Pan-Fried Lemon Ricotta Gnocchi

November 23, 2008 at 6:33 pm 9 comments

One of my new favorite foodie blogs is Jaden’s Steamy Kitchen. I love her writing, photography and her Asian food fusion.

Side note: Couldn’t you just see “Steamy Kitchen” as the title for a Food Network soap opera? I call dibs on Steve Burton aka General Hospital’s Jason Morgan. He’s yummy!

Since I had a bag of lemons that I just HAD to buy when I saw it at Costco (I think I had grand ideas of lemon tarts, lemon cupcakes, lemon bars etc) I went searching for a lemon inspired dish. As soon as I saw Jaden’s lemon gnocchi I knew I had to try it! I’ve made gnocchi before back in my newbie food blogger days and its one of T’s favorite dishes to date. He’s an Irish boy so potato gnocchi hit the spot for him! But Jaden’s version is lemon and ricotta so I was intrigued to make and compare.


Recipe from Steamy Kitchen

INGREDIENTS

1 cup whole milk ricotta (I used part skim ricotta)
1/2 cup freshly grated parmegiano reggiano (plus extra reserved for garnishing)
1 large egg yolk
1 teaspoon lemon zest (use a microplane grater) (plus extra reserved for garnishing)
1 teaspoon kosher salt (I used 1/2 tsp regular salt)
3/4 cup all purpose flour, sifted
1 tablespoon chopped parsley (plus extra reserved for garnishing)
1/2 teaspoon finely minced chili, to taste (I used red pepper flakes)
2 tablespoons clarified butter (I used regular unsalted butter)
1 tablespoon olive oil

INSTRUCTIONS

Combine ricotta, parmagiano, yolk, zest, parsley and salt in large bowl. Mix well. Sprinkle half of the flour on the mixture, gently turn with spatula a few times to incorporate. Dump mixture on clean, lightly floured countertop. Sprinkle remaining flour on top of the mixture. Gently knead with your fingertips, just bringing together the mixture until flour is incorporated through. This only should take a minute or two. Any longer and you will be over-kneading. Divide dough into 4 parts.


[NOTES: I added about 1 tbsp more flour b/c I used skim milk ricotta which has more water content than whole milk ricotta.]

Take one part and roll into a long, 1″ diameter log. Cut gnocchi into 1″ pieces. You may use your wooden doobie-bopper or tines of a fork to get those pretty grooves.

[NOTES: I don’t have a doobie bopper (is that really what its called? HAHA) and I was too lazy to do it with a fork so my gnocchi are groove-less.]

Heat skillet over medium-high heat. Add butter and olive oil. When butter is just lightly browned, add gnocchi in single layer. Fry on one side for 2 minutes, flip. Add chili. Fry other side for 1-2 minutes. Timing really depends on how big/thick your gnocchi is so do a taste test. Serve with a sprinkling of lemon zest, parmegiano and parsley.

ENJOY!

Husband rating: A
He liked this one alot. Not as much as the potato gnocchi but he had several plates so I know I’ll be making this one again!

Wifey rating: A
The lemon and ricotta flavor combinations were so good. Definitely adding this one to the rotation!

Entry filed under: pasta. Tags: , , .

Foodie Question of the Day Bunday Monday

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Julie  |  November 24, 2008 at 10:41 am

    I’ve always liked gnocchi, but figured it would be impossible to make. You make it look easy though (but, then again, you make most everything look easy) so maybe someday I’ll be brave and try it. :)

    Reply
  • 2. CB  |  November 24, 2008 at 10:50 am

    JULIE, I don’t think its “hard” but it takes alot of time (I think the potato one took longer though) and I am not the greatest when there’s hot oil involved. HAHA. I totally think you can do it! Give it a try!

    Reply
  • 3. food librarian  |  November 24, 2008 at 12:17 pm

    This look fantastic! Such time and effort!!! Love ’em a frying. That’s the best!!!

    Reply
  • 4. CB  |  November 24, 2008 at 12:41 pm

    FOODLIBRARIAN, I am such a sucker for fried foods! Its so bad but OH SO GOOOOOD. haha.

    Reply
  • 5. Rachel  |  November 24, 2008 at 7:38 pm

    Whoa, I feel like I’m in back to the future…hehe.

    Great job on the gnocci. I’ve never tried it but I might just have to now.

    Reply
  • 6. CB  |  November 24, 2008 at 7:45 pm

    RACHEL, Shhhh… woman! Keep it on the DL! HAHA.

    Reply
  • 7. Jodie  |  November 26, 2008 at 8:16 am

    This looks fantastic. I LOVE gnocchi!

    Reply
  • 8. stephchows  |  December 1, 2008 at 8:18 am

    ooo I love gnocchi! Although I am a boiling fan not a frying fan. I had never known people did that until John and I went to a place in the poconos and he ordered it and it came out all greasy and covered in salt… it was totally inedible it was seriously the worst meal out we’ve ever had and the service was even worse. BLEH! I’d totally give this recipe a try though since you said it was so good :) Although I might have to resort to boiling them ;)

    Reply
  • 9. CB  |  December 1, 2008 at 8:21 am

    JODIE, Give it a try! I bet you’d love this one too!

    STEPH, LOL @ Poconos experience. I like fried foods. I know its bad but I do. I am sure you could boil this recipe too. If you try it, let me know what you think, k?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Thank You Sponsors!

Copyright

MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

Creative Commons License
Photos, Original Recipes & Text ©iheartfood4thought 2007-2009 unless otherwise indicated. All rights reserved. If you repost any material from this blog, please give credit by including a link back to me. Thank you!

Hits since Dec 2007

  • 230,681 dirty dishes

Tweet Tweet

Badge designed by SiahDesigns

Click the banners

Current reading


The Best Casserole Cookbook Ever by Beatrice Ojakangas

website counter


