FF: [Flash]

January 23, 2009 at 7:29 am 3 comments

You may remember a couple weeks ago when I wrote about Fotography Friday. No? Well let me refresh your memory. Ah. Now its ringing a bell huh?

Our January-February assignment is flash.

As a foodie you’re kinda brainwashed to hate flash. Since I am easily brainwashed. I hate flash. So you can imagine I wasn’t sure how much use I’d get from learning about flash. Because honestly I only take food pictures. I have more pictures of cupcakes than my husband.

But maybe its time to branch out, no?

A couple weeks ago I took my camera over to my IL’s house and in the middle of the front lawn, next to a leaf-less tree, in the middle of aging flowers I found this one perfectly pink flower. (Anyone botanist readers know the name?) I don’t know about you but there’s just something about the brilliancy of a flower. It provoked me to lay on the wet grass and take a picture (or 10).


Click image to enlarge
AUTO
Auto is pretty self explanatory. The camera chooses all the specs for you. You have no control. It picks a suitable power outage (intensity) so that your image is well exposed as long whatever you’re shooting within your flash’s range. Its great for the amateur photographer like me who confuses easily if there are too many choices.


Click image to enlarge
NO FLASH
Again pretty self explanatory. No flash means no flash. You don’t get any extra power outage from your camera. All the light in your environment is all the intensity you get. Obviously a good choice if you are shooting in good natural light and you don’t need any supplemental power. If I remember correctly (that aint saying much with my memory), I shot this picture in the morning so there wasn’t alot of light yet. If you compare it to the auto flash picture above you can see the difference in light intensity around the flower. No flash picture seems more subdued to me.


Click image to enlarge
FILL FLASH
You can use this on a sunny day or a cloudy day. The camera’s metering system will evaluate the light intensity and either lighten shadows on a sunny day or provide more light compensation on a cloudy day. If you compare this picture to the no flash picture above you can see that the fill flash provided more light to bring the flower out of the background so that its not as subdued.


Click image to enlarge
SLOW SYNC FLASH
After you choose the mode (ie Program or Aperature), the camera will set a slow (long) shutter speed. The longer exposure time will take in account the surrounding ambient light but without affecting the flash exposure. What does that mean in English? Well think about it this way. Let’s say you want to take a picture of the Las Vegas strip that includes dear ol husband in the picture too. Usually the lights get kinda washed out but using slow sync flash option keeps the Vegas lights from interfering with the flash and you get the best of both worlds: Vegas and husband. Not sure my subject in this picture really demonstrates it well though. I’ll be going back to Vegas in July (omg am I really turning 30??) so I’ll have to put my money where my mouth is.


Click image to enlarge
REAR SYNC FLASH
Conventional photography flash fires at the start of exposure but rear sync flash fires at the end of the exposure. Have you ever seen those city pictures that trail light from cars? This flash option produces those motion streaks that follow the cars. Obviously since the flower wasn’t moving you really don’t get to see how that works but next time you are standing in the middle of oncoming traffic… Try it out! (Warning: Do not stand in the middle of oncoming traffic. We are trained professionals.)

There you have it.

Who knew you could do so many things just by changing the flash. Maybe I am not a flash hater anymore?

Entry filed under: Foto Friday.

NFR: Let’s talk about debt, baby! Pomegranate Molasses Chicken

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Amy Ruth  |  January 24, 2009 at 8:09 am

    Wow! Thank you, I may actually learn something about photography and learn how to take a decent photo all by myself. sorry…. Corbin, I love the explanation of the rear sync flash. I love those kind of photos. Where are the photos of hubs in LV? he he Thanks for stopping by. I was late with my post. ooops

    Reply
  • 2. Steph  |  January 24, 2009 at 4:46 pm

    I’m a flash hater, but after seeing your pictures, I think using flash might add more colour to my morning pictures which always turn out too blue.

    Reply
  • 3. Jen  |  February 3, 2009 at 10:57 am

    Graet post about flash. I agree that I was a flash hater until this month too. Nothing like forcing yourself to use your camera to it’s fullest potential.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Thank You Sponsors!

Copyright

MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

Creative Commons License
Photos, Original Recipes & Text ©iheartfood4thought 2007-2009 unless otherwise indicated. All rights reserved. If you repost any material from this blog, please give credit by including a link back to me. Thank you!

Hits since Dec 2007

  • 231,099 dirty dishes

Tweet Tweet

Badge designed by SiahDesigns

Click the banners

Current reading


The Best Casserole Cookbook Ever by Beatrice Ojakangas

website counter


