Fried Ravioli

December 2, 2008 at 8:17 pm 17 comments

Tuesdays are a mixed bag for dinner.

Usually Tuesdays are dinner-for-one because my hubs has graduate classes after work and doesn’t get home until about 10pm. Since its just me, I get kinda lazy when it comes to cooking so I do one of 3 things. (1) Fast food, (2) order pizza or (3) nuke a tv dinner. Not the healthiest dinner choices right?

Well… I aint about to change now. HAHA

Hence my unhealthy dinner choice of fried cheesy goodness. Notice anything interesting about my picture? Go ahead. Scroll down. I’ll wait.

Uh? What are you talking about CB? I dont see… Ohmygod is that ketchup?

Yessirree bob! Forget the marinara sauce. I eat my fried raviolis with ketchup! Nom nom nom…


Recipe adapted from Food Network, Giarda De Laurentiis

INGREDIENTS

Olive oil, for frying
1 cup buttermilk
2 cup Italian-style bread crumbs (I used 2 cups plain breadcrumbs + 6 tsp italian seasoning)
1 box store-bought bite-size cheese ravioli (I used about 30 large (3″x3″) cheese ravioli)
1/4 cup freshly grated Parmesan cheese
1 to 2 cups marinara sauce (store bought or homemade), heated, for dipping

INSTRUCTIONS

Heat 2 inches of olive oil in a large frying pan over medium heat until a deep-fry thermometer registers 325F.

While the oil is heating, put the buttermilk and the bread crumbs in separate shallow bowls. Working in batches, dip the ravioli in the buttermilk to coat completely, allowing the excess buttermilk to drip back into the bowl. Dredge the ravioli in the bread crumbs.

[NOTES: I put the bread crumb mixture in a ziplock bag for easy coating and clean up!]

Place the ravioli on a baking sheet, while you coat the remaining ravioli.

When the oil is hot, fry the ravioli in batches, turning occasionally, until golden brown, about 2-3 minutes. Using a slotted spoon, transfer the fried ravioli to paper towels to drain.

Sprinkle the fried ravioli with Parmesan cheese and serve with a bowl of warmed marinara sauce for dipping.

ENJOY!

Husband rating: N/A

Wifey rating: A
Too good. I’ll be dreaming about fried raviolis and ketchup tonight. HAHA

Entry filed under: finger foods.

TWD #41: Go! Go! Flower Power! Foodie Question of the Day

17 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Cathy  |  December 2, 2008 at 8:32 pm

    I so want these. And we go through ketchup like it’s candy around here. This dinner is right up my alley!

    Reply
  • 2. HoneyB  |  December 3, 2008 at 1:33 am

    lol, I don’t know about the ketcup. But I love the fried ravioli!

    Reply
  • 3. Cristine  |  December 3, 2008 at 5:20 am

    YUM! I want some right now!!!

    Reply
  • 4. Katie  |  December 3, 2008 at 5:42 am

    ooooooh, those look soooooo good. I want some!!

    Reply
  • 5. Jodie  |  December 3, 2008 at 6:53 am

    Wait, did you eat 30 ravioli? YES!

    Reply
  • 6. April  |  December 3, 2008 at 7:06 am

    Wow. I think I just gained 5 pounds even looking at this fried cheesy goodness! I am not sure about the ketchup though…LOL And I love me some ketchup but hmmm…

    Reply
  • 7. Rebecca  |  December 3, 2008 at 8:11 am

    Nom nom nom. Jeff’s been talking about how much he loves these. You can make them with frozen lasagna? I’m so there.

    Reply
  • 8. CB  |  December 3, 2008 at 8:23 am

    CATHY, Glad you understand my ketchup fetish. HAHA

    HONEYB, Don’t knock the ketchup! haha

    CRISTINE, Trust me. You do!

    KATIE, Make it for your next party. You won’t be disappointed (and neither will your guests)!

    JODIE, LOL. No no. I did not eat all 30. There’s about 5 left. You do the math. HAHA

    APRIL, I *did* gain 5lbs but it was worth it!

    REBECCA, I used frozen. I just defrosted it before I breaded and fried. Definitely make them! I bet Jeff would love them!

    Reply
  • 9. Mary  |  December 3, 2008 at 8:28 am

    Wow those look good! I might have to make them if my husband is ever not home for dinner! (He’s got a lactose problem) :)
    But I’ll take mine with no ketchup. Ketchup is icky.

    Reply
  • 10. macduff  |  December 3, 2008 at 8:29 am

    Oh man, this looks too good to be true. Honestly. I’m trying to watch the carbs and the fried foods right now because HELLO I’m busy stuffing my face with holiday cookies. And then you go and put this little thought into my head. Ugh. I’m going to have to fry some ravioli to go with my cookies, lemon bars, toffee, fudge, and taffy.

    Reply
  • 11. CB  |  December 3, 2008 at 8:31 am

    MARY, Aaww bummer lactose. I don’t like milk but I couldn’t live without cheese! Poor guy. :(

    MACDUFF, Uh yeah. I should be cutting back too but… its fried and cheese?? There was no way I’d be able to resist that lethal combo!

    Reply
  • 12. beth  |  December 3, 2008 at 3:58 pm

    There are so many good and bad things about this recipe, I prefer the good!

    Reply
  • 13. Erin  |  December 3, 2008 at 4:28 pm

    I could really go for some of this right now!

    Reply
  • 14. Alyssa  |  December 3, 2008 at 6:22 pm

    Hey I was just wondering, is it raviolis or is ravioli singular and plural. Because I always just said ravioli for both.

    Reply
  • 15. CB  |  December 3, 2008 at 7:00 pm

    BETH, True true. I just choose to ignore the bad and focus on the good. My cup is half full like that. LOL

    ERIN, Make it. You won’t regret it. Ok maybe you might the next day when you have to get on the treadmill 1 hour more. haha

    ALYSSA, Good question! I guess I say ravioliS for the plural but I bet its wrong. I tend to make up stuff alot. haha

    Reply
  • 16. colleen  |  December 12, 2008 at 4:30 pm

    I LOVE this recipe. And I am loving the ketchup!

    Reply
  • 17. CB  |  December 12, 2008 at 4:44 pm

    COLLEEN, So glad you enjoyed the recipe (and my ketchup fetish. HAHA)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Thank You Sponsors!

Copyright

MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

Creative Commons License
Photos, Original Recipes & Text ©iheartfood4thought 2007-2009 unless otherwise indicated. All rights reserved. If you repost any material from this blog, please give credit by including a link back to me. Thank you!

Hits since Dec 2007

  • 229,698 dirty dishes

Tweet Tweet

Badge designed by SiahDesigns

Click the banners

Current reading


The Best Casserole Cookbook Ever by Beatrice Ojakangas

website counter


