Saturday @ Farmer’s Market

October 4, 2008 at 3:02 pm 10 comments

Ever since I became a foodie blogger I’ve been lusting after Farmer’s Markets. Several of my favorite foodie blogs and websites boast of farmer’s markets near them with enthusiastic praise and pictures but for some reason I got it into my head that my area just didn’t have any. At least I’d never seen any so I assumed that Whole Foods would be as close as I could get to local veggies and fruits.

But leave it to my trusty foodie friend, Nikki, and her fabulous google search abilities to find a list of local farmer’s markets near me! Definitely check out the link if you live in the Orange County area!

Since I usually work every Saturday I mentally crossed the Irvine Farmer’s Market off my list but when I found out I had today off, I knew I’d be hitting up Irvine come rain or shine. (Weatherman says its suppose to rain today. Boooo!)

I had such a great time walking up and down the aisles, looking at all the gorgeous fruits and vegetables. They were such bright colors and smelled amazing. I was getting dizzy from all the smells. After I got over the initial drug induced sensation from the first tour around the market, I got down to business and started buying! I bought some cilantro, white nectarines, fuji (not fugi, right Nikki? HAHA) apples, scallops, corn and basil. While I was looking at the basil, I found this eggplant who was “happy” to see me. LOL

Now you’ll never look at eggplant again with a straight face right? I know I won’t!

After I got home I decided to make herb ice cubes as suggested from my previous foodie question of the day, specifically with some cilantro. Nikki explained that she keeps her herbs fresh by picking off the leaves and freezing them in ice cube trays. So when she needs some for cooking, she grabs a cube (or 2). How cute is that??

They are chillaxing in my freezer right now but I’ll update later with pictures of my frozen cilantro cubes! No more black gooey herbs for me…. I hope. If this doesn’t work, maybe I’ll try the chia herb pet next?

UPDATED w/ cilantro cubes:

Happy Saturday everyone!

PS. U-C-L-A fight fight fight!

Entry filed under: random. Tags: .

Beefy Bean Nachos Foodie Question of the Day

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Nikki  |  October 4, 2008 at 3:12 pm

    haha ya def not fugi. The eggplant is too funny. i’m glad you had fun

    Reply
  • 2. CB  |  October 4, 2008 at 3:45 pm

    NIKKI, how did I know you’d appreciate my eggplant macdaddy? I was seriously cackling and ppl were looking at me like I was cuckoo. I guess I have a raunchy sense of humor. Glad you have one too :)

    Reply
  • 3. food librarian  |  October 4, 2008 at 4:08 pm

    Who says mother nature doesn’t have a sense of humor with eggplant? Going to the Farmers Market each week is just so great. Does your FM have a guy making kettle corn? That’s the best too! :)

    Go Bruins! (I went to the Fresno game last week and almost melted in the heat…and got very very sad…but today is different and I know we’ll win!)

    Reply
  • 4. CB  |  October 4, 2008 at 4:15 pm

    FOODLIBRARIAN, Oh mother nature had me in stitches this morning with Pimp Daddy E. I did see a kettle corn guy but I didn’t get a chance to try any. I’ll hit it up next time! Oh man. Let’s not speak of the Fresno game. Today is different. I can feel it. Hopefully it doesn’t rain out. I wish I could be at the Rose bowl to see it live. I am going to the Cal game at the end of October though. My brother went to Cal so that should be a fun game (esp with a friendly sister/brother bet)!

    Reply
  • 5. Michelle  |  October 4, 2008 at 4:40 pm

    Oh my that egg plant made my eyes pop out! That’s pretty cool!

    Reply
  • 6. CB  |  October 4, 2008 at 5:13 pm

    MICHELLE, oops sorry! I should have put a little R rated warning on there for innocent eyes. ;)

    Reply
  • 7. zebe912  |  October 5, 2008 at 7:58 am

    Your market looks HUGE compared to ours. We have teeny tiny ones in lots of towns, but they are on similarly hard-to-get-to days (like Wednesday???). I like the herb-cube idea, but it probably works better if there’s room in the freezer to keep ice cube trays, huh!?

    Reply
  • 8. CB  |  October 5, 2008 at 8:01 am

    ZEBE, the one in my city is pretty tiny but the one in Irvine was big! Its a littler farther away but I think its worth the drive for all the things you can see and buy. Um yeah… I had to shift a couple things around (ie eat the ice cream) to make room in mine! HAHA

    Reply
  • 9. mrsabybaby  |  October 6, 2008 at 7:49 am

    I am super jealous of this huge farmer’s market. I want one!!! I am interested to see how the herb experiment turns out. I always have this problem also.

    Reply
  • 10. CB  |  October 6, 2008 at 8:33 am

    MRSABYBABY, Do a google search! Maybe you have one nearby that you don’t know about like me. So far the herb cubes are looking pretty darn cute. I’ll let you know how it goes when I start cooking with them. I have high hopes.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Thank You Sponsors!

Copyright

MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

Creative Commons License
Photos, Original Recipes & Text ©iheartfood4thought 2007-2009 unless otherwise indicated. All rights reserved. If you repost any material from this blog, please give credit by including a link back to me. Thank you!

Hits since Dec 2007

  • 230,203 dirty dishes

Tweet Tweet

Badge designed by SiahDesigns

Click the banners

Current reading


The Best Casserole Cookbook Ever by Beatrice Ojakangas

website counter


