CEiMB #8: [Mac & Cheese]

November 30, 2008 at 5:30 pm 14 comments

This will be short and sweet b/c I am headed down to the hot tub to end my Thanksgiving vacay. You are so jealous right now aren’t you?

Made it for Thanksgiving.

Family had mixed reviews. Some liked it. Some didn’t go back for seconds. But I can’t really blame them when they had a choice of other more… ahem… unhealthy options. Its hard to make something healthy for a holiday thats all about caloric overindulgence you know? ::burp::

Thanks to my good friend, Beth from Supplicious for hosting this week! Check out what the other Ellie-istas thought about their Mac and Cheese too!


Recipe from Foods You Crave, Ellie Krieger

Makes 8 servings

* Nutritional Analysis/serving—
Calories: 392; Total Fat: 11 grams; Saturated Fat: 2 grams; Protein: 18 grams; Carbohydrates: 56 grams; Fiber: 3.5 grams

INGREDIENTS

Cooking spray
1 pound elbow macaroni
2 (10-ounce) packages frozen pureed winter squash (I used frozen 16oz butternut squash cubes that I defrosted and then pureed)
2 cups 1% lowfat milk (I used fat free milk)
4 ounces extra-sharp Cheddar, grated (about 1-1/3 cups)
2 ounces Monterrey jack cheese, grated (about 2/3 cup)
1/2 cup part-skim ricotta cheese
1 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon powdered mustard
1/8 teaspoon cayenne pepper
2 tablespoons unseasoned bread crumbs
2 tablespoons grated Parmesan
1 teaspoon olive oil

INSTRUCTIONS

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees F. Coat a 9 by 13-inch baking pan with cooking spray.

Bring a large pot of water to a boil. Add the macaroni and cook until tender but firm, about 5 to 8 minutes. Drain and transfer to a large bowl.

Meanwhile, place the frozen squash and milk into a large saucepan and cook over a low heat, stirring occasionally and breaking up the squash with a spoon until it is defrosted. Turn the heat up to medium and cook until the mixture is almost simmering, stirring occasionally. Remove the pan from heat and stir in the Cheddar, jack cheese, ricotta cheese, salt, mustard and cayenne pepper. Pour cheese mixture over the macaroni and stir to combine. Transfer the macaroni and cheese to the baking dish.

Combine bread crumbs, Parmesan cheese and oil in a small bowl. Sprinkle over the top of the macaroni and cheese. Bake for 20 minutes, then broil for 3 minutes so the top is crisp and nicely browned.

ENJOY!

Husband rating: A-/B+
He liked it but its not his favorite mac & cheese version.

Wifey rating: B/B+
I thought it was a good healthy alternative to mac. I liked the butternut squash addition but I like my mac with more cheesy goodness. I suppose that defeats the purpose of healthy, no? HAHA

Next week: Jewel Roasted Vegetables page 244

* Nutritional information for original recipe. It does not include my changes and/or substitutions.

Entry filed under: Craving Ellie in my Belly. Tags: .

Bacon Cream USCheese Pinwheels I survived Turkey Day, Black Friday and NaBloPoMo!

14 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Natalie  |  November 30, 2008 at 8:21 pm

    I agree….bring on the cheese.

    Reply
  • 2. pamela  |  November 30, 2008 at 9:09 pm

    Hope you enjoyed the hot tub! I tried this over the weekend and I thought it was pretty good, considering the ingredients and the smaller amount of cheese. I’m the only one eating it though, so it could be a problem.

    Reply
  • 3. CB  |  December 1, 2008 at 6:37 am

    NATALIE, Exactly. My mac needs cheese. Stat. HAHA

    PAMELA, Yeah it was a good “healthy” alternative but I like my cheese too much to make the switch. I must have been a mouse in a former life. ;)

    Reply
  • 4. macduff  |  December 1, 2008 at 7:02 am

    Yeah, we weren’t huge on these either. I wanted them to be more gooey, and cheesy. Not bad, though. I did totally appreciate the fact that they were bright orange. And we added a ton of Old Bay to them.

    Reply
  • 5. CB  |  December 1, 2008 at 7:11 am

    MACDUFF, Oooh Old Bay. Smarty.

    Reply
  • 6. Amanda  |  December 1, 2008 at 8:42 am

    Yours is not as orange as mine. Did you cut the squash? Mine was super short due to enjoying the last of the break, too! :-)

    Reply
  • 7. CB  |  December 1, 2008 at 8:43 am

    AMANDA, Yeah I used 16oz frozen instead of 20oz. I didn’t realize that extra 4oz would make a big color difference compared to others. Crazy!

    Reply
  • 8. Peggy  |  December 2, 2008 at 8:21 am

    I know I’m looking forward to the jewel roasted vegetables, aren’t you? That mac and cheese wasn’t the best.

    Reply
  • 9. CB  |  December 2, 2008 at 8:23 am

    PEGGY, I am not a big veggie fan but I am trying to be better so hopefully Ellie will work her magic on the roasted veggies. haha.

    Reply
  • 10. Heather B  |  December 2, 2008 at 4:54 pm

    Your mac still looks tasty! Great job! I used canned pumpkin and loved the mac and cheese.

    Reply
  • 11. CB  |  December 2, 2008 at 4:55 pm

    HEATHERB, Canned pumpkin! What a great idea!

    Reply
  • 12. Lisa magicsprinkles  |  December 3, 2008 at 5:25 am

    I need this book for Christmas. This looks amazingly good.

    Reply
  • 13. CB  |  December 3, 2008 at 8:34 am

    LISA, Yes you do! I’ve liked everything so far. Some more than others but I totally recommend the book!

    Reply
  • 14. Leanne  |  December 3, 2008 at 2:31 pm

    I cut the squash a bit and we all enjoyed it. Totally agree that mac and cheese should be cheesy though!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Thank You Sponsors!

Copyright

MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

Creative Commons License
Photos, Original Recipes & Text ©iheartfood4thought 2007-2009 unless otherwise indicated. All rights reserved. If you repost any material from this blog, please give credit by including a link back to me. Thank you!

Hits since Dec 2007

  • 230,332 dirty dishes

Tweet Tweet

Badge designed by SiahDesigns

Click the banners

Current reading


The Best Casserole Cookbook Ever by Beatrice Ojakangas

website counter


