TWD #37: Rug-a-whaaaat?

November 4, 2008 at 1:11 am 55 comments

Is there anyone else out there that had no idea how to pronounce “rugelach” other than me? I took my best stab at it by saying roog-E-lak but apparently I was WAY off base. HAHA

According to dictionary (click the pronunciation icon), its actually pronounced rug-a-lah. No kidding?!?

I guess my lack of pronunciation skills should tell you that I’ve never had rugelach much less baked it before. To be honest I wasn’t sure what to expect from cream cheese dough, currants, jam, pecan, cinnamon and sugar. It sounded like it could be good but I was kinda iffy. I knew I wasn’t gonna sit this week out though b/c so many fellow TWDers raved about rugelach but since I am not much of a currant or raisin fan I started brainstorming about nutella, strawberry preserves, toffee and chocolate chips instead. Mmmm… nutella…

What I learned this week:
Sometimes too much of a good thing can backfire and make a mess. Scrubbing burned strawberry preserves off silicone mat isn’t fun either. Just take my word for it.

Check out what the other Dorie bakers did with their rugelach. Thanks for hosting Grace! You can find the original recipe on Grace of Piggy’s Cooking Journal or here.


Rugelach
(Recipe adapted from Dorie Greenspan’s BFMHTY | photos from me!)


Dorie says to pulse until you get curds but not until a ball forms. Usually I think her instructions are great but this time I wasn’t sure when to stop and I may have stopped too soon b/c my dough was kinda crumbly.




I think rolling out the dough between 2 sheets of parchment paper made it easier for me. I also used a pizza cutter to cut the dough before adding the filling b/c I was afraid it would be hard to cut into the pecans or toffee bits.


I made 2 different variations. One batch I made strawberry preserves, nutella, cinnamon+sugar and pecans (L) and the 2nd batch I did nutella, cinnamon+sugar and toffee (R).



The nutella+toffee turned out pretty good (L) but the strawberry nutella one… well… didn’t (R). I probably filled it too much. Mine aren’t as pretty as Dorie’s picture b/c I also forgot the egg+water glaze and sugar part too. Ooops!

ENJOY!

Husband rating: B+
He liked the cream cheese dough but not a fan of the fillings. Maybe he would have liked Dorie’s original recipe?

Wifey rating: B+/A-
I had high hopes but I think I was too ambitious with my ingredients and it didn’t turn out quite well (ie more filling ended up on the baking sheet than in the cookie). I think the nutella and toffee were good though. I blame the baker not the recipe so maybe I’ll have to try this one again. Practice makes perfect right?

Next week: Kugelhopf pages 61-63

Entry filed under: Tuesdays With Dorie. Tags: .

Bunday Monday We interrupt our regularly scheduled…

55 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jules  |  November 3, 2008 at 8:17 pm

    I’ve been eating rugelach my whole life. It’s the Jewish thing. You do have to watch out for the filling. Too much = HUGE mess. Glad you (mostly) liked them!

    Reply
  • 2. Nikki  |  November 3, 2008 at 8:18 pm

    Someone’s posting a wee bit early … looking for extra comments are we?

    Your rugs look great! hehe you can’t say it I can’t spell it (at least after a bottle of wine) so lets just call them rug instead

    oh ya btw … CRABSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS

    Reply
  • 3. Susan  |  November 3, 2008 at 8:27 pm

    Thank GOD I wasn’t the only one who didn’t know anything about Rugelach. Your fillings sound inspired…I may try it sometime!

    Reply
  • 4. CB  |  November 3, 2008 at 8:29 pm

    NIKKI, me? fishing for comments? Naaahhhh… You know what I think? I think “someone” has had enough wine for the night. HAHA

    Reply
  • 5. kim  |  November 3, 2008 at 8:30 pm

    they look great! and your dough looks like it behaved! i need an ice-filled board to work with next time :-p also, nutella + toffee = heaven:)

    Reply
  • 6. Mike  |  November 3, 2008 at 8:41 pm

    Ahahahaha, we have almost the same title and the exact same disaster. CB, you the coolest.

    Reply
  • 7. Karen  |  November 3, 2008 at 8:41 pm

    Looks delicious! Mine is baking right now. Hopefully it won’t be too much of a mess! MMMMM Nutella!

    Reply
  • 8. rainbowbrown  |  November 3, 2008 at 8:57 pm

    Very nice looking crescents. The filling definitely do sounds good on paper.

    Reply
  • 9. Cristine  |  November 3, 2008 at 8:58 pm

    Nutella makes everything better! I hope you enjoy them more the next time you try them! :)

    Reply
  • 10. Jodie  |  November 3, 2008 at 9:20 pm

    ooh! I love the nutella/toffee version! Great job. I missed yours last week, so I made the cupcakes this week instead!

    Reply
  • 11. Cathy  |  November 3, 2008 at 9:31 pm

    So funny! Yes, we can add “rugelach” to the long list of words that I have read, but never heard spoken, and therefore have no idea how to pronounce. I called it “rugelash” all week, until my MIL was in town over the weekend and called it “rugelah.” She was right again! Yours look great! I am completely in awe of your PERFECT CIRCLE!! How did you do that?

    Reply
  • 12. Nancy (n.o.e.)  |  November 3, 2008 at 9:45 pm

    Love how TWD makes us stretch to bake things, and pronounce them, too! I forgot the egg + sugar for my first sheet, but baked up some more with it. It makes a huge difference in taste too, not just in the appearance. So I’d encourage you to try them again. Also, I found the fruit + nuts really complement the cream cheese dough.
    Nancy

    Reply
  • 13. Mara  |  November 3, 2008 at 10:15 pm

    i love basic rugelach with apricot jam, cinnamon, raisins, nuts…it works so well with the cream cheesy buttery dough. YUM!!!! and i call it ROOG-AH-LACH….totally off! hahaha.

    Reply
  • 14. Caitlin  |  November 4, 2008 at 3:41 am

    I’ve spent my time scrubbing burnt fillings off silicone with these cookies too, no worries. The strawberry/Nutella one sounds like a classy PB&J!

    Reply
  • 15. chocolatechic  |  November 4, 2008 at 4:51 am

    They look great.

    I went with a more traditional filling.

    I should have tried the toffee bits.

    That would have been great.

    Reply
  • 16. Piggy  |  November 4, 2008 at 4:56 am

    Hmm… I pronounced rugelach as “rooch-lach”, haha! I like the idea of nutella + toffee, looks delish!

    Reply
  • 17. Jen  |  November 4, 2008 at 5:18 am

    Looks great. My stepmom always makes these at the holidays. Love them.

    Reply
  • 18. CB  |  November 4, 2008 at 5:20 am

    JEN, Maybe I need some tips from your stepmom b/c mine weren’t very pretty and I like my food to be pretty. HAHA

    Reply
  • 19. LyB  |  November 4, 2008 at 5:44 am

    Your fillings are inspired! And I think they look pretty and delicious! Now you just have an excuse to make some more! :)

    Reply
  • 20. AnneStrawberry  |  November 4, 2008 at 5:47 am

    I love the flavor combos you used CB. I am totally the kind to overstuff everything and have a problem later. Either way… I’m trying Nutella next time!

    Reply
  • 21. isabelle  |  November 4, 2008 at 5:53 am

    Avec le nutella…..ça devait être extra gourmand !!

    Reply
  • 22. Michelle  |  November 4, 2008 at 6:00 am

    Your step by step picutes are great. I was very pleased with this recipe too and will make it again. I love your fillings you chose!

    Reply
  • 23. Melissa  |  November 4, 2008 at 6:59 am

    The nutella sounds really great. I also had some leakage with mine. They sure are yummy!

    Reply
  • 24. Di  |  November 4, 2008 at 7:04 am

    Nice job on the rugelach. I wasn’t entirely sure how to pronounce it either. =) Your flavor combinations sound great!

    Reply
  • 25. Ulrike  |  November 4, 2008 at 7:25 am

    I have never tried real rugelach, but I pronounced it right, because jiddish is not far from German …

    Great pictures!

    Ulrike from Küchenlatein

    Reply
  • 26. Megan  |  November 4, 2008 at 8:21 am

    Ummm, nutella…………….

    Reply
  • 27. Amy (Sing for your supper)  |  November 4, 2008 at 9:07 am

    I noticed you cut your dough into wedges first, THEN topped it with stuff – how clever! I had problems with the darn walnuts getting in the way of my pizza cutter – why didn’t I think of that?! Yours look great – I bet the Nutella+toffee combo was fantastic!

    Reply
  • 28. Vibi  |  November 4, 2008 at 10:26 am

    Beautiful, Clara…
    What an easy and quick way to satisfy a little sweet crave, no?

    Reply
  • 29. Teanna  |  November 4, 2008 at 10:44 am

    SEE! I say Roo-geh-lah and everyone asks “Arugala?” NO! So I thought it was roog-e-lak! But it turns out I was right! Thanks for that! No matter how you pronounce it, yours look delicious!

    Reply
  • 30. Sugar B  |  November 4, 2008 at 12:02 pm

    Nice job sweetie. Break me off a piece of that Rugelach bar. ;)

    Reply
  • 31. teaandscones  |  November 4, 2008 at 12:18 pm

    Nutella and toffee. That is a definate keeper. Send me some, please. I think I will try them again with this filling. YummEEE!!

    Reply
  • 32. Tammy  |  November 4, 2008 at 12:37 pm

    I am jealous of your perfect rugelach! I certainly dont think you would be looking at my blog this week to see what they should be looking like!! :0)

    Reply
  • 33. Katrina  |  November 4, 2008 at 1:18 pm

    Thanks for the pronunciation–I looked and couldn’t find it. And I was saying it wrong. Yours look divine! YUM to your combo of add-ins!

    Reply
  • 34. macduff  |  November 4, 2008 at 1:19 pm

    Yeah, and how the hell do we pronounce next week’s dish? And hot damn, nutella and toffee. Nice idea.

    Reply
  • 35. Mary Ann  |  November 4, 2008 at 3:08 pm

    I totally forgot the glaze too, but remembered right after I put them in the oven, so I pulled them out and glazed them. The nutella sounds so good. Wish I would’ve tried that!

    Reply
  • 36. steph (whisk/spoon)  |  November 4, 2008 at 4:17 pm

    burned on jam is one of the only things that sticks to a silpat–yikes! i do give you an A+ rating for effort. :)

    Reply
  • 37. Kayte  |  November 4, 2008 at 4:24 pm

    Yours rugelach looked perfectly delicious…no matter how you pronounce it! Great photo story…exceptionally well done. Gold Star AND a Smiley Face!

    Reply
  • 38. L W  |  November 4, 2008 at 4:45 pm

    I had the same issue with my filling leaking out all over. I think it was baker error for me too. I forgot the chilling before baking part. OOPS!

    Reply
  • 39. Heather B  |  November 4, 2008 at 5:00 pm

    I kept changing how I pronounced it! lol…no one seemed to know! Great job this week!

    Reply
  • 40. Kait  |  November 4, 2008 at 5:10 pm

    Wow, I feel dumb. All week my boyfriend kept calling it “Rugelwash” and I oh-so-authoritatively said, “No honey, it’s Ruge-LASH.” Thanks for the pronunciation lesson!

    Reply
  • 41. Peggy  |  November 4, 2008 at 5:47 pm

    Just one of those days, huh? Thank you for the pronunciation tip. I had no idea either how to pronounce it. All I do know is they are some good things to eat. I didn’t get to make them this week, but I’m going to soon! Yours look wonderful.

    Reply
  • 42. Linda  |  November 4, 2008 at 6:20 pm

    we were on the same wavelength w. the nutella and toffee….your rugelach looks terrific!!!!

    Reply
  • 43. pamela  |  November 4, 2008 at 7:07 pm

    I like the nutella with the toffee. That sounds really good. With all of the nutella I’ve seen around lately, I ‘m thinking it’s time to get some in the house. Great job.

    Reply
  • 44. Carol Peterman  |  November 4, 2008 at 11:23 pm

    Even pronounced correctly, I feel like I am saying it wrong. We have taken to calling them Romulans. I guess we have watched a bit too much Star Trek in our time.

    Reply
  • 45. mybakingaddiction  |  November 5, 2008 at 6:13 am

    Yours look great! Love the detailed pics!

    Reply
  • 46. Amy Ruth  |  November 5, 2008 at 9:01 am

    Upon first glance your Rugelach remarkably resembles a darling bunny….. he he he. Seriously, love them and collect pretend ones myself. Had a real one once and it chewed electric cords Oh MY : ) Scarry. Anyway, back to Rugelach your combinations, either one, sound so much better than the scrambled egg whites I am currently eating, because I ate too much Rugelach last night with my tea. EEEeeekkk.
    Great Work!
    AmyRuth

    Reply
  • 47. Natalie  |  November 5, 2008 at 10:15 am

    huh….mine did the same and exploded all over my fairly new baking mats. I was irritated and didn’t like this recipe at all. But at least I tried it!

    Reply
  • 48. Kelly D  |  November 5, 2008 at 12:41 pm

    Loved the title of your post, of course. Nutella was an inspired choice. yum.

    Reply
  • 49. Erin  |  November 5, 2008 at 6:55 pm

    These look so good! I definitely want to try toffee and Nutella :)

    Reply
  • 50. Carla  |  November 5, 2008 at 9:11 pm

    Apparently I was pronouncing them wrong too. I was saying roog-e-lash. Close enough haha Sorry to hear your fillings were disappointing, but now you have an excuse to bake them again :)

    Reply
  • 51. Lillian  |  November 6, 2008 at 10:41 am

    Ooh, toffee and Nutella. That sounds awesome, maybe with some toasted pecans tossed in for good measure!

    Reply
  • 52. Elizabeth - Cake or Death?  |  November 6, 2008 at 10:41 pm

    Oh, tragic bleeding rugelach! I definitely think that less is more when it comes to these cookies. At least the Nutella ones were good! Thanks again for that awesome idea.

    Reply
  • 53. Mari  |  November 7, 2008 at 5:06 am

    Do try them again, they’re worth the effort! I used a third of the suggested jam in mine and that was plenty, so I think Dorie’s recipe is a bit off.

    Reply
  • 54. Stephanie  |  December 23, 2008 at 9:55 pm

    Okay, so I’ve been making these for the holidays for the past 4 years now…gourmet magazine had the easiest way to make a bunch without too much of a mess this year…

    -roll out into 4 rectangles very thin like above (between parchment)
    -spread with a thin layer of jam/nutella, sprinkle with cinnamon sugar combo and nuts
    -tightly roll the entire thing into a log
    -place seam side down, cut 1 inch slices almost all the way thru the log (chill if this is difficult)
    -brush on milk/egg wash, sprinkle with sugar
    -bake @ 350 for 40 min.

    Woo hOO! :) all done with my holiday baking without having to roll each cookie

    Reply
  • 55. Mel  |  December 10, 2016 at 5:42 pm

    Interesting. Your dough and filling choices are how I am used to making kolachs, but the assembly is like a giepfel. Kolachs were always ‘pinwheel’ style around here :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Thank You Sponsors!

Copyright

MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

Creative Commons License
Photos, Original Recipes & Text ©iheartfood4thought 2007-2009 unless otherwise indicated. All rights reserved. If you repost any material from this blog, please give credit by including a link back to me. Thank you!

Hits since Dec 2007

  • 230,067 dirty dishes

Tweet Tweet

Badge designed by SiahDesigns

Click the banners

Current reading


The Best Casserole Cookbook Ever by Beatrice Ojakangas

website counter


