TWD #38: “My cake is dough.”

November 11, 2008 at 1:14 am 53 comments

“My cake is dough.” ~ William Shakespeare

Cake? Bread? Bread? Cake?

By now my hubs has figured out that Sunday (or Monday depending on the procrastination factor) is Tuesdays with Dorie baking day. When he asked me what was up on the baking calendar this week, I tried to explain to him what kind of dessert a kugelhokf (pronounced: koo-goo-hof) was. I decided to hook him in with a hyphenated dessert word b/c he absolutely loved the apple pie-cake back in my TWD newb days and came up with a descriptive “cake-bread” for my answer. He gave me his loveable dorky confused look (I think every husband has one right?) and said:

“…so its like a cread!”

I couldn’t stop laughing for a good 20 minutes. It could be b/c I thought he said “crud” at first. But after we got the wordage straightened out it was still pretty darn funny and we spent the rest of the weekend saying cread this and cread that. Kinda rolls off the tongue don’t ya think? LOL

Thanks to Yolanda from The All Purpose Girl for hosting this week. You can find the complete recipe on her blog. Also go see what the other TWD bakers thought of the recipe too.

What I learned this week:
Am I the only one that doesn’t like the word “scant”? esp when it has to do with yeast? I am not a fan of using “scant” in any recipe instructions. Ok there. I said it. Sorry I just had to get that off my chest.


Kugelhopf
(Recipe from Dorie Greenspan’s BFMHTY | photos from me!)


Did anyone else think it was funny that Dorie described this dough stage as shaggy? HAHA.


I used craisins instead of raisins. CB=raisin-hater


My dough rising trick is to turn my oven to 350F and let the heat from the oven create a warm environment for my dough on top of the stove. First rise took about 2 hours.


That is my best one-handed attempt to show how I “slapped” the sides of my dough down (L). I didn’t have a kugelhopf pan so I used my bundt pan instead (R).


Look at that dough RISE! It always makes me feel like Dr Frankenstein when the monster sits up. It’s alive…!!! Muhahaha… Second rise took about 3 hours.

ENJOY!

Husband rating: C
I could tell he wasn’t a fan b/c he barely wanted to eat more than one bite and politely said that he was full. That’s never a good review.

Wifey rating: C
It wasn’t the recipe (maybe the baker?) though. I think this recipe is a case of “acquired taste”. I like my cakes moist and sweet and this recipe was bland and dry (even with the icing drizzle) so it wasn’t the cake for me. But I don’t regret baking it b/c now I can cross it off my list.

Other rating: C
I never have the heart to throw things in the trash so we pawned the rest of the cake off on his parents. No call (yet) to rave about it so I assume they felt the same way.

Next week: Arborio Rice Pudding, White, Black (Or Both) pages 412-413

Foot note: Happy Veterans Day to my FIL who served in the Vietnam war. Today we honor him and other veterans like him for keeping our country safe.

Entry filed under: Tuesdays With Dorie. Tags: .

Bunday Monday Shrimp and Crab Eggrolls

53 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Carolina  |  November 10, 2008 at 9:29 pm

    OMG, yours came out great in a bundt pan! Mine came out scant, haha. I will post in the a.m. Good job. Ours tasted like a croissant. My daughter added strawberry jam. It was really good that way. I, too, used craisins. Otherwise, my kids would not have eaten it.

    Reply
  • 2. food librarian  |  November 10, 2008 at 9:40 pm

    Oh, lovely! It really did rise! I guess our warm weather helped out too! ;)

    Reply
  • 3. Nancy (n.o.e.)  |  November 10, 2008 at 9:40 pm

    I guess “cread” is better than “brake”! So funny how tastes differ – it’s my husband’s favorite TWD recipe and one of his favorite things ever. Mine wasn’t dry, but it wasn’t a dense moist cake either.

    Reply
  • 4. Marthe  |  November 10, 2008 at 9:40 pm

    Your Kugelhopf looks amazing, too bad you didn’t like it as much… But that can happen…. I have to wait untill after work to bake this…

    Reply
  • 5. Landa  |  November 10, 2008 at 9:42 pm

    AWESOME! Im glad Im not the only one who thought it was bland. You did a great job. Thanks for baking with me.

    Reply
  • 6. Karen  |  November 10, 2008 at 9:43 pm

    I love made up words! :) Looks like yours turned out great in the bundt pan! Mine…not so much…

    Reply
  • 7. pinkstripes  |  November 10, 2008 at 10:14 pm

    I’m sorry you didn’t like this. Your kugelhopf looks perfect, nicely golden and delicious.

    Reply
  • 8. Jin Hooi  |  November 11, 2008 at 1:33 am

    Pity you don’t like it , but it looks so good and yummy !! well done ;-)

    Reply
  • 9. Mari  |  November 11, 2008 at 1:39 am

    Your kugelhopf looks hot! ;-)
    I liked it a lot, but I’m into European yeasted sweet breads (I totally agree this is so not a cake, not a modern cake anyways). It definitely needed spicing up though, and I’m glad that I sussed that out and took matters into my own hands.

    Reply
  • 10. Audrey  |  November 11, 2008 at 3:47 am

    It’s gorgeous! You could open a “cread” bakery and start a new hot thing!

    Reply
  • 11. Peggy  |  November 11, 2008 at 4:22 am

    Yours looks perfect. This wasn’t my favorite either. Just was expecting a sweeter, more golden cake and instead got bread with raisins in it. I think it was great for breakfast though.

    Reply
  • 12. Cristine  |  November 11, 2008 at 4:23 am

    Cread… HA HA HA!!! That’s a good one! Your kugelhopf looks tasty!

    Reply
  • 13. HappyTummy  |  November 11, 2008 at 4:34 am

    Wow…yours came out so much more cake-like than mine did! I know you said it came out rather dry, but your pictures make it look so dense and moist. Gorgeous!

    Reply
  • 14. Michelle  |  November 11, 2008 at 4:35 am

    I thought it took way to long to get to the finished cake! I loved the topping the best! Your pan is nice and I love the look of you cake. Sorry it wasn’t a favorite. I know I won’t make it again.

    Reply
  • 15. Andrea  |  November 11, 2008 at 5:18 am

    Clara, your turned out beautifully! I’m sorry you and your hubby weren’t big fans. On to the rice pudding for next week :)

    Reply
  • 16. chocolatechic  |  November 11, 2008 at 5:44 am

    Mine didn’t raise like yours did.

    Great job.

    Reply
  • 17. Jayne  |  November 11, 2008 at 6:20 am

    Beautiful cread! It’s funny, seems like a lot of people’s kugelhopfs came out dry. Mine was light and moist – neither bread nor cake. I don’t know how to describe it at all.

    Reply
  • 18. macduff  |  November 11, 2008 at 7:05 am

    Dude, I hear you on the C rating. I was like “I stayed at home all day long for this?” I wanted much more bang for the buck. More bread for the cread.

    Reply
  • 19. Jodie  |  November 11, 2008 at 7:21 am

    It looks great. I had to think of it as bread instead of cake, and then it met my expectations better. :)

    Reply
  • 20. Holly  |  November 11, 2008 at 7:29 am

    Mine wasn’t too dry, but I too had think of it more like a breakfast cake than a dessert. Yours still looks great though!

    Reply
  • 21. Ulrike  |  November 11, 2008 at 7:50 am

    A guglhupf must rise, that’s the word hupf ;-)

    Great work

    Reply
  • 22. Melissa  |  November 11, 2008 at 7:55 am

    Thanks for telling us the pronunciation. These past couple of weeks have been foreign language to me! Your kugelhopf looks great!

    Reply
  • 23. AnneStrawberry  |  November 11, 2008 at 8:13 am

    Cread… that’s too funny. I agree this wasn’t worth the effort for something I wasn’t crazy about, but it was fun to make something new. I love the drizzle on yours, too!

    Reply
  • 24. Di  |  November 11, 2008 at 9:04 am

    I’m sorry that this one wasn’t quite to your liking. It looks terrific–the bundt pan worked quite well! The icing drizzle is a nice touch.

    Reply
  • 25. Piggy  |  November 11, 2008 at 9:55 am

    your kugelhopf looks so perfect as compared to mine… I’m so jealous! :-)

    Reply
  • 26. Cathy  |  November 11, 2008 at 10:09 am

    I love the craisins in your cread! Sorry it wasn’t a bit hit for you two. It was totally different from what I was expecting, and once I got over that, I liked it better. Don’t see myself making it again though. Yours looks perfect, though!

    Reply
  • 27. Laura  |  November 11, 2008 at 10:11 am

    Your cake/bread came out beautifully, even if it only rated a C. I wasn’t all that keen on this recipe either. Good, but not great. I love the drilled icing – great idea!

    Reply
  • 28. Stephanie  |  November 11, 2008 at 10:50 am

    Your Kugelhopf looks fantastic, and I love the glaze! My tube pan burnt the edges a little bit, but I was up for improving too :)

    Reply
  • 29. teaandscones  |  November 11, 2008 at 11:36 am

    Mine became Creak. (Crake) Best I could do. Looks yummy. It does take a long time, but I liked the not too sweet thing with tea, coffee. Shaggy is not a word I want associated with dough. And scant, what’s a scant?????

    Reply
  • 30. Steph  |  November 11, 2008 at 11:59 am

    Your husband is hilarious… cread.. hahah! I think your cread looks amazing, you got a really nice rise.. mine was 1/2 as high as yours. I didn’t really like mine either, but it was still a lot of fun right?! Luckily rice pudding requires a lot less maintanence! My brother also said it was bland.. was I the only one who thought the butter was strong? I love your step by step pictures.. I want to take the in between shots, but it’s always such a big mess when I bake that I want to keep my camera away from it all.

    Reply
  • 31. Princess of Power  |  November 11, 2008 at 12:21 pm

    I love the photos–since this is my first TWD seeing the whole process through in photos is boosting my confidence as mine looks the same!

    Reply
  • 32. Kelly D  |  November 11, 2008 at 12:28 pm

    You got a great rise. I am jealous but I am with you on this recipe. blah.

    Reply
  • 33. Sugar B  |  November 11, 2008 at 2:32 pm

    You are hard core. You actually made this. I had a cold and knew I wouldn’t like kugelhopf, so I opted for banana cake instead. I know you love bananas! HAHA! Good job, thanks for the tutorial pics. Impressive. :D

    Reply
  • 34. Tammy  |  November 11, 2008 at 2:45 pm

    I agree with your final grade re: taste, but yours does look beautiful! I think I need to get a bundt tin!

    Reply
  • 35. Fit Chick  |  November 11, 2008 at 3:30 pm

    Nice looking but I agree, too bland. At least we try new recipes!

    Reply
  • 36. rainbowbrown  |  November 11, 2008 at 5:37 pm

    Too bad you didn’t really like the cread, but it looks really smashing in that bundt pan.

    Reply
  • 37. Julie  |  November 11, 2008 at 5:57 pm

    I think it was just ok too, but I’m glad I tried it at least once, now we know what kugelhopf taste like!

    Reply
  • 38. Kayte  |  November 11, 2008 at 5:59 pm

    Looks great…I wonder why it wasn’t a big hit. Okay…maybe next week…every week can’t be a big hit.

    Reply
  • 39. Mike  |  November 11, 2008 at 6:15 pm

    CREAD! Hahaha.

    Reply
  • 40. Natalie  |  November 11, 2008 at 8:50 pm

    I love your icing on top. It looks so pretty. Too bad it didn’t do much for the taste.

    Reply
  • 41. Carol Peterman  |  November 11, 2008 at 9:24 pm

    I think the expectation of cake will throw anyone off; it’s really buttery raisin bread. I loved it, but I was expecting raisin bread and that’s what I got. Your cread looks beautiful. I bet if you had toasted it for breakfast you would have liked it more.

    Reply
  • 42. Rebecca  |  November 11, 2008 at 9:44 pm

    Yeah, this wasn’t one of my favorites. Going to try to turn it into something else for tomorrow … Maybe a doorstop. ;)

    Reply
  • 43. steph (whisk/spoon)  |  November 12, 2008 at 5:03 am

    wow–it looks like a gorgeous bundt. but if you were expecting cake, i can totally see the dissappointment. much more like bread, i think. would have made a tasty bread pudding.

    Reply
  • 44. Lynne  |  November 12, 2008 at 6:33 am

    I love your step-by-step photos. The “cread” looks great!

    Reply
  • 45. Kimberly  |  November 12, 2008 at 7:54 am

    Your kugelhopf looks great! I agree, I don’t care for measurements like “scant” or directions like “warm to the touch”. I actually have a set of measuring spoons for “scant”, “pinch”, and something else!

    Reply
  • 46. pamela  |  November 12, 2008 at 12:59 pm

    It looks like it came out great. I am sorry it wasn’t that tasty, but it makes me feel better about not making it!

    Reply
  • 47. Heather Peskin  |  November 12, 2008 at 2:05 pm

    A perfectly shaped kugelhopf. Great job!

    Reply
  • 48. karen  |  November 12, 2008 at 5:36 pm

    nice cread. sorry it was just so-so for all of you.

    yeah, not a fan of “scant” either. but i like “smidge”. :)

    Reply
  • 49. Vibi  |  November 12, 2008 at 6:28 pm

    Wow, kugelhopf looks amazing, picture looks great… nothing more to say… other than …hum, your package is soon on the way! LOL

    Reply
  • 50. CB  |  November 12, 2008 at 7:04 pm

    VIBI, package for me?? Omg! You need to email me about what you want too. I am such a bad blogger pal!

    Reply
  • 51. Amy Ruth  |  November 12, 2008 at 9:56 pm

    Cread! That is hysterical. Made me laugh. Guess I didn’t understand the Kugel until tonight when I toasted some butter bits of my sad little Kugie. Topped it with Apricot jam and it was delish!
    Since mine was so sad I may have to give it another go. Sometime. Yours looks perfect. Great Job.
    AmyRuth

    Reply
  • 52. Elizabeth - Cake or Death?  |  November 12, 2008 at 10:19 pm

    Yours rose a ton! The finished product looks amazing–sorry it was only average for the husband and wifey rating duo. :)

    Reply
  • 53. Jaime  |  November 16, 2008 at 10:15 pm

    your kugelhopf looks lovely, though it sounds like we both didn’t care for it much.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Thank You Sponsors!

Copyright

MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

Creative Commons License
Photos, Original Recipes & Text ©iheartfood4thought 2007-2009 unless otherwise indicated. All rights reserved. If you repost any material from this blog, please give credit by including a link back to me. Thank you!

Hits since Dec 2007

  • 230,315 dirty dishes

Tweet Tweet

Badge designed by SiahDesigns

Click the banners

Current reading


The Best Casserole Cookbook Ever by Beatrice Ojakangas

website counter


