Foodie Question of the Day

October 24, 2008 at 6:58 am 17 comments

Do you preheat your oven?

I read this article on Slash Foods the other day and it got me thinking about my oven. If the instructions say to “preheat” I am a good little recipe reader and I preheat. Hmmm… I think I’ve been brainwashed. HAHA

Happy Friday everyone.

Be good with a pinch of evil. Makes life more fun.

Entry filed under: Foodie Question of the Day.

CEiMB #3: [Banana cream pie] Bunday Monday

17 Comments Add your own

  • 1. chocolatechic  |  October 24, 2008 at 7:02 am

    Yep…when I bake I do.

    I think it is important especially when baking bread.

    Not quite so important if your going to throw a roast in there or the turkey.

    Reply
  • 2. steph  |  October 24, 2008 at 7:21 am

    yes for baked goods/ breads, no for things like lasagna :)

    Reply
  • 3. nikki57  |  October 24, 2008 at 7:23 am

    No because 9 out of 10 times I forget and I’ve never had problems arise from not doing it so I don’t think of it as a big deal. Every once in a blue moon I do, but typically I turn my oven on right before I pour whatever it is I’m baking into the pan.

    Reply
  • 4. Cathy  |  October 24, 2008 at 7:45 am

    Oh yeah. I preheat. And I barely even cheat and stick the pan in 10 or 20 degrees short of fully preheated. I am a boring rule follower that way.

    I wanted you to know that in my post today, I used your Cooking Light Night avatar and linked back here. Thank you so much for sharing this! You’ve got a wonderful blog!

    Reply
  • 5. food librarian  |  October 24, 2008 at 8:02 am

    i always preheat. i have an thermometer in the oven and wait until it is exactly where it should be before popping in my food. don’t know if it matters, but i’m a follower. :)

    Reply
  • 6. Jen  |  October 24, 2008 at 8:07 am

    I do when I’m baking. I have a really old oven. So I wait until my thermometer reads the temperature that it needs to be for the recipe. Sometimes it takes 10 minutes, sometimes 30. My oven is also hard to set accurately because it’s a knob not a digital entry. When I get my new stove I will probably continue to preheat though.

    Reply
  • 7. Audrey  |  October 24, 2008 at 8:33 am

    I was the first tenant, once, in a new building with brand-new appliances. That’s the only oven I’ve EVER used where the temperature I set was remotely the same as the temperature inside! (When my favorite building was going condo, they were a little unmotivated to do non-emergency maintenance. So when my oven was 100 degrees off (I’m not kidding) two weeks before Christmas, the guy said “ovens aren’t perfect.”) So, yes, I do! – and always use an oven thermometer, especially for baking. (I agree with Steph, though, that it’s not as important for casseroles.)

    Reply
  • 8. zebe912  |  October 24, 2008 at 1:31 pm

    Like the others, I generally do for baking, especially if it only needs to be in for a short time, like cookies, and having it warm the whole time is more important. But for other things, I just turn it on when I think I’m getting close to needing it.

    Reply
  • 9. CB  |  October 24, 2008 at 2:34 pm

    CHOCOLATECHIC, STEPH and ZEBE, I think so too. I don’t stress as much about not pre-heating about certain things but baking I am kinda OCD about preheating. To be honest it probably doesn’t make a huge difference but just in case…

    NIKKI, Interesting. I might have to experiment next time and fight the urge to preheat. HAHA

    CATHY, Ok I am not that OCD about it! HAHA. I guess I get a little crazy and bake if its not exactly 350F. AWesome about CL. Thanks for your compliments :)

    FOODLIBRARIAN, I preheat and I have the thermom too. Nothing wrong with being a follower right? ;)

    JEN, 30 minutes to preheat?? YIKES! I think my oven takes about 10 minutes to get up to the highest temp. Maybe thats why I don’t mind preheating b/c its not a huge time waster or anything. But 30 minutes? esp in the summer? I don’t think I’d bake! It gets too hot!

    AUDREY, 100 degrees?? That would drive my anal mind nuts!

    Reply
  • 10. Tanya  |  October 25, 2008 at 11:32 am

    Yes – I ALWAYS preheat my oven for at least 15 minutes. There can be problems with placing things in a cold oven and I don’t want to take a chance.

    Reply
  • 11. CB  |  October 25, 2008 at 10:15 pm

    TANYA, Problems? I’d be interested to hear about what problems. I feel like subconsciously there would be problems but I’ve read a few articles where there doesn’t seem to be an adverse affect to not preheating. I need some facts to back up my OCDness! HAHA

    Reply
  • 12. Carla  |  October 26, 2008 at 11:20 am

    I preheat for everything, but if it only matters for baked goods and not simply heat-up things like lasagna and casseroles, I might reconsider to save on the energy bill. Thanks for sharing!

    Reply
  • 13. CB  |  October 26, 2008 at 11:38 am

    CARLA, No problem! I might go on pre-heat strike myself. Every savings helps right? ;)

    Reply
  • 14. Marthe  |  October 27, 2008 at 5:26 am

    How could I have forgotten about Dorie’s Chocolate Chocolate Cupcakes? I updated the post immediately, thanks for reminding me!

    Reply
  • 15. CB  |  October 27, 2008 at 5:56 am

    MARTHE, SAWEEET!

    Reply
  • 16. Jaime  |  October 30, 2008 at 8:12 pm

    i don’t understand how you could come up with perfectly baked goods if the temp wasn’t high enough during the first 5-10 minutes in the oven??? sometimes it takes that long for the oven to beep….

    i do my best to preheat when i can, at least when i am baking sweets.

    Reply
  • 17. CB  |  October 30, 2008 at 8:15 pm

    JAIME, Same here! I feel like if you’re only baking for 20-25 minutes, those precious minutes to get the oven up to temp are wasted. Like I said… maybe *I* am brainwashed though? HAHA

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Thank You Sponsors!

Copyright

MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

Creative Commons License
Photos, Original Recipes & Text ©iheartfood4thought 2007-2009 unless otherwise indicated. All rights reserved. If you repost any material from this blog, please give credit by including a link back to me. Thank you!

Hits since Dec 2007

  • 230,507 dirty dishes

Tweet Tweet

Badge designed by SiahDesigns

Click the banners

Current reading


The Best Casserole Cookbook Ever by Beatrice Ojakangas

website counter


