Real Simple Broccoli and Walnut Pasta

January 19, 2009 at 6:47 pm 15 comments

This weekend I spent a sinful amount of time indulging in more than 1 buffet in Las Vegas *hangs head* so when I got home, I was ready for a home cooked meal. I think there’s only so much gluttony you can take before your stomach starts “urging” you to give it a break with something light. Know what I’m saying? Maybe TMI? haha.

But after driving 4 hours to get home I wasn’t about to spend too much time in the kitchen either. What’s a weary traveler to do? (Besides call Pizza Hut to deliver. LOL)

And there it was. Laying on the counter. Just waiting for me to get the hint.

My newest Real Simple magazine.

Anything with “simple” in the title was exactly what the doctor ordered.

PS. Vegas was AWESOME. Just what I needed to jump start my battery esp since the blackjack gods were good to me and I came home up $100. Heck yeah! Mama needs a new pair of shoes! w00t!


Recipe adapted from Real Simple Magazine, February 2009

makes about 4 servings

INGREDIENTS

12 oz (3 cups) orecchiette(I used 1lb penne pasta)
1-1/2 lbs broccoli, cut into small florets (I used ~1lb fresh broccoli florets)
1/2 cup walnuts, roughly chopped
1/4 cup olive oil
2 cloves garlic, chopped (I used 3 cloves of garlic)
1/2 tsp kosher salt
1/4 tsp pepper
2 tbsp unsalted butter,
1/4 cup grated Parmesan cheese
2 cups pre-cooked chicken strips, chopped

INSTRUCTIONS

Heat oven to 400F. Cook the pasta according to the package directions. Reserve 3/4 cup of the cooking water, drain the pasta and return to pot.

While pasta is boiling, toss the broccoli, walnuts, olive oil, garlic, chicken, salt and pepper on a baking sheet. Roast the mixture (tossing halfway through the cooking time) until broccoli tender, about 18-20 minutes.

Combine the pasta with broccoli mixture, butter and 1/2 cup of reserved pasta water. (Add more water if needed.) Sprinkled with Parmesan cheese before serving.

ENJOY!

Husband rating: A+
My hubs is a protein man so I added some chicken to the recipe. At first my hubs asked “Where’s the sauce?” but after taking one bite he was hooked. I think he was surprised how much flavor you can get from olive oil, garlic and parmesan cheese.

Wifey rating: A+
I am trying to eat more veggies so this broccoli pasta was a good compromise. I like that it was easy to make and not heavy on my stomach. Flavors were yummy. Definitely will make again.

Entry filed under: pasta, Real Simple.

Bunday Monday TWD #47: Surprise! No berry cake.

15 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Tania  |  January 19, 2009 at 6:53 pm

    I would make this for me, but not the hubs. I once paid him $25 bucks and agreed to a certain position to get him to eat one bite of broccoli!!! Sorry – TMI!!
    Tania
    congrats on the winnings!

    Reply
  • 2. CB  |  January 19, 2009 at 7:10 pm

    TANYA, LOL @ certain position! You nasty girl! Hubs isn’t a broccoli fan huh? Dang. You are such a good wifey ;)

    Reply
  • 3. Melissa  |  January 19, 2009 at 7:44 pm

    Since I love your blog… I’ve left this award for you. Pick it up here…

    http://www.ofsoupandlove.com/2009/01/of-soup-and-love-and-swelling-head.html

    … and thanks.

    Reply
  • 4. Joelen  |  January 19, 2009 at 9:14 pm

    I love dishes like this – so simple yet flavorful!

    Reply
  • 5. macduff  |  January 20, 2009 at 8:01 am

    This is my favorite thing to eat – so simple, you really get to enjoy the flavors. Looks super good.

    Reply
  • 6. macduff  |  January 20, 2009 at 8:02 am

    AND WHAT WERE YOU DOING IN VEGAS?????

    Reply
  • 7. kim  |  January 20, 2009 at 2:09 pm

    ooh congrats on the vegas winnings! ;) that pasta looks so delicious. i know what you mean about the gluttony stomach protest… i wish my taste buds did that too!!

    Reply
  • 8. Lisa magicsprinkles  |  January 20, 2009 at 6:04 pm

    Oooh! I need to check the mailbox and see if mine is in there. This looks simply delicious!

    Reply
  • 9. CB  |  January 20, 2009 at 6:20 pm

    MELISSA, Aaaww for me? You’re making me blush! Thanks so much!

    JOELEN, Exactly. Simple and tasty. What more could you ask for?

    MACDUFF, What was I doing in Vegas? Sinning! haha. We just decide spur of the moment Friday night to take advantage of the long MLK weekend and go to Vegas. They were having killer deals on hotels too. So we decided to jump on it! Lord knows after the week I was having I really need to eat myself sick, spend money, get a massage and take in the Vegas lights.

    KIM, Haha. Seriously. I wish my taste buds would listen to my tummy’s protests! Darn my taste buds and their insatiability!

    LISA, Definitely! I am really digging the RS recipes lately.

    Reply
  • 10. stephchows  |  January 21, 2009 at 7:53 am

    congrats on coming back in the + from vegas :). my mom got me real simple for christmas and it just came in the mail but I haven’t looked at it yet! I’ll totally have to make this!! :D

    Reply
  • 11. CB  |  January 21, 2009 at 7:57 am

    STEPHCHOWS, Oh yeah. Plus is always good when you’re talking about Vegas. HAHA. Let me know what you think if you make this one.

    Reply
  • 12. GirlJapan  |  January 21, 2009 at 7:14 pm

    I love Vegas…. but you know.. Penne pasta is the absolute best, the ridges allow the sauce to stay so in each bite you can savor the taste more.. I think it is a very sexy type of past and this presentation looks fabulous!!!

    Reply
  • 13. CB  |  January 21, 2009 at 7:23 pm

    GIRLJAPAN, I have to say that penne is one of my favorite pastas. I agree. Penne is bringing sexy back. LOL

    Reply
  • 14. Melany  |  April 11, 2009 at 4:45 pm

    I came across your site looking for this recipe on google. I had read through the magazine at the dentist’s office and wished I had written it down.

    Thanks for posting this! I am trying this tonight for the kids without the walnuts.

    Reply
  • 15. CB  |  April 11, 2009 at 8:03 pm

    MELANY, Awesome! Let me know what you (and your kids) think! :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Thank You Sponsors!

Copyright

MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

Creative Commons License
Photos, Original Recipes & Text ©iheartfood4thought 2007-2009 unless otherwise indicated. All rights reserved. If you repost any material from this blog, please give credit by including a link back to me. Thank you!

Hits since Dec 2007

  • 230,507 dirty dishes

Tweet Tweet

Badge designed by SiahDesigns

Click the banners

Current reading


The Best Casserole Cookbook Ever by Beatrice Ojakangas

website counter


