Raspberry Mascarpone Ice Cream

September 14, 2008 at 8:34 am 19 comments

I am addicted to infomercials.

I currently own the pasta express, ab slide, aerobed, bellydancing DVD, ab rocker, thighmaster, one touch can opener, snap hooks, smart scissors, the clapper, the shred ender, and many more… Please tell me I am not the only one??

I always find myself watching these shows and when they ask you… “Wouldn’t you like to try this in your own home?”, I find myself nodding enthusiastically, eyes glossy and reaching for my wallet. (It really is an addiction!)

But it’s not my fault. Its the TV’s fault!

Along with my infomercial addiction I am also brainwashed by food network personalities to try their beloved ingredients. One of my favorite food TV stars is Giadia De Laurentiis. If you watch her enough you’ll notice that she loves her pancetta and mascarpone cheese. (I say it in my head the way she does, with her Italian accent.)

So that being said… I found myself staring at 3 tubs of mascarpone cheese in my refrigerator on Tuesday afternoon. But I wasn’t in the mood for something savory. I wanted something sweet.

After trolling around the foodie blogosphere I found what I was looking for.

A quick look at the ingredients and the only thing I was missing were raspberries. I jumped in my car and raided my local grocery store produce section for raspberries (well to be honest, I told T to go get some for me) and hurried back to start my ice cream project.

There’s just something about homemade ice cream. I am not usually an ice cream person but homemade is just better. I have to admit that this recipe takes alot of time and ALOT of bowls/equipment. I was doing dishes for hours after I finished.

Was it worth it? (Read my review at the end.)

PS. I provided the link to the original blog. Definitely check it out. The process pictures are fabulous!


(Recipe from Chocolate Gourmand | photos from me!)

Makes about 2 quarts

INGREDIENTS

1 cup whole milk
3 egg yolks
1-1/4 cup sugar, divided
3 pints fresh raspberries
8 ounces mascarpone cheese
1/4 cup Grand Marnier
1 cup heavy whipping cream

INSTRUCTIONS

Heat the milk over medium heat until simmering, stirring frequently. Remove from heat.

Beat the egg yolks and 1/2 cup of sugar until well blended and color turns to light yellow. Continue whisking the egg mixture while slowly pouring in the hot milk. Return to saucepan and heat over medium heat, stirring constantly until temperature reaches about 165° F.


Remove from heat and pour through sieve or chinois. Place in ice bath to cool. Once the mixture is no longer hot you can add the mascarpone cheese. To ensure even mixing you can return the mixture to a mixer and beat until smooth. Return mixture to ice bath to continue cooling.


Rinse the raspberries and dry on a paper towel, removing any leaves or discolored raspberries as needed. Place raspberries in a blender with 3/4 cup of sugar. Pureé well and pour into chinois or sieve to filter out raspberry seeds.

Pour the raspberry puree into the ice cream base, add 1/4 cup of Grand Marnier and blend well with a whisk. Beat the 1 cup of cream just until it is no longer runny and add this to the ice cream base, mixing in thoroughly. Continue to chill in the ice bath until about 45° F. Freeze according to your ice cream maker’s instructions.


Transfer to a dedicated, odor-free container to let ripen in the freezer for several hours or overnight.

ENJOY!

Husband rating: A+
He is usually a chocolate and pb ice cream eater but he liked how smooth and fresh this ice cream tasted.

Wifey rating: A+
I am not an ice cream person (I prefer cupcakes, cheesecake) but I love how the combination of sweet and tart from the raspberries and mascarpone complimented each other. I won’t tell you how many scoops I had!

Other rating: A+
I brought the ice cream over to T’s parents for dessert and they both loved it. They really liked how fresh it tasted and T’s dad had 3 bowls!

Entry filed under: dessert. Tags: , , .

Sugar Snap Pea Penne Cooking Light Night

19 Comments Add your own

  • 1. food librarian  |  September 14, 2008 at 8:51 am

    ha ha ha! do you have the set it and forget it cooker? or the rocket? those are the infomercials i remember.

    great step by step photos. what a lovely color for ice cream too!

    Reply
  • 2. CB  |  September 14, 2008 at 8:53 am

    FOODLIBRARIAN, Omg. I totally wanted that!! Set it and forget it! but T put his foot down on spending $200 for a huge kitchen appliance that we’d probably never use b/c we don’t need to feed an army. Its just me and him. Darn him. Getting in the way of my addiction!

    Reply
  • 3. Tanya  |  September 14, 2008 at 11:29 am

    Oooh, yum! Raspberry and mascarpone – this sounds heavenly! Just the mention of mascarpone makes me want to buy an ice cream maker this second.

    I know what you mean about infomercials. I never buy anything, but when I see one on TV, I tell my husband I need one of whatever it is NOW! The last thing I wanted was the Swivel Sweeper.

    Reply
  • 4. CB  |  September 14, 2008 at 11:46 am

    TANYA, I think you should put ice cream maker on your xmas list! ::wink:: oohhh yeah I like the swivel sweeper too but T said we already have a swifter… like thats the same thing? He’s totally clueless! sheesh! haha.

    Reply
  • 5. mari  |  September 14, 2008 at 3:13 pm

    OMG, I am such an ice cream person, and ever since I bought an ice cream maker, my addiction has only worsened! I’m adding this recipe to my list, it looks delicious!

    Reply
  • 6. CB  |  September 14, 2008 at 3:20 pm

    MARI, You’re an ice cream lover? oh you must try this recipe then! If you do, let me know what you think!

    Reply
  • 7. Mary Ann  |  September 14, 2008 at 3:58 pm

    That looks and sound so good, I can’t even stand it!

    Reply
  • 8. CB  |  September 14, 2008 at 4:46 pm

    MARYANN, HAHA. That pretty much describe how I felt taking my first bite. YUM!

    Reply
  • 9. brian  |  September 14, 2008 at 6:29 pm

    Glad you liked it! I’m still amazed when people make things on my blog (and even more relieved when it turns out well). I know that, being a food blogger, that doesn’t make sense, but I’m nevertheless always caught off guard.

    I just formulated this recipe a couple weeks ago so even more thrilled it was a hit outside my own house/circle of tasters.

    -Brian

    Reply
  • 10. CB  |  September 14, 2008 at 6:52 pm

    BRIAN, hi there! Thanks for stopping by. I totally understand what you mean about making up a recipe and hoping that it turns out! This recipe was definitely a hit!

    Reply
  • 11. Suze  |  September 15, 2008 at 7:59 am

    homemade IS so much better. I love it.
    We were thisclose to naming our baby Giada, instead of Madelyn. But we worried she’d have to pronounce her name for everyone her entire life.
    I’m addicted to infomercials (we have the Jack Lalanne Power Juicer..it’s awesome) and QVC. ha!

    Reply
  • 12. CB  |  September 15, 2008 at 8:20 am

    SUZE, I love the name Madelyn. Do you call her Maddie for short? Omg I totally want the power juicer. HAHA!

    Reply
  • 13. Suze  |  September 15, 2008 at 12:01 pm

    yup..she’s a Maddie! The Power Juicer..seriously…so cool! You can drop an apple in whole! awesome! ha!!

    Reply
  • 14. CB  |  September 15, 2008 at 1:37 pm

    SUZE, See?!? Anything that juice a whole apple is worth it in my book! LOL

    Reply
  • 15. macduff  |  September 16, 2008 at 9:29 am

    Oh my god, I just read this and just started SHAKING!!!!! I am so happy to see someone else has the same addiction to infomercials. I literally wake up late at night and go watch them. My favorite is the Jack LaLanne Juicer and the Magic Bullet. I want that guacamole. And have you seen that ballet workout thing? WANT THAT.

    Reply
  • 16. CB  |  September 16, 2008 at 9:33 am

    MACDUFF, W00t! We are so infomerical twins! I’ve seen the ballet workout thing too. My friend has it and I did a couple of the video. It totally makes you sore but its so freaking big that my small apt wouldn’t have room for it. I am sure it works if you use it all the time but something that big and bulky would stay shoved on my balcony or under my bed so I am over that one. Now the Magic Bullet… that is on my xmas wish list!

    Reply
  • 17. Susan  |  December 14, 2008 at 10:56 am

    I just made this recipe and it’s delicious. I first ate mascarpone gelato in Buenos Aires (where they are famous for their gelatos) and have been trying to replicate it ever since. I skipped the Grand Marnier and infused the milk with lemon peel instead and used the raspberry sauce as a swirl instead of mixing it in homogeneously. I love how creamy and rich but light this ice cream is. Are rich and light contradictions?

    Reply
  • 18. CB  |  December 14, 2008 at 2:14 pm

    SUSAN, ooohhhh I love all your changes. Sounds delish. I totally understand rich and light. HAHA

    Reply
  • 19. masooma  |  January 2, 2010 at 9:07 pm

    allloooo i luv that ummmm

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Thank You Sponsors!

Copyright

MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

Creative Commons License
Photos, Original Recipes & Text ©iheartfood4thought 2007-2009 unless otherwise indicated. All rights reserved. If you repost any material from this blog, please give credit by including a link back to me. Thank you!

Hits since Dec 2007

  • 230,875 dirty dishes

Tweet Tweet

Badge designed by SiahDesigns

Click the banners

Current reading


The Best Casserole Cookbook Ever by Beatrice Ojakangas

website counter


