NFR: Team Iphone or Team Blackberry

August 19, 2008 at 8:52 pm 21 comments

One of my San Diego Charger loving friends, Alanna, beat me to the blog punch by asking her readers what cell phone they would buy – blackberry vs. iphone. It’s the age old technology question (well at least since the iphone came out anyways).

Iphone. Blackberry. Blackberry. Iphone.

I know I’ve been going back and forth on the same decision too.

They both give me what I ultimately want – access to the internet no matter where I am. For this self proclaimed internet addict thats very appealing.


CNET Review: Iphone 3G


CNET Review: Blackberry Pearl (Red)

I was totally on Team Blackberry b/c I am easily distracted by the shiny color red (its my favorite color) and my blackberry loving friend, Rachel raves about hers! Then when the Iphone 3G came out, I was again persuaded by the raves of my iphone loving friend, Nikki along with the touch screen design and affordability. So I switched to Team Iphone. But right now I am kind of at an impasse b/c At&t pissed me off!

When I finally decided to go buy the Iphone, they turned me down b/c it wasn’t my time to upgrade my phone. They explained that if I want to get an Iphone right now I can pay the original price of $599 or sign up for a new phone line. Are you freaking kidding me?? Um. No. Why would I need a 2nd phone line? I want to pay $200 and give you more money each month instead! How is that hard to understand?? ::rolling eyes::

Needless to say. At&t and Iphone is on my crap list right now. Doesn’t mean I wouldn’t buy the Iphone but I am not a patient person. The blackberry is available now and I’ll have to wait 14 months before I can buy the Iphone for $200. Lame.

What team are you on? why?

Entry filed under: Not Food Related.

TWD #26 A cookie by any other name… Cooking Light Night

21 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Tanya  |  August 19, 2008 at 11:04 pm

    I don’t have a need for either, as I only use my cell phone for talking and sometimes texting, but if I had to choose, it would probably be the Blackberry. My husband has a Smart Phone, which is somewhat similar to the Blackberry and he loves it. If you really want one now, I’d say go for the Blackberry. By the time you can get the iPhone, you will have had the Blackberry for over a year and choose whether or not you want to switch.

    Reply
  • 2. CB  |  August 19, 2008 at 11:20 pm

    TANYA, You know whats ironic? I barely use my current cell phone either. Crazy I know. Here I am going on and on about blackberry vs iphone and I am not even a regular cell phone user. But the appeal for me is the internet accessibility. I really am an internet addict. Its actually a sickness. I think I need professional help. LOL

    Reply
  • 3. alan  |  August 20, 2008 at 2:17 am

    team sidekick

    Reply
  • 4. heather b  |  August 20, 2008 at 5:44 am

    I’m team iPhone. I love it. Best phone/everything in one that i’ve had. I even managed to convince my techno doofus of a mom to get one. I bought the original not long after it came out and just recently upgraded to the 3G. I was thankfully eligible for an upgrade so I got the cheaper price. Now I just have to figure out what to do with my old iPhone!

    Reply
  • 5. KRMWV  |  August 20, 2008 at 6:08 am

    Well, you already know that I am team blackberry!! I’ve had mine about two weeks now and I lurve it!! For someone who has no internet access at home it’s been a god send and is way cheaper and faster than dial-up!
    As for the Iphone, I’ve never used one, so I can’t really compare. I think my biggest worry would be cracking the screen. I have a habit of slipping my phone in my back pocket and would hate to crack it.
    I did have a Palm Centro for a few weeks. It’s got a touch screen and a full keyboard. Although it was a cool little gadget, it froze and locked up at the drop of a hat, so it wasn’t worth it.
    Now, CB here’s my two cents that you may not like :P I’m not crazy about the Blackberry Pearl. Although it does come in fun colors, I’m not crazy about the waving keyboard. The buttons are more like a normal cellphone, which could be easier to get used to, but it just felt weird to me.
    I have a Blackberry Curve, which is shorter and wider than the Pearl and the keyboard buttons are actually little buttons than flat. I also like the fact that there is a separate button for each letter instead of two to a button on the Pearl. When I had a Razr, I hated the fact that I had to push a key three times to get the letter I wanted, it took forever to text. Now I just hit the button and go. :)
    The Curve takes wonderful clear pictures and has an automatic flash that only comes on if the “phone” feels it’s too dark to take a pic. If you look at the picture of Coco on my blog, it was pitch black when I took it but actually had a lot of light when it came out.
    So there’s my long-winded review (sorry) but I figured you’d want it all the good, the bad and the ugly. Hope it helps!

    Reply
  • 6. rachel  |  August 20, 2008 at 6:40 am

    I just got a Blackberry Curve and love it! Very nice. Better than the Pearl where a lot of the letters share a button.

    Reply
  • 7. CB  |  August 20, 2008 at 7:59 am

    ALAN, not helpful bro. haha.

    HEATHERB, and your mom likes it? I consider myself pretty techno savvy. Compared to my brothers, no. But my mom, totally! If your mom is like my mom and she likes the iphone thats saying alot! Sell your old iphone on ebay! I considered buying one on ebay but I am kinda high maint and want the new one if I am gonna buy an iphone.

    KRMWV, Appreciate your 2 cents on the pearl. Ever since playing with Nikki’s Iphone I love that huge screen. The pearl seems very small and thats a con when it comes to the pearl. My eyes are getting old! I never considered getting the curve. Does it come in red? haha. Maybe I’ll have to see how much that will cost up front and monthly. Darn you! Giving me a 3rd option isn’t a good thing. LOL

    RACHEL, Another blackberry curve fan. Hmmm… I have lots to think about. Thanks R!

    Reply
  • 8. Nikki  |  August 20, 2008 at 8:40 am

    Unlike all you other crazy mo fos I’ve had both (well my hubs had the blackberry but close enough). There is ZERO comparison. The blackberry sucks compared to the iphone. They’re not even on the same playing field. Use both and there will be no question in your mind what is better. The blackberry is great if you’ve never used anything better, but there’s better, it’s the iphone. Just wait it out CB.

    PS you’d have to pay full price for the blackberry too because you just signed a new contract and it will cost you close to $500 so really hold off on this debate for a year when you can get your new phone

    Reply
  • 9. CB  |  August 20, 2008 at 8:49 am

    NIKKI, whaaaaaat? You’re an Iphone fan? I had no idea! haha. Yeah I’d have to pay full price for the blackberry but full price for the blackberry pearl would be $200, like what I wanna spend for the iphone. The upgrade price for the blackberry pearl would be $100. So price is a mute point.

    Reply
  • 10. April  |  August 20, 2008 at 9:16 am

    Dude. Iphone hands down. My husband has a Blackberry and he now wants an Iphone sooo bad after using mine. Iphone is so much easier to use than the Blackberry and everything is just better on it. Trust. I hate T’s phone. I adore mine.

    Reply
  • 11. CB  |  August 20, 2008 at 9:21 am

    APRIL, Which blackberry does T have? pearl or curve? I have to admit its very cool that you can chat with me at work now. LOL

    Reply
  • 12. Nikki  |  August 20, 2008 at 10:56 am

    ah ha another person that has used both and likes the iphone better w00t go iphone!!! Yay for Ape agreeing with me

    Reply
  • 13. Alanna  |  August 20, 2008 at 3:54 pm

    After reading all these comments, I still think I’ve made up my mind. Yes, like you, CB, I am SOOOO attracted to the red phone. I’ve had a Palm Treo for a long time now, and I hate the bulkiness of it, and I feel like the Blackberry Curve would not really be an upgrade from what I have. I’m looking to downsize. I am SO over carrying around a big clunky phone! I love the idea of the iPhone, but I am not with AT&T, and M and I share a plan, so it would really suck to have to start paying two separate bills. Plus, I just discovered that I can upgrade my current phone to a Blackberry Pearl for just over $100, so I am totally going to do it. I am pretty sure I’m going to order one this week! :)

    Reply
  • 14. LyB  |  August 20, 2008 at 4:49 pm

    iphone!!!! But that’s just cuz I love everything Apple. Just like I love everything KA! But that doesn’t mean I can afford an iphone, or that I need one either. :)

    Reply
  • 15. CB  |  August 20, 2008 at 10:30 pm

    ALANNA, Yeah I don’t want bulky either so I am kinda iffy on the curve vs pearl. Glad the comments helped you go Team Blackberry. I can’t help it. I lurve that red color so much! You’ll have to let me know what you think, k?

    LYB, I am totally Team KA and if my KA addict counterpart says Iphone, how can I not agree? ;)

    Reply
  • 16. Kat Graz  |  August 21, 2008 at 8:34 am

    I LOOOVE my RED blackberry curve and if you already have AT&T you CAN get a red one. Yes thats right red! Only AT&T has it. I have tried the Iphone I like it- but I love the keyboard on the curve. I found it a pain in the ass to use the touch screen on the IPHONE. It kept doing the same thing to me that touchscreen ATMs do – I would choose something but it wouldn’t go to the right thing because I didn’t touch directly in the middle of the damn button (you know you have had this happen at ATMS)plus I do use mine more for business so the curve has a lot more applications then the IPHONE for work stuff. Also got to love BBM -Blackberry Messenger!

    Reply
  • 17. CB  |  August 21, 2008 at 11:22 am

    KAT, KAAAAATTTTT!! I left my heart in NYC! How you been girl?? It comes in red?? oh.my.god. You really know how to persuade me huh? Thanks for your input on the blackberry vs. iphone debate. I have no idea what to do now! LOL

    Reply
  • 18. Kat Graz  |  August 21, 2008 at 12:02 pm

    to further persuade you here it what it looks like

    Reply
  • 19. CB  |  August 21, 2008 at 12:17 pm

    KAT, I am in love. But its pretty expensive right? How much for the monthly data plan? Details details!

    Reply
  • 20. Kristina  |  August 26, 2008 at 12:17 am

    Is Sidekick an option? lol It’s def, my fav!
    I currently have a BB Pearl and I have a hate/like relationship with it. The two main things that irk me about it are the trackball and texting. The trackball isn’t nearly as smooth as the one on my sidekick and texting without a full keyboard is a pain. Everything else about it is pretty great, so I think I’d really like one of the full size blackberry’s.
    As much as I love Apple, I just can’t get into the iphone. I already have an ipod, so I don’t really want to pay to have a second one on my phone. I also hate touch-screens. In fact ,if the iphone didn’t have that I’d probably buy one.

    Reply
  • 21. CB  |  August 26, 2008 at 10:58 am

    KRISTINA, sidekick?? HAHAHA. You and my bro crack me up! Yeah I’ve heard good and bad about the BB Pearl trackball. I’ve played with the iphone and the touchscreen does take some getting use to be I dig it. Man! I have no idea what I want now…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Thank You Sponsors!

Copyright

MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

Creative Commons License
Photos, Original Recipes & Text ©iheartfood4thought 2007-2009 unless otherwise indicated. All rights reserved. If you repost any material from this blog, please give credit by including a link back to me. Thank you!

Hits since Dec 2007

  • 230,835 dirty dishes

Tweet Tweet

Badge designed by SiahDesigns

Click the banners

Current reading


The Best Casserole Cookbook Ever by Beatrice Ojakangas

website counter


