TWD #40: Tale of Two Pies Part II

November 28, 2008 at 6:51 pm 18 comments

Now that the turkey’s been carved, the mashed potatoes are mushy, the cranberry sauce is sour, the wishbone’s been pulled, the family’s gone home and the dishes are done (I heart my dishwasher!), I can finally sit down and finish my Thanksgiving Twofer Pie tale.

I left you all hanging with my pie dough in Part I but let me just tell you that the pie dough was worthy of its own post.

When I mentioned to MIL that I was making a twofer for Thanksgiving dessert she kinda crinkled her nose and said “No, just make pumpkin.” She’s obviously a pumpkin purist and knows what she likes. But I decided since I wanted to participate in this week’s TWD challenge AND make my MIL happy, I made twofer “cup-pies” + plain ‘ol pumpkin “cup-pies”. I have to admit the idea was inspired by Wendy’s pie-lettes since she posted hers on Tuesday and I got a sneaky peak before I made mine. Isn’t everything cuter as a mini? (Thats what I say about my short stature. HAHA.)

You can find the full recipe (in English and French) on Vibi from La Casserole Carree‘s blog. Also don’t forget to see what the other TWD bakers thought about Dorie’s Twofer pie. Some of us already posted but some of us are still recovering from Thanksgiving pie coma and will post by November 30th per this week’s slacker participation rules.

What I learned this week:
I am not a pumpkin pie fan but add in some pecan filling and I flip flop from hater to lover.

PS. Anyone go Black Friday-ing this morning? Love me some Black Friday! I don’t care if I only saved $20 on my camera’s removable mass storage device. Playing Go Fish with random strangers, balancing a coffee cup, while freezing your arse off in front of Best Buy at 3am is priceless. Sleep is for the weak! HAHA. I can’t wait for next year!


Thanksgiving Twofer Pie
Recipe from Baking: From My Home To Yours, Dorie Greenspan


I used a 3″ diameter circle cookie cutter


I centered the circle dough in each cupcake well and used my fingers to press the dough up the side to create a “cup”


Pumpkin filling (L) and Pecan filling (R)


I chilled the dough in the cupcake pan overnight. I didn’t prebake my crust. Just spooned in the filling and baked at 450F for 10 minutes and then lowered the temp to 300F for 35 minutes.


I had some leftover dough so I cut out some little shapes and used it to garnish each “cup-pie”

ENJOY!

Husband rating: A+
T thought he was a pumpkin pie purist but after one bite of the twofer he changed his tune and raved between bites!

Wifey rating: A
I prefer pecan pie to pumpkin pie so I liked the twofer but I prefer more pecan filling for next time.

Other rating: A/A+
Which one do you think were gone in 5 minutes flat? Plain pumpkin or twofer? The twofers! The whole family raved about it. My MIL is still a pumpkin purist but she said the twofer was pretty good too. Score one for this daughter-in-law!

Next week: Linzer Sable pages 134-135

Entry filed under: Tuesdays With Dorie.

Happy Turkey Day Bacon Cream USCheese Pinwheels

18 Comments Add your own

  • 1. rainbowbrown  |  November 28, 2008 at 7:46 pm

    Well executed! I don’t get all the hiddly hoo from the purists about this. It’s just different. And delicious. ;)

    Reply
  • 2. Natalie  |  November 28, 2008 at 7:59 pm

    Your pies are so cute! You are too creative. I loved every aspect of this pie…except the pecans.

    Reply
  • 3. rachel  |  November 28, 2008 at 9:11 pm

    Glad you made them! So delish, huh!?

    Reply
  • 4. Di  |  November 28, 2008 at 9:22 pm

    Clara, I could have written most of your post! Except for the Black Friday part, that is. You couldn’t pay me (well, maybe if you paid whole lot!) to go shopping today.

    I stole Wendy’s idea as well, and had to make a couple of plain pumpkin minis for my kiddos. And I was quite surprised to find that I liked this recipe, since I don’t really like either pumpkin or pecan pie.

    Great job! I love your photos.

    Reply
  • 5. John Soligate  |  November 28, 2008 at 9:40 pm

    Hello,

    I represent a company, interested in advertising on sites as yours https://iheartfood4thought.wordpress.com If you sell advertising space on your site, could you please advice the possible locations and prices.

    Kind regards

    Tom Soligate

    Reply
  • 6. Cristine  |  November 29, 2008 at 4:13 am

    Mini’s are so cute!!!

    Reply
  • 7. chocolatechic  |  November 29, 2008 at 4:14 am

    Gorgeous.

    I tried to like this pie. I really did, but it just didn’t happen.

    Reply
  • 8. Steph  |  November 29, 2008 at 5:14 am

    Minis are so much better.. less mess! Clara, you are hilarious.. I wish we had thanksgiving sales like the US. I would so be there!

    Reply
  • 9. Mary  |  November 29, 2008 at 5:20 am

    Ha! I have found your foodie blog finally! (I am not going to tell you how long I have been trying to remember what it was called.) Expect me to lurk in the future!

    :)

    Reply
  • 10. CB  |  November 29, 2008 at 7:50 am

    STEPH, I know some ppl aren’t into Black Friday b/c of the whole lack of sleep thing but its just part of the holiday fun for me! Rarely do I ever buy anything that I save alot of money on but the experience is the best part IMO. Who needs sleep? HAHA

    MARY, You dork! You could have emailed me or the link is in my cupcake blog “about me” page too. Glad you found your way back. Love your comments! :)

    Reply
  • 11. Vibi  |  November 29, 2008 at 9:11 am

    Thanks again for participating with me Clara!
    Did you get the big end of the wishbone? LOL did you wish for a package in the mail? LOL …or perhaps for your dishwasher not to break after all has been eaten? LOL
    Love minis… especially with your own little mark on ’em!

    Reply
  • 12. Caitlin  |  November 29, 2008 at 9:24 am

    Too funny that you don’t like plain pumpkin but loved the twofer. And mini makes everything better, I agree :) I can’t agree on the Black Friday thing though – *shudder*

    Reply
  • 13. Holly  |  November 29, 2008 at 10:18 am

    I love your mini pies. I’m with you on the pecan / pumpkin combo. I still can’t abide pumpkin pie by itself though. I hope your holiday was fabulous!

    Reply
  • 14. Steph  |  November 29, 2008 at 11:52 am

    It’s definitely about the experience! With all the money we spend on gas driving down to the states for boxing day, we probably could have stayed home. But seriously, what feels better than buying something on sale! Plus, we are so limited in the baking supplies department… wilton and baker’s secret. I’m so jealous of those beautiful bundt pans everyone has.. mines the classic.. i want a castle or something.. hahah

    Reply
  • 15. Jaime  |  November 30, 2008 at 9:27 am

    glad you enjoyed this one! love the cute little heart on top.

    me, i’m not a big black friday fan….i slept in until 1pm ;)

    Reply
  • 16. Kimberly  |  November 30, 2008 at 10:31 am

    Your mini pies are adorable! I did the mini thing too and think it is definately the way to go! I did my “black friday” on Thanksgiving morning and scored an iPod and a Wii Fit! I love black friday shopping too.

    Reply
  • 17. pamela  |  November 30, 2008 at 9:12 pm

    They are so cute! You are a brave soul, doing the Black Friday thing. Maybe someday…

    Reply
  • 18. Heather B  |  December 2, 2008 at 5:24 pm

    Love the minis! Great job! I didn’t do the Black Friday thing. We got online and made some purchases (I got a nifty Garmin Nuvi!) but that’s it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Thank You Sponsors!

Copyright

MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

Creative Commons License
Photos, Original Recipes & Text ©iheartfood4thought 2007-2009 unless otherwise indicated. All rights reserved. If you repost any material from this blog, please give credit by including a link back to me. Thank you!

Hits since Dec 2007

  • 230,059 dirty dishes

Tweet Tweet

Badge designed by SiahDesigns

Click the banners

Current reading


The Best Casserole Cookbook Ever by Beatrice Ojakangas

website counter


