Shrimp and Crab Eggrolls

November 12, 2008 at 12:59 pm 18 comments

I love eggrolls.

Its the perfect little finger food. Whenever I get chinese takeout I always get a couple eggrolls too. Its like a rule or something. Kinda like getting a fortune cookie with your meal. You have to get eggrolls.

During my daily blog trolling I saw Francie’s DIY eggrolls and I literally gasped. How did the blog gods know? I am totally craving eggrolls. And all the sudden… There it was. ::flash brilliant white light:: She made it look so easy too. I even convinced myself that I could make my own. I mean I am Asian. Its probably in my genes right?

Boy was I wrong.

I’ll just hand over my Asian credentials right now. I am a bad eggroll roller. I blame it on my insane obsession with overfilling so my eggroll wrapper kept tearing. Also my eggrolls weren’t very pretty. Mine bubbled alot in the frying. I think my oil was too hot? *shrugs… It took me about 10 eggrolls to get the hang of the delicate art of eggroll rolling. Its truly an artform people. You should go look at Francie’s eggrolls to see what they are suppose to look like. My eggrolls might be kinda fugly but damn they were tasty!

Can you believe that my hubs doesn’t like eggrolls? He’ll eat them but he’s more of a broccoli beef and steamed rice combo man. Obviously the foodie force is not strong with that one…


(Recipe from Frantic Home Cook & Cooking Dunkin Style | photos from me!)

Makes about 20 eggrolls

INGREDIENTS

For eggrolls
1/2 cup chopped scallions
2 cups finely chopped napa cabbage (I used green cabbage)
1 cup shredded carrot
1 cup (about 15-20) chopped shrimp, cooked
1 tbsp grated or minced ginger
2 cans of crab
1 tbsp soy sauce
1 tbsp oyster sauce
egg wash (1 egg white+tsp water)
oil to fry (I used peanut oil)

For dipping sauce
1 tablespoon freshly squeezed lime juice*
1/2 cup white vinegar
1/2 cup warm water
1 cup white sugar
3 tablespoons fish sauce
2 tablespoons finely minced garlic*
1 tablespoon garlic chili sauce

* My mom’s eggroll dipping sauce is practically the same but she omits the lime and garlic.

INSTRUCTIONS

To make filling—
Toss first 3 ingredients into a mixing bowl. Add shrimp. Add ginger. Add crab, soy sauce and oyster sauce.

To assemble eggroll—
Place the eggroll wrapper so that one corner is facing you (like a diamond shape). Put about 1/4 cup of filling on the closest edge. Brush (or use your fingers) the sides of the wrapper with egg wash (this is your “glue”). Start rolling up, tucking in the sides tight 1/2 way and continue to roll until the end.


Fry in oil at 350F until golden brown about 3-4 minutes.

To make dipping sauce—
Combine all ingredients and mix well.

ENJOY!

Husband rating: N/A

Wifey rating: A
I ate way too many of them. I won’t tell you the exact number b/c its scary how many I ate. Let’s just say… my tummy hurts but it was so worth it.

Entry filed under: asian. Tags: .

TWD #38: “My cake is dough.” CEiMB #6: [Portobello Lasagna Rollups ]

18 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Heather B  |  November 12, 2008 at 1:34 pm

    mmmm…eggrolls. Yum! As longas they taste good, it doesn’t matter what they look like!

    Reply
  • 2. nikki57  |  November 12, 2008 at 1:58 pm

    CRAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAABBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS

    CRABS!
    CRABS!
    CRABS!
    CRABS!
    CRABS!
    CRABS!
    CRABS!
    CRABS!
    CRABS!
    CRABS!

    Reply
  • 3. CB  |  November 12, 2008 at 2:23 pm

    HEATHER, Thats my foodie motto! “As long as it tastes good…” ;)

    NIKKI, Oh real mature… LOL

    Reply
  • 4. Natalie  |  November 12, 2008 at 3:29 pm

    Mature Nikki.

    Looks too hard. Way too hard. But delish. Can’t you just come to my house and cook for me?

    Reply
  • 5. Nikki  |  November 12, 2008 at 4:45 pm

    Haha I’m the most mature person within a mile of this blog who are you two kidding hehe

    Reply
  • 6. CB  |  November 12, 2008 at 7:41 pm

    NATALIE, I am not gonna lie. It takes some time and some rolling skills. HAHA

    NIKKI, Of course you are honey… of course you are…

    Reply
  • 7. Tanya  |  November 12, 2008 at 11:44 pm

    I get REALLY bad egg roll cravings at times, and reading about egg rolls doesn’t help! I honestly have never thought about making my own because it looks so complicated! Maybe I’ll try challenging myself one of these days.

    Reply
  • 8. CB  |  November 13, 2008 at 6:43 am

    TANYA, Omg so do I! I tell T all the time that I know if I ever got pregnant cravings I wouldn’t be surprised if it were for eggrolls. Definitely give it a try one of these days. It was a little labor intensive for me but I wanna try again!

    Reply
  • 9. Julie  |  November 13, 2008 at 8:06 am

    They do look pretty delicious. :)

    Reply
  • 10. L W  |  November 13, 2008 at 11:16 am

    Im agree with your hubs. I dont do egg rolls. I think the foodie force is just fine with him.

    Reply
  • 11. CB  |  November 13, 2008 at 12:23 pm

    JULIE, I have to admit they were pretty darn tasty.

    LW, Whaaaat? I thought I knew you man…

    Reply
  • 12. colleen  |  November 14, 2008 at 8:51 am

    These look delicious! And easy enough for me to try!

    Reply
  • 13. CB  |  November 14, 2008 at 8:56 am

    COLLEEN, Definitely give it a try!

    Reply
  • 14. Jaime  |  November 16, 2008 at 10:13 pm

    mmm i love egg rolls. can’t believe your DH doesn’t. judging from your pics, you way overstuffed them. that’s probably why they didn’t cooperate. a little bit of filling goes a long way w/egg rolls (and ravioli)

    Reply
  • 15. CB  |  November 17, 2008 at 5:57 am

    JAIME, Thats what I thought but the recipe said 1/4 cup? I guess I should have gone with my instincts :(

    Reply
  • 16. Courtney  |  November 17, 2008 at 5:13 pm

    These look good! They don’t look ‘fugly’ at all!! lol! I was just thinking about trying some of these…and here they are! I will definately have to try! thanks!!!

    Reply
  • 17. CB  |  November 17, 2008 at 5:14 pm

    COURTNEY, Go look at Francie’s eggrolls. Mine are totally fugly! But they are very tasty so definitely make some!

    Reply
  • 18. Candi R.  |  January 2, 2009 at 10:39 am

    This recipe was easy to prepare. Sounds like a lot of ingredients but everything from the preparation to the cooking time wasn’t complicated at all. Matter of fact the recipe is delicious it has all the right ingredients and it is not to salty. It’s on point. Look forward to other recipe as good.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Thank You Sponsors!

Copyright

MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

Creative Commons License
Photos, Original Recipes & Text ©iheartfood4thought 2007-2009 unless otherwise indicated. All rights reserved. If you repost any material from this blog, please give credit by including a link back to me. Thank you!

Hits since Dec 2007

  • 230,875 dirty dishes

Tweet Tweet

Badge designed by SiahDesigns

Click the banners

Current reading


The Best Casserole Cookbook Ever by Beatrice Ojakangas

website counter


