TWD #45: Forget Cheesecake Factory…

December 29, 2008 at 9:04 pm 45 comments

Confession: I am a cheesecake freak. Any flavor. Anytime. No occasion needed.

Forget the Cheesecake Factory. You’d think a restaurant with “cheesecake” in the name would have the best cheesecake right? Well… its not. HAHA. My absolute favorite cheesecake is the Vanilla Bean Cheesecake from TGIFridays. Its a vanilla bean cheesecake layered with a white chocolate mousse garnished with white chocolate shavings.

Oh. My. Dog.

No words can describe.

Seriously.

*drooooling*

Huh? What? Oh sorry. I started daydreaming about cheesecake for a minute there…

This week, Anne of Anne Strawberry chose the Tall and Creamy Cheesecake for us to bake. You can find the recipe on her blog. I admit I did a little cheer in my head. Hip Hop Hurray! You can’t go wrong with cheesecake. Definitely check out what the other Tuesday with Dorie bakers did with their cheesecake. I have a feeling there will be some awesome variations this week esp since Dorie provides like 10 flavor suggestions other than just plain. I think next time I make it I’ll have to try the orange version. I’ve heard it tastes like a creamsicle! Oh yeah!

I had all intentions of trying to duplicate the White Chocolate Mousse Vanilla Bean Cheesecake (as mentioned above) but at the last minute I changed my mind. Actually technology changed my mind. Its called twitter. Have you heard of it? Randomness in 140 words or less. Ring a bell? HAHA. I mentioned on my twitter, Sunday morning, that I was making the TWD cheesecake and “Bombshell” suggested caramel. Ooohhhh… caramel! There was no turning back after the word caramel was mentioned. Also shoutout to Gretchen for twittering with me too! Let’s do it again next week!

What I learned this week:
Patience is not a virtue that I possess but this recipe rewards patience and trust me when I say its SO worth the wait! Just ask my husband and brother. They will gladly confirm.


Caramel Vanilla Bean Cheesecake
Recipe adapted from Baking: From My Home To Yours, Dorie Greenspan


I made 1/2 the recipe in 3-4inch springform pans. I baked the mini crusts for about 8 minutes.


Dorie gives you the option of sour cream, heavy cream or a mixture of both. I used all heavy cream. Instead of vanilla extract, I used 1 vanilla bean, scraped. I love those little vanilla specks. Don’t you?


I baked my minis for about 45 minutes.


I kinda cheated and used caramel ice cream topping but it was still darn tasty!

ENJOY!

Husband rating: A+
His exact words: Best cheesecake I’ve ever eaten.

Wifey rating: A+
I followed exactly what Dorie said about aerating the cream cheese; 4 minutes here, 4 minutes there. Itotally think that it helped make my batter light and melt-in-your-mouth creamy. Just like a cheesecake should be. YUM! Definitely will make this one again… and again… and again.

Other rating: A+
Nothing but raves from my brother and friends. Actually they were very upset that I made minis and not a 9-inch springform! HAHA

Entry filed under: Tuesdays With Dorie.

Bunday Monday [Note to Ellie-istas]

45 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Caitlin  |  December 29, 2008 at 9:34 pm

    Whoa, *drool* indeed. There are no words to describe how wonderful that looks with the caramel sauce on top. None.

    Reply
  • 2. Marthe  |  December 30, 2008 at 12:44 am

    Yum!!! Looks amazing… I also love vanilla specs in my desserts!! And will most definetely be making this cheesecake again, although I will try some other variations….

    Reply
  • 3. Cristine  |  December 30, 2008 at 2:16 am

    YUM! Your cheesecake looks incredible!

    Reply
  • 4. isabelle  |  December 30, 2008 at 4:51 am

    c’est vraiment très réussi et ton gâteau au fromage est vraiment superbe :)

    Reply
  • 5. Jen  |  December 30, 2008 at 5:45 am

    Looks great! So much better than mine turned out… Wait until you see it…

    Reply
  • 6. chocolatechic  |  December 30, 2008 at 5:58 am

    Dear heavens.

    Caramel and vanilla and cheesecake are THE best combos.

    I wish I had done caramel.

    Reply
  • 7. food librarian  |  December 30, 2008 at 6:10 am

    Oh my goodness! That looks insane! Caramel – super yum!!!

    Reply
  • 8. Ulrike  |  December 30, 2008 at 6:11 am

    That looks mighty tasty

    Best wishes for 2009!

    Ulrike from Küchenlatein

    Reply
  • 9. Gretchen Noelle  |  December 30, 2008 at 6:18 am

    Well, I can say that your minis look better than mine. I will have to try this one again. Next week. Twitter. :)

    Reply
  • 10. joelen  |  December 30, 2008 at 6:45 am

    Oh my…. I just want to take my finger and sneak a taste of the caramel just oozing down the side…. and when no one is looking, take a forkful of the cake! Great idea to make minis – I’d benefit from that since cheesecake portion control is a slight weakness of mine! :)

    Reply
  • 11. Mary  |  December 30, 2008 at 6:49 am

    How brilliant to make it in three separate 4 inch pans! I could eat a whole cheesecake if given the opportunity and this way it might slow my down! :) They look delicious too!

    Reply
  • 12. Alyssa  |  December 30, 2008 at 6:59 am

    I have a confession too… I am a cheesecake addict. Sad, i know, but deliciously true. WHY MUST YOU BE SO DELICIOUS AND FATTENING CHEESECAKE!!!!!!
    By the way that looked like one good cheesecake.

    Reply
  • 13. Christine  |  December 30, 2008 at 7:26 am

    I love your mini! TGIF cheesecake is good but this was definitely better! Great job!

    Reply
  • 14. Anne  |  December 30, 2008 at 7:37 am

    That looks so good with the vanilla bean and the caramel sauce! I’m proud that you could restrain and use half the recipe (cheesecake is my weakness too!) Hope you had a Merry Christmas!

    Reply
  • 15. Leslie  |  December 30, 2008 at 8:13 am

    Caramel cheesecake?!?! I must make this! I did the plain jane version and it was great, but I love your minis. Did I mention I love the caramel??

    Reply
  • 16. Karen  |  December 30, 2008 at 8:19 am

    Ya know how Homer Simpson say Hoootttttttt Dooooogs….. That is how I am about caramel. So, your cheesecake is making me drool. Yum!

    Reply
  • 17. Laura  |  December 30, 2008 at 9:25 am

    Wow – that really IS Tall and Creamy! Beatiful job – and I love the idea of caramel sauce.

    Reply
  • 18. Peggy  |  December 30, 2008 at 11:24 am

    Tall, creamy, beautiful. Happy new year!

    Reply
  • 19. Natalie  |  December 30, 2008 at 12:11 pm

    YUM. That combination looks fantastic too. May just have to try some caramel and vanilla as well.

    Reply
  • 20. Holly  |  December 30, 2008 at 12:48 pm

    Oh my freaking YUM! You know. I feel the same way about cheesecake factorys completely blah cheesecake. This recipe got an A+ at our house too!

    Reply
  • 21. Vibi  |  December 30, 2008 at 12:49 pm

    Wowwy Clara! These minis look sky high! …I’m jealous of those nice little pop out molds you thought of using! How perfect for this recipe! Beautiful!

    Reply
  • 22. Kimberly  |  December 30, 2008 at 12:52 pm

    Your cheesecakes look amazing! I love your variations!

    Reply
  • 23. Amanda (Hodge-Podge)  |  December 30, 2008 at 2:33 pm

    Your mini cheesecakes look great! I wish I had thought of caramel to top mine with. I’ll try to remember that for my next cheesecake.

    Reply
  • 24. Leanne  |  December 30, 2008 at 2:52 pm

    mini cheesecakes with caramel. WOW. I wish I had the pans for that. I didn’t make it because I knew it would be so big and I would eat the whole thing. I am off to find mini springform pans now.

    Reply
  • 25. rainbowbrown  |  December 30, 2008 at 3:11 pm

    Congratulations on A’s all around. Caramel sounds like a tasty sidekick.

    Reply
  • 26. Erin  |  December 30, 2008 at 3:31 pm

    Your cheesecake looks great! I can’t resist caramel!

    Reply
  • 27. Carol Peterman  |  December 30, 2008 at 5:13 pm

    I agree, this is a dreamy cheesecake. I used sour cream and it was still light and creamy thanks to all the great work my Kitchen Aid put in beating the batter to a silky-smooth state. I went plain with caramel as well. So good!

    Reply
  • 28. Di  |  December 30, 2008 at 6:39 pm

    That looks terrific! I thought about making caramel sauce for mine, but was too lazy. =) I made a pumpkin & caramel cheesecake in early November that was fabulous.

    Reply
  • 29. Mary Ann  |  December 30, 2008 at 6:44 pm

    AMAZING!!!!!

    Reply
  • 30. pinkstripes  |  December 30, 2008 at 7:24 pm

    OMG. Vanilla Bean Caramel. Your cheesecake is making me drool!

    Happy New Year!

    Reply
  • 31. pamela  |  December 30, 2008 at 7:29 pm

    Oh, I totally want to pour caramel over my remaining cheesecake now. Maybe I’ won’t start my “clean eating” tomorrow after all! :o)

    Reply
  • 32. Rebecca  |  December 30, 2008 at 7:31 pm

    OK, you’ve sold me on it. Next Dorie Rewind, I’m totally hooking up some cheesecake. Hip Hop Hooray … Ho … Ay!

    Reply
  • 33. teaandscones  |  December 30, 2008 at 8:20 pm

    Caramel makes your perfect cheesecake extra perfect (Is that possible??) Great job. It was good, wasn’t it.

    Reply
  • 34. Sugar Betty  |  December 30, 2008 at 9:13 pm

    Your crust looks amazing! Your cheesecake is a definite A++++

    Happy New Year! :)

    Reply
  • 35. Jenny  |  December 31, 2008 at 6:47 am

    Okay, after that description of your favorite cheesecake, you can stop…. I’m sold!

    Reply
  • 36. Peggy  |  December 31, 2008 at 8:23 am

    Hey – thanks for stopping by. I play piano too and a tiny tiny bit of guitar, so I’m hoping I can pick up the violin easily? I dunno. . probably will learn one song and give up! :)

    Reply
  • 37. Amy (Sing for your supper)  |  December 31, 2008 at 9:44 am

    Wow, it looks great! Vanilla bean and caramel? Awesome!!

    Reply
  • 38. Melissa  |  December 31, 2008 at 11:46 am

    Your minis look so fabulous! I think everyone has agreed that this cheesecake rocks! Now I just have to go to TGIFridays and try theirs…

    Reply
  • 39. steph (whisk/spoon)  |  December 31, 2008 at 12:04 pm

    certainly an A+! that caramel sauce dripping down the cheesecake looks so decadent! happy new year!!

    Reply
  • 40. kim  |  December 31, 2008 at 12:06 pm

    yes, yes i love those little specks :) and the cheesecake as a whole, that’s pretty great too. they look awesome!! can’t go wrong with caramel :)
    happy new year!

    Reply
  • 41. mrsabybaby  |  January 1, 2009 at 5:07 pm

    Um, I LOVE LOVE cheesecake and I love my vanilla beans! I definitely will have to try this – especially since I received a nice new springform pan for Christmas – YAY!

    Reply
  • 42. Amy Ruth  |  January 1, 2009 at 11:58 pm

    Love the vanilla beans too. Note: Need to order some. Okay back to your mini’s They are so cute. Glad you loved loved them. Good luck with your new job too.
    AmyRuth

    Reply
  • 43. Tania  |  January 2, 2009 at 5:36 am

    I really need to start spliting up the recipes – if I had thought of this I would have been able to make it! Since it was just Jason and I I bowed out and baked something else from the month.
    Do you use a program to divide up the ingredients or just work it out in your noggin??
    Also – could you email me please? or send me your addy?
    littleprincetreats@gmail.com
    Thanks.
    T

    Reply
  • 44. mangomissives  |  January 2, 2009 at 9:45 am

    oooo! Look at that decadant caramel sauce! Your cheesecakes look so yummy & adorable.

    Reply
  • 45. CB  |  January 3, 2009 at 8:43 am

    TANYA, I don’t use a program. I usually just look at the eggs (b/c thats the hardest to really make a fraction) and divide the recipe out. IE if the recipe uses 4 eggs, I will half the recipe to use 2 eggs and then half the rest of the ingredients accordingly. Makes it easier for me. btw YGM.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Thank You Sponsors!

Copyright

MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

Creative Commons License
Photos, Original Recipes & Text ©iheartfood4thought 2007-2009 unless otherwise indicated. All rights reserved. If you repost any material from this blog, please give credit by including a link back to me. Thank you!

Hits since Dec 2007

  • 230,503 dirty dishes

Tweet Tweet

Badge designed by SiahDesigns

Click the banners

Current reading


The Best Casserole Cookbook Ever by Beatrice Ojakangas

website counter


