Enchiladas with Pumpkin Sauce

October 29, 2008 at 8:05 pm 14 comments

I love Mexican food but my signature dish to order when me and the hubs go to our favorite mom/pop Mexican restaurant is cheese enchiladas. No beans, no rice, no chicken. Just. cheese. enchiladas.

I was really craving enchiladas on Tuesday but T was at his Masters class until late and I was on my own for dinner. I am not one to go out to eat by myself so I thought my craving would go unsatisfied. But you know when you are craving something, nothing else will do. sigh…

I was thumbing through one of my favorite cookbook when I want to fix something fast and then I saw it staring back at me as I turned the page… Enchiladas! Not just any enchiladas. Pumpkin enchiladas. Tis the season for me to have 1/2 a can of pumpkin puree in my frig at all times so I jumped at the chance to curb my craving and use up some pumpkin puree. You know what that means right? 2for!

Niiiiiiiiiiiiiiice.


(Recipe from Great Food Fast | photos from me!)

INGREDIENTS

1/2 rotisserie chicken, skin removed, shredded (I used pre-cooked chicken strips)
6 scallions, thinly sliced
1-15oz can pumpkin puree
4 garlic cloves, peeled
1 jalapeno chile (remove ribs and seeds for less heat if desired) (I omitted)
1 tsp chili powder
8 corn tortillas
1-1/2 cups grated sharp white cheddar cheese

INSTRUCTIONS

Preheat oven 425F

In a medium bowl, combine the chicken and scallions. Season generously with salt and pepper, set aside.

In a blender, puree the pumpkin, garlic, jalapeno, chili powder, 2-1/2 cups water, 2 tsp salt and 1/4 tsp pepper until smooth. Pour 1 cup of sauce in the bottom of an 8-inch square or other baking dish.

Lay the tortillas on a work surface; mound the chicken mixture on half of each tortilla, dividing evenly. Roll up each tortilla into a tight log; place seam side down in the baking dish.

[NOTES: I love me some cheese so I added a little cheese to each tortilla too.]

Pour the remaining sauce on top; sprinkle with cheese. Place dish on baking sheet; bake until cheese is golden and sauce is bubbling, about 25-30 minutes. Let cool 5 minutes before serving.

ENJOY!

Husband rating: A
He took the leftovers to work for lunch. I know he was kinda skeptical when I told him about the pumpkin but he said he was pleasantly surprised at how much flavor the pumpkin added to the dish.

Wifey rating: A/A-
I wasn’t sure how I’d feel about the pumpkin but I liked it. Its not my favorite enchilada recipe but its very tasty if you have some pumpkin puree that you want to use.

Entry filed under: mexican. Tags: , .

I would like to thank the Academy… CEiMB #4: Islack

14 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Cathy  |  October 29, 2008 at 8:43 pm

    Wow, so creative! I would never have thought to use pumpkin in enchiladas, but I bet that they were wonderful!

    Reply
  • 2. food librarian  |  October 29, 2008 at 8:54 pm

    Oh! Sounds great…very very yummy!

    Reply
  • 3. katie102006  |  October 30, 2008 at 5:04 am

    Wow! What an inspiring idea!

    Reply
  • 4. Caitlin  |  October 30, 2008 at 5:46 am

    Ah Martha Stewart, how creative you (or a member of your staff?) are… Do you think it’d work well with butternut squash puree instead? I’ve got some of that lying around too…

    Reply
  • 5. CB  |  October 30, 2008 at 6:38 am

    CATHY, Me either! Pumpkin and enchilada doesn’t seem to sound right but I have to admit they were pretty tasty.

    FOODLIBRARIAN, It was fast too! I love fast and tasty esp when its just dinner for 1.

    KATIE, Definitely inspired by my hungry belly! HAHA

    CAITLIN, I WISH I had a staff b/c that would be SAWEET! Hmmm… butternut squash? Since I’ve never had it before I would say *shrugs* but try it and let me know, k? HAHA.

    Reply
  • 6. Suzy  |  October 30, 2008 at 6:52 am

    that sounds good to me! I also during this season have the 1/2 left pumpkin in the fridge! (last night was pumpkin whoopie pies..I really need to get some pics downloaded b/c I’m so behind on my blog!)
    btw..I’ve got a nummy giveaway going right now…head over if you get time!

    Reply
  • 7. April  |  October 30, 2008 at 7:11 am

    This sounds very interesting…not sure I could do it though. LOL I mean I love pumpkin but hmmm…

    Reply
  • 8. CB  |  October 30, 2008 at 7:21 am

    SUZY, Mmmm… pumpkin whoopie pies! I keep saying I wanna make those too. You totally need to update your blog with those babies soon. Giveaway? ::off to read your blog::

    APRIL, I wasn’t sure what to make of it either and I am not a huge pumpkin fan and I dug it. If you like pumpkin you’d probably like it more!

    Reply
  • 9. macduff  |  October 30, 2008 at 7:22 am

    Oh my god, I just had this HUGE SIGH come out. Mmmmmmmmm… gonna have to try this. Thanks for the awesome idea!

    Reply
  • 10. CB  |  October 30, 2008 at 8:32 am

    MACDUFF, Definitely give it a try. I was kinda iffy but pleasantly surprised. Let me know what you think!

    Reply
  • 11. Jaime  |  October 30, 2008 at 8:05 pm

    interesting. i’d never think to put pumpkin in enchiladas….but i guess if sweet potato ones are good, why not pumpkin right?

    Reply
  • 12. CB  |  October 30, 2008 at 8:09 pm

    JAIME, You know whats kinda funny? I do not like sweet potatoes but I was skeptical about the pumpkin enchiladas and it proved me wrong. Maybe I’ll have to try a sweet potato version ;)

    Reply
  • 13. Mary Ann  |  October 31, 2008 at 2:25 pm

    Wow, that actually sounds really tasty to me right now and I have leftover chicken in the fridge…..

    Reply
  • 14. CB  |  October 31, 2008 at 3:08 pm

    MARYANN, HAHA. I think I know what you’re having for dinner then…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Thank You Sponsors!

Copyright

MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

Creative Commons License
Photos, Original Recipes & Text ©iheartfood4thought 2007-2009 unless otherwise indicated. All rights reserved. If you repost any material from this blog, please give credit by including a link back to me. Thank you!

Hits since Dec 2007

  • 231,099 dirty dishes

Tweet Tweet

Badge designed by SiahDesigns

Click the banners

Current reading


The Best Casserole Cookbook Ever by Beatrice Ojakangas

website counter


