CEiMB #1: Mom’s Turkey Meatloaf

October 9, 2008 at 12:49 am 12 comments

I know what you’re thinking.

You gotta be kidding, CB? Another foodie event?!!

I am totally psychic right? … and you would be correct. Just call me FEA (foodie event addict). I am ok with that.

Craving Ellie In My Belly is the brainchild of foodie friend, Leigh of Lemontarlet and the Dust Bunnies, and her desire to balance out the desserts from our Tuesdays with Dorie baking group with something healthier. I can definitely get behind that! I love me some Dorie desserts but my love handles are getting lovelier by the week if you get my drift… LOL

The rules are pretty simple. If you wanna join in the Ellie fun, email Leigh with your info. Tell her CB sent ya! ::wink::

Ok. Let’s talk about Leigh’s pick for our first CEiMB recipe. Let’s talk meatloaf.

To be honest I can’t remember the last time I ate meatloaf. Maybe even never. *gasp* I know. Can you believe it? So I wasn’t sure what to expect from this recipe. Ground turkey breast, Worcester sauce, ketchup? Whaaaaaat? This aint *MY* momma’s meatloaf. Well actually my mom was more of a casserole cooker. I think its a mom talent to be able to turn anything into a casserole. Am I right? HAHA

I served my meatloaf with mash potatoes and broccoli. It just seemed like the right thing to do. Kinda like pepperoni on a pizza.


(Recipe from Foods You Crave page 216 | photos from me!)

Makes 8 servings

* Nutritional analysis/serving–
Calories: 205; Total Fat: 3.5; Saturated Fat: 0.5; Protein: 32; Carbohydrates: 13 grams; Fiber: 2 grams

INGREDIENTS

3/4 cup quick cooking oats (I used old fashion oats instead)
1/2 cup nonfat milk
1 medium onion, peeled
2 lbs ground turkey breast (I used 1-1/4 lbs instead)
1/2 medium red bell pepper, seeded and chopped (I used 1 whole red pepper)
2 large eggs, beaten
2 tsp Worcestershire sauce
1/4 cup ketchup
1/2 tsp salt
freshly ground black pepper
1-8 oz can no-salt-added tomato sauce

INSTRUCTIONS

Preheat the oven to 350 F.

In a small bowl, stir together the oats and milk and allow to soak while you get the rest of the ingredients together, at least 3 minutes.

[NOTES: Since I used old fashion oats, I let it soak for 15 minutes.]

Thinly slice one-quarter of the onion into rings and set aside. Finely chop the rest of the onion.

In a large bowl, combine the turkey, oatmeal mixture, chopped onion, bell pepper, eggs, Worcestershire, ketchup, salt, and a few grinds of pepper. Mix just until well combined.

Transfer the mixture to a 9×13-inch baking dish and shape into a loaf about 5 inches wide and 2 inches high. Pour the tomato sauce over the meatloaf and sprinkle with the sliced onions. Bake until an instant-read meat thermometer inserted into the thickest part registers 160 F, about 1 hour.

[NOTES: I baked for 1 hour and 20 minutes.]

Remove from the oven and let rest for 10 to 15 minutes before slicing.

ENJOY!

Husband rating: A
T likes meatloaf. Who knew? I didn’t! HAHA. He raved about this recipe and liked it better than his mom’s. Now that’s saying something!

Wifey rating: A-/B+
I think the recipe itself is great but I am just not a meatloaf person. C’est la vie.

Next week: Steak tacos w/ cucumber-avocado salsa page 184-185

* Nutritional information for original recipe. It does not include my changes and/or substitutions.

Entry filed under: Craving Ellie in my Belly. Tags: .

Photo Week – Sound Photo Week – Smell

12 Comments Add your own

  • 1. heather b  |  October 9, 2008 at 5:43 am

    hi. My name is Heather and I am addicted to foodie events. Hehehe! your meatloaf looks great! Mine kept falling apart when I tried to cut it.

    Reply
  • 2. Natalie  |  October 9, 2008 at 6:33 am

    Yours looks great. I am excited about next weeks pick. I know my husband will be too!

    Reply
  • 3. April  |  October 9, 2008 at 7:09 am

    Hmm…yeah, I’m so not into meatloaf either. My mom used to make it and meh. I look forward to seeing all your recipes from this though!

    Reply
  • 4. CB  |  October 9, 2008 at 7:30 am

    HEATHER, ::crowd chants:: Hello Heather. LOL. Mine wasn’t as brown as Ellie’s in the book though. I was wondering if I should have left it in the oven longer but hubs liked it so I guess thats all that matters.

    NATALIE, Awesome! I just got my book yesterday so I had to hurry through all the recipes to find one for my pick. It was SO hard. I want to try alot of the recipes. If the group stays small enough maybe I’ll get to pick again ;)

    APRIL, Yeah I didn’t think it was bad I think I am just not a meatloaf person. I am really looking forward to next week. I LOVE avocado. YUM!

    Reply
  • 5. lemontartlet  |  October 9, 2008 at 7:50 am

    Yay T! As a fellow meatloaf lover, bring on the ketchup and various meats. Yours really looks nice, and I love the presentation with the mashed potato scoops!

    Reply
  • 6. CB  |  October 9, 2008 at 8:00 am

    LEMON, Yeah. 10 years together and he never mentioned that he liked meatloaf. Obviously we need to work on our communication. LOL.

    Reply
  • 7. zebe912  |  October 9, 2008 at 2:14 pm

    Did you mean to say that you’re psychotic, rather than psychic? Cause I’m definitely thinking the first one applies when it comes to you and events. I couldn’t even keep up with one, especially after switching my food restrictions. This one might be doable though, as long as I don’t have to splurge on too many custom ingredients. I’m just always afraid to commit because I get so busy and end up flaking out.

    Reply
  • 8. CB  |  October 9, 2008 at 3:15 pm

    ZEBE, psychotic or psychic. They both kinda work. LOL. Its definitely a commitment but there’s nothing wrong with joining and then opting out later. Thats what I say!

    Reply
  • 9. Holly  |  October 9, 2008 at 4:54 pm

    Yeah. I am not that much of a fan of meatloaf. Yours looks way better than mine turned out. My post will finally be up shortly.

    Hugs from your fellow FEA :)

    Reply
  • 10. CB  |  October 9, 2008 at 5:00 pm

    HOLLY, {{HUGS}} back atcha. ::off to check out your loaf::

    Reply
  • 11. Jaime  |  October 14, 2008 at 9:17 pm

    i love this new event and will be eager to try some of these recipes… but i don’t have time to join another group… so i’m glad to hear from you what’s good and what’s not :)

    Reply
  • 12. CB  |  October 14, 2008 at 9:19 pm

    JAIME, I hear ya. I think I am about at my limit with food events. But they are all just so fun I am addicted! haha.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Thank You Sponsors!

Copyright

MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

Creative Commons License
Photos, Original Recipes & Text ©iheartfood4thought 2007-2009 unless otherwise indicated. All rights reserved. If you repost any material from this blog, please give credit by including a link back to me. Thank you!

Hits since Dec 2007

  • 230,044 dirty dishes

Tweet Tweet

Badge designed by SiahDesigns

Click the banners

Current reading


The Best Casserole Cookbook Ever by Beatrice Ojakangas

website counter


