Homemade Samoas

October 10, 2008 at 10:45 am 14 comments

(image credit: Living Novel)

Do you know what the BEST cookie in this world is…? (Aliens might have a better cookie so I am leaving it as an option just in case.)

Samoas!!!

Also known as Caramel De-Lites (but they will always be Samoas to me).

Now I know that plenty of you will disagree with me. My hubs is a Tagalong die-hard but there’s something about that caramel, coconut, shortbread and chocolate that satisfies every cookie craving for me.

It’s a good thing that the little box only holds 15-20 odd cookies b/c I’d gladly eat more in one sitting. I have memories of tummy aches to prove it. But its SO worth it. HAHA. Don’t even shake your head and tut tut tut at me. You know you’ve done the same thing yourself. Maybe when a boy broke your heart and you found your stash of girl scout cookies was the best medicine for the pain? I know the feeling girlfriend… ::shaking head knowingly::

But those darn cookies are a limited commodity and my girl scout connection grew out of her green sash with button flair and into piercings and boys. Frick! So imagine my “delight” (Get it? “Delight”? It’s called Caramel De-lite. Get it?? Is this thing on?) when I found a homemade version of a Samoa.

Niiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiice.


(Recipe from Baking Bites | photos from me!)

Makes about 3-1/2 to 4 dozen (I halved the recipe and got 30 cookies)

INGREDIENTS

For cookies
1 cup butter, softened
1/2 cup sugar
2 cups all purpose flour
1/4 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
up to 2 tablespoons milk

For topping
3 cups shredded coconut (sweetened or unsweetened)
12-ounces good-quality chewy caramels ( I used Wether’s Chewy Caramels)
1/4 teaspoon salt
3 tablespoons milk
8 ounces dark or semisweet chocolate

INSTRUCTIONS

To making cookies—
Preheat oven to 350F.

In a large mixing bowl, cream together butter and sugar. Mix in flour, baking powder and salt at a low speed, followed by the vanilla and milk, adding in the milk as needed to make the dough come together without being sticky (it’s possible you might not need to add milk at all). The dough should come together into a soft, not-too-sticky ball. Add in a bit of extra flour if your dough is very sticky.


[NOTES: I added 1 tbsp of milk but I probably didn’t need to add anything.]

Roll the dough (working in two or three batches) out between pieces of wax paper to about 1/4-inch thickness (or slightly less) and use a 1 1/2-inch cookie cutter to make rounds. Place on a parchment lined baking sheet and use a knife, or the end of a wide straw, to cut a smaller center hole. Repeat with remaining dough.


[NOTES: I used the small end of my 2A round tip to cut out the center hole. Next time I’ll probably use a different size cookie cutter, maybe my 2 inch instead for a bigger cookie.]

Bake cookies for 10-12 minutes, until bottoms are lightly browned and cookies are set.

Cool for a few minutes on the baking sheet then transfer to a wire rack to cool completely.

To make topping—
Preheat oven to 300 degrees F

Spread coconut evenly on a rimmed baking sheet and toast 20 minutes, stirring every 5 minutes, until coconut is golden. Cool on baking sheet, stirring occasionally. Set aside.

Unwrap the caramels and place in a large microwave-safe bowl with milk and salt. Cook on high for 3-4 minutes, stopping to stir a few times to help the caramel melt. When smooth, fold in toasted coconut with a spatula.


Using the spatula or a small offset spatula, spread topping on cooled cookies, using about 2-3 tsp per cookie. Reheat caramel for a few seconds in the microwave if it gets too firm to work with.

While topping sets up, melt chocolate in a small bowl. Heat on high in the microwave in 45 second intervals, stirring thoroughly to prevent scorching. Dip the base of each cookie into the chocolate and place on a clean piece of parchment paper. Transfer all remaining chocolate (or melt a bit of additional chocolate, if necessary) into a piping bag or a ziplock bag with the corner snipped off and drizzle finished cookies with chocolate.

Let chocolate set completely before storing in an airtight container.

[NOTES: I popped my tray into the frig for the chocolate to set for about an hour.]

ENJOY!

Husband rating: A
He liked the homemade version but he’s a tagalong man so its not his favorite girl scout cookie.

Wifey rating: A
It really tastes like a samoa!! But this recipe takes a little time to make (about 2 hours for me, not counting the setting chocolate part) so I’d only make this again by special request or a serious craving from a pregnant friend during the girl scout off-season.

Entry filed under: dessert. Tags: , .

Photo Week – Smell Photo Week – Touch

14 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Tanya  |  October 10, 2008 at 11:29 am

    Yes – Samoas are THE best cookie ever. I love when it’s Girl Scout cookie time. I buy about 4 boxes and they’re gone usually within a week. They are a dangerous cookie.

    Reply
  • 2. CB  |  October 10, 2008 at 11:56 am

    TANYA, I knew we got along for a reason! haha. I buy so many boxes during GSC season. I go for broke.

    Reply
  • 3. Jen  |  October 10, 2008 at 12:44 pm

    Ok these are the BEST cookies ever. LOVE them. Hubby ate 5 boxes last year. When I was growing up in Illinois, they were called Caramel Delights. So that’s what I call them.

    Reply
  • 4. CB  |  October 10, 2008 at 2:30 pm

    JEN, Heck yes they are! I won’t tell you how many boxes I ate but I know it was more than 5. Yikes! Interesting how they call the same cookie different things depending on your locale. I wonder why?

    Reply
  • 5. pamela  |  October 10, 2008 at 6:26 pm

    Samoas are the reason I DON’T by Girl Scout cookies. Too dangerous. They look dangerous here, too.

    Reply
  • 6. slush  |  October 10, 2008 at 6:33 pm

    Samoas are my all time favorite. Jas always buys me a couple boxes when his coworkers are pawning off the GS cookies. I adore them. And I too have finished a box in one sitting. Shameful, but oh so freakin good.

    I so wish I were your neighbor right now. Biscotti and Buttery Jam Cookies pale(or is it pail? Im too tired to google the correct saying) in comparison to a Samoa.

    Reply
  • 7. Dawn  |  October 10, 2008 at 6:46 pm

    I’m definitely making this one even though I’m not supposed to eat anything in it. I don’t care, I LOVE these cookies!! This is going to cause me to cheat for sure. They certainly do look tedious though.

    Reply
  • 8. CB  |  October 10, 2008 at 7:22 pm

    PAMELA, I don’t have your willpower. If I see the GSC cookies I have to buy them! haha

    SLUSH, Oh so freaking good. LOL @ pale comment. Too tired too google. Poor thing. I am not a grammar-ist (word?) but I’d say “pale” is correct. ;)

    DAWN, Throw caution to the wind and bake some. Hmmm… maybe not. I wouldn’t want you to get sick. They are a little tedious and I wouldn’t make it on a whim but they were really good.

    Reply
  • 9. April  |  October 13, 2008 at 5:43 am

    These are the hubbys favorite! They look delish!

    Reply
  • 10. CB  |  October 13, 2008 at 6:12 am

    APRIL, Trust me. They were VERY delish ;)

    Reply
  • 11. kamaile  |  October 13, 2008 at 3:15 pm

    I’m a tagalong fan as well, but my sister LOVES samoas. And she would totally do anything for these. Well, almost anything.

    Reply
  • 12. CB  |  October 13, 2008 at 4:35 pm

    KAMAILE, haha. I would do ANYTHING for a box of samoas… anything! ;)

    Reply
  • 13. Jaime  |  October 14, 2008 at 9:14 pm

    samoas are my all time fav GS cookie too!!! though i agree, it looks like a lot of work. seems easier to do the cupcake version here
    http://doughmesstic.blogspot.com/2008/07/politically-incorrect-sugar-coma.html

    Reply
  • 14. CB  |  October 15, 2008 at 6:24 am

    JAIME, ooohhh that cupcake version looks AH-MAZING. Might have to bake that up soon! Thanks for the link :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Thank You Sponsors!

Copyright

MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

Creative Commons License
Photos, Original Recipes & Text ©iheartfood4thought 2007-2009 unless otherwise indicated. All rights reserved. If you repost any material from this blog, please give credit by including a link back to me. Thank you!

Hits since Dec 2007

  • 230,871 dirty dishes

Tweet Tweet

Badge designed by SiahDesigns

Click the banners

Current reading


The Best Casserole Cookbook Ever by Beatrice Ojakangas

website counter


