Barack Obama’s chili (in a crockpot)

January 11, 2009 at 9:29 am 16 comments

I got a hankering for chili last night. (All my TWD readers will get why. HAHA)

Now I know that a hankering for chili doesn’t seem that out of the ordinary esp since it’s still kinda chilly (no pun intended) here in CA. (How’s the weather everywhere else?) I don’t know about you but craving something warm makes sense on chilly+windy days right? But… I don’t like beans. Whaaaaat? I know. I am just not a bean person. I always get my tacos, burritos, tostadas, nachos etc sans frijoles. It really makes my husband sad b/c I never make chili for the bean reason. Whereas he’s a bean man. He likes beans. Pinto beans, kidney beans, black beans… He tells me about his mom’s chili all the time. I think its a subtle hint, no?

So you can imagine when I asked him yesterday morning if he wanted chili for dinner, his eyes got big and he gave me an exuberant YES! right before he touched my forehead to make sure I wasn’t sick. When no fever was felt he promptly asked me “Who are you and what have you done to Clara?”

To calm his stepford wives fears, I just explained my backup plan. Mickey Ds. Two big macs for $3.50. And french fries. Can’t forget the chemically enhanced french fries.

PS. I posted the crockpot chili recipe below but if you want the jalapeno corn muffin recipe and rating, you’ll have to wait until Tuesday. *wink*

Happy Sunday readers.

Hope your Sunday is as lazy as mine is planning to be…


Recipe adapted from A Year Of Crockpotting

INGREDIENTS

1-14.5oz can kidney beans
1 lb lean ground meat (I used ground beef)
1 green bell pepper, chopped (I used a red bell pepper)
1 large onion, chopped (I used 1/2 large onion)
5-6 medium tomatoes, chopped
4 chopped cloves of garlic (I used 5 cloves!)
1 tsp cumin
1 tsp oregano
1 tsp basil
1 tsp turmeric (I substituted with ground mustard)
1-2 tsp chili powder (I used 1-1/2 tsp chili powder)
1 tsp salt
3 tbsp red wine vinegar

INSTRUCTIONS

Chop up the tomatoes, garlic, onion, and bell pepper. Add to the crockpot. Open the can of beans, and pour in the whole thing. Brown meat on stove. Drain fat before adding to crockpot. Stir in all of the spices and the red wine vinegar.


[NOTES: Browning meat is optional. You can add to the crockpot without browning if you want. To soak up the fat I usually use a paper towel and discard towel but I’ve also sucked it up with a turkey baster too. Ghetto? But it works! HAHA]

Cover and cook on low for 7-9 hours, or on high for 4-5 hours.

[NOTES: I cooked on high for 4 hours.]

* Barack Obama serves his chili over white or brown rice. I was going to but I forgot. Oh well. Next time.

ENJOY!

Husband rating: A+
He said it was better than his mom’s chili. Oh damn. You know if any hubs says that, the recipe’s a keeper!

Wifey rating: A/A-
I don’t like beans and this recipe didn’t really change my mind but I have to admit that the spices were awesome. I just picked around the beans. HAHA

Other rating: A+
My little brother came over for dinner and he ate 4 bowls! Guess I won’t have any leftovers huh? I don’t think he even chewed. Just swallowed each spoonful whole and was on his way to the crockpot to get his 2nd bowl before I even started eating my first one.

Entry filed under: crockpot. Tags: .

Non-Foodie Question of the Day Bunday Monday

16 Comments Add your own

  • 1. L W  |  January 11, 2009 at 9:47 am

    I dont make chili for the same reason. I dont do beans. But, Jaos LOOVEs chili. Ill have to give it a go for him. Like maybe for his bday in 2 weeks. LOL

    Reply
  • 2. CB  |  January 11, 2009 at 10:13 am

    LW, w00t. Another bean hater. If you make it for J, let me know what he thinks, k? Happy early Bday to him!

    Reply
  • 3. Erin  |  January 11, 2009 at 10:23 am

    This looks delicious! I hope it was good with the corn muffins :)

    Reply
  • 4. Joelen  |  January 11, 2009 at 10:29 am

    This looks delicious and can’t wait to make my muffins. I’m due for a good chili soon since the winter tundra weather we’re having in Chicago calls for something warm and comforting!

    Reply
  • 5. Tania  |  January 11, 2009 at 10:30 am

    Sounds like a yummy recipe. I got a crockpot for Christmas and have yet to use it. Chili might be a great way to christen it!
    I am going to make those muffins tonight with some chipotle lime shrimp (found the recipe on Ezra Pound Cake).
    Take carem
    Tania

    Reply
  • 6. Rachel  |  January 11, 2009 at 10:52 am

    I love beans. I love chili. I’m making some extra beany chili this weekend. GMTA, no?!

    Reply
  • 7. girl4duke  |  January 11, 2009 at 11:02 am

    Looks pretty yummy. :)

    Reply
  • 8. - dlm.  |  January 11, 2009 at 11:05 am

    This sounds amazing! I can’t wait to try it out. I also wanted to let you know how much I appreciate that you note the modifications that you’ve made to the recipe as stated. Thanks!

    Reply
  • 9. Nancy (n.o.e.)  |  January 11, 2009 at 3:01 pm

    I tried a new crockpot chili recipe this week too – with my muffins ofc! I’ll be posting my chili after the muffins, though. This one sounds great, and I’m glad it was in the “A” range with all tasters. I used to not do beans, but eased my way into them with little white beans and black beans. Now I like them all except I still dislike those big ole kidney beans. I put pinto beans in my chili.
    Oh, and Texas red chili often doesn’t have beans I think (although now I add them).
    Nancy

    Reply
  • 10. CB  |  January 11, 2009 at 3:41 pm

    ERIN, You’ll just have to wait and read on Tuesday *wink*. I am such a stinker huh?

    JOELEN, Eeesh. Tundra? That sounds too cold for this CA chicky. Definitely cook up some chili. Can’t wait to see what you think of the muffins!

    TANIA, To be honest I’ve had my crockpot for a long time but I rarely use it. I think now that I am working more I need to start using it more for convenience sake. Man, that chipotle lime shrimp sounds delish! Can’t wait to see that recipe!

    RACHEL, GMTA sister. We are so cool.

    GIRL4DUKE, If you like chili, definitely give it a try!

    DLM, If you try it let me know what you think! Glad you appreciate the “notes”. It helps me too when I come back to the recipe to make again.

    NANCY, Texas red chili doesn’t have beans? Now we’re talking! I’ll have to look for that recipe. Can’t wait to see what you think of the muffin on Tuesday!

    Reply
  • 11. stephchows  |  January 12, 2009 at 7:04 am

    I think I’m getting a crock pot for christmas (yes I’m aware it’s january and christmas is over) hahaha So once I get it, I’ll have to give this recipe a try! :D

    Reply
  • 12. CB  |  January 12, 2009 at 7:07 am

    STEPH, LOL. Gotta love getting xmas gifts in January ;)

    Reply
  • 13. Girl Japan  |  January 12, 2009 at 6:45 pm

    The photography is amazing.. what’s your hardware? This looks so healthy but filling.. what type of muffin is that?

    Reply
  • 14. CB  |  January 12, 2009 at 7:00 pm

    GIRLJAPAN, Thank you! I took the picture of the chili with my DSLR Sony A200 and a little post-processing with Photoshop but the smaller process pictures are with my Sony PnS (point and shoot). I will post the jalapeno and corn muffin recipe tomorrow. Stay tuned. ;)

    Reply
  • 15. Holly  |  January 12, 2009 at 7:28 pm

    LOL! I was just reading the P&A and starting laughing as soon as I read your first line. : ) Love chili!

    Reply
  • 16. CB  |  January 12, 2009 at 8:11 pm

    HOLLY, Hilarious! After reading the nth comment about chili I just had to make chili. HAHA

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Thank You Sponsors!

Copyright

MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

Creative Commons License
Photos, Original Recipes & Text ©iheartfood4thought 2007-2009 unless otherwise indicated. All rights reserved. If you repost any material from this blog, please give credit by including a link back to me. Thank you!

Hits since Dec 2007

  • 229,915 dirty dishes

Tweet Tweet

Badge designed by SiahDesigns

Click the banners

Current reading


The Best Casserole Cookbook Ever by Beatrice Ojakangas

website counter


