Beefy Bean Nachos

October 3, 2008 at 10:19 am 7 comments

♪ Beans beans…
The musical fruit
The more you eat
The more you toot!
The more you toot
The better you’ll feel
So eat your beans with every meal! ♪♫

T’s family is very political. His dad has a degree in Political Science as does T. I am sure T gets his passion for politics, government and history from his parents. Needless to say this current presidential debate has been the topic of conversation for many months when we have dinner with T’s family.

Last night was the VP debate as I am sure most of you know. I think the elephants should be happy with Pahlin’s debate cramming abilities. I gotta say that Pahlin beat the spread. Granted it was set really low but you gotta give her props for holding her own. Does it win McCain the election? Personally I don’t think it changes much. I think how the bailout plan is handled will determine this year’s election more than a VP debate. At least it gave Tina Fey some new material right? I for one am looking forward to the next SNL spoof.

What does this have to do with beans, you ask? Well that’s what T requested for dinner while watching the VP debate last night and I posted the song b/c its such a catchy tune. It will be stuck in your head all day. Just watch. You can thank me later. Preferably not with musical toots though.


(Recipe adapted from Tammy’s Recipes | photos from me!)

Makes 8 servings

INGREDIENTS

1-1/2 pounds ground beef (I used 1 lb instead)
1 onion, chopped (I used 1/2 onion)
1 clove garlic, minced
1 green bell pepper, chopped (I used red bell pepper)
2 teaspoons ground cumin
2 teaspoons chili powder
salt and pepper, to taste
hot sauce (if desired) (I omitted)
3 cups refried beans
16 ounces shredded cheddar cheese
1/2 cup diced green and/or red peppers (I omitted)
sour cream, for serving
4 to 6 ounces sliced black olives
2-3 tomatoes, washed and diced
jalapeno peppers, garnish (optional)
tortilla chips, for serving

INSTRUCTIONS

Fry meat, onion, garlic, and green bell pepper together in skillet until fully cooked. Drain grease, and stir in cumin, chili powder, salt, pepper, and hot sauce.

Preheat 375F.

Grease a 9 x 13-inch casserole dish and spread beans across the bottom. Sprinkle about 1/3 of the cheese over the beans, and then top with the meat. Sprinkle remaining cheese on top.

Sprinkle 1/2 cup green and/or red peppers over cheese, and bake for about 15-20 minutes, or until hot and bubbly.

Spoon hot bean and meat mixture onto plates. Top with sour cream, black olives, tomatoes, and jalapenos (if using). Serve with tortilla chips.

ENJOY!

Husband rating: A+
He ate so much that he got a tummyache. HAHA.

Wifey rating: A
I am not a big bean fan but I was really surprised how much I liked the flavor combinations. I will definitely make it again!

Entry filed under: mexican. Tags: .

Foodie Question of the Day Saturday @ Farmer’s Market

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Nikki  |  October 3, 2008 at 10:29 am

    You ate beans?!?! I’m so proud

    Reply
  • 2. CB  |  October 3, 2008 at 10:36 am

    NIKKI, To be honest I didn’t dip my chip all the way down to the bottom where the beans were so I only got a teeny bit of beans with each bite but its a start right?

    Reply
  • 3. Nikki  |  October 3, 2008 at 10:39 am

    It’s a step in the right direction … I’ll take what I can get

    Reply
  • 4. Gretchen Noelle  |  October 3, 2008 at 12:21 pm

    These look incredibly delicious!!!

    Reply
  • 5. CB  |  October 3, 2008 at 12:31 pm

    GRETCHEN, I hope you try it. Let me know what you think!

    Reply
  • 6. Matt  |  October 4, 2008 at 8:19 am

    I can see why he requested this. It’s perfect for these debate watching nights. I wish Palin would do more Katie Couric style interviews. I watched those with morbid fascination…kind of the way people slow down to look at a wreck.

    Reply
  • 7. CB  |  October 4, 2008 at 8:23 am

    MATT, Definitely. Nachos=party food=debate right? Well at least for my nerd husband. HAHA. Totally agree with the wreck analogy.

    “I know I should but I can’t look away…”

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Thank You Sponsors!

Copyright

MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

Creative Commons License
Photos, Original Recipes & Text ©iheartfood4thought 2007-2009 unless otherwise indicated. All rights reserved. If you repost any material from this blog, please give credit by including a link back to me. Thank you!

Hits since Dec 2007

  • 230,507 dirty dishes

Tweet Tweet

Badge designed by SiahDesigns

Click the banners

Current reading


The Best Casserole Cookbook Ever by Beatrice Ojakangas

website counter


