GWW aka Slacker Wifey Saturdays

September 27, 2008 at 6:41 pm 4 comments

Just when you thought I wouldn’t have time to do another foodie event… What can I say? I am a sucker for reasons to bake!

Introducing… Good Wifey Wednesdays!

GWW is the brainchild of my friend, Leigh of Lemon Tarlet and Betty Crocker. Also props to Holly of Phe/mom/enon for her logo making talents. (Holly, maybe you should make me one ala Anne Taintor instead. LOL) The gist is that you buy the book, Leigh suggests recipes to try each month, you bake/cook and post on Wednesdays. Easy peasy, right?

Ok I know what you’re thinking.

uh… CB its Saturday?

Well duh?! Thats why I renamed it. I never said I was a punctual foodie. HAHA.

This month Leigh gave us a couple things to choose from:

Applesauce Cake pg. 128
French Breakfast Puffs pg. 65
Snickerdoodles pg. 189
Eggs A La Goldenrod pg. 255
Scotch Broth pg. 368
Spaghetti With Meatballs pg. 385

Right away the snickerdoodle cookies jumped out at me. I wouldn’t say I am a cookie girl but if I ever indulge in cookies, its gonna be a snickerdoodle. I even named one of my bunnies Snickerdoodle b/c she reminds of the orange-cinnamony color that is characteristic of the cookie.

Isn’t she the cutest?


Snickerdoodles
(Recipe from Betty Crocker’s Picture Cookbook | photos from me!)

Makes about 60 cookies (I halved the recipe and got 35 cookies)

INGREDIENTS

1 cup soft shortening
1-1/2 cup sugar
2 eggs
2-3/4 cups AP flour
2 tsp cream of tartar
1 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
2 tbsp sugar
2 tsp cinnamon

INSTRUCTIONS

In a stand mixer with the flat beater, mix shortening, sugar and eggs thoroughly.

Sift together flour, cream of tartar, baking soda and salt. Add slowly to shortening mixture. Chill dough.

[NOTES: It didn’t say how long to chill so I chilled for about 30 minutes.]

Preheat oven 400F.

Roll dough into balls the size of small walnuts. Roll in mixture of sugar+cinnamon. Place about 2″ apart on ungreased baking sheet. Bake until light brown but still soft, about 8-10 minutes.

ENJOY!

Husband rating: A+
He’s more of a chocolate peanut butter dessert man but he raved about this cookie. I lost count of how many he ate.

Wifey rating: A+
Ohmygod. Best snickerdoodle cookie ever. I won’t tell you how many I ate. Let’s just say I am glad I halved the recipe or I wouldn’t be able to stop myself! I’ll definitely be making again!

Entry filed under: Good Wifey Wednesdays. Tags: .

Cooking Light Night Bunday Monday

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. lemontartlet  |  September 28, 2008 at 10:13 am

    Yay Betty Crocker! You had to make them for Saturday because they’re Snickerdoodles and it goes together. That’s the real reason. You cookies look so frigging tasty!

    Reply
  • 2. CB  |  September 28, 2008 at 10:52 am

    LEMONTARLET, oh yeah… thats right! Snickerdoodles=Saturdays. You know me better than I know myself. LOL

    Reply
  • 3. AnneStrawberry  |  September 29, 2008 at 8:17 pm

    Hey…. that’s practically my Mom’s recipe! I thought she invented it! :) Seriously…those look delicious. Yum.

    Reply
  • 4. CB  |  September 29, 2008 at 8:20 pm

    ANNE, HAHA. What is different about your mom’s? I’d be interested!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Thank You Sponsors!

Copyright

MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

Creative Commons License
Photos, Original Recipes & Text ©iheartfood4thought 2007-2009 unless otherwise indicated. All rights reserved. If you repost any material from this blog, please give credit by including a link back to me. Thank you!

Hits since Dec 2007

  • 230,315 dirty dishes

Tweet Tweet

Badge designed by SiahDesigns

Click the banners

Current reading


The Best Casserole Cookbook Ever by Beatrice Ojakangas

website counter


