TWD #28: “A balanced diet is a cookie in each hand”

September 2, 2008 at 8:12 am 32 comments

Get it? Balanced?

Because if you have a cookie in each hand, you’re like a scale and holding both cookies keeps you balanced. *snort* I get jokes. Ok… maybe I didn’t get it at first and my husband had to explain it to me but I get it now. I think I just lost some cool points by admitting that huh?

You probably guessed by now that this week’s Tuesdays with Dorie-nators are baking up some cookies! I don’t claim to be a cookie person. I think I am too impatient for cookies. Making each individual cookie – scooping the dough, rolling the ball, space it evenly out on the cooking sheet – makes me tired just thinking about it. But I have to admit lately I am coming around to the cookie side. I still decided to half the recipe to preserve my dwindling butter supply and thats how I wrote it up below. You can find the original recipe on Stefany from Proceed With Caution‘s blog.

What I learned this week:
I am in love with my silicone baking mat (even though its a Silpat copycat).

Chunky Peanut Butter and Oatmeal Chocolate Chipsters


(Recipe from Dorie Greenspan’s BFMHTY | photos from me!)

Makes about 30 cookies

INGREDIENTS
1-1/2 cups old fashion oats (I used Quaker Oats)
1/2 cup AP flour
1/2 tsp baking soda
1 tsp ground cinnamon
1/8 tsp nutmeg
1/8 tsp salt
1 stick unsalted butter
1/2 cup peanut butter (I used Jif smooth)
1/2 cup sugar
1/2 cup light brown sugar
1 large egg
1/2 tsp vanilla extract
3/4 cups bittersweet chocolate chips

INSTRUCTIONS

Combine oats, flour, baking soda, cinnamon, nutmeg and salt together. Set aside.

In a stand mixer fitted with flat beater, beat butter, sugars, peanut butter until creamy. Add eggs, then beat in vanilla extract. Slowly add in dry ingredients. Turn off stand mixer and fold in chocolate chips. Cover and chill for 2 hours or up to 1 day.


Preheat oven to 350F.

Scoop dough with tablespoon. Put them 2 inches apart on a baking sheet fitted with silicone mat. Flatten balls of dough with palm of your hand.


Bake for 13-15 minutes until golden. Repeat with remaining dough.

ENJOY! :)

Husband rating: A
Dorie said the magic words – peanut butter – so T was sold before I even made the cookies. He’s not a huge fan of oatmeal cookies but he really like these ones.

Wifey rating: A-
I am not a big oatmeal cookie fan either. If I make these cookies again I’ll probably add more peanut butter or maybe try chunky next time b/c I could barely taste it in these cookies.

Other rating: A
I brought these cookies to T’s family Labor Day party and everyone liked them. They all agreed with me that they could barely taste the peanut butter though. But it was definitely one of the few desserts at the party that went quickly!

Next week: Chocolate Whopper Malted Drops on page 85

Entry filed under: Tuesdays With Dorie. Tags: .

Bunday Monday Foodie Question of the Day

32 Comments Add your own

  • 1. rainbowbrown  |  September 1, 2008 at 10:03 pm

    I got it! It was funny. Yay.
    Nice cookies you got there.

    Reply
  • 2. Nancy (n.o.e.)  |  September 1, 2008 at 10:21 pm

    Love the step by step photos! My husband is a BIG oatmeal cookie fan, and these were too peanutty for him. But then again, I boosted the peanut content, perhaps too much. I agree with you – baking mats rock.

    Reply
  • 3. Rachel  |  September 1, 2008 at 10:49 pm

    Great job! I’m glad everyone liked them and you didn’t leave out the oats…like before.
    PS you crack me up.

    Reply
  • 4. uglydudefood  |  September 2, 2008 at 4:44 am

    A balanced diet is a cookie in each hand–sounds like an ancient proverb! I barely tasted the peanut butter either. In fact, I barely tasted the oatmeal. These tasted like vaguely nutty chocolate chip cookies to me, much to the delight of my family.

    Reply
  • 5. Lori  |  September 2, 2008 at 5:23 am

    that’s a great joke! and my kind of balanced diet, too, unless it’s a cookie in one hand and a pie in the other. we couldn’t taste the peanut butter in ours either, and i used extra chunky. still, great cookies!

    Reply
  • 6. Ulrike aka ostwestwind  |  September 2, 2008 at 5:35 am

    Wrong! A balanced diet is two cookies in each hand ;-)

    Reply
  • 7. chocolatechic  |  September 2, 2008 at 7:51 am

    I am with Ulrike. More cookies in each hand.

    Reply
  • 8. Vibi  |  September 2, 2008 at 8:16 am

    Wow, great pictures… and I agree… that’s the best balance!
    Great to be back after a month in Europe – some things stay just the same for me to find them right where I left them… Happy to read you again! Great job with those cookies!

    Reply
  • 9. Teanna  |  September 2, 2008 at 8:18 am

    Hahahaha love that joke! And your explanation of the joke! haha the cookies look great!

    Reply
  • 10. kim  |  September 2, 2008 at 8:55 am

    hehe, plus you get a workout for both arms, eating all those cookies ;) they look delicious!! i halved it also, because 60 cookies seems just a bit over the top.

    Reply
  • 11. Amy (Sing for your supper)  |  September 2, 2008 at 9:09 am

    Love the photos!! They look great!!

    Reply
  • 12. Michelle  |  September 2, 2008 at 9:19 am

    YOur step by step photos are wonderful. Im glad you all liked the cookies. They look great to me!

    Reply
  • 13. nbbride06  |  September 2, 2008 at 10:06 am

    Silpats (or copycats!) are awesome, aren’t they?!?!

    Reply
  • 14. Jessica  |  September 2, 2008 at 10:08 am

    I think these can only be eaten two at a time anyway…nice cookies!

    Reply
  • 15. hornedfroggy  |  September 2, 2008 at 10:12 am

    Love the joke. :) And the pics – looking good, CB!

    p.s. I’m reading The Host, as well – can’t wait to hear what you think!

    Reply
  • 16. macduff  |  September 2, 2008 at 11:52 am

    LOVE that joke. And I’m interested in your Silpat experience…I have been debating getting one, this may just put me overboard.

    Reply
  • 17. Mary Ann  |  September 2, 2008 at 12:35 pm

    They look amazing!

    Reply
  • 18. nickki  |  September 2, 2008 at 1:40 pm

    I must remember that – a balanced diet is a cookie in each hand – that could be my motto!

    They look really good. I have been thinking of buying myself a silicone baking mat for a while now, that does it, I’m going to get a couple tomorrow. Well, I’ll need them for making the whopper cookies, right? ;)

    Reply
  • 19. Piggy  |  September 2, 2008 at 2:32 pm

    Nice looking cookies! The sizes of the cookies are so even that they look more like factory-made than homemade. :-)

    Reply
  • 20. Tammy  |  September 2, 2008 at 2:35 pm

    they look great! I loved these cookies!

    Reply
  • 21. Susan  |  September 2, 2008 at 2:50 pm

    Aren’t you witty??:)
    Nice pix, too.
    Umm, have you seen? We are getting our arses handed to us on the IC challenge. Boo on Bakerella! Booooo!

    Reply
  • 22. Carla  |  September 2, 2008 at 3:55 pm

    If only we could use that joke at the doctor’s office when asked if we are eating a balanced diet haha Yours look great!

    Reply
  • 23. LyB  |  September 2, 2008 at 6:00 pm

    They look perfect for ice cream sandwiches. Perfectly round and all the same size. You’re a perfectionist! :) They look delicious!

    Reply
  • 24. Di  |  September 2, 2008 at 7:40 pm

    I like your joke. =) I could actually understand it, unlike most of the ones I hear from my 5yo. The peanut butter wasn’t really strong in mine, but I could definitely tell it was there. But I also left out the cinnamon.

    Reply
  • 25. Heather B  |  September 2, 2008 at 7:51 pm

    Finally someone who shares my philosophy! Great job! They look delicious!

    Reply
  • 26. AnneStrawberry  |  September 2, 2008 at 8:56 pm

    Yeah my diet is definitely not more balanced since joining TWD, but more enjoyable! They look great!

    Reply
  • 27. Jaime  |  September 2, 2008 at 9:05 pm

    so weird that you guys could barely taste the PB – my hubby could taste it and wouldn’t each these :P

    Reply
  • 28. Sugar Betty  |  September 2, 2008 at 9:19 pm

    I love your blog! Finally had some time to go through it. Your cookies came out nice. This cookie recipe is definitely a keeper. I am going to add your blog’s URL. I am a fan. Funny, we both graduated from Wilton’s Cake Decorating Class. :D

    Reply
  • 29. JacqueOH  |  September 2, 2008 at 10:31 pm

    Mmmm, yours are the perfect color… not too dark, not too light. Your pictures look fantastic!

    Reply
  • 30. Liliana  |  September 3, 2008 at 4:27 am

    Your cookies look perfect! Great photos.

    Reply
  • 31. Laura  |  September 3, 2008 at 9:49 am

    I love your tower of cookies! the barely there peanut butter was my favorite part;)

    Reply
  • 32. Elizabeth - Cake or Death?  |  September 5, 2008 at 2:20 pm

    I agree, they weren’t too peanutty. I didn’t mind the subtle PB taste, but next time I might add some PB chips or something up the peanut flavor. Yours look great!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Thank You Sponsors!

Copyright

MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

Creative Commons License
Photos, Original Recipes & Text ©iheartfood4thought 2007-2009 unless otherwise indicated. All rights reserved. If you repost any material from this blog, please give credit by including a link back to me. Thank you!

Hits since Dec 2007

  • 229,712 dirty dishes

Tweet Tweet

Badge designed by SiahDesigns

Click the banners

Current reading


The Best Casserole Cookbook Ever by Beatrice Ojakangas

website counter


