TWD #47: Wanna hear a corn-y joke?

January 13, 2009 at 12:10 am 42 comments

Question: How is an ear of corn like an army?
Answer: It has lots of kernels.

Bahahahaha!!!

*ignoring muffled groans from my readers*

Oh hush. Just laugh for joke’s sake. Ok fine. Don’t laugh at my joke. At least I can relish in the fact that you’ll have that joke stuck in your head all day.

I guess I am feeling more corny than usual. Must have something to do with this week’s Tuesdays with Dorie recipe but I bet you already figured that out with the TWD logo above huh? You readers are so smart.

I gave everyone a sneak peep to today’s TWD recipe in a recent blog post a couple days ago. I bet I know alot of TWD members (esp the ones that read the P&Q every week) who probably got a weird craving for chili like me. Gotta love the power of subliminal commenting. Come to think of it. That seems to happen to me alot. No wonder infomercials work on me. I know. You don’t have to tell me. I have issues. But I can’t be the only one that loves infomercials. Come on. Who needs to join IA (infomercials anonymous) with me?

Hello my name is Clara… I am an infomercial-holic.

This week’s recipe is hosted by one of my favorite blogging chicks, Rebecca from Ezra Poundcake. You can find the recipe on her blog. Don’t forget to see what the other TWD bakers thought of their muffins too.

What I learned this week:
My little brother likes chili. I know that doesn’t have anything to do with the corn muffins but I wouldn’t have found out unless I was making the corn muffins with the chili so its semi-related, right?


Savory Corn and Pepper Muffins
Recipe from Baking: From My Home To Yours, Dorie Greenspan



ENJOY!

Husband rating: A-
He likes cornbread but he’s a cornbread purist so he wasnt a big fan of the veggie chunks.

Wifey rating: A-/B+
I am not a big cornbread fan. Maybe I would have liked it more if I had added more corn and bell pepper chunks? It was really good crumbled in my chili though.

Other rating: A
I was really surprised that he totally liked these muffins. My little brother is a picky eater but he ate like 3 of them!

Entry filed under: Tuesdays With Dorie. Tags: .

Bunday Monday Foodie Question of the Day

42 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Girl Japan  |  January 13, 2009 at 1:15 am

    The snaps are looking pretty darn fabulous!!!! Oh this sure looks delish….. I have having trouble finding corn flour here = (

    Reply
  • 2. Cakelaw  |  January 13, 2009 at 2:21 am

    These look great – and so glad the picky little brother loved them too!

    Reply
  • 3. Joelen  |  January 13, 2009 at 5:17 am

    Looks delicious and I really enjoy your posts with the various steps outlined!

    Reply
  • 4. pamela  |  January 13, 2009 at 5:20 am

    These were perfect with chili. Glad your little brother enjoyed them, too.

    Reply
  • 5. Nicole  |  January 13, 2009 at 5:21 am

    So pretty! I love how colorful they are.

    Reply
  • 6. LyB  |  January 13, 2009 at 5:21 am

    Yeah, I got a chili craving this week too! Your muffins look perfectly golden and delicious! :)

    Reply
  • 7. chocolatechic  |  January 13, 2009 at 5:32 am

    I just loved this recipe.

    Reply
  • 8. Vibi  |  January 13, 2009 at 6:30 am

    I laughed! LOL LOL …too cute!

    Very well done Clara!

    Reply
  • 9. carolina  |  January 13, 2009 at 6:59 am

    I laughed at your joke. I even told it to my hubby who rolled his eyes. He thought I made it up! I like these muffins crumbled up in my beans, They were colorful and tasty. Great job!

    Reply
  • 10. rainbowbrown  |  January 13, 2009 at 7:10 am

    Oh. Oh. I’m all about the infomercial. As a kid they were my favorite television shows. But alas, poor me, I don’t have television anymore. Infomercials and game shows are the only things I miss. Don’t give up on them, in fact, watch twice as many for me, wouldya?

    I liked them crumbled over chili too. Yummers.

    Reply
  • 11. Tracey  |  January 13, 2009 at 7:29 am

    Your muffins look great! I’m jealous of your perfectly rounded tops!

    Reply
  • 12. Karen  |  January 13, 2009 at 7:33 am

    Hardy Har har! :) I love your step by step pictures! :)

    Reply
  • 13. Kayte  |  January 13, 2009 at 8:17 am

    Looks wonderful…love all the little process photos….so much fun to see beginning to end. Great post, looks the ratings were very fine.

    Reply
  • 14. Amy (Sing for your supper)  |  January 13, 2009 at 8:25 am

    I love that second picture! Yours really look great, Clara! I thought these were so yummy, and a nice change of pace from all the cookies/cakes/etc!

    Reply
  • 15. Cathy  |  January 13, 2009 at 8:34 am

    I laughed at your joke. And I think your muffins look great!

    Reply
  • 16. Melissa  |  January 13, 2009 at 8:34 am

    I have to agree – I think next time I’ll put in more red pepper and corn. But I still reeeally liked these. Yours look fabulous!

    Reply
  • 17. foodlibrarian  |  January 13, 2009 at 9:08 am

    Looks great!!! I added a lot of corn and that was tasty.

    Reply
  • 18. pinkstripes  |  January 13, 2009 at 10:41 am

    Oh, man. I love your joke. The cornier the better, IMHO.

    your muffins looks great! I’m glad you liked them.

    Reply
  • 19. Madam Chow  |  January 13, 2009 at 11:00 am

    I made the wrong muffins, but they were tasty. And I just saw the picture of Snickerdoodle – what a lovely bunny!

    Reply
  • 20. teaandscones  |  January 13, 2009 at 11:15 am

    Yours look yummy!!! And they were so colorful. Great job.

    Reply
  • 21. teaandscones  |  January 13, 2009 at 11:17 am

    Why shouldn’t you tell secrets in a cornfield.

    Wait for it….

    Because corn has ears….

    almost as bad……

    Reply
  • 22. Peggy  |  January 13, 2009 at 11:34 am

    love the corny joke! Of course, I’m a corny person. Maybe why I loved these corny muffins. :)

    Reply
  • 23. Carolyn  |  January 13, 2009 at 1:08 pm

    They look terrific… I’m going to have to make these with chili one day. :)

    Reply
  • 24. Tammy  |  January 13, 2009 at 1:58 pm

    Your muffins look great. I think I would probably only rate these a C+

    Reply
  • 25. Jodie  |  January 13, 2009 at 2:33 pm

    Great job!

    Reply
  • 26. Caitlin  |  January 13, 2009 at 4:38 pm

    I love how high yours domed! So pretty, and probably perfect with the chili.

    Reply
  • 27. Marthe  |  January 13, 2009 at 5:01 pm

    Loved these a lot!!

    Reply
  • 28. Leslie  |  January 13, 2009 at 5:34 pm

    Love your corny joke, and your muffins are great, too!

    Reply
  • 29. Carol Peterman  |  January 13, 2009 at 8:04 pm

    I thought these were really good and just left the vegetable chunks out of my husband’s muffins. He sides with your husband, preferring pure corn muffins.

    Reply
  • 30. Di  |  January 13, 2009 at 8:22 pm

    Oh, your joke is nothing, Clara! I live with an almost-6-year-old. Her favorite right now is knock-knock jokes. She likes to make up her own… =) And then tries to get her 2yo sister to go along with them. (“Say who’s there!”)

    Reply
  • 31. Nancy/n.o.e  |  January 13, 2009 at 8:42 pm

    So here’s the plan for the next batch: divide the batter in half and stir all the veggies into your half and none into hubby’s half. So you’ll have double and he’ll have none. Sorted!
    Nancy

    Reply
  • 32. Mike  |  January 14, 2009 at 3:28 am

    Heh heh heh, always in the mood for a corny joke. A+ POST.

    Reply
  • 33. Gretchen Noelle  |  January 14, 2009 at 3:52 am

    I did chuckle. :)

    Reply
  • 34. Lillian  |  January 14, 2009 at 7:22 am

    Reactions were mixed here, too. But your photos are gorgeous!

    Reply
  • 35. macduff  |  January 14, 2009 at 7:32 am

    I’m with you – infomercials anonymous!!! I will have to attend the meetings over conference call, though, since I am pretty busy now that I have my Snuggie. It’s a good thing I have a Magic Bullet to make foods really fast, and I’m thrilled that the Roombot can handle the cleanup for me.

    Call me!

    Reply
  • 36. Teanna  |  January 14, 2009 at 10:23 am

    Hahah I think the joke is cute… but I also laugh at any and all jokes! So I don’t know if I’m a good gauge for it! Anyways, your muffins look great!

    Reply
  • 37. Tania  |  January 14, 2009 at 5:49 pm

    They look great!!! Envious of the photos – your shots are awesome.
    And can’t wait to try the chili recipe!

    Reply
  • 38. juju73  |  January 14, 2009 at 6:16 pm

    Your joke made me laugh!

    Nice job on the muffins…they are so beautiful!

    Reply
  • 39. Amy Ruth  |  January 14, 2009 at 7:25 pm

    Ha ha ha ha ha ha yes I laughed at your “corny” joke. Guilty! Thanks But then I cry at movies too. So glad little brother was called to duty. its always good to have someone in the wings for tasting duty. He he They look good. Thanks for the entertainment
    AmyRuth

    Reply
  • 40. Leanne  |  January 16, 2009 at 1:47 pm

    I love cornbread in chili too. Enjoyed your joke :)

    Reply
  • 41. Amy Ruth  |  January 18, 2009 at 9:39 am

    Hey, I didn’t know you once lived in the Lonestar state!?!?! How cool you So. Cal girlie. Love that your “Twang” sneaks out on occasion. YeeeHaw! Come own by girlfriend for some home cookin…..anytime. he he BTW so does mine.
    AmyRuth

    Reply
  • 42. kim  |  January 20, 2009 at 10:22 am

    hey the pics look great, i see you are using the new cam! :) i was in the minority and didn’t have chili, but definitely will next time!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Thank You Sponsors!

Copyright

MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

Creative Commons License
Photos, Original Recipes & Text ©iheartfood4thought 2007-2009 unless otherwise indicated. All rights reserved. If you repost any material from this blog, please give credit by including a link back to me. Thank you!

Hits since Dec 2007

  • 230,875 dirty dishes

Tweet Tweet

Badge designed by SiahDesigns

Click the banners

Current reading


The Best Casserole Cookbook Ever by Beatrice Ojakangas

website counter


