Dance was fun! All the kids love seeing their teacher and his wife. T likes to take pictures of his kids b/c they are all dressed up and look so cute. But dang some of those dresses were low cut, tight, short, barely there. I must be getting old. haha.

    JULIE and CARLA, Ruh oh! “Interesting” is never a good word to use with food. haha. I have to admit I wasnt sure what I’d think either but its really good. As for Water for Elephant, I’ve only read the first few pages but I think it will be good.

    Reply
  • 7. Girl Japan  |  January 27, 2009 at 3:16 pm

    This looks down right lovely, I really like your creative flow!!!

    Reply
  • 8. CB  |  January 27, 2009 at 8:12 pm

    GIRLJAPAN, Thank you! I was curious about the pom molasses and was pleasantly surprised at how much flavor it gives the chicken. So yummy!

    Reply
  • 9. Monique  |  January 29, 2009 at 11:31 am

    That sounds soooo good!

    Reply
  • 10. CB  |  January 29, 2009 at 6:27 pm

    MONIQUE, I won’t lie. It was yummy! ;)

    Reply
  • 11. Jaime  |  February 3, 2009 at 8:42 pm

    yum! i love pom and the molasses sounds delicious

    Reply
  • 12. CB  |  February 4, 2009 at 6:12 am

    JAIME, Me too. I heart pom. Must be the CA girl in me. :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Thank You Sponsors!

Copyright

MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

Creative Commons License
Photos, Original Recipes & Text ©iheartfood4thought 2007-2009 unless otherwise indicated. All rights reserved. If you repost any material from this blog, please give credit by including a link back to me. Thank you!

Hits since Dec 2007

  • 229,665 dirty dishes

Tweet Tweet

Badge designed by SiahDesigns

Click the banners

Current reading


The Best Casserole Cookbook Ever by Beatrice Ojakangas

website counter


