TWD #41: Go! Go! Flower Power!

December 2, 2008 at 9:36 am 41 comments

Can you believe its already December? Where did November go? I feel like I blinked and missed the whole month of November. But what better way to kick off December than with a Tuesdays with Dorie dessert…

This week Dennis from Living the Life chose Linzer Sables as our TWD dessert of the week. You can find the complete recipe on his blog. Also don’t forget to check out how the other TWD bakers did with their sables too! I saw some adorable snowman ones in my Google Reader this morning. How creative is that??

There’s something about powder sugar that gets me in the holiday spirit. Maybe its the resemblance to snow. Remember. I live in CA so that’s about as “snow” as I get. HAHA. Trust me. I aint complaining. I don’t know how you snow bunnies do it. I can’t even walk in rain much less drive in snow without hurting myself (and others). Being clumsy by nature doesn’t help in the snow sitch.

AARRRRGGHHHHH! Did I scare you?

Forgive me.

I am still suffering from post turkey day leftovers coma so my writing may be incoherent and grammatically incorrect. Just skip to the pictures and call it a day. I don’t mind. Thats what I am doing. ::wink::

What I learned this week:
Wax paper works miracles with rolling out dough. My circle actually looked like a circle and I didn’t have to call it “rustic” to make myself feel better. HAHA


Linzer Sables
Recipe from Baking: From My Home To Yours, Dorie Greenspan


I used ground almonds for my nut of choice b/c I had some leftover from a previous macaron project but Dorie says you can use hazelnuts or walnuts too.


Dorie’s instructions were to roll out to about 1/4″ thick but some TWD bakers recommended going even thinner. I thought 1/4″ was cool for me though.


I used my 2″ flower cookie cutter and my Wilton #12 tip (wide end). Make sure when you cut your cookies you remember that 1/2 of them don’t need the middle circle cutout or you’ll have jam leakage. I figured that out AFTER I cut out all the cookie centers so I had make it again. Do as I say not as I do. Oh well… more cookies for me!


After the cookies baked I sprinkled powdered sugar on 1/2 of them. I may have gone a little nuts with the powder sugar. HAHA


I made 2 versions. Some with nutella and some with raspberry preserves.

ENJOY!

Husband rating: A
He liked the nutella version more than the jam but no cookies gets an A+ unless its a PB cookie.

Wifey rating: A/A-
I liked the jam version better than the nutella version but they were both good.

Next week: Grandma’s All-Occasion Sugar Cookies pages 146-147

Entry filed under: Tuesdays With Dorie. Tags: .

Bunday Monday Fried Ravioli

41 Comments Add your own

  • 1. food librarian  |  December 2, 2008 at 10:02 am

    So cute! Love them. And so resourceful to use your pastry tip!

    Reply
  • 2. chocolatechic  |  December 2, 2008 at 10:20 am

    Adorable.

    Next tiem I make them I will use chocolate.

    Reply
  • 3. isabelle  |  December 2, 2008 at 10:21 am

    super réussis tes biscuits Clara ! c’est trop mignons en forme de fleurs :)

    Reply
  • 4. Nikki  |  December 2, 2008 at 10:27 am

    Well I have good news for you … When you fall in rain it hurts and you get wet. When you fall in snow you have a light fluffy cushion and you have to sit there for awhile before the snow starts melting on you and you get wet. – Reason 984,204,201 why you should move to Boston

    Those are some very purdy flower cookies. I just ate lunch and now I feel the need for dessert

    Reply
  • 5. Cristine  |  December 2, 2008 at 10:39 am

    Ahhh… nutella! Sounds delish!

    Reply
  • 6. Tanya  |  December 2, 2008 at 10:43 am

    Oooh, I like the Nutella version! Of course, the raspberry is great as well. I hate powdered sugar though. Not that I hate the taste, but it’s so messy!

    Reply
  • 7. Karen  |  December 2, 2008 at 10:43 am

    My hubs will love the nutella better than jam. :) I miss the warm California winters. It is freezing here in Tennessee but alas..no snow. Cute cookies!

    Reply
  • 8. Vibi  |  December 2, 2008 at 10:47 am

    Woahhhh Clara, you’re even precise enough to measure the thickness! Now I didn’t believe you when you once commented on my blog that you were a geek/nerd… now I get it! LOL What perfectionnist you make! Those cookies are a pretty darn good looking!

    Reply
  • 9. Di  |  December 2, 2008 at 11:03 am

    They look great! Powdered sugar is as close as I usually get to snow these days, too. =) I did ganache, which was good, but I want to try jam, too.

    Reply
  • 10. Caitlin  |  December 2, 2008 at 11:10 am

    So cute! I had to remind myself to only cut out half – I almost forgot :) I definitely should have tried the nutella version, so I guess these will have a re-do sometime later on.

    Reply
  • 11. kim  |  December 2, 2008 at 11:21 am

    seriously, this year jumped straight from halloween to thanksgiving for me. your cookies are adorable! love the pink cookie cutter :) btw i totally measured my dough thickness too. not that it helped much, because it was all different thicknesses and i only measured in one place ;)

    Reply
  • 12. Julie  |  December 2, 2008 at 11:22 am

    They’re so pretty! Now I want to make something that requires powdered sugar on top. :)

    Reply
  • 13. Cathy  |  December 2, 2008 at 11:36 am

    Whoa — nothing rustic about that dough circle; that is refined all the way! Your cookies are adorable. I love your powdered sugar blizzard — makes for a really fun cookie!

    Reply
  • 14. rainbowbrown  |  December 2, 2008 at 11:50 am

    I feel the same way about powdered sugar, and I also live in Ca. That must be it. I really dig that cookie shape.

    Reply
  • 15. Natalie  |  December 2, 2008 at 12:19 pm

    I so wish that I wasn’t a snow bunny. Sometimes I have to ask myself why I live in WI. I would love to be a California or Arizona girl!! And, your cookies look great.

    Reply
  • 16. pinkstripes  |  December 2, 2008 at 12:26 pm

    Man your husband has high standards in the cookie department. :P

    Your cookies look perfect!

    Reply
  • 17. Stop Smoking  |  December 2, 2008 at 12:47 pm

    Love the nutella add-on!!

    Reply
  • 18. macduff  |  December 2, 2008 at 1:07 pm

    I love the nutella idea. Do you think it’d be too much if you used hazelnuts in the dough? Great post, as always!

    Reply
  • 19. steph (whisk/spoon)  |  December 2, 2008 at 1:22 pm

    they look great! i almost always roll doughs on parchment or wax paper…saves clean-up of a floury mess!

    Reply
  • 20. Carolyn  |  December 2, 2008 at 2:31 pm

    Yours look terrific!! :)

    Reply
  • 21. Tammy  |  December 2, 2008 at 3:17 pm

    nutells sounds great! Your cookies look really sweet!

    Reply
  • 22. Carol Peterman  |  December 2, 2008 at 3:57 pm

    I was so impressed with how well the waxed paper rolling method worked. Your cookies look lovely and Nutella sounds really good.

    Reply
  • 23. Mary Ann  |  December 2, 2008 at 4:23 pm

    Nutella- why didn’t I think of that? Your cookies look perfect. very nicely done!
    Glad you aren’t complaining about no snow- I would switch you climates any day!

    Reply
  • 24. Kayte  |  December 2, 2008 at 5:23 pm

    Beautiful cookies! I like how you try different things with the same batch…I am going to need to start thinking outside the box more each week…I learn so much from all of you. Great post.

    Reply
  • 25. Rebecca  |  December 2, 2008 at 7:02 pm

    Those flowers are so perfect and wee! We don’t get much snow in Tennessee, either. When there’s a flurry, everyone runs to the grocery for staples, like milk and Oreos.

    Reply
  • 26. HappyTummy  |  December 2, 2008 at 7:59 pm

    Gorgeous. I’m seriously going to have to try the Nutella. And I totally hear you on the hubby loving PB…mine’s the same. Maybe we should just try the Linzer Sables with straight-up peanut butter? Hmmm… :)

    Reply
  • 27. Nancy (n.o.e.)  |  December 2, 2008 at 8:35 pm

    Hmm, a peanut butter sable with nutella filling might be really good… Great cookies. And now I get it – powdered sugar before assembling not after. I’d probably smear the sugar.

    Nancy

    Reply
  • 28. HoneyB  |  December 3, 2008 at 1:35 am

    I liked the jam version better too. Probably too much. I think I probably ate about 10 of them last night!

    Reply
  • 29. Mike  |  December 3, 2008 at 4:27 am

    Hmmmm…I know you like the jam version better, but the Nutella version seems almost too good not to try. At least in my brain! :-P

    Reply
  • 30. Lisa magicsprinkles  |  December 3, 2008 at 5:28 am

    I haven’t done these yet, but I have a serious place in my heart for Nutella. Interesting that jam won out here.

    Reply
  • 31. April  |  December 3, 2008 at 5:43 am

    I totally agree that powdered sugar looks like snow, so free and fluffy. I don’t get much snow here in TN either, to be honest, I don’t like it. It’s too cold. Your cookies look fantastic and I bet they were wonderful with the Nutella.

    Reply
  • 32. Piggy  |  December 3, 2008 at 5:49 am

    your flower shaped linzer sables look very pretty. :-)

    Reply
  • 33. Amy Ruth  |  December 3, 2008 at 7:20 am

    Absolutely love your photo tutorial!! I didn’t pick up on the whole powder before you assemble until after the fact. ah well. Great job!
    BTW if you travel to Missouri or nearby snowy laden country….be happy to drive ya! he he
    AmyRuth

    Reply
  • 34. Eunice  |  December 3, 2008 at 10:45 am

    I have to say that I love your step by step tutorials though! my favourite pic is the ruler one LOL to denote 1/4″.

    Beautiful cookies, CB!!! Or rather, BC, CB!

    Reply
  • 35. Ulrike  |  December 3, 2008 at 11:24 am

    How decadent to use Nutella :-), very pretty results.

    Reply
  • 36. Leanne  |  December 3, 2008 at 2:29 pm

    Love your photos. Awesome pictures! I wish I had some Nutella to finish mine tonight.

    Reply
  • 37. Madam Chow  |  December 3, 2008 at 3:02 pm

    Great pictures, and the wax paper WAS a fabulous tip. And I just saw a picture of your bunny – so cute!

    Reply
  • 38. Holly  |  December 3, 2008 at 6:35 pm

    So cute. I ended up making the butter jam cookies – I am way too excited to make these ones when I’m feeling crappy. I’m liable to get pissy and cut out two cookies or just botch it up completely. LOL! Yours are seriously so adorable and I love all that pretty snowy white on them!

    Reply
  • 39. Tracey  |  December 3, 2008 at 8:09 pm

    Love the photos! Nutella sounds delicious in these, great work!

    Reply
  • 40. Peggy  |  December 4, 2008 at 6:28 am

    I’m late getting around to commenting on everyone. Isn’t December fun though! I’m just trying hard to keep up with what has to be done. Love your cookies! I think Nutella would be delicious. I wish I had sandwiched mine after seeing what a great job everyone did with these. I was just too rushed! On to jeweled vegetables. . . ..

    Reply
  • 41. noskos [Living the Life]  |  December 7, 2008 at 1:44 pm

    Great looking cookies!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Thank You Sponsors!

Copyright

MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

Creative Commons License
Photos, Original Recipes & Text ©iheartfood4thought 2007-2009 unless otherwise indicated. All rights reserved. If you repost any material from this blog, please give credit by including a link back to me. Thank you!

Hits since Dec 2007

  • 231,073 dirty dishes

Tweet Tweet

Badge designed by SiahDesigns

Click the banners

Current reading


The Best Casserole Cookbook Ever by Beatrice Ojakangas

website counter


