Cooking Light Night

October 6, 2008 at 6:30 pm 5 comments

Its been more than a week since my last Cooking Light Night huh? ::hangs head in shame::

But honestly I have been cooking light though. I’ve been making variations of my margherita pizza by adding chicken or using dried basil instead of fresh. I think I’ve made it at least 5x now. Its that good!

But tonight hubs wasn’t feeling the pizza vibe so he requested something else. He wasn’t picky about what so I took that as wifey’s choice. Sa-weeet! I have been craving Thai food for days. I love Thai food so I did a quick search in my Cooking Light cookbook for my favorite Thai dish – pad thai! I found the vegetarian version with tofu but decided to add in some protein with a little shrimp. YUM!

Also wanna say thanks to Nancy of The Dogs Eat The Crumbs and Audrey of Food from Books for participating in Cooking Light Nights with me! I am having so much fun reading about your CL nights too! If any other readers are using my CL logo, please let me know! I’d love to see what you’re cooking…


Vegetarian [Shrimp] Pad Thai
(Recipe from Cooking Light, March 2003 | photos from me!)

Makes about 6 servings

* Nutritional analysis/serving–
Calories: 347 (25% from fat); Fat: 9.6g (sat 1.6g,mono 3.5g,poly 3.5g); Protein: 10.9g; Carbohydrate: 56.7g; Fiber: 2.5g; Cholesterol: 37mg; Iron: 2.4mg; Sodium: 935mg; Calcium: 80mg

INGREDIENTS

2/3 cup chili sauce (such as Heinz)
1/4 cup packed brown sugar
2 tablespoons water
2 tablespoons fish sauce
1-1/2 teaspoons grated peeled fresh ginger
1 teaspoon chopped seeded serrano chile
1/2 pound wide rice stick noodles (bánh pho) (I used pad thai noodles)
4 teaspoons vegetable oil, divided
1 (12.3-ounce) package extrafirm tofu, drained and cut into 1/2-inch cubes
2 large egg whites
1 large egg
3 garlic cloves, minced
2 cups fresh bean sprouts
3/4 cup diagonally cut green onions
1/2 cup minced fresh cilantro, divided
1/3 cup coarsely chopped dry-roasted peanuts
6 lime wedges
1/2 lb shrimp, peeled and deveined

INSTRUCTIONS

Combine first 6 ingredients; set aside.

Cook noodles in boiling water 5 minutes or until done. Drain and rinse with cold water; drain well.

Heat 2 teaspoons oil in a large nonstick skillet over medium heat. Add tofu; cook 7 minutes or until browned, stirring occasionally. Remove from pan.

Add shrimp, cook, tossing occasionally, until shrimp are opaque and browned about the edges, about 3 minutes. Remove from pan.

Combine egg whites and egg, stirring well with a whisk.

Heat 2 teaspoons vegetable oil in pan over medium-high heat. Add garlic, and sauté for 10 seconds. Add egg mixture, and cook for 30 seconds or until soft-scrambled, stirring constantly. Stir in chili sauce mixture and noodles; cook for 2 minutes. Stir in tofu, bean sprouts, onions, 1/4 cup cilantro and shrimp. Cook 3 minutes or until thoroughly heated.

Sprinkle 1/4 cup cilantro and peanuts evenly over each serving of noodle mixture. Serve with lime wedges.

ENJOY!

Husband rating: A+
He’s not a shrimp freak like me but he really liked the tofu. Go figure! My protein loving husband raved about the tofu?? Don’t worry! I made sure he wasn’t running a fever or anything… HAHA

Wifey rating: A+
This was perfect for my pad thai noodle craving. I had 2 plates and almost went for a 3rd but I restrained myself b/c I am a good girl. LOL. I will definitely make this again!

* Nutritional information for original recipe. It does not include my changes and/or substitutions.

Entry filed under: Cooking Light. Tags: , .

Bunday Monday TWD #33: “I could put it in her brownie.”

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Mary Ann  |  October 7, 2008 at 6:14 am

    This looks so amazingly delicious. I have been searching for a pad thai to make at home- I wonder if I could trade out tofu for the shrimp?

    Reply
  • 2. Mary Ann  |  October 7, 2008 at 6:15 am

    Duh! That is one of the things you mentioned at the beginning! I just went and reread it! Hah! Forgive me, I just woke up!

    Reply
  • 3. CB  |  October 7, 2008 at 7:28 am

    MARYANN, haha, no worries. I just woke up too and forgot about adding the shrimp and was thinking of my reply to you “Yeah I think you can add shrimp.”

    Reply
  • 4. kamaile  |  October 7, 2008 at 6:06 pm

    Mmm…this looks delicious! I love pad thai.

    Reply
  • 5. CB  |  October 7, 2008 at 6:08 pm

    KAMAILE, If you love pad thai, give it a try! Let me know what you think, k? :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Thank You Sponsors!

Copyright

MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

Creative Commons License
Photos, Original Recipes & Text ©iheartfood4thought 2007-2009 unless otherwise indicated. All rights reserved. If you repost any material from this blog, please give credit by including a link back to me. Thank you!

Hits since Dec 2007

  • 230,503 dirty dishes

Tweet Tweet

Badge designed by SiahDesigns

Click the banners

Current reading


The Best Casserole Cookbook Ever by Beatrice Ojakangas

website counter


