Savory Rugelach x 2

November 7, 2008 at 12:15 pm 18 comments

I bet you have a deja vu feeling right?

You’re thinking you’ve seen rugelach on my blog before.

Do not adjust your screen.

Your eyes do not deceive you.

I made rugelach with my baking group, Tuesdays with Dorie, just a few days ago. Unfortunately I wasn’t impressed with my rugelach. I got major filling leakage and scrubbing burned preserves off my silicone mat killed my blissful baking mood. So I crossed rugelach off my baking to-do list and starting thinking about other ways to use my leftover 4oz of cream cheese. I probably wouldn’t have made rugelach again if I hadn’t read fellow TWDer, Holly of Phe/MOM/enon‘s blog about wanting to try some savory rugelach ideas. After I read cheese, barbecue chicken and bacon, I knew I’d dust off my disgruntled rugelach ‘tude and give it another try!

Isn’t everything better with cheese?


(Recipe adapted from Dorie Greenspan & Phe/MOM/enon | photos from me!)

INGREDIENTS

For rugelach dough
4 oz cold cream cheese, cut into 4 pieces
1 stick (8 tbsp) cold unsalted butter, cut into 4 pieces
1 cup all purpose flour
1/4 tsp salt

For chicken pesto filling
1/4 cup pesto
1/4-1/2 cup mozzarella cheese
1/2 cup shredded chicken (I used pre-cook chicken strips, chopped)
1/4 cup tomatoes, chopped
sesame seeds
olive oil

For bbq chicken & bacon filling
1/2 cup shredded chicken (I used pre-cook chicken strips, chopped)
1/4 cup barbecue sauce
1/4-1/2 cup mozzarella
3-4 strips of bacon*
sesame seeds
olive oil

* I cooked my bacon in the oven on a cooling rack over a foil lined baking sheet for easy cleanup. 400F for about 20-25 minutes. Let cool and then chopped up. (I like mine crispy so I baked for 25 minutes.)

INSTRUCTIONS

To make dough—
Let the cream cheese and butter rest on the counter for 10 minutes — you want them to be slightly softened but still cool.

Put the flour and salt in a food processor, scatter over the chunks of cream cheese and butter and pulse the machine 6 to 10 times. Then process, scraping down the sides of the bowl often, just until the dough forms large curds — don’t work it so long that it forms a ball on the blade.

Turn the dough out, gather it into a ball and divide it in half. Shape each half into a rectangle, wrap in plastic wrap and refrigerate for at least 2 hours or up to 1 day. (Wrapped airtight, the dough can be frozen for up to 2 months.)


[NOTES: I let mine chill overnight.]

To make pesto chicken rugelach—
Pull one packet of dough from the refrigerator. If it is too firm to roll easily, either leave it on the counter for about 10 minutes or give it a few bashes with your rolling pin.

On a lightly floured surface, roll the dough into a rectangle. (Mine was about 11inchx6inch.) Brush a thin layer of pesto over the dough. Mix the leftover pesto sauce with the chicken. Scatter mozzarella cheese, chicken and tomatoes evenly over the surface of the dough leaving a border. Starting from the edge closer to you, roll the dough into a burrito and tuck the ends inside.


[NOTES: I rolled my dough between 2 pieces of wax paper lightly sprinkled with flour. You could also use parchment paper. I think it makes it easier!]

Refrigerate for about 1 hour before baking.

To make barbecue chicken rugelach—
Pull the 2nd packet of dough from the refrigerator. If it is too firm to roll easily, either leave it on the counter for about 10 minutes or give it a few bashes with your rolling pin.

On a lightly floured surface, roll the dough into a rectangle. (Mine was about 11inchx6inch.) Brush a thin layer of barbecue sauce over the dough. Mix the leftover barbecue sauce with the chicken. Scatter mozzarella cheese, chicken and bacon evenly over the surface of the dough leaving a border. Starting from the edge closer to you, roll the dough into a burrito and tuck the ends inside.


Refrigerate for about 1 hour before baking.

To bake—
Preheat oven to 350F.

Brush some olive oil over the surface of each log. Cut log into 1″ slices. Sprinkle each slice with sesame seeds. Bake for about 35-45 minutes or until golden brown.

ENJOY!

Husband rating: N/A

Wifey rating: B+/A-
The actual flavors were awesome but the structure wasn’t so purdy. I think its still probably my fault b/c I tend to overfill and after I cut the slices they kinda collapsed in the baking process. I already adjusted my ingredient amounts above by 1/2 and maybe I’ll have to try again with less filling. I am still not in love with the rugelach recipe but I think I liked the savory more than the sweet.

Entry filed under: cheese, chicken, finger foods. Tags: .

CEiMB #5: [Turkey Roulade] U-C-L-A fight fight fight!

18 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Natalie  |  November 7, 2008 at 12:49 pm

    this one looks way better — I might be inspired to try it, if it didn’t take so dang long!!

    Reply
  • 2. Natalie  |  November 7, 2008 at 1:02 pm

    The new CEiMB website!

    Reply
  • 3. Mary Ann  |  November 7, 2008 at 1:48 pm

    Wow- how adventurous of you! The fillings and everything look amazing! Too bad it didn’t hold up to well. I always overstuff things too. That’s the good part!

    Reply
  • 4. bakingforthecure  |  November 7, 2008 at 4:50 pm

    Sounds like a lovely idea! thanks! :)

    Reply
  • 5. Elizabeth - Cake or Death?  |  November 7, 2008 at 5:41 pm

    The flavors sound great. After tasting how not-sweet the dough is, I can see it working really well with savory ingredients. I guess the problem is the fillings have to be pretty sparse, and the fillings are usually the exciting part so the tendency is to want to go heavy on them. Maybe we should stick with wraps and leave rugelach to the birds. :)

    Reply
  • 6. CB  |  November 7, 2008 at 9:13 pm

    NATALIE, It does take some time and if you can get it to work the way its suppose to, its worth it. Obviously I still need to work on my execution though. HAHA

    MARYANN, I know right!? I always think “more” cheese is better. Too bad the rugelach dough didn’t think so. ;)

    BAKINGFORCURE, Hopefully you have better luck than me when you bake it ;)

    ELIZABETH, I think I will just stick to cupcakes. Rugelach is obviously not my forte. HAHA

    Reply
  • 7. dharma  |  November 9, 2008 at 10:45 am

    What an awesome idea – savory rugelach! Like savory bread pudding or a sweet frittata!

    Reply
  • 8. CB  |  November 9, 2008 at 1:52 pm

    DHARMA, I think I prefer the savory more than the sweet myself. Go figure!

    Reply
  • 9. Erin  |  November 9, 2008 at 6:04 pm

    I wanted to do a savory version, but wasn’t sure what to do. This looks delicious!

    Reply
  • 10. CB  |  November 9, 2008 at 7:05 pm

    ERIN, I like the flavor combinations I came up with but the rugelach dough wasn’t as compromising. I might try the fillings with “pizza dough” next time. Can’t wait to see what savory fillings you come up with :)

    Reply
  • 11. peabody  |  November 10, 2008 at 12:06 am

    Mmm, chicken pesto sounds like a great filling.

    Reply
  • 12. CB  |  November 10, 2008 at 6:25 am

    PEABODY, Trust my tummy. It was. ;)

    Reply
  • 13. Katie  |  November 11, 2008 at 5:51 am

    what a great idea to go savory!!!

    Reply
  • 14. CB  |  November 11, 2008 at 6:31 am

    KATIE, Isn’t everything better with cheese? HAHA

    Reply
  • 15. Piggy  |  November 11, 2008 at 9:58 am

    OMG!! What a yummy looking rugelach… really really like the idea of making a savory version. Thanks for the tip!

    Reply
  • 16. CB  |  November 11, 2008 at 12:19 pm

    PIGGY, Thanks! I think it turned out pretty good. If I make it again I might not divide the dough to make it stronger to hold the fillings or maybe I’ll have to get better and not overfilling… HAHA

    Reply
  • 17. Karleen  |  November 12, 2008 at 6:39 pm

    It sounds like we both had the same problem with the same first round of these. I tried to savory for my second batch, and like them much better! Sounds yummy :-)

    Reply
  • 18. CB  |  November 12, 2008 at 7:01 pm

    KARLEEN, ooohhh really? What savory fillings did you use? Definitely liked the savory more than the sweet.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Thank You Sponsors!

Copyright

MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

Creative Commons License
Photos, Original Recipes & Text ©iheartfood4thought 2007-2009 unless otherwise indicated. All rights reserved. If you repost any material from this blog, please give credit by including a link back to me. Thank you!

Hits since Dec 2007

  • 230,328 dirty dishes

Tweet Tweet

Badge designed by SiahDesigns

Click the banners

Current reading


The Best Casserole Cookbook Ever by Beatrice Ojakangas

website counter


