Foodie Question of the Day

November 22, 2008 at 3:29 pm 26 comments

Do you appreciate food blogs that post process pictures or would you prefer 1 or 2 really good quality staged pictures of the final dish?

Most of my readers know that I post alot of process pictures. I tend to be a visual learner and all my favorite cookbooks have pictures. Lots of pictures. I like seeing step-by-step of what things should look like so I know right away if I am making a mistake. But not all bloggers feel the same as me.

“… I believe no one really cares about seeing a raw piece of chicken or a messy counter of ingredients. They just want to see the pretty result of my efforts.”

What do you think? There’s no right or wrong answer. I am just curious.

PS. 1 week, 6 days, 10 hours until my throw down.

Entry filed under: Foodie Question of the Day.

How-to: DIY Weekly Menu Board Pan-Fried Lemon Ricotta Gnocchi

26 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Elly  |  November 22, 2008 at 4:34 pm

    I really think it depends. For things like baking or something where the reader benefits from seeing a picture (i.e. your batter should have THIS consistency), or for detailed instructions that are hard to grasp with directions, I think process pictures are really great. If you are making a stir fry and showing a pic of the pan after each and every vegetable, I probably don’t need to see that :)

    Reply
  • 2. laura  |  November 22, 2008 at 4:47 pm

    definatly progress pictures. The first food blog I saw had a BEAUTIFUL picture of a measuring up of sugar. I was amazed. I love the progress, especially if it is somehow beautifully done.

    Reply
  • 3. Regina  |  November 22, 2008 at 5:38 pm

    One of the main reasons I added your blog to my RSS reader was because you post progress pictures. I think the photos make the story more entertaining. Reading “cream butter and sugar, add eggs” post after post can become tedious and the pictures can often just speak for themselves.

    Reply
  • 4. - dlm.  |  November 22, 2008 at 5:49 pm

    I recently added your blogs to my RSS feed. I truly appreciate seeing “in progress” photographs. Thank you so much for taking the time to do so, because as the adage states “a picture tells a thousand words.”

    Reply
  • 5. Cheryl in AL  |  November 22, 2008 at 6:27 pm

    I prefer the process photos. I am a big fan of thepioneerwoman(dot)com. She uses quality photos of her process. She demystifies it for a newbie.

    Reply
  • 6. CB  |  November 22, 2008 at 7:29 pm

    ELLY, LOL @ stir fry pictures. True true.

    LAURA, Oh yeah. It still amazes me how some foodies can make the simplest ingredients look so beautiful.

    REGINA and DLM, aawww I am so flattered! Thanks for adding me to your RSS feed. I totally agree that pictures speak a thousand words.

    CHERYL, Definitely. PW is one of my favorite blog reads. Her photos and her witty writing are always great. I wanna be like her when I grow up ;)

    Reply
  • 7. zebe912  |  November 22, 2008 at 9:02 pm

    Since I’ve been cooking for a long time, I generally know what the set up should be, and terms are fairly consistent from one person to the next. So the pictures just get “busy” for me, especially if I’m trying C&P the recipe text so I can print it on less paper.

    However, when I’m reading craft blogs, I always wish there were more pictures because everyone’s terms are always so different. Similarly if it is a food or technique not often made, and using an unfamiliar technique, then pictures do come in handy.

    Reply
  • 8. CB  |  November 22, 2008 at 9:04 pm

    ZEBE, Hmmm… good point. I have thought about providing “print the recipe” links on my posts. Just gotta figure out how to do that first. HAHA

    Reply
  • 9. Cathy  |  November 22, 2008 at 9:52 pm

    Oh, I totally like the process pictures. I appreciate all kinds of food blogs. Of course I love the ones by professional or semi-professional cooks, bakers and photographers. Their finished products and their photographs are inspiring. But I enjoy reading blogs from the ordinary home cooks, who don’t pretend to be anything other than ordinary home cooks. I learn from them as well, and process pictures are part of that, for me. And then there are the hacks like me — I’m glad that we have a place in the food blogosphere, too. In a nutshell, I like the variety that’s out there now, and I think it would be boring if everyone started doing the same kind of blog posts.

    BTW, I’ve passed an award on to you. It’s at my blog!

    Reply
  • 10. Tanya  |  November 22, 2008 at 10:26 pm

    Eek, I might have the unpopular opinion, but I don’t like TOO many progress pictures. Honestly, yours are fine Clara because you group them together and keep it tidy. What I don’t like are pictures that literally show you everything (i.e., add 1 tbsp. baking powder, and then there’s a huge photo showing baking powder in the bowl).

    I do appreciate photos that show you consistency, how brown things should be, and things like that which might be confusing.

    Reply
  • 11. Nikki  |  November 23, 2008 at 5:50 am

    I tend to ignore process pics if i know what i’m doing, but not everyone does so I think they can be good when showing something new/different/confusing, but when it’s the same pic of butter I saw yesterday :P it doesn’t have quite as much value

    Reply
  • 12. Julie  |  November 23, 2008 at 6:42 am

    I love the way you take all those process pictures. I appreciate looking at them and I learn from them. I think all food blogs are different, you have your own way, and it’s perfect just the way it is. You have great recipes and pictures!

    Reply
  • 13. CB  |  November 23, 2008 at 8:08 am

    CATHY, Exactly! I love that there are blogs that inspire me (cooking, photography and writing) to be better but there are also blogs that I can relate to on my own cooking level as well. Bloggy for me? aawwww… ::off to read your blog::

    TANYA, Thanks T. I understand what you mean. I try to keep the pictures to things that are open to interpretation that words don’t necessarily make obvious but I do probably post some pictures that aren’t necessary too b/c I just like how they look! HAHA.

    NIKKI, Well hun, you *do* read my blog everyday so there’s bound to be pictures you see more than once ;) but I guess I also take into account new readers that have never seen them before either by posting them. Though I do understand seeing a stick of butter probably isn’t very interesting. I’ll try to edit better. haha

    JULIE, Aaawww thanks. I think you said it the best. I think bloggers have their niche and posting process pictures is part of mine. :)

    Reply
  • 14. culinarycory  |  November 23, 2008 at 8:16 am

    I agree with Tanya, Zebe and Nikki. I believe most of my readers know the basic understanding of cooking. So there is no need to clutter my posts with too many process photos. The point of writing the above statement in my original post was to explain that I’m not a fan of posting a picture of boiling water just for the sake of posting the picture. However, if it is done in an artful way, like Smitten Kitchen, then I think some process pictures can be a wonderful addition to the blog.

    Reply
  • 15. CB  |  November 23, 2008 at 8:19 am

    CULINARYCORY, Thanks for stopping by and commenting on your quote. I agree that Smitten Kitchen can make even boiling water artful.

    Reply
  • 16. Alyssa  |  November 23, 2008 at 2:53 pm

    I would rather just see the finished product. (probably because I’m a rush rush kind of gal!) But still, keep doing what you’re doing. I love it just the way you have it. !

    Reply
  • 17. Steph  |  November 23, 2008 at 3:19 pm

    I love your process pics! It’s really helpful to see what batter is supposed to look like.. maybe I’m not too into raw chicken, but raw batter is appreciated!! I also love texture pics of cupcakes cut in half.. those are the best!

    Reply
  • 18. CB  |  November 23, 2008 at 4:20 pm

    ALYSSA, I am a rush girl myself but I think thats why I’d rather look at pictures than read words. HAHA

    STEPH, I tend to do more process pictures for baking than cooking. Maybe its b/c of the whole “raw chicken” thing too? *shrugs

    Reply
  • 19. Jen  |  November 23, 2008 at 4:31 pm

    I think it depends on the situation. If it’s a complicated process or step, I find it extremely useful. Or if you’re showing that the batter is very runny for example. I don’t mind the step by step photos so I say if you enjoy doing it, keep it up.

    Reply
  • 20. susan  |  November 23, 2008 at 5:58 pm

    I prefer the process pictures-
    now I dont always remember to take the process photos for my posts and Im angry about it later…
    .but I think it is much more helpful to the person who actually wants to make the recipe!

    Reply
  • 21. Rachel  |  November 23, 2008 at 7:22 pm

    I take terrible photos so I tend to skip the progress when I blog unless I happen to take a good one. CB, don’t change a thing. I<3you and your blog style!

    Reply
  • 22. CB  |  November 23, 2008 at 8:17 pm

    JEN, I definitely appreciate photos that show specific texture or step (ie rolling dough) etc too. Even though posting process pictures is more work I think it adds more to the recipe than just the words so I’ll probably continue.

    SUSAN, Exactly! You said it better than I could!

    RACHEL, aawww RP loves me. Honey, the feeling is mutual. xoxo

    Reply
  • 23. Natalie  |  November 24, 2008 at 1:23 pm

    I love your process pictures. I have been trying to do them in my blog posts. However, it takes me forever to get a post done when I include numerous process pics. So, I have been getting lazy in that aspect. Don’t change a thing CB.

    Reply
  • 24. CB  |  November 24, 2008 at 1:30 pm

    NATALIE, aawww well thank you. You’re too sweet!

    Reply
  • 25. karen  |  November 28, 2008 at 9:12 am

    i love process pics, don’t stop. i always want to take them when i’m making something but i have crap lighting in my kitchen!

    Reply
  • 26. CB  |  November 28, 2008 at 10:14 am

    KAREN, I have crappy lighting too and you should see my poor camera! Can you say egg, flour, sugar stains? HAHA. But I love process pictures (even raw chicken ones) so I am glad you like them too :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Thank You Sponsors!

Copyright

MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

Creative Commons License
Photos, Original Recipes & Text ©iheartfood4thought 2007-2009 unless otherwise indicated. All rights reserved. If you repost any material from this blog, please give credit by including a link back to me. Thank you!

Hits since Dec 2007

  • 230,525 dirty dishes

Tweet Tweet

Badge designed by SiahDesigns

Click the banners

Current reading


The Best Casserole Cookbook Ever by Beatrice Ojakangas

website counter


