Foodie Question of the Day

November 16, 2008 at 3:13 pm 17 comments

I was just thinking about a “nutty” dish that I want to make for my UCLA blog-luck and it got me thinking:

What is your favorite nut? (Pecans, cashews, peanuts, walnuts, almonds, macadamia, pistachios, other etc…)

I think I’ve mentioned a couple times that I am a savory snacker. Don’t get me wrong. I love my sweet treats but I can’t eat alot of sweets in one sitting whereas chips, pretzels, nuts etc I can eat handful after handful. Hmmm… thats probably not a good thing huh?

My favorite legume use to be pistachios but in my old age I am getting too lazy to shell the darn things. What’s the point of snacking if I have to do work? Although I do admit that the salty shells are my favorite part of a pistachio. I am such a complicated person, no? HAHA

So now my favorite nut is probably cashews. There’s just something about that kidney bean shaped nut that I love. Can’t explain it. Just do.

Entry filed under: Foodie Question of the Day.

3 weeks, 6 hours and 2 minutes… Bunday Monday

17 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Cynthia  |  November 16, 2008 at 3:17 pm

    I saw you on the Daring Bakers subscriptions that I have on my reader. I agree. the pistachio shells are what keeps me coming back for more!

    Reply
  • 2. Jen  |  November 16, 2008 at 3:28 pm

    I love almonds. TJs has some great ones. I keep a bag in my desk drawer for snacks during the day.

    Reply
  • 3. Amber  |  November 16, 2008 at 3:55 pm

    I like almonds the best. :)

    I am totally with you on eating savory things over sweets. I love salthy snacks and would rather eat an entire box of crackers instead of chocolate chip cookies.

    Reply
  • 4. Kristi  |  November 16, 2008 at 4:27 pm

    It’s a toss up between pistachios and almonds for me. I too am a salt craver although I like something sweet after a lot of salt. :)

    Reply
  • 5. Michele  |  November 16, 2008 at 5:39 pm

    It’s a tie between brazil nuts and pistachios. I’m all for savory things instead of sweet things.

    Reply
  • 6. Di  |  November 16, 2008 at 5:52 pm

    For eating out of hand, cashews are definitely my favorite. For baking, my favorite is pecans.

    Reply
  • 7. Cristine  |  November 16, 2008 at 6:00 pm

    Cashews all the way! :)

    Reply
  • 8. chocolatechic  |  November 16, 2008 at 6:08 pm

    I have to just pick one?

    sheesh….I don’t think I can.

    Cashews and almonds are probably my most favorite to just snack on, but to bake with ….pecans, hands down.

    Reply
  • 9. Elizabeth - Cake or Death?  |  November 16, 2008 at 6:28 pm

    Oooh, girl, talk of nutmeats on a Sunday evening is JUST what I like. I’m kind of obsessed with nuts, actually.
    My favorite nut for straight eating are macadamias, which is unfortunate because they’re little fatty bombs of death, but OH SO GOOD.
    My favorite nuts for baking are hazelnuts, followed closely by pecans.
    And honorable mention must go to the humble peanut, which regularly sacrifices itself to produce glorious peanut butter (all natural and salted, if you please.)
    Mmmm, time to go snack on some nuts…

    Reply
  • 10. Steph  |  November 16, 2008 at 6:52 pm

    Definitely cashews! They are the best when you buy them raw and slow roast them in the oven at 200.

    Reply
  • 11. Marthe  |  November 17, 2008 at 1:23 am

    I love macadamia, pecans and cashews. Mix them with some salt and you’ve got my favourtige mix!!!

    Reply
  • 12. Alyssa  |  November 17, 2008 at 6:13 am

    CASHEWS!!!!!

    Reply
  • 13. Nicole (Nico's Eats)  |  November 17, 2008 at 7:28 am

    Mmm, cashews are a new favorite of mine, but I’ve also discovered these unbelievably delicious nut mixtures called “Sahale Snacks.” The pecan one is the BEST — sweet pecans, black pepper, dried cranberries, orange zest.

    Reply
  • 14. zebe912  |  November 17, 2008 at 3:05 pm

    Used to love cashews. I still like them quite a bit. But almonds, I could eat for ever. My favorites are the toasted, but unsalted slivered almonds from Trader Joes. I’m not a salt person by any means, so I actually prefer non-salty nuts :-) I’m a little afraid I’m developing an allergy to them though. Soon I won’t be able to eat anything!!!

    Reply
  • 15. Kristen  |  November 17, 2008 at 4:30 pm

    I agree that cashews are the best–the chocolate covered ones are REALLY good. I do love a chocolate covered almond too and will eat them plain too. Oooh and walnuts. I can remember being at my grandma’s house and getting to use the walnut cracker and get out my walnuts.

    Reply
  • 16. Anne  |  November 18, 2008 at 6:57 am

    I agree about the cashews… but I like pecans best in dishes (like Dorie’s sticky buns, but I guess they don’t count as a salty snack…)

    Reply
  • 17. Jack  |  December 10, 2008 at 2:55 pm

    It was a toss-up between pistachios and cashews.. but after reading Dr. Painter’s study it’s pistachios all the way:

    http://pistachiohealth.com/the_pistachio_principle.html

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Thank You Sponsors!

Copyright

MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

Creative Commons License
Photos, Original Recipes & Text ©iheartfood4thought 2007-2009 unless otherwise indicated. All rights reserved. If you repost any material from this blog, please give credit by including a link back to me. Thank you!

Hits since Dec 2007

  • 229,698 dirty dishes

Tweet Tweet

Badge designed by SiahDesigns

Click the banners

Current reading


The Best Casserole Cookbook Ever by Beatrice Ojakangas

website counter


