Sugar Snap Pea Penne

September 11, 2008 at 7:29 pm 2 comments

I am a bad wifey.

This week I had “go to grocery store” on my to-do list but its 4 hours before Friday and that is yet to be checked off ::hangs head:: so this afternoon when I started thinking about dinner, I had no ideas. Before I started dialing Pizza Hut I mentally pictured my frig, pantry and cupboard for some inspiration. All the sudden I remembered…

Sugar Snap Peas!

I remember buying a 2lb bag from Costco last weekend and set off to search the internet for a sugar snap pea inspired dish. I am in love with food blog search to find recipes lately. I just type in an ingredient and it spits out all different recipes from all over the blogosphere. I’ve found some great blogs to add to my GR that way.

Ok ready for dinner?


Excuse the crappy lighting… I live in a cave.
(Recipe from Love & Olive Oil | photos from me!)

INGREDIENTS

1 lb sugar snap peas, trimmed and strings discarded
1 lb penne
1 medium garlic clove, minced to a paste with 1/2 teaspoon salt (I used 2 cloves)
4 tbsp extra-virgin olive oil, divided
1/2 cup finely grated Parmigiano-Reggiano
1 cup cherry tomatoes, quartered

INSTRUCTIONS

Cook sugar snaps in an 8-quart pot of boiling salted water 2 minutes, then transfer 1 cup sugar snaps to a colander and rinse under cold water to stop cooking. Transfer cooled sugar snaps to a cutting board. Cook sugar snaps remaining in pot until tender, about 2-1/2 minutes more, then transfer with a slotted spoon to a bowl. Measure out and save 1 cup cooking water, reserving remaining water in pot.

Return cooking water in pot to a boil and cook pasta until al dente, then drain in colander. While pasta is cooking, cut 1 cup sugar snaps (on cutting board) crosswise into 1/2-inch pieces. Purée half of sugar snaps from bowl, half of garlic paste, 2 tablespoons oil, 1/4 cup cheese, and 1/4 cup saved cooking water in a blender (use caution when blending hot liquids), then force purée with a rubber spatula through a medium-mesh sieve into a large bowl. Purée another batch in same manner, forcing through sieve into bowl, and add cut sugar snaps.

Toss hot pasta with sugar snap sauce and, if necessary, enough of remaining 1/2 cup saved cooking water to thin sauce to desired consistency, then season pasta with salt and pepper.

[NOTES: I didn’t add any extra pasta water b/c my sauce was thin enough.]

ENJOY!

Husband rating: A/A+
He liked the crunch from the sugar snap peas and the cherry tomatoes added a nice sweetness but he urged me to add some chicken next time. That still didn’t stop him from eating 2 servings though.

Wifey rating: A+
I should have doubled the recipe b/c I wanted more! The crunch of the sugar snap peas was great and I loved the tomatoes even though I am not a big tomato fan. Definitely will make again… soon.

Entry filed under: pasta. Tags: , .

Foodie Question of the Day Raspberry Mascarpone Ice Cream

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Suze  |  September 12, 2008 at 9:13 am

    that looks really good..and really healthy! way to go!!

    Reply
  • 2. CB  |  September 12, 2008 at 10:55 am

    SUZE, I’d say its healthy but whenever I do nutritional values on things I am always surprised. I’d rather not know and enjoy! haha.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Thank You Sponsors!

Copyright

MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

Creative Commons License
Photos, Original Recipes & Text ©iheartfood4thought 2007-2009 unless otherwise indicated. All rights reserved. If you repost any material from this blog, please give credit by including a link back to me. Thank you!

Hits since Dec 2007

  • 231,099 dirty dishes

Tweet Tweet

Badge designed by SiahDesigns

Click the banners

Current reading


The Best Casserole Cookbook Ever by Beatrice Ojakangas

website counter


