CEiMB #5: [Turkey Roulade]

November 6, 2008 at 1:17 am 22 comments

Man I am stuffed.

Get it.

We made turkey and stuffing.

Huh huh?

Sometimes I crack myself up. HAHA

This week’s Ellie-istas are cooking up some Thanksgiving inspired dinner (anything with turkey is Thanksgiving inspired to me) hosted by Holly from Phe/MOM/enon (isn’t her blog name so clever??).

Now I bet your first question was my first question when I started reading the recipe. What is roulade? Right? Get out of here! Me too!

The word Roulade originates from the French “rouler” meaning “to roll”. Typically, a roulade is a European dish consisting of a slice of meat rolled around a filling, such as cheese, vegetables, or other meats. A roulade, like a braised dish, is often browned then covered with wine or stock and cooked. Such a roulade is commonly secured with a toothpick or metal skewer, piece of string or spinach.
(Source: Wikipedia)

… and thats exactly what I cooked. Turkey stuffing swiss roll thingamajigger.

All kidding aside. I am not sure if everyone has seen the latest news about Craving Ellie in my Belly but long story short Leigh is offering the group up to someone else to take over for her own reasons. I have been thinking about it but I know it takes alot of time and dedication to organize a weekly event so I am not sure. What do you all think? If anyone is interested, please email Leigh about it. I would really hate to see such an amazing group end…


Turkey Roulade w/ Apple Cider Gravy
(Recipe from Ellie Krieger, Foods You Crave | photos from me!)

Makes 6 servings
Serving size: 2 slices of turkey roulade and 1/4 cup gravy

* Nutritional Analysis—
Calories 400; Total fat 12g; Saturated fat 1.5g; Monounsaturated fat 6g; Polyunsaturated fat 3.5g; Protein 50g; Carbohydrates 24g; Fiber 2g; Cholesterol 117mg; Sodium 371mg

INGREDIENTS

1 (2-1/2 pound) skinless turkey breast, butterflied (I bought two 1lb turkey breast instead)
1/2 cup dried cranberries
2 tablespoons canola oil, divided (I used olive oil)
1/2 large onion, diced (about 1-1/2 cups), plus 1 cup sliced onion
2 large garlic cloves, minced
5 slices day-old whole-wheat bread, crusts removed, cubed (about 2 1/2 cups) (I used plain bread crumbs)
1/3 cup lightly toasted chopped pecans
2 tbsp plus 2 tsp fresh crumbled sage or 3 tsp dried, divided (I used dried rosemary)
2-1/2 to 2-3/4 cups low-sodium chicken broth, divided
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
1 cup apple cider (I used Martinelli’s apple-cranberry)
3 tablespoons apple cider vinegar
1 teaspoon cornstarch dissolved in 1 tablespoon cold water

INSTRUCTIONS

Place the turkey breast between 2 sheets of plastic wrap and pound lightly with a meat mallet to an even thickness of about 3/4-inch. Set aside while stuffing is prepared.


My meat mallet looks exactly like my trusty rolling pin. Crazy huh?

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees F.

Place the cranberries in a small saucepan and cover with water. Bring to a boil, cook for 1 minute, then remove from heat, drain and reserve. Heat 2 teaspoons oil in a large heavy skillet over medium heat. Add the diced onions and cook, stirring, until onions are golden but not charred, about 12 to 15 minutes. Add the garlic and cook an additional 2 to 3 minutes. Add bread, cranberries, pecans, 2 tablespoons fresh or 2 teaspoons dried sage and 1/2 to 3/4 cup chicken stock, depending upon consistency of stuffing; (you want the mixture to be moistened, but not too wet, since the turkey will release moisture when cooked). Cook over low heat for about 2 to 3 minutes, remove from heat.

[NOTES: This recipe makes a MEGA amount of stuffing. Next time I’ll probably half the stuffing recipe.]

Salt and pepper the inside and outside of the turkey breast. Spread the stuffing on the turkey, leaving about 1-1/2 to 2-inches uncovered on all sides. Roll up and secure tightly with kitchen twine, trying to keep all stuffing intact.

Heat 1 tablespoon of canola oil in a large Dutch oven or medium-sized roasting pan until hot. Sear stuffed turkey breast on all sides until lightly browned, 3 to 4 minutes per side. Add sliced onion and 1 1/2 cups chicken stock, cover tightly and roast in the oven until turkey reaches 160 degrees F when an instant-read thermometer is inserted into inner layer of meat, about 60 to 65 minutes. Remove the turkey breast from oven and transfer to a cutting board to rest.

[NOTES: I roasted my 2 little turkey breasts for about 45 minutes.]

To make gravy—
Add apple cider, 1/2 cup chicken stock, vinegar and remaining sage to the onions, chicken stock and juices in the roasting pan, bring to a boil and cook for approximately 10 minutes, stirring occasionally, until liquid is reduced by 1/3. Slowly add the cornstarch mixture, stirring constantly, and cook for 3 minutes more. The gravy should not be thick, just slightly thicker than a jus. Season with salt and pepper, to taste. Makes 1 1/2 cups gravy.

Remove twine from turkey breast and slice into 1-1/2-inch thick pieces. Serve with gravy.

ENJOY!

Husband rating: A+
T said told me this is his favorite Ellie dish so far and said it was like Thanksgiving come early. He’s so cute.

Wifey rating: A
I am not a turkey+stuffing fan but this was REALLY good. Love the stuffing and the flavors of the gravy with the turkey. I am sure I’ll make this again.

Next week: Portobello Lasagna Rollups with Easy Tomato Sauce pages 152-153

* Nutritional information for original recipe. It does not include my changes and/or substitutions.

Entry filed under: Craving Ellie in my Belly. Tags: .

The BEST Chocolate Chip Cookies Savory Rugelach x 2

22 Comments Add your own

  • 1. food librarian  |  November 6, 2008 at 5:12 am

    Looks very very tasty! Sounds like a winner!

    Reply
  • 2. Heather B  |  November 6, 2008 at 5:35 am

    I really liked this too! I think it’s my favorite so far. Great job this week!

    Reply
  • 3. Julie  |  November 6, 2008 at 6:13 am

    That looks like something my husband would love! I’ll have to give it a try sometime.

    Reply
  • 4. Natalie  |  November 6, 2008 at 7:00 am

    Now I am so excited to make mine. Since my middle name is procrastinate, I am making mine for dinner tonight!

    I e-mailed Leigh about taking over CEiMB and could possibly be talked into doing it. I just had some more questions but haven’t heard back from her. If I do assume the responsibility, I am hoping that I could count on someone to help me out every once in awhile. I don’t want to see it end either. It is fun and there are some really good recipes in the book.

    Reply
  • 5. CB  |  November 6, 2008 at 7:08 am

    FOODLIBRARIAN and JULIE, I was really surprised at how much I liked it. I’d definitely recommend anyone to try it!

    HEATHER, Its not my fav. My fav is still those amazing steak tacos chosen by moi. HAHA. But its definitely my hubs favorite. He is already asking me to make it again!

    NATALIE, OH GOODIE! Glad you emailed her. I don’t know how often she checks her email but I think if you do take it over, you’d have help. I know fellow Ellie-istas, Beth and Nina, were saying they’d help. Of course I’d help too! I think Marthe is next to choose a recipe so maybe you could email her about it and get the ball rolling?

    Reply
  • 6. Holly  |  November 6, 2008 at 7:11 am

    I’m glad you guys liked it. It was a bit involved, but good results. Yours look great!

    Reply
  • 7. CB  |  November 6, 2008 at 7:35 am

    HOLLY, It definitely took some time but my husband said “well worth the wait!” Thanks for hosting!

    Reply
  • 8. NinaBeth  |  November 6, 2008 at 9:35 am

    So purdy! I wish we would’ve had some darn twine, lol. I loove your commentary, i need to be more windy like you. :D

    Reply
  • 9. CB  |  November 6, 2008 at 10:57 am

    NINA, I have to admit this is the first time I’ve ever cooked anything that needed twine. It was harder to tie than I thought! You mean “windy” like long winded? I tend to do that sometimes… HAHA

    Reply
  • 10. Chou  |  November 6, 2008 at 12:03 pm

    Hmm, my meat mallet looks a lot like my rolling pin, too. Maybe it’s contaigeous?

    Reply
  • 11. Chou  |  November 6, 2008 at 12:03 pm

    Oops, contaigious. ;)

    Reply
  • 12. CB  |  November 6, 2008 at 12:23 pm

    CHOU, whoa? no kidding? Should we alert the media about this? HAHA

    Reply
  • 13. macduff  |  November 6, 2008 at 12:24 pm

    I have to make this over the weekend – there just wasn’t enough time this week. But after reading the blogs, I definitely want to do it.

    And hey – you should totally take administrative stuff over. We all promise to make it easy on you, and you’d be the best person for the job!

    Reply
  • 14. Leanne  |  November 6, 2008 at 12:38 pm

    I agree that this was my favorite too. It was a little more work but worth the effort. Great start to November. Hope that CEiMB does not end!

    Reply
  • 15. CB  |  November 6, 2008 at 4:31 pm

    MACDUFF, Better late than never. You HAVE TO make it. Its very good and this is coming from miss-always-choose-ham-over-turkey-at-thanksgiving-dinner. HAHA. Thanks for your vote of confidence about taking over the group. Its definitely something to think about :)

    LEANNE, Totally agree. It does take some time but not overly complicated (except for the rolling part!).

    Reply
  • 16. Marthe  |  November 7, 2008 at 6:23 am

    OMG, this looks good, now I feel extra bad about not making it!!

    Reply
  • 17. CB  |  November 7, 2008 at 6:25 am

    MARTHE, You need to make this!!

    Reply
  • 18. Gabi  |  November 7, 2008 at 4:12 pm

    You did a great job on this! They’re beautiful!!!
    xo

    Reply
  • 19. CB  |  November 7, 2008 at 4:32 pm

    GABI, Thank you. You did too! :)

    Reply
  • 20. Natashya  |  November 8, 2008 at 12:13 pm

    I am a turkey + stuffing girl so I will be right over, fork in hand!
    Looks so very tasty. :)

    Reply
  • 21. CB  |  November 8, 2008 at 12:23 pm

    NATASHYA, have you join CEiMB yet?? You should totally join!

    Reply
  • 22. IS  |  June 1, 2016 at 7:03 am

    Excellent post. I’m facing many of these issues as well..

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Thank You Sponsors!

Copyright

MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

Creative Commons License
Photos, Original Recipes & Text ©iheartfood4thought 2007-2009 unless otherwise indicated. All rights reserved. If you repost any material from this blog, please give credit by including a link back to me. Thank you!

Hits since Dec 2007

  • 230,191 dirty dishes

Tweet Tweet

Badge designed by SiahDesigns

Click the banners

Current reading


The Best Casserole Cookbook Ever by Beatrice Ojakangas

website counter


