CEiMB #6: [Portobello Lasagna Rollups ]

November 13, 2008 at 12:56 am 28 comments

Did you know that creminis were baby portobellos?

I DIDN’T!

What do ya know. Learn something new everyday…

I wonder if there was a hidden camera on me at the grocery store while I was in the mushroom section. I wouldn’t be surprised if I showed up on some blooper show tomorrow. I swear I was staring at all the mushroom varieties for a good 10 minutes, repeating all the names on the packaging to myself. Most of us are use to ppl talking to themselves nowadays b/c of the handsfree bluetooth thing but since I wasn’t wearing my bluetooth (it annoys me so I rarely wear it), I bet I could have been a candidate for a straitjacket.

CB (muttering): Shiitake, cremini, porcini, button… Where the H-E-double-hockeysticks are the portobellos?
T (nagging): Just pick one and let’s go home.
CB: But I need portobellos and I don’t see it. The recipe says “portobello”. It’s even in the title!
T: Just pick one and let’s go!! NOW!!

Finally I went home defeated with some buttons.

Note to self: Do not bring husband to grocery store again.

But who should come to my rescue but fellow Ellie-ista, Holly from Phe/MOM/enon, explaining the whole cremini-portobello developmental stages. Armed with my new mushroom knowledge I went back to the grocery store and guess what…? They had portobellos. Of course they did…

Thanks to this week’s CEiMB host, Marthe from Culinary Delights for picking this recipe. Also {{golf clap}} for CEiMB’s new leader, Natalie from What’s For Supper?, for taking over the group. Check out the new website and see what the other Ellies thought of this week’s recipe!


(Recipe from Ellie Krieger, Foods You Crave | photos from me!)

Makes 6 servings
Serving size: 2 lasagna rolls

* Nutritional Analysis—
Calories 500; Total fat 18g; Saturated fat 7.5g; Monounsaturated fat 4.3g; Polyunsaturated fat 1.2g; Protein 26g; Carbohydrates 56g; Fiber 12g; Cholesterol 76mg; Sodium 1110mg

INGREDIENTS

12 whole-wheat lasagna noodles
2 tsp olive oil
12 oz portobello mushrooms, chopped
1/2 tsp salt
4 cups Easy Tomato Sauce or store bought marinara sauce
15oz container part-skim ricotta cheese
10oz package frozen chopped spinach, thawed, drained and squeezed dry
1 large egg, lightly beaten
freshly ground pepper
pinch of ground nutmeg
1/4 cup freshly grated Parmesan cheese
3/4 cup (3 oz) grated part-skim mozzarella cheese

INSTRUCTIONS

Preheat oven to 375F

Cook the noodles according to the package directions. Drain well and spread them out on a sheet of aluminum foil or waxed paper to prevent them from sticking.

Heat the oil in a large skillet over medium-high heat. Add the mushrooms and cook, stirring occasionally, until browned and all the liquid has evaporated, about 5 minutes. Season with 1/4 tsp of the salt stir 1-1/2 cups of the tomato sauce and simmer for 2 minutes.

In a medium bowl, combine the ricotta, spinach, egg, the remaining 1/4 tsp salt, a few turns of pepper and the nutmeg. Spread 1 cup of the remaining tomato sauce on the bottom of the 9×13 inch baking dish. Spread about 1 tbsp of the ricotta mixture onto a lasagna noodle. Top with about 1-1/2 tbsp of the mushroom mixture, then roll the noodle and stand it up or lay it down in the baking dish. Repeat with the remaining noodles, ricotta mixture and mushroom mixture.


Spread the remaining 1-1/2 cups tomato sauce over the lasagna rolls. Top with Parmesan cheese and mozzarella, cover loosely with foil and bake for 45 minutes. Uncover and bake for 15 minutes more.

ENJOY!

Husband rating: A+
He raved as soon as he walked in to the house and got a whiff of the lasagna baking in the oven. While he was eating he gave it a thumbs up and said “Iz um wood sauna woes!” (translation: This is some good lasagna rolls!) HAHA

Wifey rating: A
I had high expectations for this one. Its pasta, cheese and mushrooms. Three of my favorite things and it did not disappoint. Love the spinach filling and the mushrooms gave it a great complimenting flavor. Definitely will make again!

Next week: Oven-Fried Chicken page 213

* Nutritional information for original recipe. It does not include my changes and/or substitutions.

Entry filed under: Craving Ellie in my Belly. Tags: , .

Shrimp and Crab Eggrolls Color my kitchen

28 Comments Add your own

  • 1. peabody  |  November 13, 2008 at 1:03 am

    Actually I did know that creminis are baby portobellos…and they look good in this lasagna.

    Reply
  • 2. Cathy  |  November 13, 2008 at 3:10 am

    I did not know that creminis are baby portobellos — in fact, I guess the mushroom distributors in my parts gave up, because they now package creminis as “baby bellas” (which I didn’t buy last time I needed creminis, because I needed creminis!) So glad this lasagna was wonderful — now the next time your hubs is rushing you out of the grocery, you can remind him of this lasagna and how your careful deliberation is the key to these fabulous dishes!

    Reply
  • 3. Audrey  |  November 13, 2008 at 3:54 am

    I saw Ellie make these and I wanted them, bad. I’m glad they have the Clara and hubby seal of approval too. Now I will!

    Reply
  • 4. Katie  |  November 13, 2008 at 5:06 am

    What a GREAT idea! I’m starring to make for when my sister comes in town next week. Thank you!!

    Reply
  • 5. CB  |  November 13, 2008 at 6:38 am

    PEABODY, you’re just more smartypants than me ;)

    CATHY, Oh bummer dude! Then you know exactly how I felt. And you know I totally let T have it about being such a child at the grocery store after he ate dinner. HAHA

    AUDREY, Ooohhh I wanna see Ellie make this one. I bet she was more zen making hers. I was running around my kitchen like a headless chicken. But it was worth it!

    KATIE, Awesome! Let me know what you and sister think :)

    Reply
  • 6. macduff  |  November 13, 2008 at 7:16 am

    I liked these, but I think I’m done with ricotta now.

    The only thing you really need to know about mushrooms is that there is a variety that can make you trip out. Really. that’s all I really care about when it comes to shrooms.

    Reply
  • 7. Melissa  |  November 13, 2008 at 7:31 am

    Your husband sounds just like mine. These rollups look so delicious, and what a great variation from lasagna. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

    Reply
  • 8. CB  |  November 13, 2008 at 7:56 am

    MACDUFF, Why you ricotta-hating right now? Shrooms? I have no idea what you’re talking about. HAHA

    MELISSA, My hubs is a dork. I told him he didn’t have to come to the store with me but he said he didn’t mind and then he nags to go home after 20 minutes. Men! Can’t live with them, can’t spend their money without them. HAHA.

    Reply
  • 9. Mary Ann  |  November 13, 2008 at 8:10 am

    They turned out wonderfully. I barely got my post up!
    These really were good and I don’t even really love mushrooms. The pasta and cheese helped alot too.

    Reply
  • 10. CB  |  November 13, 2008 at 8:21 am

    MARYANN, Definitely helps adding cheese. I love pasta with melty cheese…

    Reply
  • 11. Marthe  |  November 13, 2008 at 8:49 am

    Bjoetiefoell!! Your rollups look soooo tasty. I’m glad you enjoyed them!!

    Reply
  • 12. Leanne  |  November 13, 2008 at 9:27 am

    Oh I hate it when my husband goes grocery shopping with me. Not only does he rush me but he also adds about $30 worth of junk to the cart! We enjoyed the recipe as well. Great pictures as usual.

    Reply
  • 13. Kristina  |  November 13, 2008 at 10:17 am

    These look great! They’d be a lot prettier than regular lasagna if you were serving guests!

    Reply
  • 14. stephchows  |  November 13, 2008 at 11:10 am

    mmmmm I will add this to the list of “things to make”! Awesome I just checked and my library has this book and it’s not checked out! I’m totally picking it up tomorrow to browse and try out! :)

    Reply
  • 15. CB  |  November 13, 2008 at 11:14 am

    MARTHE, Oh they were very tasty! Great pick this week!

    LEANNE, My hubs is the opposite. He starts nitpicking all the things I buy and questioning why we need [insert food item here]. What a buzzkill! HAHA.

    KRISTINA, Oh true. They are cute little pre-portioned sizes. Definitely have to remember for my next little dinner gtg.

    STEPH, Ooohhh definitely borrow it! Maybe even join CEiMB? huh? huh? ;)

    Reply
  • 16. Tanya  |  November 13, 2008 at 11:28 am

    This looks positively yummy! I try not to take my husband to the grocery store. Not that he really minds going, but he always ends up buying a bunch of crap. I prefer going alone.

    Reply
  • 17. Natalie  |  November 13, 2008 at 1:04 pm

    Your pictures look awesome! Are you using that photo box that you set up?

    Great job with your roll-ups. They were fun to make!

    And I completely agree with your avatar suggestion for CEiMB. Just not up my alley in the slightest! Hopefully someone can come up with something.

    Reply
  • 18. Gabi  |  November 13, 2008 at 3:05 pm

    Beautiful rollups and photos. I used cremini too ;)
    xo

    Reply
  • 19. Barbara  |  November 13, 2008 at 4:42 pm

    What an idea Lasagna rolls! that is awesome.

    Reply
  • 20. CB  |  November 13, 2008 at 5:15 pm

    TANYA, Yeah I’ve learned my lesson. No more hubs grocery shopping.

    NATALIE, No, that picture was in my kitchen. My photo light box is out of commission until I get brighter light bulbs for them b/c they comes out with some dark spots using my 60W bulbs. Hopefully after I get some 90W it will be perfect.

    GABI, Thanks! I feel like a dork when I think about those darn cremini mushrooms! HAHA

    BARBARA, Isn’t it? I love that they are little portions.

    Reply
  • 21. heather b  |  November 14, 2008 at 9:15 am

    that looks delicious! I wish I had had a chance to make it this week! Great job!

    Reply
  • 22. CB  |  November 14, 2008 at 9:34 am

    HEATHER, bummer you weren’t able to make it this week but definitely make it soon. It was good!

    Reply
  • 23. Amanda  |  November 14, 2008 at 7:32 pm

    I REALLY wish I would have looked at your pics before I made this tonight. Mine was very very good and we loved it, but I kind of scooped all the filling up on each noodle and swirled the rest of the noodle around the filling. Yours looks much better. I am really pumped about CEIMB!!!!

    Reply
  • 24. CB  |  November 14, 2008 at 7:48 pm

    AMANDA, Awesome to have you with CEiMB! I love TWD but I definitely needed a more healthy group to help balance out the sweets. HAHA

    Reply
  • 25. Holly  |  November 14, 2008 at 10:22 pm

    Do not feel like a dork. If I didn’t watch a few too many episodes of Good Eats I don’t think I would know either. Your rolls look awesome!!

    Reply
  • 26. CB  |  November 15, 2008 at 5:21 am

    HOLLY, Ah well… live and learn and now I know for next time. Thanks for the mushroom education! HAHA

    Reply
  • 27. Hallie  |  November 17, 2008 at 11:09 am

    My boyfriend bought me this cook book months ago and I have not yet made anything from it. You just inspired me to, maybe this week! :)

    Reply
  • 28. CB  |  November 17, 2008 at 11:14 am

    HALLIE, Sweet! You won’t be disappointed. Everything I’ve made so far is awesome. :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Thank You Sponsors!

Copyright

MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

Creative Commons License
Photos, Original Recipes & Text ©iheartfood4thought 2007-2009 unless otherwise indicated. All rights reserved. If you repost any material from this blog, please give credit by including a link back to me. Thank you!

Hits since Dec 2007

  • 230,861 dirty dishes

Tweet Tweet

Badge designed by SiahDesigns

Click the banners

Current reading


The Best Casserole Cookbook Ever by Beatrice Ojakangas

website counter


