TWD #44: Pumpkin up my butterscotch baby!

December 27, 2008 at 9:09 am 8 comments

Ugh. Four days late and 2 buck chunk short.

Sorry fellow Dorie-nators. I’ve been slacking on baking, blog updating and the commenting. Let me just say that I have mucho respect for all Tuesdays with Dorie bakers that work full-time and bake every week. I am still working out the scheduling kinks myself. (I can’t remember the last time I wrote on my menu board. CB=bad wifey.) Hopefully when the holidays calm down I’ll have more time to devote to making it all run more smoothly.

Until then bare with me, k?

This week’s host, Donna from Spatulas, Corkscrews and Suitcases, picked butterscotch pudding for us to bake (Do you really “bake” pudding or is cook?). You can find the recipe on her blog. I have to say that I LOVE butterscotch pudding. I still eat those little butterscotch pudding cups for snacks. Another one of my kid-at-heart habits that I can’t won’t give up.

But for the holidays I felt the need to gussy-up the pudding a little bit. Since I had some pumpkin pie filling and Dorie’s Good-For-Almost-Everything-Pie dough in the freezer I decided… What the heck! I am gonna make a pumpkin butterscotch pie!

What I learned this week:
Don’t be afraid to improvise and make up your own recipes. You never know when you’ll create something that is pretty darn tasty!


[Pumpkin] Butterscotch Pudding [Pie]
Recipe adapted from Baking: From My Home To Yours, Dorie Greenspan


I made the butterscotch recipe as written and added 1 cup pumpkin pie filling to the pudding.


I didn’t refrigerate and just poured into the pre-baked pie crust and baked at 350F for 60 minutes.

ENJOY!

Husband rating: A+
He was a little iffy on the pumpkin butterscotch combination but he loved it and ate more than a few slices.

Wifey rating: A/A+
I am not a big pumpkin dessert fan but OH MAN this was good pie!

Other rating: A/A+
I brought the pie over to T’s HUGE family Christmas eve dinner and T’s uncle, who is a die-hard pumpkin pie purist (he’s the one that always NEEDS a pumpkin pie on Xmas and nothing else will do), raved about the pumpkin butterscotch variation. I’d say if you can convert a purist, then the recipe is a winner, no?

Next week: Tall and Creamy Cheesecake pages 235-237

Entry filed under: Tuesdays With Dorie.

Bloggaversary Giveaway WINNERS! NFR: Blog Humbug

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. joelen  |  December 27, 2008 at 9:17 am

    How super creative – great job!

    Reply
  • 2. Jen  |  December 27, 2008 at 10:43 am

    Looks great. Way to experiment. I love when it turns out well.

    Reply
  • 3. Gretchen Noelle  |  December 27, 2008 at 12:05 pm

    Very creative. Very creative. I do have pumpkin pie filling…and a tart crust….

    Reply
  • 4. food librarian  |  December 27, 2008 at 5:17 pm

    Lovely! I love the combo of all those flavors! And no worries about blogging, etc. Don’t kill yourself! And getting started in a new job is soooo exhausting. Glad to hear you are having a good holiday season! – mary the food librarian

    Reply
  • 5. Di  |  December 27, 2008 at 8:03 pm

    Nice job, Clara! Hopefully life will calm down soon. Some days are easier than others. =)

    Reply
  • 6. Lisa magicsprinkles  |  December 27, 2008 at 9:03 pm

    Deep breaths. Deep breaths. This looks divine!

    Reply
  • 7. Caitlin  |  December 28, 2008 at 2:51 pm

    Ooo – pumpkin butterscotch pie sounds wonderful! I know how you feel though; keeping up with TWD is kicking my butt too! This too shall pass, right?

    Reply
  • 8. mangomissives  |  December 28, 2008 at 5:36 pm

    Great improvisation!

    I am a life long butterscotch pudding lover too.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Thank You Sponsors!

Copyright

MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

Creative Commons License
Photos, Original Recipes & Text ©iheartfood4thought 2007-2009 unless otherwise indicated. All rights reserved. If you repost any material from this blog, please give credit by including a link back to me. Thank you!

Hits since Dec 2007

  • 230,861 dirty dishes

Tweet Tweet

Badge designed by SiahDesigns

Click the banners

Current reading


The Best Casserole Cookbook Ever by Beatrice Ojakangas

website counter


