Foodie Question of the Day

November 26, 2008 at 7:06 am 20 comments

What is your favorite condiment?
(ketchup, mustard, relish, mayonnaise, salsa, steak sauce etc)

I didn’t realize there were a wide variety of condiments more than just ketchup, mustard, relish and mayonnaise. Pineapple cheese dip? Really? My hubs also considers salt, pepper and sugar a quasi-condiment but I wouldn’t. Would you?

I’d say my favorite condiment is ketchup. But not just any ketchup. It has to be Heinz ketchup. I’ll eat [insert other brand here] but I prefer Heinz. I guess you could call me a ketchup snob connoisseur. French fries, fish sticks, tater tots, hot dogs, onion rings, burgers (healthy huh? HAHA) would not be complete without ketchup IMO.

Happy Hump Day readers.

I hope you have a half day like the hubs does.

Gotta get ready to gorge tomorrow right? Ohhhhh yeah…

Entry filed under: Foodie Question of the Day.

TWD #40: Tale Of Two Pies Part I Happy Turkey Day

20 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Rebecca  |  November 26, 2008 at 7:34 am

    I’m a mayo girl. Jeff HATES it, but sandwiches are so dry and healthy without it. ;)

    Hey, Malcolm Gladwell wrote a really fascinating article about ketchup (specifically Heinz) – why people love it, why gourmet ketchups don’t succeed, why Heinz came up with the EZ Squeeze bottles. Seriously, it sounds crazy, but it’s really good:
    http://www.gladwell.com/2004/2004_09_06_a_ketchup.html

    Reply
  • 2. CB  |  November 26, 2008 at 7:38 am

    REBECCA, LOL @ healthy sandwich. I like mayo but I could do without if its not available. I CAN NOT go without ketchup on my fries though. Thanks for the article. I read the first few paragraphs about Frenchs vs Grey Poupon (crazy!?) but I’ll have to finish the rest later. Kinda interesting that Heinz doesn’t have a Grey Poupon type competitor huh? What can I say? Us ketchup lovers just love our Heinz! HAHA

    Reply
  • 3. macduff  |  November 26, 2008 at 9:37 am

    While I like ketchup and every other condiment known to man, my FAVORITE condiment in the world is Frank’s Red Hot Sauce. You know it’s good when you just think to yourself “Goddammit, they don’t have Frank’s.” If you have never had Franks before, tell me, and I will send you a bottle. It is a life changing experience in your mouth.

    Reply
  • 4. KRMWV  |  November 26, 2008 at 10:02 am

    Mine is probably Ranch Dressing. I like it on lots of things, especially french fries. DH on the other hand will only use hot sauce. No ketchup, mustard, mayo, salad dressing nothing. Salt, pepper, hot sauce.

    Reply
  • 5. Rachel  |  November 26, 2008 at 10:06 am

    I don’t really like any condiments. I’ve probably had ketchup twice in the last year and that was on fries. I like my sandwiches dry for the most part. I eat my salads with very little dressing. I guess my answer is none. I don’t have a favorite. Am I a weirdo?

    Reply
  • 6. CB  |  November 26, 2008 at 10:50 am

    MACDUFF, Oh yes. I have heard of the Franks hot sauce greatness! Have you ever made Buffalo Chicken Dip? Give it a try at your next party! or heck just make it for you and J. I made a booboo when I made it (forgot the cheddar cheese!) but I’ve heard nothing but raves from other foodies who’ve made it. You can find it a slightly different version on Frank’s website too. You’ll have to let me know what you think. Being a Franks groupie and all ;)

    KRMWV, Mmmm… ranch dressing is a good one. I split my onion rings between ketchup and ranch. So.freaking.good.

    RACHEL, Yes.

    Reply
  • 7. zebe912  |  November 26, 2008 at 11:02 am

    I’m not sure I have a favorite. I think I compartmentalize so that ketchup goes on fries & burgers, maybe a little mustard on that, but not on anything else (no ketchup on my meatloaf!!) If I’m going to have mustard, I actually prefer it mixed with a little ketchup so it becomes “orange sauce” somehow it sort of neutralizes a little and is less tangy that way.

    DH, however, puts BBQ and/or hot sauce on EVERYTHING even without tasting it first.

    Reply
  • 8. CB  |  November 26, 2008 at 11:08 am

    ZEBE, LOL. I totally do the “orange sauce” too! Orange sauce is good on hot dogs and burgers. YUM!

    Reply
  • 9. Natalie  |  November 26, 2008 at 12:03 pm

    I am also a ketchup girl. I do like ranch dressing too though. Kind of a toss up.

    Reply
  • 10. Judy (Judy's Gross Eats)  |  November 26, 2008 at 1:00 pm

    It’s mayonnaise for me. My favorite hamburger consists of bun, meat, dill pickles, and mayo. Always has, always will. And I like my fries plain, except when chili con queso is available. Good question.

    Reply
  • 11. April  |  November 26, 2008 at 1:19 pm

    I have to have ketchup with certain things but I’m also very into fresh salsa – on salads instead of dressing, in rice, etc. Think of it as the healthier condiment :)

    Reply
  • 12. Steph  |  November 26, 2008 at 4:09 pm

    Agreed. I actually can’t eat ketchup if it’s not Heinz. Don’t you hate it when restaurants fill their glass bottles with ‘Heinz’ when really its (insert other icky brand here).

    Reply
  • 13. CB  |  November 26, 2008 at 4:15 pm

    NATALIE, ::high five:: ketchup!

    JUDY, I like mayo on my burgers but there has to be ketchup too! HAHA.

    APRIL, Love me some salsa and chips. I won’t tell you how many times I haven’t salsa and chips for breakfast before. HAHA

    STEPH, Oh.my.god.yes. Ketchup lovers know when its not Heinz. Note to restaurants: Don’t try to fool us with your non-Heinz brand. ::shakes head in disgust::

    Reply
  • 14. misstiffie  |  November 26, 2008 at 4:30 pm

    I loooooooooooooove hot chili sauce (http://www.huyfong.com/frames/fr_oelek.htm) It’s like sriracha but chunky and without garlic :] SOOO GOOOOD!!! I don’t like ketchup or mayo so I only use mustard!! On everything.. fries… hot dogs, etc…. I sometimes even dip chips in it.

    Reply
  • 15. CB  |  November 26, 2008 at 5:00 pm

    MISSTIFFIE, ooohhh hot chili sauce! Thats a good one! I use it sometimes but my hubs is not into spicy foods so I rarely have it in my kitchen.

    Reply
  • 16. steph (whisk/spoon)  |  November 27, 2008 at 6:52 am

    HP sauce!!! happy thanksgiving!

    Reply
  • 17. Alyssa  |  November 27, 2008 at 7:09 am

    I guess i would have to say mustard. But everything always taste good with a little mayonnaise. (refuse to call it mayo)

    Reply
  • 18. CB  |  November 27, 2008 at 7:11 am

    STEPH, What is HP sauce?

    ALYSSA, LOL @ mayo refusal. I always say mayo! I am just one of those ppl that need to shorten things. Don’t hurt me!

    Reply
  • 19. Jaime  |  November 27, 2008 at 5:33 pm

    sweet chili sauce!

    Reply
  • 20. CB  |  November 27, 2008 at 9:32 pm

    JAIME, Mmmm… I love sweet chili sauce with eggrolls!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Thank You Sponsors!

Copyright

MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

Creative Commons License
Photos, Original Recipes & Text ©iheartfood4thought 2007-2009 unless otherwise indicated. All rights reserved. If you repost any material from this blog, please give credit by including a link back to me. Thank you!

Hits since Dec 2007

  • 230,835 dirty dishes

Tweet Tweet

Badge designed by SiahDesigns

Click the banners

Current reading


The Best Casserole Cookbook Ever by Beatrice Ojakangas

website counter


