TWD #42: Sugar my cookies and call me Martha!

December 9, 2008 at 1:41 am 47 comments

Ok some big news first.

::taking DEEP breath::

I got a new job.

*gulp*

Its a really great opportunity and I couldn’t turn it down. The benefits are amazing (retirement matching rarely happens in this economy anymore), the hours are meh, the pay is good but… I have mixed feelings. Don’t get me wrong. I am very lucky. I know that. But this is seriously gonna cut into my blogging and baking time. I am gonna try my darndest to keep up with the minimum 2 out of 4 weeks but I can’t make any promises right now so that makes me sad. I’ve come to love my TWD family. Everyone is so creative, supportive and inspiring. Ever since I started TWD, Tuesdays have consistently been my favorite GR days. Pity party-of-one. ::sniff::

Alrighty. Enough boohoo-ing. Onto the cookies.

This week our TWD host, Ulrike of Küchenlatein, picked Grandma’s All-Occasion Sugar Cookies. You can find the recipe on her blog. Tis the season that you bake sugar cookies right? I love it! As soon as the recipe was posted, I knew I’d be having some fun with royal icing on these bad boys! I can’t remember the last time I played with royal icing. Maybe back in my Wilton cake decorating class days… Definitely go check out what the other Tuesdays with Dorie bakers did with their cookies. You know its bound to be amazing with this baking bunch.

You were probably expecting me to do something Christmas inspired, right? At first I had all these ideas to make little presents, snowflakes, candy canes out of my cookies but ever since I saw Pacman cookies on Food Gawker, I’ve been itching to make them. So I said “What the heck? Screw the candy canes! I am making Pacman cookies today!”

I am such a rebel.

If you want to know how I made my Pacman cookies, you’ll have to wait til tomorrow. (See how I did that? CB=evil) Today is all about the sugar cookie dough. Let me tell you. This is some amazing dough! Rawr regg? Whar maw regg…? (Translation: Raw egg? What raw egg…?)

What I learned this week:
I am a really messy baker/decorator. I had WAY too much fun with royal icing. Three hours later, I got it all over the counter, my apron, my fingers, my face… Hey a girls gotta taste test the product right?


Grandma’s All-Occasion Sugar Cookies
Recipe from Baking: From My Home To Yours, Dorie Greenspan





Dorie says to chill dough for 2 hours but I chilled mine overnight.

ENJOY!

Husband rating: A+
He ate alot of them. I can’t quantify “alot” b/c I lost count. HAHA

Wifey rating: A+
Straight forward recipe that tasted awesome. I think it tasted even better the second day! Definitely will make these cookies again. I foresee lots of sugar cookie gifts this year!

PS – I volunteer at BIL’s school (he’s the assistant principle) with the special needs kids so I hope you’ll forgive my lack of comments today. It kinda warms your heart when you walk into the room and 15 little kids yell “Miss Clara came back! Miss Clara came back!” I’ll miss them when I start my new job.

Next week: Buttery Jam Cookies page 80

Entry filed under: Tuesdays With Dorie. Tags: .

Bunday Monday Pacman Sugar Cookies

47 Comments Add your own

  • 1. rainbowbrown  |  December 8, 2008 at 9:55 pm

    Yeah dude! Heck with Christmas themes, it’s all about the Pacman sugar cookies.

    Reply
  • 2. Rachel  |  December 8, 2008 at 10:06 pm

    Congrats on the new gig! Something tells me that you’ll still make time for blogging. We wub you!

    Reply
  • 3. Rachel  |  December 8, 2008 at 10:10 pm

    PS The cookies look great!

    Reply
  • 4. Elizabeth - Cake or Death?  |  December 8, 2008 at 10:47 pm

    LOVE the pac-man! Can’t wait to see the how-to post. Way to stick it to The Man and not do Xmas cookies like the rest of us shmucks. :)

    And many congrats on the new job! Change is hard but it sounds like a great opportunity. And you can still keep up the blogging and baking! Sleep is for losers. Well-rested losers.

    Reply
  • 5. Vibi  |  December 8, 2008 at 11:19 pm

    Oh! yes… take me back to the 80’s!!! LOL If not too Christmassy, at least it shaves 20 years off my …dot, dot years old! LOL
    Too cool!!
    Oh! …and congrats on the new job!

    Reply
  • 6. Cristine  |  December 8, 2008 at 11:29 pm

    Congrats on your new job!

    LOVE LOVE LOVE your cookies! Now I want to play Pac Man!

    Reply
  • 7. Marie  |  December 8, 2008 at 11:58 pm

    I love your little pacman cookies!!! Fabulous! Congrats on the new job as well!

    Reply
  • 8. Cathy  |  December 9, 2008 at 3:35 am

    Congrats on your new job! I hope that once you get settled in you can strike the perfect work/life/blogging balance for you! And what can I say about your pacman cookies? You’ve just made the day of this 80s child, my friend!

    Reply
  • 9. HoneyB  |  December 9, 2008 at 3:59 am

    You did a great job on your cookies!

    Congrats on the new job. I’m sure once you get started you will be happy!

    Reply
  • 10. chocolatechic  |  December 9, 2008 at 4:45 am

    How cute!

    Reply
  • 11. isabelle  |  December 9, 2008 at 5:10 am

    j’adore !! trop mignons ces pac man:)

    Reply
  • 12. April  |  December 9, 2008 at 5:24 am

    Love the pacman cookies!! Congrats on your new job!

    Reply
  • 13. Jen  |  December 9, 2008 at 5:35 am

    Congrats on the new job!! How exciting. And I love your Pac Man cookies. Too cute.

    Reply
  • 14. L W  |  December 9, 2008 at 6:10 am

    Adorable CB! Seriously, you outdid yourself! I love them.

    Reply
  • 15. pamela  |  December 9, 2008 at 6:17 am

    Great job, Clara! The cookies are fabulous. It’s actually nice to see something that’s NOT Christmas themed, know what I mean? Good luck on the new job!!!

    Reply
  • 16. Mary Ann  |  December 9, 2008 at 6:21 am

    Congrats on the new job- I am definitely going to miss the amount of blogging that you do since I check both of your blogs almost daily- but, you have gotta do what you’ve gotta do, right?
    Now on to your cookies- adorable! How cute is Pacman?
    I agree with the royal icing thing. I didn’t go there this time, but I have stayed up into the night with too many colors, having a blast before. I love what you did!

    Reply
  • 17. Amanda  |  December 9, 2008 at 6:33 am

    I love the pacman cookies, too dang cute!! I have yet to brave Royal Icing, one of these days. I loved this recipe too and will definitely make it again!

    Reply
  • 18. LyB  |  December 9, 2008 at 6:36 am

    Are you kidding? You made Pacman cookies? Those are awesome! Too cute! You must be very patient, I can never make cute roll out cookies like that.

    Reply
  • 19. Spike  |  December 9, 2008 at 7:06 am

    I love the pac man- who needs a christmas theme?!

    Reply
  • 20. nikki57  |  December 9, 2008 at 7:20 am

    Is it wrong that I’m selfishly happy about your meh hours :)

    Pac man cookies are a-dorable. I love them. Can you make a big cookie that would be like the back of the screen. Then you can place them all and OMG that would be soooooooooo cool. You’ll have that ready for tomorrows post right because I NEED it hehe

    Reply
  • 21. Jodie  |  December 9, 2008 at 7:27 am

    Love them! Congrats on the job!

    Reply
  • 22. Mike Spoodles  |  December 9, 2008 at 7:44 am

    YESSS! PAC MAN COOKIES! Love it!

    Also, congrats on the job!

    Reply
  • 23. Beryl  |  December 9, 2008 at 7:56 am

    Nothing says holiday spirit like retro arcade game icons! Nice one!

    Reply
  • 24. kim  |  December 9, 2008 at 8:19 am

    those are 100% adorable!!! :) can’t wait to see tomorrow’s instructions. and CONGRATS on the new job!! that is awesome. i know pesky day jobs stink;) but it is great to find something so good in this economy!

    Reply
  • 25. Debbie Michel  |  December 9, 2008 at 8:32 am

    Martha, Martha, Martha… these are so dang cute.

    Reply
  • 26. Amy (Sing for your supper)  |  December 9, 2008 at 8:35 am

    Yay! A new job! Boo – less time for TWD baking….. Oh well – it’ll work out just fine!
    Your cookies are cracking me up! So clever!!

    Reply
  • 27. Jessica  |  December 9, 2008 at 9:09 am

    Congratulations on the new job…and great job on the Pac Man cookies!

    Reply
  • 28. Leanne  |  December 9, 2008 at 10:47 am

    Congratulations on the new job. Oh and your pac man cookies are the greatest. Too cute.

    Reply
  • 29. food librarian  |  December 9, 2008 at 10:49 am

    Congrats on the new job! I hope you like it a lot!

    These cookies are sooo cool. In the library right now, we have a “Totally 80’s” display of photos, videos and music. It is like high school all over again.

    Reply
  • 30. Kayte  |  December 9, 2008 at 11:00 am

    Ditch the job…YOU HAVE OBLIGATIONS HERE…LOL. Just kidding, congrats on the job as you sound very excited about it. But we will, sniff, sniff, be missing you if you don’t show up here every other week or so, so keep that in mind! Your cookies look fabulous…very fun seeing another way to use that dough than at Christmas time.

    Reply
  • 31. Kelly D  |  December 9, 2008 at 11:56 am

    Love the pacman cookies. I remember pacman when it was all the rage. sigh…

    Good luck with the new job.

    Reply
  • 32. Natalie  |  December 9, 2008 at 12:29 pm

    I love the pac man cookies. Very creative. Yay for new jobs!

    Reply
  • 33. Marthe  |  December 9, 2008 at 12:46 pm

    I love your PAC-mans!!! They look amazing!!

    Reply
  • 34. Tammy  |  December 9, 2008 at 12:49 pm

    congrats on your new job!!! Your cookies look so cute!

    Reply
  • 35. Susan  |  December 9, 2008 at 1:17 pm

    Pac Man?? Too cool!
    Good luck with the new job…you’ll be back into the TWD swing once you get a handle on it…because You Rock.
    That’s why.

    Reply
  • 36. Lisa magicsprinkles  |  December 9, 2008 at 1:39 pm

    Love the cookies! These are so original. Let us know tomorrow (?) how you did the icing!

    Reply
  • 37. carolina  |  December 9, 2008 at 1:52 pm

    I love Pac Man! This was just too incredible to put into words. Really, creative.
    Congrats on the new job!

    Reply
  • 38. dharmagirl  |  December 9, 2008 at 2:09 pm

    what retro fun! cute, creative, and totally awesome 80s. congrats on your new job:)

    Reply
  • 39. Carolyn  |  December 9, 2008 at 2:41 pm

    Congrats on your new job, very exciting news!! And I lovvvvvve your pac man cookies, adorable!

    Reply
  • 40. Carol Peterman  |  December 9, 2008 at 4:30 pm

    Anyone can make a Santa or tree cookie, but Pac Man shows your true creativity! I love them!

    Reply
  • 41. Caitlin  |  December 9, 2008 at 6:19 pm

    I want them. I *want* them. You do realize that my AIM sn is CHEpacman, right? Basically, those cookies are destined for me. And sign me up for that pity party – jobs suck when they get in the way of TWD.

    Reply
  • 42. Heather Peskin  |  December 10, 2008 at 3:29 am

    Pacman! Brings back happy memories. Your cookies are lovely and beautifully decorated.

    Reply
  • 43. Steph  |  December 10, 2008 at 4:02 pm

    Congrats on your new job! I hope you’ll still find time to blog because I love your stories!! Those pac man cookies are really creative and look too pretty to eat. I wish I could decorate like that. I don’t think I’m even going to attempt decorating mine.. which are still in the freezer waiting to be baked.

    Reply
  • 44. Holly  |  December 10, 2008 at 6:22 pm

    Yay! Pacman! Love the ghosties too! Now then, make that slight pity party of two. :) Hey, major upside though – great new job! Congrats!

    Reply
  • 45. Di  |  December 11, 2008 at 7:46 pm

    I hope the new job goes well and you can still find time for baking. It’s definitely hard to juggle everything sometimes… What great cookies! I love that you did both versions of the ghosts. =)

    Reply
  • 46. Ulrike  |  December 15, 2008 at 12:55 am

    Pacman cookies, what a great idea !

    Reply
  • 47. mangomissives  |  December 22, 2008 at 7:17 am

    your pacman cookies are wicked cute! I am glad to know I am not the only one who makes a mega-mess anytime I bake.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Thank You Sponsors!

Copyright

MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

Creative Commons License
Photos, Original Recipes & Text ©iheartfood4thought 2007-2009 unless otherwise indicated. All rights reserved. If you repost any material from this blog, please give credit by including a link back to me. Thank you!

Hits since Dec 2007

  • 230,875 dirty dishes

Tweet Tweet

Badge designed by SiahDesigns

Click the banners

Current reading


The Best Casserole Cookbook Ever by Beatrice Ojakangas

website counter


