TWD #29: W is for Whopper

September 9, 2008 at 12:14 am 37 comments

I think these past few weeks, all 250+ Tuesdays with Dorie-nators have been overrun with cookies. (I don’t hear anyone complaining though!) We did granola, chunky peanut butter and now whopper. I have a feeling Cookie Monster wouldn’t mind either. That puppet loves his cookies. Nom nom nom…

Of all the cookie recipes so far, I was particularly excited about this one. I always find myself in the candy aisle during every grocery store excursion. Something about seeing all the shelves of candy that makes me happy. I wouldn’t say whoppers are my favorite candy but the last few times I’ve been to the grocery store I noticed the strawberry milkshake whoppers. I admit I’ve even put them in my grocery cart a couple times, but get candy remorse as I approach the checkout counter b/c I really didn’t need a big box of strawberry whoppers so they go back on the shelf … until now! Rock on. This time I had an excuse AND its legit! Its for Dorie.

This week’s cookie is hosted by my good friend, Rachel from Confessions of a Tangerine Tart. You can find the original recipe on her blog. Definitely go check out her blog and say HI! She’s a CW like me. She’ll love the extra attention! Who wouldn’t, right? LOL

What I learned this week:
Even the best authors/bakers can make a mistake. The oven temperature was left out of this recipe but some resourceful TWDers confirmed with Dorie that it should bake at 350F. It reminds me that Dorie is human like me and that makes me love her even more!

Chocolate Malted Whopper Drops


(Recipe from Dorie Greenspan’s BFMHTY | photos from me!)

makes 30 cookies

INGREDIENTS

AP flour
malted milk powder (I used chocolate ovaltine)
unsweetened cocoa powder
baking powder
salt
unsalted butter
sugar
eggs
vanilla extract
whole milk (I used half and half instead)
whoppers (I used strawberry milkshake whoppers)
bittersweet chocolate

INSTRUCTIONS

Preheat oven 350F.

Sift together all the dry ingredients and set aside.

Using a flat beater, cream the sugar and butter. Add the eggs one at a time until well combined. Beat in vanilla. Add the dry ingredients a little at a time until batter resembled fudge frosting consistency.


Turn off mixer and fold in the chocolate chips and whoppers with a spatula.

Spoon about 1 tablespoon+ of cookie dough onto a baking sheet. Bake for 11-13 minutes. Repeat with remaining dough.

ENJOY! :)

Husband rating: B+
He liked it but wasn’t a fan of the caramelized whoppers b/c it hurt his teeth/jaw to chew.

Wifey rating: B
I may get stoned for saying this but these cookies was TOO chocolate-y for me. Maybe next time I’ll use regular malted milk powder instead of chocolate to cut it down a little. The caramelized whoppers were hard to chew but thats kinda my fault b/c I didn’t read the recipe very closely and forgot to cut them in 1/2. Ooops!

Other rating: B+
I brought the cookies over to T’s family Labor Day party and they pretty much ditto hubs.

Next week: Chocolate Chunkers page 70

Entry filed under: Tuesdays With Dorie. Tags: , , .

Bunday Monday Foodie Question of the Day

37 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Lori  |  September 9, 2008 at 2:43 am

    i’m curious about the strawberry part of the cookie – wonder if you could really taste it? your cookies turned out beautifully!

    Reply
  • 2. Mike  |  September 9, 2008 at 4:52 am

    Ahhh, these look so chocolatey. I was afraid to use choco malt powder for that very reason, so I bought regular. They look gorgeous and I bet they taste great too in all their chocolatitude.

    Reply
  • 3. food librarian  |  September 9, 2008 at 5:39 am

    These cookies look great! I’m going to look for the strawberry whoppers!

    Reply
  • 4. Rachel  |  September 9, 2008 at 6:29 am

    Hmm, interesting substitutions. You always suprise me with your creativity! THANKS for making my recipe and for the awesome shout out. xoxo

    Reply
  • 5. Liliana  |  September 9, 2008 at 6:58 am

    I couldn’t find the oven temperature either. I even had my daughter look over the recipe to make sure I didn’t miss it. I ended up baking the cookies at 375 degrees.

    Your cookies look wonderful. Different twist with strawberry whoppers!

    Reply
  • 6. Ulrike  |  September 9, 2008 at 7:21 am

    Your cookies look great. I only got Maltesers, chocolate coated, so no chance for substitutions

    Reply
  • 7. chocolatechic  |  September 9, 2008 at 7:40 am

    We didn’t think there was enough malt flavor in the final product.

    Did you taste the strawberry flavor, or was it overwhelmed by chocolate?

    Reply
  • 8. kim  |  September 9, 2008 at 8:56 am

    the strawberry whoppers sound good, i’ve never seen those but i’ll have to keep an eye out! love having an excuse to buy candy ;)

    Reply
  • 9. rainbowbrown  |  September 9, 2008 at 9:17 am

    I’m happy to hear that you left the candy in the cart this time. I bet that was a little thrill.

    Reply
  • 10. Rebecca  |  September 9, 2008 at 9:29 am

    It’s always fun to tiptoe down the candy aisle. I love to look at everything, even though I rarely buy it. Like going to the Hustler store. ;)

    Reply
  • 11. Susan  |  September 9, 2008 at 9:46 am

    You are right – probably too chocolatey using the Ovaltine. But they look good, right?

    Reply
  • 12. Teanna  |  September 9, 2008 at 10:05 am

    Strawberry Milkshake Whoppers?! Where did you find those?!

    Reply
  • 13. Megan  |  September 9, 2008 at 10:17 am

    Your pictures are beautiful – but I feel the same way about the cookies. I wouldn’t make them again –

    Reply
  • 14. Caitlin  |  September 9, 2008 at 10:53 am

    Wow, you used whole malted milk balls? Yowzah! And hasn’t cookie monster started saying that “cookies are a sometimes food?” Traitor.

    Reply
  • 15. LyB  |  September 9, 2008 at 10:56 am

    I used this week’s recipe as an excuse to get both Whoppers AND Maltesers, you know, for comparison’s sake. lol! Your cookies look delicious, I’ve never seen those strawberry Whoppers, I’m intrigued. :)

    Reply
  • 16. Nancy (n.o.e.)  |  September 9, 2008 at 11:58 am

    I agree about the too chocolate-y part. I used chocolate ovaltine and special dark cocoa powder. Yipes. They were really good frozen though.

    Reply
  • 17. Donna  |  September 9, 2008 at 1:32 pm

    I saw the strawberry whoppers at the store and was tempted too. But I bought the peanut butter ones instead! I used half & half too cause I didn’t have any milk. Your cookies look awesome even though they were a bit too chocolaty for your liking!

    Reply
  • 18. Hannah  |  September 9, 2008 at 2:00 pm

    Glad you liked them!

    Reply
  • 19. Christine  |  September 9, 2008 at 3:28 pm

    Gotta love the candy aisle, always love when I find something from when I was “younger” or something new! Your cookies look delicious!

    Reply
  • 20. Erin  |  September 9, 2008 at 3:53 pm

    Your pictures are so good lookin’ that I feel like making them again tonight.

    Reply
  • 21. HoneyB  |  September 9, 2008 at 3:54 pm

    I love that they make the different flavored whoppers! Makes for an interesting cookie!

    Reply
  • 22. steph (whisk/spoon)  |  September 9, 2008 at 4:15 pm

    pretty pink whoppers! i also spend a lot of time staring at the candy aisle, but rarely buying.

    Reply
  • 23. Heather B  |  September 9, 2008 at 4:37 pm

    I’ve been wanting to try the strawberry milkshake whoppers! I bet they are delicious in these!

    Reply
  • 24. Holly @ PheMOMenon  |  September 9, 2008 at 4:43 pm

    I want to try those strawberry milkshake whoppers soon too! Your cookies look great! I went the Ovaltine route too.

    Reply
  • 25. Tammy  |  September 9, 2008 at 5:31 pm

    gosh, i didnt realise there were different flavoured whoppers (in fact i didnt even know what a whopper was until i got this book!)

    Reply
  • 26. Shari  |  September 9, 2008 at 6:55 pm

    I haven’t seen the strawberry kind here! I’ll have to look for them! They look so good.

    Reply
  • 27. Judy (Judy's Gross Eats)  |  September 9, 2008 at 9:20 pm

    Could you taste the strawberry flavor in the cookies, or did the chocolate overpower it? I may have to experiment with different flavors of candy.

    Reply
  • 28. Kelly D  |  September 9, 2008 at 9:41 pm

    Well, you can’t love them all. I have been tempted by those strawberry whoppers as well.

    Reply
  • 29. mari  |  September 10, 2008 at 3:02 am

    I didn’t think I’d LOVE these cookies as much as I did, especially as I consider myself a ambivalent about chocolate; but oh I was wrong. LUVED UM!

    Reply
  • 30. Anne  |  September 10, 2008 at 7:27 am

    Good idea to use the strawberry whoppers! I agree about the end result but they were fun to make. Your bunny is adorable, too!

    Reply
  • 31. Mary Ann  |  September 10, 2008 at 7:45 am

    After reading some of the comments, I decided to go with the plain malted milk powder and I still thought these were extra chocolately! I like that you used the strawberry whoppers, makes for an interesting cookie!

    Reply
  • 32. Vibi  |  September 10, 2008 at 9:06 am

    Great pictures, great cookies! …you’re lucky – I can’t find those Whoppers anymore! Boy were they good!
    Great job!

    Reply
  • 33. nickki  |  September 10, 2008 at 10:46 am

    Lovely looking cookies! I didn’t even know you could get strawberry flavoured whoppers! We can only get the normal ones and white chocolate here in Britain.

    Love the fact you mentioned the cookie monster! I love him!

    Reply
  • 34. pamela  |  September 10, 2008 at 10:52 am

    Those pink whoppers are neat, and I never knew they existed before people started posting about them. The cookies looked great, though.

    Reply
  • 35. Heather Peskin  |  September 10, 2008 at 5:40 pm

    Lovely plump looking Whoppers. Mine were quite flat. Yes, my goodness, we have to taste and eat before we serve our bakes to others, sometimes we need to eat a lot beofre being absolutely sure!

    Reply
  • 36. Sugar Betty  |  September 10, 2008 at 9:30 pm

    Did you chop up the Whoppers or you left them whole? I chopped mine into 1/4s and it was perfect. This was my favorite cookie recipe so far. I can’t seem to get enough! I have to check out those strawberry Whoppers next time. Good job, my friend. :)

    Reply
  • 37. Jaime  |  September 12, 2008 at 8:21 pm

    mmm strawberry whoppers. they look great. i actually made them again today and they are not good w/the whoppers cut in half…they need to be smaller pieces…i can see why your DH would say they were too chewy!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Thank You Sponsors!

Copyright

MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

Creative Commons License
Photos, Original Recipes & Text ©iheartfood4thought 2007-2009 unless otherwise indicated. All rights reserved. If you repost any material from this blog, please give credit by including a link back to me. Thank you!

Hits since Dec 2007

  • 231,073 dirty dishes

Tweet Tweet

Badge designed by SiahDesigns

Click the banners

Current reading


The Best Casserole Cookbook Ever by Beatrice Ojakangas

website counter


