Thursday With Dorie (Rewind)

September 4, 2008 at 11:35 am 11 comments

Thursday with Dorie?

Yeah. I know. I know. Its suppose to be Tuesdays with Dorie but I was swamped with other baking obligations last Tuesday. I couldn’t stop drooling after seeing all the other Dorie-nators’ tortes on my GoogleReader though so I knew I’d have to make time for it as soon as I could. That day was Wednesday.

I’ve been dying to use my cute little 4inch springform pan for a while now. Isn’t everything cuter in mini sizes? So I decided to half the recipe and thats how I wrote the recipe up. You can find the original recipe on Amy from Family, Food and Fun‘s blog.

I would have posted yesterday but of course I didn’t read the full instructions until I was actually making it and smacked myself on the head when I read “freeze for at least 6 hours”. Well crap. So I satiated my dessert bug by eating some of the vanilla bean ice cream while I waited. I guess there are worst situations, no? LOL.

What I learned this week:
Read the whole recipe before making dessert plans.

Chocolate Banded Ice Cream Torte


(Recipe from Dorie Greenspan’s BFMHTY | photos from me!)

INGREDIENTS

7 tbsp unsalted butter, cut in small pieces
4-1/2 oz bittersweet chocolate, coarsely chopped (I used ghiradelli semi-sweet)
1/4 cup sugar
4 large eggs
5 oz frozen raspberries in syrup, thawed
1/2 tbsp chambord
1/2 quart vanilla ice cream (I used dreyers vanilla bean)

[NOTES: I had alot of chocolate mixture and ice cream leftover. I probably could have quartered the original recipe but I figured I’d half to be safe.]

INSTRUCTIONS

Lightly spray a 4 inch springform pan.

Put butter and chocolate in a heatproof bowl [I think metal works the best], set over simmering water. Stir occasionally until melted. Remove from heat and add sugar. Whisk to combine and let cool for 5 minutes. Whisk the eggs, one at a time, into chocolate mixture. Rap the bowl against the counter to release air bubbles.


Pour 1/3 of the chocolate mixture into the springform pan. Freeze for at least 30 minutes to set. Cover remaining chocolate mixture with plastic wrap against the surface and keep on counter.

When first layer of chocolate mixture is set, start making the raspberry ice cream.

Puree raspberry+syrup in a food processor. Add chambord and pulse to incorporate. Spoon the ice cream in the processor and pulse until blended. Do not process too long or ice cream will melt.

Spread 1/2 the ice cream layer on top of the chocolate mixture and freeze for 15 minutes [I froze each layer for 30 minutes]. Reserve remaining ice cream in a bowl and freeze until ready for next ice cream layer. You can use your food processor to soften ice cream if you need to.

After raspberry ice cream layer is set, repeat with chocolate mixture. Freeze for 30 minutes. After chocolate mixture set, scoop raspberry ice cream layer. Freeze for 15 minutes. After raspberry ice cream layer set, pour in chocolate mixture and freeze for 6 hours before serving. [I froze overnight]

ENJOY! :)

Husband rating: N/A

Wifey rating: A+
Wow. This dessert is worth the wait! The ganache and raspberry ice cream are SO good together. I couldn’t stop eating!

Entry filed under: Tuesdays With Dorie, Uncategorized. Tags: , .

Foodie Question of the Day NFR: Reflect Bracelet Giveaway WINNER!

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. slush  |  September 4, 2008 at 1:11 pm

    Looks perfect CB! Fabulous job!

    Reply
  • 2. Vibi  |  September 4, 2008 at 2:47 pm

    Wow, I’m floored!

    Reply
  • 3. uglydudefood  |  September 4, 2008 at 3:40 pm

    I agree–soooo good! I’m glad you got a chance to go back and try it. I got lucky–most of my family dislikes raspberries, so…oops, looks like I had to finish it off.

    Reply
  • 4. alan  |  September 4, 2008 at 4:30 pm

    you shoulda made this when i was over =[

    Reply
  • 5. Di  |  September 4, 2008 at 5:46 pm

    Nice job! I enjoyed mine, but I do want to try it again with raspberry.

    Reply
  • 6. JacqueOH  |  September 4, 2008 at 6:44 pm

    Oooh, your photos are always so nice and clear… and not cluttered in the progress shots. You deserve some sort of award for clutter free baking, lol.

    Your pan is adorable and so is your torte. Nice job!

    Reply
  • 7. Rachel  |  September 4, 2008 at 7:39 pm

    I missed this one last week and hope to make this for a certain slumber party this weekend. ;)

    Reply
  • 8. Erin  |  September 5, 2008 at 8:52 am

    It looks so pretty and delicious! Glad you got to make it finally! :)

    Reply
  • 9. Jaime  |  September 6, 2008 at 8:12 pm

    love your mini! :)

    Reply
  • 10. Carrie of CKC  |  September 8, 2008 at 7:12 am

    I’m torn between making this and the devils food white out cake for my sister’s birthday party this weekend… Looks amazing!!!

    Reply
  • 11. Barbara  |  September 8, 2008 at 12:04 pm

    Glad you liked it! You’re right, for a 4″ pan you should have used 1/4 the recipe — for half the recipe, it would have been a 6 or 7 inch pan. I’ll have to try it with raspberry sometime!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Thank You Sponsors!

Copyright

MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

Creative Commons License
Photos, Original Recipes & Text ©iheartfood4thought 2007-2009 unless otherwise indicated. All rights reserved. If you repost any material from this blog, please give credit by including a link back to me. Thank you!

Hits since Dec 2007

  • 230,332 dirty dishes

Tweet Tweet

Badge designed by SiahDesigns

Click the banners

Current reading


The Best Casserole Cookbook Ever by Beatrice Ojakangas

website counter


