TWD #30: Sorry, No chunker dunkers today…

September 15, 2008 at 7:42 pm 54 comments

I know you probably came here looking for my Tuesdays with Dorie recipe of the week – Chocolate Chunkers hosted by Claudia of Fool for Food – but I regret that I wasn’t able to make them. You still love me right? Please don’t make me beg… b/c I will.

To get your Chocolate Chunker fix, take a peek at the TWD blogroll and look at what over 250+ Dorie-nators did. I’ll be back next week with Dimply Plum Cake. xoxo

Now that we got that business out of the way, I can show you my latest baking triumph.

I have to admit in my earlier baking days I was foolish enough to take on this finicky cookie but my first attempt failed so miserably that I didn’t bother to blog about it. There were so many more beautiful macaron creations floating around the blogosphere that my pathetic flat-lumpy-no-feet cookies would surely be mocked! I wasn’t sure I’d ever try again… it was that bad.

But after my recent ice cream endeavor, I was left with 3 egg whites that were destined for the drain unless I figured out what to do with them. I hate wasting food so I jumped on my computer, googled “3 egg whites recipe” and macarons jumped right out at me. I hesitated and questioned myself if I dare try again. Finally I laced up my apron, said “What the heck?” and …

::drum roll please::


Chocolate Kahlua Mocha Buttercream Macarons
(Recipe adapted from Sherry Yard’s DBTY | photos from me!)

Makes 16 macarons (or 8 sandwiches)

INGREDIENTS

For chocolate macarons
1 cup almond flour
2 cups confectioner’s sugar
3 tbsp unsweetened cocoa powder
3 large egg whites, covered and refrigerated for 3 days and then brought to room temperature
1/4 tsp cream of tartar
2 tbsp sugar
1 drop red food coloring (optional)

[NOTES: I made my own almond flour by pulsing almonds in my food processor and sifting to a fine powder.]

For kahlua mocha buttercream
1/2 cup (1 stick) butter, softened
2-1/2 cups powdered sugar
1 tablespoon unsweetened cocoa (I used Hersheys)
1/4 cup whipping cream
1 tsp instant coffee granules (I used Folgers Classic Roast)
1 tsp Kahlua

INSTRUCTIONS

To make macarons—
In a food processor, fitted with the steel blade, combine the almond flour and confectioner’s sugar. Pulse a few times, then add the cocoa and pulse a few times more. Pass through a fine sifter, and set aside.

Line baking sheets with parchment paper. Fit a piping bag with #6 plain tip.

[NOTES: I used my 2A round tip which was probably a bit big. Next time I might use my #12 round tip instead.]

In a bowl of a stand mixer fitted with the whisk attachment, or in a large bowl with a hand mixer, beat the egg whites on low speed until they begin to foam. Add the cream of tartar and turn the speed to medium. Slowly stream in the sugar and continue to beat to stiff, glossy peaks. Beat in the drop of red food coloring, if using.



Using a rubber spatula, fold the almond mixture into the egg whites until well combined. This will take about 40 folds and turns of the bowl; after about 20 turns, the batter will come together and deflate and after 20 more turns, it will be slightly runny, then more runny after a few minutes.

Pipe 3-inch disks onto the parchment lined baking sheet and let it sit 2 to 4 hours. They will dry out on the top and develop a skin, which you want.

[NOTES: I am not a patient person so I only let it sit for 1 hour.]

Preheat oven to 300F.

Bake cookies for 15 minutes. Rotate the baking sheets from top to bottom and from front to back and continue baking for another 5-10 minutes, until the macarons are no longer tacky when touched lightly. If you are using a convection oven, leave the oven door cracked after you turn the pans around (you may wedge the handle of a wooden spoon in it to keep it vented.)


Look! Look! I got feet! I am way too excited about this!

[NOTES: I piped 2-inch disks, got 28 macarons (or 14 sandwiches), baked for 12 minutes, rotated the baking sheets and baked for another 5 minutes. Next time I might do 1-inch to make it a more petite cookie.]

Remove the cookies from the oven and allow to cool on baking sheets. (The macarons can be stored in a freezer for 2 weeks if wrapped airtight.)

To make buttercream—
Beat butter, powdered sugar and cocoa at medium speed until fluffy.

Microwave whipping cream until warm (do not boil), about 15-20 secs. Stir together warm cream and coffee granules until dissolved; cool. Slowly add coffee-cream mixture in 1 tsp increments and liqueur to butter mixture, beating until smooth.

[NOTES: I didn’t use all of the coffee-cream mixture. I just added until I got the consistency I wanted, about 4-5 tsp.]

To assemble macaron—
Pipe or dollop buttercream on one macaron and sandwich with another macaron.

ENJOY!

Husband rating: A/A+
He thought the cookie and buttercream were good but said the flavor combinations were a little rich for him.

Wifey rating: A+
I loved my little macaron cookie sandwiches. That frosting is so good and I don’t even like coffee. I can’t wait to try more flavors!

Entry filed under: dessert. Tags: , , .

Bunday Monday Don’t drink the buttermilk water.

54 Comments Add your own

  • 1. slush  |  September 15, 2008 at 7:53 pm

    Look at you getting all fancy pants unicorn on us. They look adorable CB, and ever so good. I wish I had the guts to give them a try!

    Reply
  • 2. CB  |  September 15, 2008 at 7:57 pm

    SLUSH, More like “glutton for punishment until I get it right” unicorn. HAHA. Give ’em a try! You might be surprised like me! I am just tickled right now.

    Reply
  • 3. Rachel  |  September 15, 2008 at 7:58 pm

    i’m impressed!

    Reply
  • 4. CB  |  September 15, 2008 at 8:01 pm

    RACHEL, you and me both! I actually squealed when I opened the oven. It is the highlight in my home baking career…

    Reply
  • 5. Holly @ PheMOMenon  |  September 15, 2008 at 8:49 pm

    Yay! Your macs look awesome. I have got to get around to making some finally. Fantastic job!!

    Reply
  • 6. CB  |  September 15, 2008 at 9:18 pm

    HOLLY, thankyou! You must bake some. Now I am brainstorming more flavors. I am officially mac obsessed!

    Reply
  • 7. Di  |  September 15, 2008 at 9:47 pm

    Way to go! They look fabulous. By the way, I always freeze my extra egg whites, and when they start threatening to take over my freezer, I make chocolate angel food cake.

    Reply
  • 8. CB  |  September 15, 2008 at 9:49 pm

    DI, Sweet suggestion! I’ll have to remember the freezer option for next time I make ice cream. Thanks!

    Reply
  • 9. Tanya  |  September 15, 2008 at 10:21 pm

    Wow! They look perfect. Great job!

    Reply
  • 10. CB  |  September 15, 2008 at 11:28 pm

    TANYA, perfect… aaahhhh music to my macaron-loving ears. HAHA.

    Reply
  • 11. Madam Chow  |  September 16, 2008 at 7:29 am

    Fabulous job – I’ve never made macarons, something I’ve been meaning to remedy!

    Reply
  • 12. Jodie  |  September 16, 2008 at 7:41 am

    Those look great- MUCH better than the chunkers (which I thought were gross). I love the pics.

    Reply
  • 13. CB  |  September 16, 2008 at 7:47 am

    MADAMCHOW, You need to make some soon! I was nervous but I am tickled that they came out with feet! I am such a baking dork. HAHA

    JODIE, Looks like I picked a good one to skip then huh? I wasn’t a fan of the whoppers and another chocolate cookie wasn’t in the cards for me.

    Reply
  • 14. Mara  |  September 16, 2008 at 7:50 am

    wow you GO girl!! that is some serious baking. we saw a ton of macaroons in France but they are not my favorite cookie at all. however yours look divine, send me one pls…xo!!

    Reply
  • 15. CB  |  September 16, 2008 at 7:54 am

    MARA, You aren’t a macaron fan?? I wonder if french macarons and american macarons are different b/c the 10+ that I devoured in 5 minutes when I was in Chicago were freaking AH-MAZING.

    Reply
  • 16. macduff  |  September 16, 2008 at 8:17 am

    THIS IS AWESOME. I have to say, I love macarons more than any other cookie, but I’m always afraid to try them because it just seems like the difference between the perfect macaron and kindergarten paste could really only be one step. I’m going to save this entry and use it when Christmas cookie season is upon us…THANK YOU!!! And seriously, try those chunkers. They’re to die for.

    Reply
  • 17. CB  |  September 16, 2008 at 8:33 am

    MACDUFF, Thanks! I was afraid too and you hit it on the nail. The first attempt was kindergarten paste that got baked into a flat-lumpy-fugly cookie with no feet. Seriously. I cried! But this time I tried a different recipe and took my time with it. Patience with these cookies! Definitely give it a try. I am thinking I might have to steal your xmas gift idea now. Can you imagine red macarons with green buttercream?? That would get me in the xmas spirit!

    Reply
  • 18. Jessica  |  September 16, 2008 at 9:00 am

    Those look pretty amazing for a “what the heck” baking project! Yum, yum.

    Reply
  • 19. CB  |  September 16, 2008 at 9:01 am

    JESSICA, true! I guess when I go into projects with a “what the heck” attitude I don’t feel so bad when they flop! HAHA

    Reply
  • 20. Teanna  |  September 16, 2008 at 9:18 am

    Are you serious!? Those look INSANELY good for something that was baked on a whim! Talent, talent, talent!

    Reply
  • 21. Peggy  |  September 16, 2008 at 9:19 am

    I wish you could pass me one of these through our puters! They look yum.

    Reply
  • 22. CB  |  September 16, 2008 at 9:25 am

    TEANNA, aaawww you’re way too sweet! Seriously try the recipe. The macarons are great and you could play around with so many different fillings. I am excited to try again!

    PEGGY, haha. I wish I could do that with many different things I see on blogs these days… Come on ppl. Invent that technology already!

    Reply
  • 23. hornedfroggy  |  September 16, 2008 at 9:49 am

    These are BEAUTIFUL, CB!! :)

    Reply
  • 24. Vibi  |  September 16, 2008 at 10:53 am

    You deserve all my admiration Clara!
    Macarons are known to be pretty hard to succeed at… and you got it right on the button!
    Congratulations are really, really, really in order!
    What a great job! …now you know you can face any and every challenge!!!

    Reply
  • 25. CB  |  September 16, 2008 at 11:00 am

    HORNEDFROGGY, thank you! I am sorry I have to rub my knuckles on this one. I am uber proud!

    VIBI, aawwww stop stop. You’re making blush! I can’t tell you how excited I was when I opened the oven and saw feet. I honestly was preparing myself to have flat-lumpy-feetless cookies again so I literally squealed when I saw them! I am such a dork! Thanks for the congrats. You are so sweet.

    Reply
  • 26. Mary Ann  |  September 16, 2008 at 11:19 am

    Ok, those look delicious! Don’t you love it when you have egg white or yolks left over and you have to make something like ice cream?

    Reply
  • 27. CB  |  September 16, 2008 at 11:21 am

    MARYANN, oh yeah… it totally sucks when I have to make more ice cream [sarcasm]. LOL

    Reply
  • 28. Caitlin  |  September 16, 2008 at 11:25 am

    Aaahhh! So jealous! My only macaron attempt ended with them sticking like crazy to the parchment. Yours look so nice and elegant!

    Reply
  • 29. CB  |  September 16, 2008 at 11:30 am

    CAITLIN, Ack. That brings back my bad memories of my first attempt! Try it again and use the water trick (scroll to the bottom). It works!

    Reply
  • 30. zebe912  |  September 16, 2008 at 12:00 pm

    Those look so good. Tedious however, and I can’t even imagine the pita they would be to make gluten and sugar free!

    Right now I have a taste for that blasted crack mix you made us eat at RPs! Darn you.

    Reply
  • 31. CB  |  September 16, 2008 at 12:02 pm

    ZEBE, Mega tedious and probably another reason why I wasn’t sure I’d ever try to make them again after my initial macaron flop. LOL @ crack mix comment. I told you! Its crack! Let me know if you want the recipe. I already emailed to RP. ;)

    Reply
  • 32. Melissa  |  September 16, 2008 at 1:06 pm

    Oh my goodness, those were totally worth skipping the chocolate chunkers this week. Those macarons look professional!

    Reply
  • 33. CB  |  September 16, 2008 at 1:09 pm

    MELISSA, Thanks for agreeing! I was worried I’d be stoned with chocolate for not participating in TWD this week but I have to admit that I love my macarons. They were worth every minute.

    Reply
  • 34. Laura  |  September 16, 2008 at 1:27 pm

    These look awesome, but still not worth ditching the chunkers for;) They were fan-freaking-tastic.

    Reply
  • 35. CB  |  September 16, 2008 at 1:28 pm

    LAURA, I beg to differ! Macarons rule! Chunkers drool. HAHA.

    Reply
  • 36. The Blond Duck  |  September 16, 2008 at 1:59 pm

    Those macaroons look divine! Your husband is a lucky man! And I love the Bunny Mundays!

    Reply
  • 37. CB  |  September 16, 2008 at 2:04 pm

    DUCK, pardon my informality calling you just “duck”. I hope you don’t mind… Thanks for macaron and Bunday Monday compliments! I have to admit I had a pretty darn good blogging week :)

    Reply
  • 38. Anne  |  September 16, 2008 at 5:30 pm

    Wow, they look perfect! It’s always so satisfying to tackle something that was problematic earlier. Great job!

    Reply
  • 39. CB  |  September 16, 2008 at 6:05 pm

    ANNE, Hurray! I live for perfect. haha.

    Reply
  • 40. Erin  |  September 16, 2008 at 6:58 pm

    Feel free to skip every week if you’re going to come up with stunners like these. Yum!

    Reply
  • 41. CB  |  September 16, 2008 at 7:16 pm

    ERIN, LOL. Awesome. I’ll keep that in mind when I am thinking of skipping again. I better make sure I have a backup plan huh? ;)

    Reply
  • 42. Marthe  |  September 17, 2008 at 4:39 am

    Your macarons look delicious!! I am not confident enough in my baking to try and make these yet….

    Reply
  • 43. CB  |  September 17, 2008 at 6:57 am

    MARTHE, thanks for compliments! I hope you try to make them soon. I think they are a little complicated but I know I did better the 2nd time making them so it just takes a little practice. I am sure you could do it too!

    Reply
  • 44. Sophie  |  September 17, 2008 at 7:28 am

    We would like to feature your adapted macarons on our blog. Please email sophiekiblogger@gmail.com if interested. Thanks :)

    You can view our blog here:
    blog.keyingredient.com/

    Reply
  • 45. CB  |  September 17, 2008 at 7:44 am

    SOPHIE, Thanks for asking! I am so flattered. Please feel free to feature (say that 10x fast!)

    Reply
  • 46. Heather Peskin  |  September 17, 2008 at 9:16 am

    I won’t be cross with you for not doing Chunkers this week – these macarons are superb, with excellent instructions and follow-along pics. I’m still trying to pluck up the courage to try macarons.

    Reply
  • 47. CB  |  September 17, 2008 at 9:21 am

    HEATHER, whew! thank you. I don’t like when ppl are mad at me ;) Pluck up the courage, girl! You’d be surprised at what you think you can’t do…

    Reply
  • 48. pamela  |  September 17, 2008 at 10:47 am

    Just wanted to add to the tons of accolades you’ve already received. They look really amazing! And I think your idea for Holiday ones is brilliant.

    Reply
  • 49. CB  |  September 17, 2008 at 10:54 am

    PAMELA, you’re so sweet. I definitely won’t shoot down any accolades. Its good for my ego. HAHA.

    Reply
  • 50. Erin  |  September 17, 2008 at 6:13 pm

    Those look so beautiful and delicious!

    Reply
  • 51. Elizabeth - Cake or Death?  |  September 17, 2008 at 6:27 pm

    Gorgeous! Those are some picture-perfect macarons. I had the same reaction when I first made them–feet! Feet! I got feet! My husband thought I was insane, but who cares? Feet!

    Reply
  • 52. CB  |  September 17, 2008 at 10:26 pm

    ERIN, Thanks E!

    ELIZABETH, Thats hilarious! You totally get my feet excitement then. Dare I say I have a feet fetish?? HAHA.

    Reply
  • 53. Jaime  |  September 19, 2008 at 9:49 pm

    wow!!! i am so impressed you made macarons! they intimidate me :( oh and next time you can just freeze the egg whites… http://www.goodeatsblog.com/2008/08/burnt-sugar-ice-cream-and-how-to-freeze.html

    big congrats!!!

    Reply
  • 54. CB  |  September 20, 2008 at 6:54 am

    JAIME, Oh girl. If I can do it you can do it! Trust me. Great tip about freezing egg whites. I’ll have to remember that for next time!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Thank You Sponsors!

Copyright

MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

Creative Commons License
Photos, Original Recipes & Text ©iheartfood4thought 2007-2009 unless otherwise indicated. All rights reserved. If you repost any material from this blog, please give credit by including a link back to me. Thank you!

Hits since Dec 2007

  • 230,525 dirty dishes

Tweet Tweet

Badge designed by SiahDesigns

Click the banners

Current reading


The Best Casserole Cookbook Ever by Beatrice Ojakangas

website counter


