Cooking Light Night

August 27, 2008 at 9:54 pm 15 comments

At around 4pm I started realizing that I had no dinner plans and hubs was on his way home.

What to do? What to do?

As any wifey would do, I started brainstorming fast food options. HA! Just kidding.

Actually I started running around my kitchen which is hard b/c my kitchen is a shoebox pulling open my frig, my pantry, my freezer… just hoping some ingredient would pop out at me that I could magically create a dish from. Ironically my eye caught my grocery list instead. T and I constantly write down things that run out on a magnetic pad of paper on our frig. All the sudden I started laughing when I noticed that T had written “No more spinach!” on the list.

I admit it. The last few grocery excursions I bought frozen spinach regardless if it was on the list or not. I didn’t realize that we had a good amt in the freezer already. Apparently T didn’t appreciate opening the freezer the other night and having a frozen block of spinach clock him in the chin! Ooops!

*light bulb*

Time for a spinach inspired dinner.

Creamy Spinach Lasagna


(Recipe adapted Cooking Light, MARCH 2006 | photos from me!)

Makes 8 servings

* CALORIES 328(25% from fat); FAT 9.3g (sat 3.8g,mono 3.6g,poly 1.2g); IRON 3.1mg; CHOLESTEROL 19mg; CALCIUM 371mg; CARBOHYDRATE 45.6g; SODIUM 726mg; PROTEIN 17.3g; FIBER 6.9g

INGREDIENTS

1 tablespoon olive oil
2-1/4 cups chopped onion (I used 1-1/2 cups, about 1/2 large onion)
2 garlic cloves, minced
1 (16-ounce) package frozen chopped spinach, thawed, drained, and squeezed dry
1/3 cup all-purpose flour
3 cups 2% reduced-fat milk (I used fat free milk)
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
1/4 teaspoon ground red pepper
1 (26-ounce) jar marinara sauce, divided (I used canned spaghetti sauce)
Cooking spray
12 cooked whole wheat lasagna noodles, divided
1-1/2 cups (6 ounces) shredded part-skim mozzarella cheese, divided
Parsley sprigs (optional)

INSTRUCTIONS

Preheat oven to 375°.

Heat oil in a large skillet over medium heat. Add onion; cook 10 minutes or until onion is browned, stirring occasionally. Stir in garlic and spinach. Reduce heat, cover, and cook 3 minutes or until spinach is tender. Set aside.

Lightly spoon flour into a dry measuring cup; level with a knife. Combine flour, milk, salt, black pepper, and red pepper in a small saucepan, stirring with a whisk. Bring to a boil over medium-high heat, stirring frequently. Reduce heat and simmer 1 minute, stirring frequently. Add 2 cups milk mixture to spinach mixture. Cover remaining milk mixture, and set aside.

Spread 1/2 cup marinara sauce in bottom of a 13 x 9-inch baking dish coated with cooking spray. Arrange 3 lasagna noodles over sauce; top with half of spinach mixture. Top with 3 lasagna noodles, 1 cup marinara sauce, and 3/4 cup cheese. Layer 3 more lasagna noodles, remaining spinach mixture, and remaining 3 lasagna noodles. Top with remaining marinara sauce. Pour reserved milk mixture over the top, and sprinkle with remaining 3/4 cup cheese. Bake at 375° for 50 minutes or until lasagna is browned on top. Garnish with parsley sprigs, if desired.

ENJOY! :)

Husband rating: A+
I wasn’t sure what he’d think b/c he likes meat with his dinner but he really loved this dish. I think this is going on the weekly rotation.

Wifey rating: A+
Ohmygod. This was soooooo good. Definitely wanna make again!

* Nutritional information for original recipe. It does not include my changes and/or substitutions.

Entry filed under: Cooking Light, pasta.

TWD #27 No time for torte :( Foodie Question of the Day

15 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Nicole  |  August 27, 2008 at 10:03 pm

    Yum, I’m totally craving spinach now!

    Reply
  • 2. CB  |  August 27, 2008 at 10:16 pm

    NICOLE, haha. try this! You’ll love it!

    Reply
  • 3. katie102006  |  August 28, 2008 at 4:42 am

    It looks FABULOUS!

    Reply
  • 4. NinaBeth  |  August 28, 2008 at 6:46 am

    Yum! Sounds delicious, I am adding spinach to my grocery list, too bad I just went shopping last night. ;)

    Reply
  • 5. CB  |  August 28, 2008 at 8:06 am

    KATIE, … and it tasted fabulous too! I can’t wait to eat the leftovers for lunch. haha.

    NINA, too bad you didn’t live near me. I could have given you a package or 2. HA!

    Reply
  • 6. Natalie  |  August 28, 2008 at 9:52 am

    I am sooo jealous that 4 p.m. is considred “scrambling!” 6:30 p.m. is my scramble time….probably why we always eat at 8!!! It’s just so hard to think about it at work and stuff for me.

    The lasagna looks delish, I’m going to go pick up some spinach!

    Reply
  • 7. CB  |  August 28, 2008 at 2:36 pm

    NATALIE, Well me and T are old ppl. He needs a schedule. Dinnertime is 5pm. By 6pm he gets fussy! haha

    Reply
  • 8. Jaime  |  September 6, 2008 at 8:14 pm

    this looks so good! i have to try it…

    Reply
  • 9. CB  |  September 7, 2008 at 9:23 am

    JAIME, Yes you do! ;)

    Reply
  • 10. kamaile  |  September 10, 2008 at 6:02 pm

    Mmm..this looks really good. I love a good lasagna recipe. :)

    Reply
  • 11. CB  |  September 10, 2008 at 6:04 pm

    KAMAILE, It was very good. Give it a try! I definitely know I’ll be making it again.

    Reply
  • 12. Nancy (n.o.e.)  |  September 12, 2008 at 8:05 am

    This looks great – spinach, tomatoes, and cheese – all the good stuff! I’m curious: Is there an official “Cooking Light Night” as an organized thing? I love their recipes and that would be a fun challenge-type group.

    Reply
  • 13. CB  |  September 12, 2008 at 8:11 am

    NANCY, there’s no official CL night. Its just something I do on my blog. I was thinking of making it a specific night but my cooking is so random sometimes I just kinda do it whenever. My goal is once a week though. Feel free to have your own CL night if you like! I wouldn’t mind getting some new CL recipes! If you do it, link me so i can find when you blog about it :)

    Reply
  • 14. Nancy (n.o.e.)  |  September 13, 2008 at 9:31 pm

    Thanks, CB! The next time I cook from CL, I’ll link back to you. (Is the avatar available for use?) In the meantime, I’ve made some great recipes from CL in the past few weeks, they’re at my blog – link on the Cooking Light category. I cook healthy 90% of the time, with a weakness for killer desserts. But even then, I often “healthify” them. TWD is killing me!

    Reply
  • 15. CB  |  September 13, 2008 at 9:42 pm

    NANCY, Sweet! I don’t mind if you use my avatar. Its nothing fancy. Just something I made myself. I’ll definitely have to check out your blog for some CL recipes! Omg. I hear ya about TWD! I love it and hate it. I try really hard to scale down the recipes if if I can b/c its just me and my husband. He’s already complaining about weight gain! haha.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Thank You Sponsors!

Copyright

MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

Creative Commons License
Photos, Original Recipes & Text ©iheartfood4thought 2007-2009 unless otherwise indicated. All rights reserved. If you repost any material from this blog, please give credit by including a link back to me. Thank you!

Hits since Dec 2007

  • 229,920 dirty dishes

Tweet Tweet

Badge designed by SiahDesigns

Click the banners

Current reading


The Best Casserole Cookbook Ever by Beatrice Ojakangas

website counter


