Foodie Question of the Day

January 16, 2009 at 7:20 am 23 comments

How much “useable” counter space do you have in your kitchen?

I struggle with counter space whenever I cook or bake. I think back in the 60s when my apt was built, people were more liberated to eat out b/c my kitchen is so FREAKING small. (Although I do think the blender outlet in the countertop is pretty darn cool. 60s must have been a mixed drink era, no?) Or maybe it was more single men living in apartments in the 60s?

In my kitchen, I have about 3.5′ x 1′ of “useable” counter top. Meaning there’s nothing in that space so that I can prep there. I have more counter space (albeit not that much more) but they have my microwave, KA mixer, toaster, rice cooker, spice rack, knife block etc on them so I don’t count them as useable counter space.

Anyone wanna buy me a house preferably something with a mega kitchen, prep island and one of those cool faucets above the stove so I don’t have to lug a gallon of water in a pot from the sink to the stove? Please. Please. Please. I’ll be your best friend…

Happy Friday readers.

TGIF, seriously!

This has been a long, emotional week for me. I for one am ready for the weekend.

PS. Thanks for all the TWD comments. I am hoping to check in with you peeps this weekend. Just haven’t had a chance yet. I know. I fail. *hangs head*

Entry filed under: Foodie Question of the Day.

TWD #47: Wanna hear a corn-y joke? Bunday Monday

23 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Julie  |  January 16, 2009 at 7:28 am

    I feel you on that severe LACK of usable counter space. When we’re lucky we have about a 1’x2′ area, that’s if there are no dishes there. Sometimes we use the stove too (obviously if nothing is being cooked at that moment) because ours is flat topped… but it is difficult.

    Also, I second the TGIF!

    Reply
  • 2. chocolatechic  |  January 16, 2009 at 7:33 am

    I have about 6×2 feet of usable counter space, and then about a 5′ square island that is all usable.

    Reply
  • 3. CB  |  January 16, 2009 at 7:35 am

    JULIE, Wow. Thats tiny! I do use the stove sometimes but I don’t have an even surface on the stove so its a balancing act to distribute weight evenly over the 4 burners.

    CHOCOLATECHIC, Showoff! ;)

    Reply
  • 4. stephchows  |  January 16, 2009 at 7:49 am

    my first studio apt had a kitchen that I could touch all 4 walls with at once if i reached out with arms and legs… I think it was originally a closet (no joke) I lived in an old HUGE house that got chopped into apt. I know awesome huh!

    From there I went to a place with a HUGE kitchen… but still very little counter space… then I moved in October to a town house and now have 3 – 2×2 foot spots that don’t have too much on them (just a few pots of kitchen utensils and a knife block). One to each side of the sink, and one next to the fridge… I get creative and have crap on each of those spots and jump btw them :D Plus the kitchen table, but it’s kinda low so you have to bend to work on it… ouch.

    Reply
  • 5. J  |  January 16, 2009 at 7:58 am

    Hey, I feel ya on the lack of counter space!! We don’t have nearly enough in our townhouse (along with a serious lack of storage!!).

    I’m sorry it’s been a long, emotional week for you! It has been for me too, must be something in the air. I’m definitely ready for the weekend.

    Reply
  • 6. Nikki  |  January 16, 2009 at 8:52 am

    I dream of having even 1’by 1′ of usable counter space. I have about 1’x1′ on each side of my sink, but my dishrack needs to go on one side and the other side is jammed up in a corner. My KA is on the floor and all other appliances are put away. So everyone stop your whining about lack of counter space CB you’ve seen it. I have none.

    Reply
  • 7. carolina  |  January 16, 2009 at 9:19 am

    You can never have enough counter space! My kitchen is pretty big with a lot of storage and counter spaces, and I still run out of room! I really need better organization. I leave my George Foreman, KA mixer, Processor, mini chopper, and hand mixer out at all times. I use them so much, it just is a pain to keep getting them out.
    I really hope your week gets better. Hang it there! The current book you are reading is a good one.

    Reply
  • 8. pinkstripes  |  January 16, 2009 at 10:36 am

    We have a lot. Not only because we have an island and counters, but because I am anti-keeping anything on the counter. Everything gets put away. I hate things on the counter. That’s why it took me so long to get KA mixer b/c I knew I would have to keep it on the counter unlike the food processor or toaster.

    Reply
  • 9. Tanya  |  January 16, 2009 at 10:58 am

    Oh man, I totally sympathize on the lack of counter space. My old apartment had a kitchenette, which was basically the kitchen in the living room. There was about 12″ across of usable counter area. The apartment we live in now has a HUGE kitchen (huge for an apartment) and lots of counter area. It was one of the main reasons I wanted to live here and one of my requirements for a new apartment. Eight years of living with that kitchenette – never again!

    Reply
  • 10. LyB  |  January 16, 2009 at 12:14 pm

    OK, this post is making me feel bad. I “should” have some usable counter space but my counters are so cluttered, it’s like I have none. Toaster, coffee maker, KA, dish rack, countless bills and kids’ papers from school, baby bottles drying on a towel, cookie jar, etc, etc… I am so not organized! In fact that is my one and only New Year’s Resolution, to get my kitchen organized. I’ve got my work cut out for me. :) Hope you have a good weekend!

    Reply
  • 11. suzy  |  January 16, 2009 at 2:07 pm

    counterspace…what’s that???? =’s little to none!

    Reply
  • 12. Kristina  |  January 16, 2009 at 2:32 pm

    I’m constantly dreaming of a huge kitchen with tons of counter top! I have no space that’s completely unoccupied, but I manage to work in a 3’x1′ space beside the stove and a 3’x3′ (ish) space by the fridge. It’s not much, but it’s infinitely better than our first apartment that had absolutely none. It was a renovated hotel suite from the early 1900’s. That experience taught me that functionality wins out over charm lol

    Sorry you had a tough week! I hope you have a nice relaxing weekend :)

    Reply
  • 13. Sweetcharity  |  January 16, 2009 at 6:19 pm

    I have like zero counterspace- about 2’x1′. It’s frustrating at times, but there’s tons of ways to max out a tiny kitchen. I may have no counterspace, but the strange floorplan of my place allows for some open shelving which lets me store pretty much anything I’s be tempted to throw on the counter…
    Here’s a link to an entry at Smitten kitchen that really sums that up.
    http://smittenkitchen.com/2008/11/how-to-max-out-your-tiny-kitchen/
    Tons of great ideas in the comments too!

    Reply
  • 14. girljapan  |  January 16, 2009 at 7:08 pm

    I seriously know how it feels to lack counter space.. and I hated it but I made use of it the best way I could. We were renting in Japan and well… overpriced …. nice kitchen but …. where is the darn counter space… UGH finally we moved, got a condo which is so so with the counter space but the house .. the first thing I talked to the designer about was the counter… I wanted a slab of granite…so I could just plop and go and not worry…

    been there.. done that.. I really know how you feel..

    Reply
  • 15. CB  |  January 16, 2009 at 9:09 pm

    STEPH, You could touch all 4 walls? Dang. Talk about claustrophobic. I am so jealous of your townhouse. I can’t wait til me and T can afford our own place. I am not even greedy. I’d take a townhouse over a BIG house right now. I just wanna own something!!

    J, Thanks for your sympathies. I think sometimes the emotional times keep our lives in perspective you know? But in the moment its hard to think of it that way…

    NIKKI, Yeah. I still have no idea how you cook in that tiny little space. Props girl. Major props for all the goodies you post on your blog. I still don’t know how you do it.

    CAROLINA, I can just see myself saying the same thing. There is never enough counter space. HAHA. Thanks for the sweet words. To be honest I finished that book a while ago. Just keep forgetting to update! Thanks for reminding me!

    PINKSTRIPES, I like the look of counters without clutter but my laziness outweighs my asthetics. haha. Personally I like how my KA mixer looks on my counter but then again that could be the laziness talking. ;)

    LYB, Thats a good NYR! GL with that! You should take a picture of your counter before and after to post on your blog. Maybe if you feel the pressure to post the after you’ll clean up your counter. haha.

    SUZY, LOL. Seriously. What IS counter space? haha

    SWEETCHARITY, Thanks for the SK link! I remembering reading it and kicking myself for not starring it so I could read it again later. Appreciate you finding it for me!

    GIRLJAPAN, So interesting to read about the counter space sitch in Japan. Whenever I watch House Hunters international and I see the tiny living spaces it makes me do a double take. PS. I am jealous of your future granite countertops.

    Reply
  • 16. Vibi  |  January 17, 2009 at 6:56 am

    In advance… I’m sorry.
    I’ll make this as short and as painless as possible.
    I’m lucky… I have over 7 feet of useable counter space… Eeeeek!
    Hey! I said I was sorry.

    Reply
  • 17. CB  |  January 17, 2009 at 6:58 am

    VIBI, Um. You suck. No package for you! haha. Just teasing. Hopefully I will have 7 feet of counter space someday… I hope.

    Reply
  • 18. Natalie  |  January 17, 2009 at 7:54 am

    girl, every day i ask my husband why i overlooked the lack of counter space in our miniature kitchen! some days, i feel like i’m back to EasyBake-ing! I don’t have a full-size oven, which is especially frustrating with cookie recipes.. and the the counter space i do have is covered with appliances! but, we press on and somehow manage to crank out deliciousness, don’t we? :) a little kitchen now will make a big kitchen sweeter!

    Reply
  • 19. CB  |  January 17, 2009 at 9:44 am

    NATALIE, Oh trust. When I start house hunting I’ll be looking for counter space and natural light in my kitchen! HAHA. My realtor might think I am nuts but this baker knows whats she’s missing!

    Reply
  • 20. Cakelaw  |  January 17, 2009 at 6:58 pm

    LOL – I have a similar problem with bench space and cupboard space – especially now that I have started to accumulate serious foodie gadgets and books.

    Reply
  • 21. Wandering Chopsticks  |  January 19, 2009 at 2:15 pm

    Ha! What I’d give for an extra foot. I have 2 feet by 1 foot of usable space. I use my dining table a lot. Or place a cutting board over the side of the sink.

    My college apt was a converted hotel room so my kitchen was a converted closet. Mini stove, half sink, half fridge. And if two people stood in it, we took up the entire kitchen with no room to budge.

    Still, one does what one must.

    Reply
  • 22. Jaime  |  February 3, 2009 at 8:44 pm

    i feel your pain. i have NO counter space. i usually use my flat stovetop! i have about 1 sq ft of counter space on either side of my stove and then about a 12-inch x 6-inch space on the counter by the sink in front of my KA mixer. i want a bigger kitchen!!!!!!!

    Reply
  • 23. CB  |  February 4, 2009 at 6:07 am

    CAKELAW, Omg tell me about it. I have gadgets and cookbooks stuffed in every crevice!

    WANDERINGCHOPSTICKS, Oh yeah. I do the cutting board over the sink trick too. Your college apt sounds insane! A closet? Really?

    JAIME, Ditto about bigger kitchen!! Yeah my mixer takes up alot of the counterspace but I love it so much I’ll deal. It would be a PITA to move my mixer off the counter every time I wanna use it. Plus its pretty to look at. HAHA

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Thank You Sponsors!

Copyright

MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

Creative Commons License
Photos, Original Recipes & Text ©iheartfood4thought 2007-2009 unless otherwise indicated. All rights reserved. If you repost any material from this blog, please give credit by including a link back to me. Thank you!

Hits since Dec 2007

  • 231,073 dirty dishes

Tweet Tweet

Badge designed by SiahDesigns

Click the banners

Current reading


The Best Casserole Cookbook Ever by Beatrice Ojakangas

website counter


