TWD #35: Top of the muffin to you…

October 21, 2008 at 7:43 am 42 comments

Any Seinfeld fans in the hizzouse??

I wasn’t a Seinfeld fan until I saw the Soup Nazi and Top Of The Muffin episodes. After that I was hooked into the bizarre lives of Jerry Seinfeld, George Costanza, Elaine Benes and Cosmo Kramer. Even though most ppl’s favorite Seinfeld character is the show’s namesake, I have to say my favorite is George. He’s pathetic, neurotic and funny all in one character. The situations he gets into makes me cringe sometimes. Its not possible for one man to be such a trainwreck and I love him! Newman is my close 2nd favorite.

So there you go. There’s my 7 degrees (actually it was more like 1 degree but who’s counting?) of separation between Dorie’s muffins and Seinfeld.

I am sure by your powers of deduction that you’ve figured out the Tuesdays with Dorie bakers whipped up some pumpkin muffins hosted by Kelly from Sounding My Barbaric Gulp this week. You can find the complete recipe on her blog. You’ll definitely wanna check it out. I was sure I wouldn’t like these muffins (not a pumpkin or raisin fan) but after a couple ingredient substitutions, I’ll proudly eat my words (pun intended)!

What I learned this week:
I am never too old to try new things and change my mind.


Pumpkin Muffins
Recipe from Dorie Greenspan’s BFMHTY | photos from me!)

Makes about 12 muffins (I got 13)


I substituted craisins for the raisins and white chocolate chips for the nuts.


Dorie says to bake for 25 minutes but mine were done around 20 minutes. Any longer and I think they would have burned?

ENJOY!

Husband rating: A
He isn’t like me. He’s a pumpkin fan. Probably why he loves Thanksgiving so much. He liked my substitutions but he probably would have liked the original raisin and nut version more. He’s obviously crazy.

Wifey rating: A
The white chocolate chips and craisins were an awesome addition to the pumpkin muffin. Next time I’ll probably just add the white chocolate chips and omit the craisins though.

Other rating: A
T brought a couple to work and shared with his CWs. He said many of them said the same thing as me, not pumpkin fans but loved this recipe!

Next week: Chocolate Chocolate Cupcakes pages 215-217. (My turn!!)

Entry filed under: Tuesdays With Dorie.

Bunday Monday CEiMB #3: [Banana cream pie]

42 Comments Add your own

  • 1. chocolatechic  |  October 21, 2008 at 7:47 am

    I got 17 muffins.

    I wish I had added white chips and crasins.

    Reply
  • 2. Lori  |  October 21, 2008 at 7:48 am

    Lots of people added craisins but I’m not sure how they’d work; theoretically, pumpkin and cranberries are served at the same time, but it seems to me they would fight each other. But white chocolate chips, oh yeah!

    Reply
  • 3. Vibi  |  October 21, 2008 at 8:05 am

    Man! You have such patience to take pictures of all your steps… I bet’ya it took longer than to eat those wonderful muffin of yours! LOL
    Thanks for next week… nice choice!
    BRAVO!

    Reply
  • 4. Cathy  |  October 21, 2008 at 8:30 am

    I love Seinfeld! Here’s a few extra degrees of separation (get out a pen): my law school friend’s sister’s husband was a head writer on Seinfeld. I kept thinking this would score me a ticket to the Emmy’s, but no dice. I think if you like these even thought you don’t like pumpkin, you know the recipe’s a keeper! I think I’ll do white choco chips and craisins next time myself! Your muffins look gorgeous.

    Reply
  • 5. amanda  |  October 21, 2008 at 8:43 am

    Mmm. The pictures look awesome. I’m really wishing i had participated this week after reading all the great reviews!

    Reply
  • 6. April  |  October 21, 2008 at 8:59 am

    I am not any kind of raisin fan – even if you stick a “c” at the beginning of the word, I still don’t like them. LOL But I adore pumpkin. :)

    Reply
  • 7. Sugar Betty  |  October 21, 2008 at 9:46 am

    What is wrong with you, girl? First you don’t like lychees and now you are telling me that you don’t like pumpkin either! I def need to convert you! ;) I like the white chocolate chips idea. Your muffins turned out nice. Gimme some!

    Reply
  • 8. pamela  |  October 21, 2008 at 10:58 am

    White Chocolate! What a great addition. And Seinfeld is one of those shows that I stop at each time I find it on TV. It never gets old for me.

    Reply
  • 9. Beryl  |  October 21, 2008 at 11:11 am

    Good call on the white chocolate. I’m glad you gave them a shot.

    Reply
  • 10. Melissa  |  October 21, 2008 at 11:19 am

    Yummy… white chocolate! I like George on Seinfeld too – he totally cracks me up!

    Reply
  • 11. Kim  |  October 21, 2008 at 11:38 am

    Your muffins look great, however, I have to say that I can’t change the channel fast enough when Seinfeld comes on! Not my thang! :)

    Reply
  • 12. Peggy  |  October 21, 2008 at 11:46 am

    I am SUCH a Seinfeld fan. I think I have seen every show. The only show I may have seen more of is Friends. Loved it too. The muffins look great. I’m not a white chocolate fan, but hey, whatever floats your boat. They look delicious. I loved the craisens in mine.

    Reply
  • 13. kim  |  October 21, 2008 at 12:09 pm

    love seinfeld, although i’ve seen all of the episodes enough times now that it is starting to get old ;) can’t go wrong with white choc/craisins! your muffins puffed up so high, too! awesome job :)

    Reply
  • 14. Audrey  |  October 21, 2008 at 12:28 pm

    Do you have any of those muffins with (ooooooh) white chocolate left over? You did say you got 13, and that’s SUCH an unlucky number. Could I just come over and help you take care of that problem? (btw, to this day, I somehow still haven’t seen the famous Soup Nazi episode!)

    Reply
  • 15. Mary Ann  |  October 21, 2008 at 12:40 pm

    I think these muffins could please anybody probably. Glad they went over well. The substitutions sound delicious!

    Reply
  • 16. Jodie  |  October 21, 2008 at 12:42 pm

    I saw some other people subbed white choco chips and craisins. They look great!

    Reply
  • 17. Piggy  |  October 21, 2008 at 12:52 pm

    Great choice in substituting the nuts with white chocolate chips, I wish I had done that as well!

    Reply
  • 18. L W  |  October 21, 2008 at 1:13 pm

    They look great CB, glad you liked them too! Bonus!

    Reply
  • 19. Karen  |  October 21, 2008 at 1:39 pm

    craisin and white chocolate chips sounds absolutely delicious! Yum!

    Reply
  • 20. Tanya  |  October 21, 2008 at 2:08 pm

    I think I like your substitutions more than what the original called for – I don’t care for nuts or raisins in my baking. These look so good!

    Reply
  • 21. Tammy  |  October 21, 2008 at 3:10 pm

    the white chips look yummy!

    Reply
  • 22. Nancy (n.o.e.)  |  October 21, 2008 at 7:24 pm

    I love the way this recipe converted you to pumpkin-muffin-fan. I’m with your hubby – love pumpkin, and the more the better! btw, I finally made a CLNight recipe that I didn’t love – but won’t be posting it for a while because I have such a backlog of draft posts.

    Reply
  • 23. Erin  |  October 21, 2008 at 7:35 pm

    Clara:
    Every time I read your posts, I sneak down and read your grade and then I go back and read the whole posts. I love it. It’s like peeking at the end of a book. I’m a huge Seinfeld fan, plus now a huge fan of these muffins. Craisins and white chocoalte would make me loco.

    Reply
  • 24. Amy Ruth  |  October 21, 2008 at 7:59 pm

    Joy! Next week is your turn. Like your crazy husband, I like pumpkin too. Glad you were able to enjoy this launch into Fall through Dorie’s pumpkin muffins. Your photos look great. Love how you show the progression of the recipe. Neat!
    AmyRuth

    Reply
  • 25. rainbowbrown  |  October 21, 2008 at 8:07 pm

    Glad you liked them! They look great all puffy like.

    Reply
  • 26. foodlibrarian  |  October 21, 2008 at 8:39 pm

    I got a boatload of muffins – I forgot how many… Yours look great. Love the chocolate addition…I need to try that next time!

    Reply
  • 27. Susan  |  October 21, 2008 at 8:59 pm

    these look great – but i am itching to see what you are gonna do for your choice next week!

    Reply
  • 28. Caitlin  |  October 21, 2008 at 9:19 pm

    Too funny – the Soup Nazi episode is one of the few I actually like. Not a big Seinfeld fan, I’m afraid. But I’m glad you liked these muffins, they look wonderful!

    Reply
  • 29. HoneyB  |  October 22, 2008 at 3:13 am

    I guess I am in the same category as your hubby. I loved the muffins with the nuts and raisins!

    Reply
  • 30. Di  |  October 22, 2008 at 3:26 am

    White chocolate and craisins sounds like great additions in these. Your muffins look yummy! =)

    Reply
  • 31. Cristine  |  October 22, 2008 at 4:02 am

    I love the combo of craisins and white chocolate. I just may have to try that next time!

    Reply
  • 32. LyB  |  October 22, 2008 at 7:54 am

    Oh, yes, I will be trying your version out next time for sure! How can those not be good with white chocolate chips peeking out from the tops? :)

    Reply
  • 33. Audra  |  October 22, 2008 at 10:38 am

    LOL! Newman! I have to tell you I live in Toluca Lake, CA and shop at the Trader Joes there! The other day Newman walked in. My darling husband couldn’t help himself and said to him. “Hello, Newman” in a Jerry Seinfeld voice. Thankfully he cracked up! He’s still Newman!
    I just found your cupcake blog and am SO happy! I’m going to make the Carmel filled Apple cupcakes tomorrow! Great recipe and darling decorations!

    Reply
  • 34. Kelly D  |  October 22, 2008 at 11:55 am

    I love George. Candy line-up is one of my favorite episodes. Glad you discovered you liked these.

    Reply
  • 35. Heather B  |  October 22, 2008 at 7:45 pm

    Great job! They look so delicious!

    Reply
  • 36. Elizabeth - Cake or Death?  |  October 22, 2008 at 11:38 pm

    Ha, you have my chuckling at the thought of all those muffin “stumps” they tried to foist on the homeless shelter. Your muffins look great and the substitutions sound fab!

    Reply
  • 37. Marthe  |  October 23, 2008 at 2:35 am

    Your muffins look amazing, I also thought about putting white chocolate in them but still had milk chocolate in the pantry and used that. I got 22 muffins out of this recipe!!

    Reply
  • 38. Marie  |  October 23, 2008 at 3:13 am

    mmm…white chocolate chips and craisins. Love the idea of those additions! Your muffins look great. I loved Seinfeld and remember the episode about the muffins tops and stops very well! Brilliant television series!

    Reply
  • 39. Teanna  |  October 23, 2008 at 7:13 am

    I absolutely love that you used white chocolate chips and craisins! I’ve never thought of pumpkin and cranberry together but it seems to be such a fantastic combination!

    My dentists loops episode of Seinfeld in each of the rooms. Do you know how hard it is not to laugh when there is a drill in your mouth?

    Reply
  • 40. Karen  |  October 23, 2008 at 4:02 pm

    i love seinfeld, i watch the dvd’s every night to help put me to sleep. i always wish i could make a living on seinfeld trivia somehow. :)

    i baked my muffins for 24 minutes and while they weren’t burned, they were totally dried out.

    Reply
  • 41. Gretchen Noelle  |  October 24, 2008 at 8:47 am

    Thank you. I can so appreciate that muffin episode. And the osup nazi one for that matter!!

    Reply
  • 42. Holly  |  October 25, 2008 at 8:33 pm

    Your muffins look gorgeous! Though I don’t think they would have had to call Newman in as a ‘cleaner’ to take care of all the muffin bottoms! ;) I was glad to be very pleasantly surprised too.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Thank You Sponsors!

Copyright

MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

Creative Commons License
Photos, Original Recipes & Text ©iheartfood4thought 2007-2009 unless otherwise indicated. All rights reserved. If you repost any material from this blog, please give credit by including a link back to me. Thank you!

Hits since Dec 2007

  • 230,332 dirty dishes

Tweet Tweet

Badge designed by SiahDesigns

Click the banners

Current reading


The Best Casserole Cookbook Ever by Beatrice Ojakangas

website counter


