CEiMB #3: [Banana cream pie]

October 23, 2008 at 7:58 am 21 comments

Ok I am just gonna come right out and say it.

Bananas.are.gross.

Sorry banana lovers. I am not a banana fan. I think its a texture thing. Also could be b/c my earliest memory of eating a banana was the taste of it coming back up with chunks. That just aint right. Long story short. I was young (think still-carrying-around-a-binky young) and sick and my mom thought a banana would be better for my upset stomach than crackers. Its smushy and fruit is good for you, right? Wrong.

But my hubs loves bananas and not wanting to be a Ellie party pooper the 3rd week, I made the damn pie. Is that taking one for the team or what? HAHA.

Thanks to our host this week, Heather of Randomosity and the Girl. Well… actually my hubs thanks you. As for me? I didn’t wanna be left out of the cream pie party so I made one sans bananas. Drizzle with a little caramel and its all good. Caramel makes everything better. Mmmm…

Check out what the other Ellie-istas thought about the pie. We’re up to 11 members now! Wanna join? Email our Ellie-licious leader, Leigh, to sign up! We’d love to have ya!


(Recipe from Foods You Crave page 276 | photos from me!)

Makes 1-9inch pie plate (8 servings)

* Nutritional Analysis/serving—
Calories: 215; Total Fat: 8 grams; Saturated Fat: 4 grams; Protein: 4 grams; Carbohydrates: 32 grams; Fiber: 1.5

INGREDIENTS

For the pie crust
cooking spray
14 graham cracker squares (7 full sheets)
2 tablespoons butter, softened

For the filling
1-1/2 teaspoons unflavored gelatin
3 tablespoons boiling water
1/3 cup
3 tablespoons all-purpose flour
2 egg yolks
1-1/2 cups 1 percent lowfat milk
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
2 cups sliced banana (3 medium bananas)

For the whipped cream
1/4 cup heavy whipping cream
1/2 tsp sugar

INSTRUCTIONS

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F.

To make the crust—
Spray a 9-inch pie plate with cooking spray. In a food processor, process graham crackers until finely ground. Add butter and 1 tablespoon of water, and process until the crumb clumps together. Press crumb mixture into bottom of pie plate and about 1/2-inch up the sides. Bake in the oven for 10 minutes, then let cool.

[NOTES: I used 2-4inch springforms and 4 cupcakes liners.]


To make the filling—
Put the gelatin in a small bowl; add 3 tablespoons of boiling water and stir until gelatin is dissolved. In a medium saucepan, whisk together 1/3 cup of sugar and the flour. In a medium bowl lightly beat the milk and eggs together. Add the egg and milk mixture to the saucepan and whisk so the flour and sugar dissolve. Cook over a medium heat, stirring constantly, for 10 minutes, until mixture comes to a boil and has thickened. Stir in the vanilla extract and gelatin. Set aside to cool slightly.


Arrange the sliced bananas on the graham cracker crust and pour the pudding on top. Place in the refrigerator until the pudding has set, about 3 hours.


To make the whipped cream—
Whip the cream with an electric beater. When it is about halfway done, add 1/2 teaspoon of sugar, then continue whipping until fully whipped. Put the whipped cream in a plastic bag, concentrating it in 1 corner of the bag. Snip that corner off the bag and squeeze the whipped cream out of the bag in a decorative pattern around the pie.

Husband rating: A
He was a little impatient and kept bugging me about when the pie would be ready. He’s usually banana dessert deprived b/c I am not a banana fan so he was excited. Ellie didn’t let him down. He really liked this “healthier” version alot!

Wifey rating: A
I liked mine sans banana. The cream filling and crust were yummy. Not my favorite pie but worth making to save some unwanted calories and get your pie fix. Adding caramel may have defeated the purpose a little though. HAHA

Next week: Sweet and Sour Brisket page 186

Side note: I bought my brisket already. Did you know brisket was beef breast? Not me! My butcher edumacated [sic] me. More about that next week. HAHA

* Nutritional information for original recipe. It does not include my changes and/or substitutions.

Entry filed under: Craving Ellie in my Belly. Tags: .

TWD #35: Top of the muffin to you… Foodie Question of the Day

21 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Cathy  |  October 23, 2008 at 9:09 am

    Way to take one for the team and out-banana this banana recipe! I think I’ll take mine with caramel. This looks great!

    Reply
  • 2. Heather B  |  October 23, 2008 at 9:26 am

    way to go! The sans banana sounds delicious! I’m glad your hubs liked the banana! I have a texture issue with onions so I can understand how you feel about bananas. LOL

    Reply
  • 3. food librarian  |  October 23, 2008 at 10:36 am

    too cute! i don’t understand your banana hatin’, but i’m trying not to judge. hee hee.

    Reply
  • 4. Marthe  |  October 23, 2008 at 12:03 pm

    Looks delicious!! First I decided not to make this one, but then I saw Heather’s version and later Holly’s pie and then I knew I had to make this! So straight out of work I ran to the supermarket, bought the banana’s, gelatine and biscuits. Now it’s in sitting in the fridge, countdown has started: another 2 hours and 50 minutes…..

    Reply
  • 5. CB  |  October 23, 2008 at 5:12 pm

    CATHY, Trust me. Everything’s better with caramel. HAHA

    HEATHER, Onions? You crazy! I love onions – raw, caramelized, whatever. But I guess if you can forgive my banana hating I can forgive your onion hating… ;)

    FOODLIBRARIAN, Dude. Banana barf+chunks. You must understand my aversion right? HAHA

    MARTHE, Awesome! So glad you were inspired by other CEiMB-ers.

    Reply
  • 6. April  |  October 24, 2008 at 6:11 am

    I am so glad that I read this last night instead of first thing this morning while I’m chomping away on my banana. I so needed to know about your barfing chunks. GAG
    But good for you for going ahead and making it anyway even though you hate bananas! : )

    Reply
  • 7. CB  |  October 24, 2008 at 6:21 am

    APRIL, HAHA. ooohhh yeah. I should have put an “April warning” on my post b/c of your aversion to barf chunks. My bad. ;)

    Reply
  • 8. whats4supper  |  October 24, 2008 at 1:20 pm

    Thanks for the b-day wishes for my son. Your pie looks so cute! Good idea with the caramel. I wish that I would have thought of that. I even have leftover caramel from the caramel cake!

    As for the brisket…I don’t have a dutch oven either and it is on my wish list. I have to get creative here too!

    Reply
  • 9. CB  |  October 24, 2008 at 2:19 pm

    WHATS4SUPPER, HAHA looks like we’re both dutch oven-less. Don’t worry! I am sure we’ll both make it work ;)

    Reply
  • 10. AnneStrawberry  |  October 24, 2008 at 5:03 pm

    I love that you made it without bananas, too! It looks wonderful and I’m glad your hubby liked it. I agree about the texture thing- I only like bananas that have a little green on them still, before they get mushy- sick!

    Reply
  • 11. CB  |  October 24, 2008 at 9:25 pm

    ANNE, eeewww yeah. Mushy aint right. HAHA

    Reply
  • 12. Shari  |  October 25, 2008 at 8:29 am

    Ok, you’ve got me craving this now!!

    Reply
  • 13. Candy  |  October 25, 2008 at 12:10 pm

    These look good! I don’t hate bananas, but I can really get sick of them quick.

    Reply
  • 14. Holly  |  October 25, 2008 at 8:31 pm

    You know, I love banana cream pie, banana shakes, banana splits – but I cannot eat just a banana. Weird huh? I totally know what you mean though – food memory is a powerful thing (says the girl who two pregnancies later now cannot – I repeat – cannot eat scrambled eggs… nuff said). : ) You are a real trooper! Oh, and yes, caramel makes everything better!

    Reply
  • 15. CB  |  October 25, 2008 at 9:58 pm

    SHARI, Awesome! Thats the best compliment any “baker” could receive ;)

    CANDY, I have to admit that my banana-less adaption was pretty darn tasty. HAHA.

    HOLLY, No scrambled eggs? aawww but they taste so good esp with cheese. Mmmm… cheese.

    Reply
  • 16. Carla  |  October 26, 2008 at 11:38 am

    Now that’s dedication! I like banana, so you can send some pie to me ;)

    Reply
  • 17. CB  |  October 26, 2008 at 11:39 am

    CARLA, HAHA. Next time I have to make a banana inspired dessert I’ll be sure to get your address ;)

    Reply
  • 18. Sugar Betty  |  October 28, 2008 at 2:27 pm

    I don’t care if YOU don’t like bananas! I do! ;) OMG, these look so good. I might have to recreate the recipe. Thanks for sharing darling! xoxo!

    Reply
  • 19. CB  |  October 28, 2008 at 2:34 pm

    SUGARBETTY, Oh I see how it is. Its all about Betty huh? HAHA. Definitely give the recipe a try. My banana loving husband liked it :)

    Reply
  • 20. Matt  |  October 28, 2008 at 6:59 pm

    I love bananas, and these look perfect. Little bites of goodness. (I came so close to joining this group, but it conflicted with my “anti-Ellie” Ina Garten group. I think my body would have preferred Ellie!

    Reply
  • 21. CB  |  October 28, 2008 at 7:03 pm

    MATT, HAHA yeah. Ina and Ellie are like butter and tofu. I love Ina but I needed some Ellie esp with Dorie in my life. ;)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Thank You Sponsors!

Copyright

MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

Creative Commons License
Photos, Original Recipes & Text ©iheartfood4thought 2007-2009 unless otherwise indicated. All rights reserved. If you repost any material from this blog, please give credit by including a link back to me. Thank you!

Hits since Dec 2007

  • 231,099 dirty dishes

Tweet Tweet

Badge designed by SiahDesigns

Click the banners

Current reading


The Best Casserole Cookbook Ever by Beatrice Ojakangas

website counter


